Grains

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 44 reviews )

Find

2201 Adams Ave (at Parkcrest District), San Diego, California, USA, 92116

Restaurant with beer bar, fully vegan since Oct 2017. Makes fresh pasta (quinoa-based), some Asian style dishes like yellow curry and tom kah, plus bar appetizers like buffalo cauliflower and garlic wedges, among others. Large space with plenty of seating. Confifrmed open May 2020. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-9:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, American, International, Italian, Beer/Wine, Delivery, Take-out, Asian, Fusion

44 Reviews

First Review by RedheadedR

DarrenDavid

Points +42

Vegan
27 Nov 2021

Calamari mushrooms

Can we just call this dish what it is? It’s sliced mushrooms. There’s nothing calamari about it.

It was tasty- as mushrooms.

Pros: All vegan

nora_la_diseñadora

Points +1966

Vegan
25 Oct 2021

Food and wine!

One of the few places that serve alcohol. A great place to go with friends

Pros: Great service, Street parking

keokani

Points +1448

Vegan
05 Oct 2021

Excellent, plant-based Thai fusion cuisine

Grains Chow Mein is excellent.

Cons: hard to find parking

Advertisement

cwl666

Points +1283

Vegan
28 May 2021

Asian Italian-American fusion?

Interesting menu. Most everything has been pretty good. Bahn mi and popcorn chicken were pretty good. The Philly sandwich didn’t have enough filling. Remember liking the pasta a lot.

Jadediana

Points +1637

Vegan
26 Apr 2021

Ok

The popcorn chicken was pretty good. Got the bahn mi and the pan seared fettuccine both tasted a little off. The menu is pretty limited, but there are some interesting items.
On the plus side they do have some indoor and outdoor seating.

ShanChat

Points +120

Vegan
13 Oct 2020

Best vegan restaurant in San Diego?

Grains is definitely one of my top 2 vegan restaurants in San Diego. I am addicted to basically all of the appetizers. Also, I am the type of person who tends to get the same exact dish every time I go to a restaurant, but at grains I have 3 entree options that I love. Considering how small the menu is that is amazing! I love this place. Also the staff are great!

Pros: Delicious, Nice staff, Great for apps and a drink or a full meal

jbg

Points +34

Vegan
09 May 2020

Great for lunch.

The food is all healthy vegan and very tasty. I stop by and carry out often. I say it is good for lunch because the atmosphere is very casual. If you want casual dinner, it is good for that too.

TracyLL

Points +22

Vegan
21 Feb 2020

Highly recommend!

I ordered Grains Garden with no tofu, extra vegetables, and medium spice. It was delicious! Wide variety of perfectly cooked vegetables with amazing flavor! The service was wonderful as well.

AnneRenee

Points +34

Vegan
02 Feb 2020

Have to come back and try more

We loved the popcorn “chicken” with vegan sauces. And the Philly cheese sand witch was really tasting. Great tasting cheese. The staff was so kind and the atmosphere was really nice. Romantic type music made it a great date spot.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Free lemon cucumber water, Fast service

Cons: No desert

Norcal2017

Points +197

Vegan
29 Dec 2019

Lucky find

Spent a long day moving from LA to San Diego for daughter. Had to return the U-haul just down the street and finding Grains just down the street was pure luck.
Nice variety of types of cuisine. Salt and pepper calamari mushroom looked like calamari and had decent flavor.
My main dish of drunken angel pasta was a great portion size. Lots of wonderful flavor and nice presentation. Others in the party cleaned their dishes of yellow curry and pan fried fettuccine.
Did not see any dessert options?
From NorCal so not sure when I'll get to return. Great food at reasonable prices compared to other vegan restaurant, but hope to get back.

Pros: Plenty of options

Cons: Street parking only in busy area.

Hodzic_fam

Points +1175

Vegan
22 Nov 2019

Cool spot with great atmosphere

Great hipster atmosphere. Bahn mi Sandwich and Popcorn “chicken” were delicious and different than you find at other vegan restaurants, which was cool. The only negative comment is that the grains garden vegetable dish was very bland. Otherwise, good experience.

shiftygrub

Points +96

Vegan
28 Jul 2019

Omni- and Vegan-Approved! 🥰

Grains has so many fantastic dishes with fresh and unique flavors. The prices are fair, and the service is always so friendly. My Omni family specially request to go to Grains all the time, and we always leave super satisfied. My Thai-food-connaisseur mom says the tofu larb is the best larb she's ever had. Our favorite dishes are the larb, drunken angel, fettuccine, popcorn chick'n, and Philly cheese steak.

Pros: Flavorful and unique dishes, Ample parking in nearby neighborhood, Friendly service

Cali-Vegan

Points +93

Vegan
22 Jul 2019

Great banh mi!

