Gratitude Restaurant

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 82 reviews )

Find

Tuerkenstrasse 55 (at Schellingstrasse), Munich, Germany, 80799

Small vegan restaurant with full menu near the university, since 2012. Offers a variety of dishes including raw food. Uses local and organic produce. Accepts EC cards.
Note December 2021: Some regions in Germany, such as Bavaria and Saxony, may limit restaurant hours (call ahead). Indoor dining is only possible with proof of vaccination/recent recovery from Covid-19. Takeaway is available for anyone. Call ahead as availability, hours, and rules may vary. Open Tue-Sat 12:00-14:30, Tue-Sun 18:00-23:00.

Categories: Vegan, American, Organic, Raw, Western, Juice bar, Beer/Wine, Take-out

82 Reviews

First Review by cocoholic

honey80804

Points +20

Vegan
30 Oct 2021

Nicht zu empfehlen

Leider eine Enttäuschung auf ganzer Linie. Vom Service übers Essen, Preis und Auswahl hat hier gar nichts gepasst.

Pros: Schöne Inneneinrichtung

Cons: Kleine Karte , Kleine Portionen

Eva.will.veg.

Points +345

Vegan
10 Oct 2021

Pretty location and nice staff

We went to Gratitude for dinner last night. Beforehand we had to make a reservation otherwise there would be no free table. Defo very tiny tables and just a small selection on the menu. 3 different starters, 3 main courses and three desserts available. We had the grilled artichokes and the taco as starter and both were delicious 😋. Main dishes were the grilled eggplant and the Marrakech bowl, both 16,00€. Here we were slightly disappointed. The food was good and of high quality but cold and we didn't expect that. The only warm part was the eggplant, but both dishes come with cold couscous. Size of the portions was not the biggest. All together we would go again cause the bar and the atmosphere is really nice. We both had a glass of wine which costed 7,90€.

Pros: All vegan, Nice bar atmosphere, Food of good quality

Cons: Too expensive , Very little choices, Small portions, cold main dishes

emakara

Points +74

Vegan
26 Aug 2021

Schön, dass es dich gibt!

Ich war dort Abendessen unter der Woche. Der Service war super freundlich und schnell. Wir hatten zu zweit drei Vorspeisen, die wirklich schnell kamen und auch super lecker waren, aber nicht besonders außergewöhnlich gut. Die Hauptspeise ließ viel von sich erwarten („Wassermelonensteak“). Auch dieses Gericht war super gut, aber ein wenig enttäuschend ausgehend von dem Namen. Ich ziehe also einen Stern ab, weil ich finde dass man für diesen Preis etwas mehr erwarten könnte, aber das Essen trotzdem ganz wunderbar ist.

Advertisement

BoCaBu

Points +48

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

Fantastic starters and main dishes

Food:
Starters and main dishes were of high quality, creative, very tasty.
Strangely, the dessert could not live up to that standard (we had a chocolate and a cheese cake made out of cashews).

Atmosphere:
I love how it feels more like a bar (relaxed, raw), cause that kind of food you normally find in a more stiff and formal restauraunt.

Service:
Nice people, but they seem to be a little understaffed and stressed, so be patient (which is totally fine for me as it leaves more time for socializing😉).

Price:
Pricier than your average vegan place, but inexpensive with regard to the quality.

Updated from previous review on 2019-11-02


Updated from previous review on 2019-11-02

Pros: Starters, Main dishes, Atmosphere

Cons: Chocolate and cheese cake :/

emanu

Points +285

Vegan
04 May 2021

Perfect for a nice dinner

Very tasty and beautiful, fancy dishes.
Unfortunately, I've often had to wait longer and the service is often not very good. But since I keep coming back, it shows that the overall experience is great.

Dandido

Points +1166

Vegan
06 Oct 2020

Very modern place with good food

I went here for dinner with my family. I had the tempeh dish and was very happy with it. The staff was very nice. I would not mind coming back.

