• Gopala Madhava

  • (10)
    17
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Lacto
Indian
Italian
Western
Hare Krishna

Charming restaurant in an Indian style. Typically offers a choice of two set meals - one Indian, one international, including a small starter and dessert, juice, and a substantial main course. One meal is always veganizable. Gets very busy with lines out of the door, somewhat calmer after 2pm. Accepts debit cards but not credit cards. Relocated from Rua Antonio Carlos, 413. Open Mon-Sat 11:30am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Gopala Madhava
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by mirian

joiceb

Points +121

Vegetarian
19 Jul 2023

Comida muito saborosa

O espaço tem um ambiente muito agradável e o atendimento foi excelente.

Os pratos são muito saborosos, muito bem temperados e a comida não é tão apimentada.

O valor do menu estava R$60 (final de semana) e incluiu entrada de salada, prato principal, bebida e sobremesa. A única coisa é que achei caro.

Pros: Pratos saborosos , Atendimento, Ambiente

Cons: Preço caro

Advertisement

Jeferreiranutri

Points +17

Vegetarian
18 Oct 2022

Muito sabor!!

Eu adoro os aromas, combinações inusitadas e praticidade do menu completo

Pros: Opções diferentes , Porções extras, Menu completo

Cons: Não há opção de suco

gabicruzcortez

Points +726

Vegan
08 May 2022

DELICIOSO!

Comida muito bem temperada com um preço justo. Paguei 45 reais e comi o prato principal, uma salada, um suco e uma sobremesa! Com certeza vou voltar!

katupiry

Points +79

Vegan
22 Mar 2016

Lunch time

I went there many many times when I was vegetarian. The food are very good!
The restaurant has two options every day of the week and you can choice a big or a half meal.
My friends that eat meat loved there. If you are vegan, be careful and read with attention the menu.
Ask the staff about vegan options, because they use a lot of butter and cheese.
Look the website before go.

Eu fui nesse restaurant inúmeras vezes quando eu era vegetariana. A comida é muito boa! Meus amigos que comem carne gostaram muito também!
O restaurante possui duas opções diferentes ao longo dos dias da semana.
Se você for vegan preste atenção no cardápio e se tiver dúvida de algo, pergunte! Pois eles costumam usar muita manteiga e queijo nos pratos.
Recomendo olhar o site antes de ir.

Pros: location, price, tasty food

Cons: menu doesn't advise vegan options

Isis Galvao

Points +134

Vegetarian
23 Nov 2014

Indian Veggie

I am an old and loyal customer from Gopala Madhava. Everything there is delicious: the food, the desserts, the juices, the chai. The dishes have an Indian accent, with a lot of condiments and a very strong taste. They always have two options per day so then you can choose between them. The dishes includes a mini salad, the main dish, a dessert and free natural juice. The price is excellent, but they don't accept credit cards. I recommend it for everyone!

Pros: Delicious food, Good price

Cons: There are always huge queues, They don't accept credit cards, The environment is a little bit damaged

LUIZSCOPEL

Points +16

Vegan
16 Aug 2014

not a place for vegans

There's ghee everywhere.

The friends who were with me (vegetarians) told the food was great.

Pros: nice place

Cons: no vegan option

Jener

12 Dec 2021

Hello, LUIZSCOPEL.
A few years ago I talked to the owner about vegan options and she told me they were thinking to offer something, last month I went there and there is one vegan option per day.

kennyp353

Points +1600

Vegetarian
23 Feb 2014

Excellent lunchtime spot

Note that Gopala Madhava and Gopala Hari are just doors apart on the same street, and sell very similar food, but they are separate businesses. They used to be in partnership but broke up some years ago, so now you have a choice of two places. Having not realised this until very recently, and only having been to Gopala Madhava before, I'd say there's little to choose between them - they're both pretty good and always busy with lines down the stairs and out the door - but gets a bit quieter after 2pm. A restaurant with two set meal options - one Indian, one something else e.g. Italian - including starter, dessert and juice. High quality food and plenty of it.

Updated from previous review on Friday March 12, 2010

Pros: great food, nice atmosphere

Cons: lunchtimes only

SteveMann

Points +48

Vegetarian
11 Feb 2012

not what I expected

I read several reviews suggesting this was good Indian food. Have lived in NJ (little India), visited India, cooked Indian food, I'd hardly call it Indian. It's true, it was pretty busy. I suspect because of the substantial amount of heavy food (rice, feijao (beans), etc) that give the feeling of fullness with a relatively small São Paulo price tag. The food was ok, the service was less than average. We waited quite some time to get in - no one said a word to us (btw, my portuguas is fine so this isn't the issue). Several tables who were seated after us were served first and we didn't get so much as a hello.
The server knew very little about the menu (all of 2 choices on the menu people). The food was relatively warm and taste was pretty good. I was with a friend and we selected one of each available dishes to sample. She was slightly happier than I (she's non-veg) but in the end, we both felt the same: it was OK.

Pros: inexpensive, portion size was adequate

Cons: 2 choices?, service less than average, standing on stairs waiting for a table

SaundersForman

Points +22

Vegan
11 Sep 2011

A good find

Nice food, nice atmosphere. So popular that when we finished lunch there was a line of people out the door waiting to be seated; consider going early. We each tried one of the two choices for that day's lunch menu and we liked both choices.

Pros: pretty decor, nice wait staff, decent food

mirian

Points +47

Vegan
09 Jun 2007

Hare Krishna cooking

Delicious Indian style food. The restaurant follows Hare Krishna cooking guidelines. Not many vegan options available.




This page has been viewed 3350 times.