Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Take-out
Bakery
Breakfast

General store and vegetarian cafe est since 2007 formerly as Good Natured Market. Offers a variety of food and drinks, including breakfast items, sandwiches, day's soups, veggie burgers, coffee, latte, smoothies. Vegan and gluten-free desserts available. Cafe is open Wed-Sat. Open Tue-Fri 11:30am-6:30pm, Sun 12:00pm-5:00pm. Hours may vary; call ahead.


Venue map for Good Natured Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

32 Reviews

First Review by batgrrlnyc

LaurelS

Points +38

Vegan
04 Jul 2023

Love this place!

Almost everything here is already vegan or can be made vegan by omitting cheese. Owners let me know that the restaurant uses plant-based products when cooking by default.

Pros: Big, delicious salads!, Hearty and filling soups, Has vegan grilled cheese!

Advertisement

Nthom8910

Points +64

Vegan
29 Jun 2023

Vegan gem in Martinsburg

Friendly staff serving delicious food. Healthy vegan food. Left feeling satisfied ! We didn’t have time to shop in the attached grocery store, but wanted too.

Pros: Beautiful presentation , Quaint

Cons: None

indigovegan

Points +33

Vegan
13 Jun 2023

Amazing vegan/veg hidden gem in downtown Martinsburg!

Delicious food. Nice sized portions, especially with salads. The store has many hard to find vegan items and organic produce.

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly staff

jcartz

Points +293

Vegan
23 Apr 2023

AMAZING PLACE!

My partner & I found this place on Happy Cow and went to check it out. We were able to dine in with our dogs. The wait staff and owner were so friendly. Our food was 10/10 and there is a market! You have to make the stop if in WV.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Affordable , Portion size

LJVegan

Points +1818

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

Neat store and friendly staff!

They were about to close when we arrived so we couldn’t enjoy a meal. Had a wonderful time perusing their selection of groceries, sweets, herbs, drinks and fresh produce. The espresso was nice and I can’t wait to enjoy the vegan Prosecco I purchased! Will be coming back in the fall to enjoy a meal or two. While this place is vegetarian, there are many vegan options.

Update: we visited again to try their restaurant and it didn't disappoint. I also got another bottle of vegan Prosecco! Highly recommend supporting this local spot.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-03

EricSeby

Points +88

Vegan
22 Feb 2023

Gooooooooooood Natured 10/10

Place is a cute little restaurant with very friendly staff, tons of vegan options highly recommend to anyone!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Everything tastes so fresh , Great atmosphere very vibrant and lively!

Cons: None

Besmacary

Points +170

Vegan
21 Jan 2023

Second time here and I love it, so fresh.

Good natured is so friendly and welcoming. Not to mention the amazing food!

cmrobertello

Points +23

Mostly Veg
29 Dec 2022

Good natured cafe

My husband and I shared a delicious bowl of home made squash soup, tortillas stuffed with sautéed mushrooms, and a bountiful salad. The shop shelves were stocked with everything needed to make a meal at home from fresh mushrooms to spices. Definitely keeping this on our list of favs

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Fresh crisp bountiful salad & home made dressing , Home made original soup

BeverlyOrnberg

Points +1212

Mostly Veg
08 Oct 2022

Humongous salads

We returned for the first time since Covid ended, and it is even better than we remember. We each had a salad that was large enough to feed us for an entire day. Delicious. Fresh. Beautiful presentations. We’ll be back.

Pros: Huge portions., Fresh, fresh, fresh., Can accommodate any food allergy

StaceyDennis

Points +29

Vegetarian
08 Apr 2022

Cute cafe

I am currently in Martinsburg on assignment. I have been here several times, each time it is a different customer service experience. I've had lunch there and no one has spoken to us or provided silverware, and I've been there and we have had a great experience.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Customer service

AnnieHalsey

Points +26

Vegan
08 Apr 2022

Lovely late lunch on a rainy spring day

Passed through Martinsburg on my way home to DC, and had a lovely and tranquil visit here. The building itself is charming, a repurposed Victorian style house full of delectable goodies. There was even a fire going in a belly stove!
I had a bowl of delicious plantain and Japanese sweet potato soup, and a scrumptious oat milk Chaga latte. My dog Daisy was welcomed inside when I asked, and was even given some treats.
Thank you for the ambiance and very tasty snack!

Kellakany

Points +25

Vegetarian
17 Jul 2021

Adorable and Tasty!

This cafe/market is in an adorable Victorian and each room of goodies leads to to another. The chickpea and sweet potato tacos came with a brilliant salad with a bright dressing and fantastic textures! My fella had the beautifully done quiche with a fruit salad that included blood oranges and blueberries and didn’t leave a bit on his plate. Show this place some love if you’re in the area.

dominicserino

Points +101

Vegan
20 Apr 2021

Delicious and affordable

Charming market and great menu, it looked like everything could be made vegan. Very pleasant patio for outdoor seating.

notEvenVegan

Points +80

Vegan
23 Jul 2019

Market and Restaurant

This is a vegetarian restaurant so make sure you ask for the vegan cheese! Lots of healthy vegan and seitan sandwiches. Lots of vegan beer and wine. Beautiful salads. Dessert and fun specials like a different nut burger or fancy veggie things that you haven’t made before!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Healthy sandwiches, Dessert available

BKelley

Points +96

Vegan
22 Jan 2019

Great place

Owners super friendly. Try the walnut burger and side salad with tahini.

Pros: Great vegan options

JuliaCowles

Points +17

Vegetarian
13 Oct 2018

Cute little spot

Very chill, nice people, not crowded at all. I highly recommend the Sasquash but not the hummus or schwarma (both we’re seriously lacking flavor) I would definitely go back to try more options.