Updated from previous review on 2020-08-04

DrPsycho

Points +36

Vegan
27 Aug 2020

Good vegan food

Very good all vegan place. We had a great dinner. The service was good but could improve a little it's attentiveness. You have to book a table(possible online).
Please change the Happy Cow description as the place is open and not closed due to corona

Massimo1984

Points +118

Vegan
23 Feb 2020

Fantastish

Seul défaut, le manque de pain pour terminer les souces :(

Yesyesyesyes

Points +2014

Vegan
01 Feb 2020

Good food, but very poor service

Unfortunately I have to agree on the former writer's criticism. Upon our arrival, our reservation couldn't be recognized, but we were lucky and got a table. The restaurant is incredibly loud and you had to scream to converse, so not recommended for cozy dates or relaxed dinner. At some point, they put up an extra table in front of the bar entrance to seat more people. I also saw three people sharing a table the size of a sheet of paper. Gratitude towards the money is surely there. The menu and the drinks took some time to be brought, upon requesting where a forgotten juice was, the waiter reacted very rude, telling us he had everything under control. If you understand some German, there is some replies by Gratitude to bad reviews on google maps, where upon the complaint about the lack of space it was recommended to lose some weight. Treating paying customers like that is rude and absolutely unprofessional. Staff and waiters seemed stressed, hurried and unhappy. Our bill was charged with extra drinks as well. The only positive thing is the taste of the food, even though the prices are a little bit too high for the very small portions. The laksa curry was filling but the noodles were very slippery and almost impossible to eat, the taste good but not outraging. My neighbour had the hummus sweet potato dish and I felt sorry for him because he surely was hungry afterwards. I don't recommend this place and surely will not come back in the future.

Updated from previous review on 2020-02-01

Pros: Almost none

Cons: Poor service, Loud, Overpriced

daanda

Points +32

Vegan
19 Nov 2019

Enttäuschend

Ein Stern wäre eher angebracht, nur leider bei veganen Restaurants nicht möglich.

Das Restaurant ist leider zu teuer für die gebotene Essensmenge und den Geschmack.

Die Karte liest sich sehr vielversprechend und kreativ, hätte mir deshalb mehr erhofft. Auf Beschwerde des Nebentisches wegen der Mini Portion bekommt dieser dann erzählt, dass "die Veganer" ja eh immer drei Gerichte essen würden und 100% vegan sei eh nicht gesund, weil einem "Spurenelemente" fehlen würden.

Sorry Ihr seid ein veganes Restaurant:

A. Pflanzliche Kost ist in der Regel nicht sehr energiedicht, d.h. man muss/darf deutlich mehr essen. Und nein, seit ich vegan bin, esse ich nicht plötzlich immer drei Gänge Menüs für über 30€. Gut, dass ich ohne Hunger gekommen bin und trotzdem 1,5 Portionen gegessen habe.

B. Als Veganer darf man diese immergleichen Argumente (die offenbar nicht stimmen, schließlich lebe ich erstaunlicherweise nach 2,5 Jahren immer noch) ständig wiederlegen und ausdiskutieren. Wenigstens in einem veganen Restaurant dürfte man doch bitte erwarten verschont zu bleiben.

Außerdem ist der Umgang mit Kritik seitens des Personals vor Ort sowie bei Online-Bewertungen unsachlich und unfreundlich.

Pros: Vegan

Cons: Teuer, Umgang mit Kritik seitens Kunden, Kritisiert Veganismus offen

Lalelilolu

Points +638

Vegan
18 Nov 2019

Empfehlenswert!

Super Essen, man kriegt auch spät abends noch was - toll, freundlicher Service :-)
aber sooo unsympathisch, dass man hier gesiezt wird, das passt wirklich überhaupt nicht und so alt bin ich auch wieder noch nicht! :-/

Cons: Sie!? :-(

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

31 Oct 2019

Klare Empfehlung

Mein Standardrestaurant in München. Großartiges Essen von hochwertiger Qualität und freundliches Personal, was auch auf Sonderwünsche eingeht.

SamadhiBrasil

Points +95

Vegan
26 Oct 2019

Cooler Laden

Sehr leckeres Essen und auch Rohkostkuchen. Ambiente erinnert eher an eine normale Bar aber trotzallem toll.

Pros: Gutes Essen, faire Preise, gute Öffnungszeiten

Cons: Da es klein ist schnell voll und schlechte Luft.

mt19

Points +321

Vegan
27 Aug 2019

Good, was looking for more.

In the University area, smaller servings but concentrated more on flavours they think match. Worth it if in area, taste is not quite there, bit average shame after all good reviews on Happy Cow, but we didn’t have the tasting menu, could just be we picked an average dish for lunch.
Service was great.

