Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
International
Western
Buffet

This Hare Krishna restaurant serves an all you can eat vegetarian buffet. Also offers take out. Open Thu-Sun 5:30pm-8:30pm.


Venue map for Govinda's Restaurant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by Britt87

AshishShrestha

Points +11

Mostly Veg
07 Jan 2024

Pure vegetarian food

All you can eat fresh food. No onion, garlic but delicious. #Veganuary

Pros: Price, Quantity, Taste

Cons: Food depends on the day, Not open all days, Bit less option to choose from

Advertisement

RhiannonC

Points +548

Vegan
13 Jan 2023

Always good 😊

We frequent here! Tasty and cheap ☺️

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-02

SripriyaSridharan

Points +30

Herbivore
01 Mar 2022

Delicious!!

Super yummy food, so the limited options can be looked over :)

It’s also $10 for all you can eat, which is very affordable

VeganinOz

Points +59

Vegan
21 Dec 2021

Good, reliable, honest nutritious vegan food with love

$10 for all you can eat is a blessing especially for those who have few $. We go there regularly because we love the simplicity and the spirituality of the place and people. If you're satisfied with a simple and very limited menu in a quiet simple dining room then this place will be OK or better for you. If you are a food snob...well...just don't bother. We love it.

Pros: simple nutritious food, quiet, spiritual feel, Soup on rice

Cons: I'm not big on their dessert but then I'm usually , Shoes are left at the door and my feet get cold..

_lisanimals_

Points +52

Vegan
23 Aug 2019

Delicious

I'm vegan and I with my brother who's vegetarian. The restaurant had a very comfortable atmosphere and was very chill.

Pros: Food was delicious., Staff was friendly., All you can eat.

DanielaCavallaro

Points +244

Vegan
05 Jun 2018

$10 all you can eat vegan

How can you go wrong food is full of flavour and delicious great value for money love that you have to take your shoes off when you enter the building nice experience. Highly recommend

CraigStewartAnderson

Points +74

Vegan
02 Nov 2017

Solid value

All you can eat buffet style subcontinental food. The food is reasonably spicy, but won't make you sweat.

The broccoli has been cooked to perfection. Optimal crunch factor.

All plates, cups and utensils are disposable, so be sure to bring your own if you can.

TomAnderson

Points +173

Vegetarian
04 Jan 2017

all you can eat

Hari Krishna all-you-can-eat buffet. Pay $10 and serve yourself. Always has rice, lentil soup, two hot vegetable-based dishes (often one or both are spicy), Halava, Vegan Halava, salad with lettuce, broccoli, carrot, and capsicum, and salad dressing. Hari Krishna is not vegan but most of the dishes other than the halava are vegan. Plus they have a vegan halava.

Pros: Lots to eat, Cheap

Cons: Serve yourself, Not too many options

RajGopal

02 Mar 2020

Thank you for the feedback. We have now introduced plenty of options like Roti, Samosas, Pies, Papadums and Lassi. Please come and try our new options

Vegan_Saxman

Points +122

Vegan
16 Oct 2016

Best Value in ADL

$10 will get you an all-you-can-eat feast of delicious vegan curries and fresh salad. There's also a halava, a semolina dessert available. One is vegan and one contains dairy. The only other non-vegan item is custard. Hands down the best value feed in Adelaide. It's at a temple so footwear is required to be removed before entering. EFTPOS is available. The outdoors area is open for warmer evenings.
Tip: only disposable cutlery and crockery is available. Help reduce waste and bring your own bowl and spoon!

Pros: Very cheap, Tasty, Healthy

Cons: Only disposable cutlery and crockery

RajGopal

02 Mar 2020

Thank you for the feedback. We have moved away from disposal cutlery and have introduced proper restaurant grade plates and bowls and stainless steel spoons, forks and knives. We also have special plates and bowls for kids under 5.

thenaturalfusions

Points +3068

Vegan
17 Aug 2015

Good place for 'all you can eat' Vegan Buffet

and cheap!...$10

Yummy curries, rice, raw veggies for $10
Perfect after a bike ride around Adelaide

People are lovely there at ISKCON

Pros: cheap, yummy curries

Cons: open only during weekends

RajGopal

02 Mar 2020

Thank you for the feedback, we are open Thursday to Sunday from 5.30 to 8.30 pm

Adro84

Points +307

Vegan
23 Jan 2015

Cheap and Cheerful

This place is great, shoes off at the door, $10 bucks gets you a buffet of a simple yet tasty meal.

2 curries, a soup, rice, salad, some basic condiments and a vegetarian dessert.

Note. Dessert and custard are the 2 non-vegan dishes.

Pros: Cheap, Good Food, All you can eat

Cons: Not much selection, Desserts not vegan, Only open weekends

RajGopal

02 Mar 2020

Thank you for the feedback. We have Vegan Halawa (dessert) and vegan custard. We have also now introduced plenty of options like Roti, Samosas, Pies, Papadums and Lassi. We a Please come and try our new options.

Susan bush tucker

Points +29

Vegetarian
19 Nov 2013

great pickles

Good food. Healthy. Great service. Can go to chanting also.

Pros: healthy, tasty, good price

Britt87

Points +29

Vegetarian
22 Apr 2012

$8 All You Can Eat Veg/Vegan

Govinda's is a great place to go Friday, Saturday or Sunday night if you want healthy, veg/vegan food for an unbelievable price. Why bother cooking for yourself?

There's normally three different curries on offer (buffet style) as well as salad, rice and Indian style dessert. Typically the curries are not hot but are nicely spiced.

Govinda's can be a little hard to find the first time you go and it's not too clear where the restaurant is at first. But don't worry there's plenty of smiling people around to help you find your way.

The food has a pleasant home cooked vibe to it.

For $5 extra you can do takeaway (they even give you a tub to fill up yourself).

Pros: Great atmosphere , Excellent value! , Healthy




This page has been viewed 29262 times.