Very small natural food and natural grocery store. Has a deli and bakery. Open Mon-Sat 9:00am-7:00pm, Sun 10:00am-7:00pm.


Venue map for Grass Roots Natural Foods
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by Mimi Routh

SarahEAW.

Points +481

Vegetarian
18 Feb 2024

cute

We went pretty late in the day (early evening). I hoped to find something to grab and go to take back home. Unfortunately, there weren't many pre-made options to choose from. We decided on Beach Hut Deli sandwiches. My vegan one was good but super small for the price. I think that they are known for their vegan pizza slices, I asked the person at the counter about them and they said that they sell out very quickly. It might be a good option to drop by in the AM to grab a sandwich or wrap for a hike.

Pros: Grab and go options that Whole Foods doesn't have

Cons: Expensive

Advertisement

Sjjk12

Points +1077

Vegan
04 Feb 2023

Great local vegan options- very $$$

Walking into Grass Roots was a nice experience, it’s a small organic store with every supplement you can think of. The vegan options here are nice, this store actually prioritizes plant based options. I tried their line of whoopee pies from Sugar Plum Plant Based Bakery in Sacramento. Overall I would return for treats, but I’ll do my normal veggie shopping elsewhere.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: So overpriced for a lot of items

CarolineVegstar

Points +175

Vegan
21 Jul 2021

Vegan options galore!

Loved the pre-made fresh options available such as tabbouleh, falafel, vegan salads with protein. Oatly products and loads of vegan cheese options too.

beesus

Points +184

Vegetarian
27 Jun 2021

Small town gem

A tiny market with all the essentials. Lots of healthy food. Limited deli and they goods in a case.

veganpatch

Points +5252

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Great Stop

There are a ton of vegan options and the staff are friendly.

We were happy to see several prepared vegan options that were grab and go. We also appreciated the vegan treats near the checkout counter.

We came here for toothpaste and oregano for pizza, but would definitely return.

It is near the holiday season and we were happy to see vegan pumpkin pie, celebration roasts and vegan whip cream.

The parking lot was medium sized and we didn't have any trouble finding a spot.

Nicknselena

Points +288

Vegan
09 Jul 2019

Our one-stop shop away from home.

We live 45 minutes away from this grocery store, but still make special trips to get here whenever we can make the excuse. They have so many organic and vegan options it's one of the only stores where we can get most of what's on our list in one place.

Our hands-down favorite aspect of this store is that they sell organic spices in bulk. We cook a lot and this is the only place within 100 miles where we can re-up our spice cabinet without re-purchasing overpriced, prepackaged bottles. We just bring in our empty jar, get it weighed before filling, and pay a perfectly reasonable price for the ounce or two of product.

They also sell a wide variety of organic vegan items we have difficulty finding near home, including but not limited to: Myoko's cheeses, Forager cashewgurt and milk, pizza crusts, ice cream, bulk maple syrup, bulk tofu, veggies and fruits outside of the normal variety.

Pros: Tons of organic vegan choices, Lots of bulk foods (mostly organic), Tasty fresh-made food (soups, sandwiches, cookies)

Cons: Too far from our house, A little pricier than chain stores

mexivegan

Points +396

Vegan
17 Oct 2017

South Lake Tahoe Is Lucky to Have This Store

There is a lot of vegan food, good looking produce. The vegetables looked a lot better than the produce at Raley's on Emerald Bay Road. Grass Roots carries TreeHouse teriyaki tempeh strips, Kite Hill yogurt and cream cheese, Ripple, Taste Nirvana coconut water, Crofter's Morello Cherry jam, and more.



Updated from previous review on 2017-10-17

Tahoedos

Points +53

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2016

Great Vegan Options

Nice local store with great customer service. The vegan soups are tasty. They offer a wide variety of vegan cheese, including Chao, Miyoko's Creamery, and Kite Hill. Fresh organic produce and Truckee Sourdough breads. Perfect place to grab what you need to make a great vegan lunch. They also sell a variety of vegan wines.

Brittneydanielsen

Points +52

Vegan
16 Apr 2016

Must go:)

So cute! Great selection and yummy local Kombucha on tap.

MizzB

Points +3715

Vegan
30 Jan 2016

Very vegan friendly Grass Roots

Grass Roots Natural Foods is small, well stocked grocer offering all organic produce section, good selection of vegan "brands" (Field Roast, including their new cheeses; Earth Balance, Tofurky, Follow Your Heart, Beanitos, So Delicious Dairy-free, Luna & Larry's Coconut Bliss, to names a few). Locally baked goods, some vegan, supplements, cosmetics & personal care products, books. Very friendly, knowledgeable staff. Convenient location. Though the more mainstream grocers in the south Lake Tahoe area do offer organic produce & some vegan brands, Grass Roots definitely worth visiting while in the area.
Updated from previous review on Wednesday May 20, 2015

Pros: Organic produce, Vegan brands, Convenient location & hours

Cons: Pricey produce, Small, Not 100% vegan

Cristinabella D.

Points +51

Vegan
17 Aug 2015

Home away from home

They had everything I needed and more. organic zucchinis were no where to be found around town let alone organic but they had them. My 5year old loves Zoodles so we wanted them while on vacation. we also found delicious organic hot chocolate mix and organic Oreos, lol. My kid had a blast getting her strawberries, kiwis, avocados, kale and mangos and using the orange juice maker. The only place to get all your awesome healthy goods. my kid loved the organic Tempeh smoked bacon strips and Teriyaki tofu. As vegans it was a blessing.
Updated from previous review on Sunday August 16, 2015

cat1

Points +76

Mostly Veg
02 Jun 2014

Love!

This place is great, I came here almost everyday for a month whist I was in Tahoe and always found what I needed, the people are so nice and helpful, and Its a good setup..

Pros: well priced , good vibes , great selection

Ladah

Points +386

Herbivore
14 Aug 2011

Good store

So glad to have this store while we visited Lake Tahoe.. they have a good little produce section, and a good selection of everything really. They even have stuff that can be a bit harder to find like Daiya cheese and Field Roast grain meat.

Mimi Routh

Points +16

Vegan
03 Jun 2010

Small But Mighty!

I visited this health food store last week. I looked all around, talked with the people, and was favorably impressed. I would point out that the town has four excellent supermarkets which themselves have organic produce and healthfood products. Two of these are Raley's, and I personally love Raley's. Anyone coming to live in this town year round as I hope to do would have no difficulty finding what they need. The staff here are knowledgeable about supplements, herbs, etc. They have been in business for many years. They would probably try to get any rarified product not already in stock. I browsed their book shelf and bought two books.

Pros: Friendly, Comprehensive




This page has been viewed 6356 times.