Marys.veganes.essen

Points +179

Vegan
04 Aug 2019

Ein Erlebnis

Sehr freundliche Mitarbeiter, empfehle das Mittagsmenü :)

peachum

Points +119

Vegan
27 Jul 2019

Leckeres Essen

Fein trifft es sehr gut - die Speisen sind super lecker und gut abgestimmt. Preise sind angemessen.

intenselyclever

Points +166

Vegan
02 Jun 2019

Unbelievable flavors, completely vegan

I had dinner at Gratitude, and it was one of my favorite restaurants of my trip. I did the option that was 3 appetizers, an entrée, and dessert for 32 euros, and it was well worth it, the flavors of every dish were amazingly curated, and the grilled avocado entrée was out of this world. Plenty of protein options. Very friendly staff, great atmosphere.

Pros: Lots of protein options, Delicious food, All vegan

Eeek.

Points +470

Vegan
21 May 2019

Good for lunch

Well located near to the museums. Chose from the lunch menu. Really nice soup and spicy Curry. The cheesecake was not fresh. Didn’t eat it, no apology or refund.

Cons: Bathroom needs cleaning

lauralahayden

Points +17

Mostly Veg
03 Mar 2019

Delicious food, amazing service.

I booked a table a few hours prior to my visit. The staff were very friendly and helpful- I am gluten intolerant and don’t speak German- they translated the menu and said most dishes are gluten free, and most of the ones that aren’t can be altered to suit my needs. I had a three course meal, and could not be happier with my experience. The food was fresh, warming and flavoursome. Would definitely visit again.

Pros: Gluten free options , Friendly staff

Cons: It gets busy. I would suggest booking in advance

LuciaSophieFiegel

Points +507

Vegan
13 Jan 2019

Super lecker!

Das Restaurant wurde mir von einer omnivoren Freundin empfohlen und hat alle Erwartungen übertroffen!
Super schönes Ambiente, guter Service und wunderbares Essen!

JessievanRoc

Points +338

Vegan
11 Jan 2019

A Must!

When in Munich you really have to visit the Gratitude Restaurant. They don't have a really big menu, but the taste of everything is overwhelming. They really know how to mix and combine ingredients to create outstanding food. I ate the best kale salad on earth here. Try it out!

ella2mcs

Points +126

Vegan
03 Nov 2018

Innovative menus

All the menus are interesting (in a good way). We tried a watermelon steak here which was quite an experience for us. Recommended for those who are intrigued in trying how some ingredients go well with other ingredients you’ve never thought of. Quite pressed with the plating too!

Pros: Innovative menus, Cozy place, Nice plating

Cons: Quite expensive

Anirac

Points +2840

Vegan
14 Sep 2018

Great dining experience

Gratitude is one of the places I bring omnivore friends to show them how great vegan food can be. They present the dishes really nice and use great ingredients that taste fresh and are healthy without having the 'healthy' touch.

ACCVeg

Points +1019

Vegan
12 Sep 2018

Date night place

Not quite fine dining, but close to it, the kind of place that you save for a special-ish occasion. We arrived there fairly late (after 9) on a Tuesday night and the place was poppin’. Split the inventive taco starter and then enjoyed the battered stuffed paprika and the burrito- burrito was tasty but wish they would use brown rice instead of white. A bit on the expensive side but really a very good meal.

Pros: Inventive menu, Very good quality food

Cons: Expensive

HappyIvana

Points +36

Vegan
04 Sep 2018

Für mich der vegane Klassiker in München

immer lecker, tolle Gerichte; allerdings jahrelang die selbe kleine Auswahl, was auch gut sein kann, da man weiß was man bekommt. Aber mal was Neues wäre lockender (ich war aber auch schon länger nicht da).
Dennoch 100% empfehlenswert, besonders von der Küche her. Location und Personal eher normal als herausragend.

ole_ersson

Points +311

Vegan
04 Sep 2018

really amazing food!

Absolutely amazing food! We enjoyed the curried vegetables, and the falafel and potato brussel sprout wraps. All were really excellent. Finally, we celebrated the meal with the cashew cheese cake. Also really great.

Pros: all vegan, no English menu but waiter provided assistance, good location

Cons: moderately expensive

tudd

Points +140

Vegetarian
22 Jul 2018

Nice dinner place

Kind of fine dining, very tasty dishes but quite expensive (17€ for main course). Good service! I would recommend to book a table since it was pretty crowded.

Pros: Creative dishes

Cons: Expensive

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Munich Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Gratitude Restaurant closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 25951 times.