Goura Pakora

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 67 reviews )

Find

Krossener Str. 16, Berlin-Friedrichshain, Berlin, Germany, 10245

Opened Jun 2013, this vedic cafe underwent renovations and unveiled a new menu in 2014. Offers thali meals, Indian dosa, pakora, wraps with channa-dal falafel or tofu, soups, salads with millet and falafel or fried tofu, smoothies, espresso drinks with soy or almond milk, vedic sweets; no more stir fries. Food is prepared without vinegar, garlic, onion, or mushroom.
Note November 2021: Some regions in Germany, such as Bavaria and Saxony, may limit restaurant hours (call ahead). Indoor dining is only possible with proof of vaccination/recent recovery from Covid-19. Takeaway is available for anyone. Call ahead as availability, hours, and rules may vary. Open Wed-Fri 17:00-22:00, Sat 17:00-23:00, Sun 13:00-22:00.

Categories: Vegan, Indian, Organic, Western, Take-out, Fusion

67 Reviews

First Review by wildfang

Yasminesan

Points +1881

Vegan
10 Sep 2021

Great food - fried everything

It's a shame this place is closed for the moment. I first tried it at markets as a food truck, and then after at the restaurant. For people who are gluten free it was a nice option (I am not myself). The mango lassi is phenomenal, and coconut pieces as a dessert are great, and I loved the dosas and pakora. The bowls were also good. Honestly I liked everything I had here. Nice ambience and fast service - I am not sure why they closed but I hope they open again soon.

BriannaHorn

Points +110

Vegan
15 Sep 2020

Healthy & super satisfying

This is the place I run to straight from the airport when I arrive in Berlin. It’s super healthy and delicious. Portions are generous, and they use lots of vegetables. This time I had the peanut dosa and the mango lassi (all vegan, of course) and was super impressed.

AlexandrDarius

Points +134

Vegan
12 Sep 2020

Nice place, food lacks indian taste

Good food, nice vegan place. Although I was a bit disappointed that they no longer serve the plates. Also the food doesn't taste Indian, which is a letdown. This could be rectified by having some spices available at the place or by a possibility to select spicy variants. Beware, the dal soup served in a dosa menu is VERY small (see the photo).

Pros: Vegan, Nice place, Good food

Cons: Lacks indian taste, Dal really small

Advertisement

ohlilyoh

Points +22

Vegan
06 Sep 2020

Great variety and prices

we had a classic curry and indian dosa there and loved it!
Also it was nice to sit outside and the waiter was lovely😄

guille

Points +79

Vegetarian
04 Sep 2020

Amazing food!

Really tasty and well done vegan dosa style plates. The sauces are also super good, and it is not expensive. I come back every now and then and it is always great.

Pros: Tasty, Inexpensive

Sia_im_garten

Points +15

Vegetarian
21 Aug 2020

Was für ein kulinarisches Highlight

Warum habe ich dieses Restaurant erst gestern entdeckt? Endlich leckeres indisches Essen in Berlin. Seit wir selber in Indien waren, hat es uns in den bekannten indischen Restaurants in Berlin nicht mehr so richtig geschmeckt. Aber in diesem kleinen Restaurant 🤩 Das Dal und die Dosas ein Traum. Corona-bedingt sollte man vorab die Öffnungszeiten erfragen. Aber hingehen sollte man auf jeden Fall🤗
.
Why did I discover this restaurant only yesterday? Finally delicious Indian food in Berlin. Since we have been in India ourselves, we have not really enjoyed the famous Indian restaurants in Berlin. But in this little restaurant! The Dal and Dosas a dream. Due to Corona you should ask for the opening hours in advance. But you should go there in any case.

Pros: Alles vegan, Lecker, lecker, lecker!, Mitten im trubeligen Kitz von Friedrichshain

Cons: Mitten im trubeligen Kitz von Friedrichshain 😜

Peperinorocco

Points +40

Vegan
21 Aug 2020

Großartig - Great

Wir haben uns quer durch die Karte gegessen und fanden alles super lecker.

We ate our way across the menu and found everything super delicious.

peanutplans

Points +1399

Vegan
11 Aug 2020

Insanely tasty and cheap

So glad i got to eat here. Food made fresh, lots of vegan options and crazy inexpensive. Highly recommend it!

Pros: Almost fully vegan, Crazy cheap, Huge portions

bongbong733

Points +4109

Vegan
09 Aug 2020

Satvic Indian fusion food

This restaurant offers a large variety of dosa, bowls, wraps and a few curries, featuring fresh vegetables, falafel and tofu.

The use of tofu and falafel seems to be a vegan innovation creating a modern, Indian fusion food.
Most of all, I enjoyed the crispy dosa and sweet, flavorful chutneys.🥞🥭🥥

Overall, the portion size was quite generous: Two main dishes plus one starter were almost too much for two people... 😅

Pros: Good food, Large portions

Teejooo

Points +96

Vegan
02 Aug 2020

Best food in Berlin!

I ate a bhima bowl and loved everything about it. So much flavor and every bite is different. Really amazing. 5 stars is not enough!
I also had a mango lassie and it was super nice as well!

Pros: Healthy

Cons: This restaurant is not in my home town

☼iris☼

Points +225

Vegan
22 Jul 2020

tasty indian food

great vegan mango lassi, bowls were quite tasty and huuuge 🌞

Joanita&Derek

Points +99

Vegan
26 Jun 2020

Delicious!