Pros: So many options , Very customizable for any diet , Clean, quiet and cute space

Cons: Everything we tried could use more flavor

DGourds

Points +51

Vegan
13 Jul 2018

So great!

There’s a really good vibe in this cafe/health food store. It’s so surprising to find a wonderful place that offers great vegan food in a small town like this. I had the Reuben which was really very good. Lots of interesting beverage choices. The staff was super nice. I’m making this place a regular stop on my motorcycle outings in WV!

Pros: Great food, Super nice people, Nice atmosphere

nataki50

Points +24

Vegan
10 Jan 2018

Only specialized health food/shop and cafe in Martinsburg

Good Nature 'wears' multiple hats as an alternative lifestyle cafe with vegan and vegetarian selections, a specialty market, a complete line of bulk herbs & spices, health foods, a supplement section, organic produce, alternative music CD's on sale, an organic general store with gardening, cleaning items, and many more items.... If you need an eco friendly rain barrel or an essential oil or ciabatta bread on a sandwich or even a product usually found in major health food stores, stop here and shop. It is progressive beyond the confines of Martinsburg and even West Virginia. I go to this shop and find what I need.

Pros: Reasonable prices, Accommodates gluten-free, allergy, special diets , Large cafe area with great food

Cons: Currently open 5 hours weekdays, closed Sun/Mon., Verify hours before going

Furryfacelover

Points +22

Vegan
15 Oct 2017

A Vegan's Dream!

Food is delicious! Staff is awesome! I love this restaurant and am so thankful that a restaurant offering A+ vegan meals like this is in the area near me! :)

Pros: Atmosphere is comfy and clean., Food is creative & presented beautifully & delish , Vegan market attached

dwdrummond

Points +111

Vegan
29 Aug 2017

A vegan's delight!

Nice people! Very nice ambience, situated in a lovely old house, restaurant and store well-stocked with good vegan and organic products. Must stop for travelers on the 81. Highly recommend it, great food.

msbyron

Points +20

Vegan
17 Aug 2015

Oasis for vegans who land in Martinsburg

This restaurant satisfies many appetites with delicious entrees and good cooking. True vegan dishes with great taste. A West Virginia dining treasure hidden on Raleigh Street. Small organic market attached.

Pros: Creative vegan menu, Wonderfully fresh veggies, Suits a variety of food preferences

RachHappy

Points +13

Vegetarian
30 Jun 2015

Outstanding!!!

Excellent food, outstanding service, friendly and knowledgable on food allergies. Very helpful!!! Quality food.

Pros: Excellent Food, Friendly Staff, Good Vibe

AnnalieseH

Points +115

Vegan
21 Mar 2015

Decent

I've been looking forward to visiting Good Natured for about a year, and I finally got my chance today. I was hoping to have the veg crabby patties because I LOVE vegan seafood, but they were out. Here's what we got:

1. The side salads were beautiful-- the best I've ever eaten from a place that doesn't specialize in salad. I got the creamy garlic dressing, which basically tasted like mayo.

2. My husband got the power burger (mealy like a typical bean burger) and I got the nut burger. The nut burger was awesome, but I'd pass on the bean one. They're a bit dry, though, so I used my salad dressing on them.

3. We got the chocolate chip cookie and the espresso brownie for dessert. Neither was great, and the brownie was more like hot pudding. I couldn't finish it.

I want to visit again, but only for the noodle bowl and crabby patties. I hope they're great!

Pros: Friendly service, Customizable meals, Fresh ingredients

Cons: Slow service

thrasher

Points +64

Vegan
23 Feb 2015

mmmmmm. closest veg restaurant to my house.

this is the closest veg restaurant to my house, which is like 30 mins away. its way better than driving the 90mins out to DC and the food is usually better than alot of the veg restaurants in DC. the "crab" cakes are super delicious. the falafel are tasty and the burgers are huge and taste great, but are a typical bean burger and get kinda mushy and squish apart while you eat them.(be sure to ask, there are 2 or 3 burger patties and all of them arent always vegan, but at least 1 usually is). their salads are so good and their creamy garlic dressing - OMG SO DELICIOUS. i just want to drink it. ;) sometimes i think about ordering on the phone before i get here tho, because sometimes it can take a while to get food, but you can always entertain yourself grocery shopping in the market or just bring a friend and talk while you wait ;). also, they usually have a few vegan desserts and they have always been super rich and decadent. this place is so good.

Pros: a lot of options, you can grocery shop too!, cute place w/ local art on the walls

Cons: takes a long time to get food

Vegan_autumn

Points +24

Vegan
10 Jan 2015

Best Vegan option in Martinsburg

The vegan cheese panini is so good!

Keith.montgomery

Points +38

Vegan
11 Aug 2014

Awesome!!!

On the way home to NY we passed through Martinsburg around lunch time. We stopped by and had a wonderful lunch.

Hummus for a starter, a great veggie bean soup, and the “Sweetest” Potato Falafel.

The falafel came with a salad which was phenomenal.

I wish they were closer to home, I would eat there everyday!!!! :-)

Pros: fresh food, great service , great prices

Cons: parking was a little crazy ( in the back )

Rather Be Hiking

Points +24

Vegan
07 Mar 2014

Excellent Food

We were driving down Highway 81 at lunch time, ate at this café. Food was delicious, including a very large salad with fresh greens, and split pea soup with crackers. Plan to visit again on next trip!
PS you have to go to their kitchen to let them know you are there! But service was good.




This page has been viewed 6837 times.