This is a great little spot with plenty of seating. They serve an awesome Banh Mi with Serrano pepper and crazy good popcorn "chicken". Beers on tap and wine. Also some of the best potato wedges around, the seasoning is perfect!

elviselway

Points +66

Vegan
01 Jul 2019

Love Grains

I love this place. Yummy fresh food. The owner is a sweetheart. Its just a nice welcoming place and Im so glad it exists. Favorite dishes are the popcorn chicken, banh mi, and buffalo cauliflower. Some of their dishes used to be legit spicy...but I think they toned them down for the Nilla Wafers.

Pros: Food. Service. Atmosphere

laneypitt

Points +32

Vegan
24 Jun 2019

Support this place it’s amazing!

Great service, a wonderful varied menu, and the flavors are absolutely delicious. I appreciate that the restaurant is all vegan! Very good value for the money as well. Their Tom Kah soup is the best in town and their curries are delicious. Love that they have good beer and cider and wine and kombucha on tap as well. You really must try this place it is a wonderful addition to the San Diego vegan food scene. Clean and a nice atmosphere too.

Pros: All vegan!, Varied menu options with great flavors , Beer and wine menu

Kyrena

Points +61

Vegan
21 Jun 2019

Excellent!

Really casual, relaxed atmosphere. Service was quick and the people were so friendly and nice! The food was absolutely delicious (we had the Grain Garden and Drunken Angel) and the portions were huge! Totally worth the money! Definitely would come here again, especially when I need something relaxed (and huge amounts of food!).

Also, the bathroom was really clean. You don't always get that!

Pros: All vegan, baby!, Huge portions!, Fair prices!

Cons: None!

nmmolinar

Points +29

Vegetarian
22 May 2019

Drunken Angel

The atmosphere is relaxed and casual. The food was delicious! I ordered the Drunken Angel dish with glass noodles as the GF option. It was wonderful to have gluten-free options clearly marked, and the waitress was knowledgeable in the GF options as well. It's always a treat to order with a relaxed mind when you're vegan AND gluten-free.

Pros: Friendly staff , Gluten-free options

JeffreyMcLaurin

Points +130

Vegan
19 May 2019

Amazing food, Amazing Staff

This place is awesome. The staff and food are great. But I honestly come here for the pandan ice tea. If you're not drinking the tea you're missing out.

Pros: Pandan tea!, Great food, Great staff

Cons: Parking isn't always great

THX1138N1

Points +79

Vegan
02 Apr 2019

Bành Mì sandwich from heaven!

Family run so warm welcome every time. Casual, comfortable decor with various seating options (bench, tables, high top long bar table type seating, regular tables) so you can hide away or window gaze according to mood. Seating also good for various group sizes. Menu is not large, but QUALITY definitely comes before variety! Rich flavors. Sooooo tasty!
I can’t help it.....I eat the Bành Mì sandwich almost every visit..the perfect spiciness....flavor...texture... and the accompanying seasoned potato wedges....Ahhhh! Sorry, will finish this review later...can’t wait...got to get over there now!🤪 Follow me...hurry, hurry!🚀

Pros: Multiple seating options (small or large groups), Consistently good quality of food, Nice atmosphere, friendly and efficient service

Cons: Sometimes menu listed beers are unavailable

Llamalover2580

Points +241

Vegan
31 Dec 2018

Soooo Good

Every dish I've had here is amazing! Large selecting of food, different types of food. And the drink menu is equally amazing!
One of the best vegan spots in San Diego!

Pros: Lots of seating, Drink menu

tonyakay

Points +1792

Raw
03 Nov 2018

Great Thai American Fushion

Everything I ate was amazing. Everything I drank was unbelievable. Worth it.

prettyinglamour

Points +194

Vegan
17 Oct 2018

good

Nice cozy restaurant serves alcohol, q great selection of food available.

Atp146

Points +140

Vegan
07 Oct 2018

Super yummy, super friendly

We got the mushroom calamari and it was super good! I got the Banh Mi and my girlfriend got the curry and both were delicious. I usually don’t care for vegan cheese and usually opt to get it with out but I tried it and it was good! The food came out quickly and our server was super friendly. If we lived in the area we would come here again but we’re just visiting. Overall foods great, service is great, loved it.

caro_

Points +48

Vegan
27 Sep 2018

So delicious, all vegan

Soo delicious! We had the angel pasta and the banh mi, both very good. I would absolutely go back!

Pros: All vegan

Crisamar

Points +52

Vegan
08 Sep 2018

Great options

We had the mushroom calamari and banh mi and it was absolutely delish comfort food. I’m still dreaming of that banh mi

KellyBone

Points +2373

Vegan
03 Sep 2018

Coloring Outside the Line

Ignoring the confines of tradition, Grains blends Thai sensibilities with pan-Asian, Italian, and American dishes. Lemongrass wafts from tender cubes of tofu floating in a coconut Tom Kha broth next to smokey BBQ sauce dropping from Popcorn Cauliflower. From mild to spicy, sweet to pungent, Grains covers a wide array for tastes in a relatively short menu.

Pros: Drunken Angel Pasta, Friendly Service

MonicaMedina

Points +100

Vegan
21 Jul 2018

nice place...

Food is good. Atmosphere s great.

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to San Diego Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Grains closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8289 times.