I love the food! The place is nice and the staff nice😄

Pros: All vegan

Elli8

Points +135

Vegan
30 May 2020

Tasteless food

I can't understand the good ratings, the service was bad and the food tasted boring.

Cons: Tasteless food, Bad service

ajito

Points +1688

Vegan
28 Feb 2020

Delicious balanced food

In this very nice place you get very delicious and also balanced food by very nice people. A place to come back.

LisaDisa86

Points +22

Vegan
02 Feb 2020

Bad experience

Not the best experience ever, the service was quite poor and unfriendly

Pros: Vegan

Cons: Service , Food quality

Dandido

Points +1166

Vegan
08 Jan 2020

Tasty Dosa

Alright place. The decor was pretty cheap and not that nice but the staff was really friendly, the prices were good and the classic dosa which I had was very yummy. Wouldn't mind going here again.

AbeInABox

Points +45

Vegetarian
24 Dec 2019

Some things are worth the try!

A nice place to eat with professional staff, a little cold but they got us everything we needed. The onion rings were great as a starter and then me and my boyfriend ordered the for 2 people veggie menu. Three curries a rice and we also got some naan. It was too much. One of the curries we loved- pakora paneer but the other two were just okay and maybe didn't compliment each other- korma and chilli paneer.

AndLeigh1986

Points +26

Vegan
18 Dec 2019

100% Veganific glory! (For non-vegans too😉)

Whether it is a sit-down restaurant or fast-food bites you want, this is a place worth visiting!
The mix of flavors and the choices you get therein + the kind-hearted passionate people there really make Goura Pakora stand out.
I am a full Vegan and one thing I have learned, go to a full vegan restaurant and you will see, feel and taste the passion in the food.

Remember to stop by and enjoy!

Toast and Avocado

Points +404

Vegan
04 Sep 2019

Nice place to visit

There are a few vegan meal options. Probably wouldn’t go out of my way to try, but nice if you’re in the area

Pros: Vegan

DennisLaursen

Points +1434

Vegetarian
25 Aug 2019

Nice indian-styled eatery

Goura Pakora offers some nice indian-styled foods in their eatery with place for 30-ish persons. The place is quite popular, so you might book a table in advance if you would like to eat there at Friday og Saturday evening.

Goura Pakoras food is focused on a selected aspect of the Indian kitchen. So the selection is small, but good.

A recommendation to Goura Pakora from me, especially if you like Indian food.

Verena_Vegan

Points +124

Vegan
21 Aug 2019

Delicious dosas!

Big and delicious dosas. Great chutneys. Chai not so good.

Pros: All vegan!

anna243

Points +32

Vegan
28 Jul 2019

Good vegan food

Good food but not memorable. They were out of the option i wanted so i needed up with some rice with vegetables which was good but could easily be done at home. Not many option available, as there were like 5 dishes and different variations of each.

Pros: Vegan

Cons: Not many options to choose from

saskiarabbit

Points +89

Vegan
26 Jun 2019

Reasonable self-service & amazing flavours

Flavour saviours Goura Pakora came through with the good good. A cute little self-service vedic Indian venue that specialise in amazing dosas for really reasonable prices. The selection was all incredibly freshly prepared and no fuss. We went for the Mumbai Dosa filled chock full of tofu, tomato, spinach, dal and all manner of other lovely things. We also got a bowl of the veg pakora which was a well cooked and an interesting selection of deep fried veg.

Then we come to the chutneys, now I’m a sauce addict and believe that most foods are vessels for flavoured gloop and this was the perfect example; coconut chutney, mango chutney, tomato chutney and pear… yes x 4. Couldn’t get enough. Everything was perfectly seasoned and had generous portions, my only complaint was not enough heat but I’m a spicy gal so that can’t be helped. Definitely go and make sure to take an empty stomach and some hungry eyes.

Pros: Great price, Amazing flavours, Nice menu offering

Cons: Self-service and can be a little slow

Zebborg

Points +19

Vegetarian
28 Apr 2019

A must go to

Just love this place and I go here every visit in Berlin. Kind of a fusion restaurant with indian inspiration. Really nice and calm enviorment and you won’t leave hungry.

Pros: Enviorment, Price, The Dosas

Cons: The drink menu is kind of boring

WarmeKatze

Points +70

Vegan
24 Mar 2019

Poor taste, looong waiting

We had pakora and dosa thali, pakoras are ok and salat is nice, but the rest doesn’t have any taste even after 1 hour waiting!!!! They dont use any spices and lack of salt in Indian restaurant 🙏🏼🙄 if I had this in small town would be happy, but in Berlin it is worse than average

Pros: Big portions

Cons: No taste, One our waiting and another 10 minutes waiting, for the second meal, we didn’t eat together

gltozer

Points +104

Vegan
30 Dec 2018

So tasty, nice atmosphere

The only reason I didn’t give 5 stars is because we waited 30-40 minutes for food and the dishes didn’t arrive close enough together for us to be able to eat together. They looked really busy though do it makes sense! Other than that it was really tasty, not too expensive, great portion sizes and friendly service.

Pros: All vegan, Really tasty, Not too expensive, great portion sizes

Cons: Took a long time, Didn’t come out with other friends orders

errindel

Points +16

Vegan
22 Dec 2018

Big dish poor taste

Fully vegan, big plates but without taste, it' cold in here, no english menu.

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Berlin Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Goura Pakora closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 16393 times.