Gong De Lin - Godly - Nanjing Rd

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 39 reviews )
Contact
21-6327-0218
Find

445 Nanjing Rd West, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Ninty year-old restaurant (since 1922) with an extensive mockmeat menu, plus cookies and desserts. Sep 2017 reported fully vegan. Serves noodles on the first floor and the full menu on the second floor. Staff speaks very little English, and some menu items are in English. Air-conditioned but smoking is allowed. Open Mon-Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Chinese, Take-out

39 Reviews

First Review by tofutodd

Average - Edit

Again it was ok. Food a little oily. Staff were helpful. Not many other vegan options in town

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Large Vegan Shanghai Style Restaurant - Edit

I really enjoyed the extensive menu and local style food. A large assortment of mock meats and veggies in a convenient location

Pros: Large dining area, Extensive mock meats

Cons: Service is a bit difficult

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good if you like mock meat or miss real meat - Edit

I had the spring rolls (6RMB) and the Peking duck (30RMB). It was good but nothing amazing, probably really cool for vegans/vegos who miss meat or just wanna try it out. Fully vegan which is nice.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very Dissapointing - Edit

ABC (American Born Chinese) went with family who had been here many times in the past, super disappointed their quality is Godly awful. One of the only times I've come out of a restaurant on the verge of vomiting. We ended up only stomaching half the food before leaving. My biggest regret was spending so much money there and ending up eating at the restaurants on the street nearby and spending a fraction (1/50 to be exact) of the price. I'm not a picky eater and created an account just to warn anyone who's thinking of going. I guess in the end it's my fault for not noticing there were only 2 other tables with people at peak dinner hour.

Don't make the same mistake I did, service was sadly the same quality as their food: absolute garbage.

Pros: Best dish was the empty one with our utensils

Cons: Quality of food and service, High price, Lowest is 2 star because vegan +1

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Surprise! - Edit

Wasn't expecting such a good restaurant after reading some reviews. The food is great! I came here with omnivore friends and everyone loved the food. Ask them to recommend dishes, they'll point you to the best!

Pros: The food is all vegan.

Cons: nothing to add

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious mock meat! - Edit

I've been here 3 times and enjoyed the food every time. They specialize in mock meat like chicken, duck, beef and fish. Many dishes use mushroom or vegetables to simulate the meat texture. My favorite dishes are Sesame chicken, fish in sweet and sour sauce and Mock duck (names of dishes might be slightly different). Also enjoyed the meatballs with vegetables. I'm impressed every time at how tasty the food is and how closely it resembles the actual meat.
Definately recommend!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Goos stufff - Edit

Mock meats, not my thing but all tasted good.
Enjoy

1 Response
Read More

yup 17 Nov 2017 - They have a lot of dishes various protein sources that do not contain mock meats.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

These negative reviews are wack - Edit

So I read through most of these reviews before I went today. All of the negative reviews critique chinese customs/shanghai cuisine. If you want some overly seasoned food, ice water, and ordering in english, stay in a western country! If you actually want good, shanghai cuisine done veg, come here. I have been craving a good beijing style duck since I went veg, and this place finally sated that need. The "skin" was amazing, and it was the kind of fake duck that's marinated, rolled up tofu skin. The tofu with "crab roe" is flavored impeccably. The taro with wood ears has the best consistency. The [insert the name of the thing that's related to a water chestnut but is kind of shaped like horns], ginkgo nut, and peppers is delicately seasoned, as not to overpower the subtle flavors of the ingredients. This is the point of shanghai cuisine; to not overpower or cover up the flavors of the ingredients. Plain veggie dishes can be seen as "oily", but the oil gives them the fat they need to have oomph. Sugar makes appearances in places westerners may not expect, but give it a chance. Liquids here are not cold, as cold liquids are thought to hamper digestion. Respect native cuisine and customs, guys. If you're not willing to, just stay home.

Pros: Shanghai cuisine done veg, Great prices, Juices are good, too

Cons: It's a CHINESE restaurant in CHINA, Sorrynotsorry it's not westernized enough for you

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Food was good! - Edit

I didn't read the reviews carefully before I went, so I ate on the ground floor. The room and service were not superb, and perhaps I should have tried the first floor! Luckily, I care a lot more about the food than those aspects, and I give it five stars because I was pleased, and as far as I could tell, it was easy to find likely-vegan stuff. I had mock duck and some veggie buns. Both were very good, especially the latter! (Given that Shanghai cuisine tends toward milder and sweeter, which I don't enjoy as much as other variations, I didn't hold those facts against these dishes.) Relative to Shanghai prices, especially some of the veg places, it was very reasonable. I'm grateful to have this option near People's Square.

Btw, seems to be accurately pinned on the map now, from what I can recall.

Pros: Tasty, Reasonable prices

Cons: Ground floor decor, Erratic service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mixed, but worth at least one visit - Edit

Gong De Lin has been around forever, and they seem to be coasting on autopilot.

The menu is extensive, and as others have noted it's worth reading other reviews to get a sense of what you might like to try, as there's a lot of variation in quality and flavor (ranging from so-so to good to great).

Quality of service depends a lot on who your server is. My first one was brusque and pushy (he really didn't want to let me finish reading the whole menu before I decided), but my second one was gentle and accommodating.

The upstairs dining room has more relaxed vibes.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great restaurant, if you know what to order!!! - Edit

When you go there, please mind that this restaurant is not where it is showed on the Happycow.org map!!! It is just off People's square, it is the building next to the "JW Marriott hotel" / the Ferrari Maserati Commercial center and opposite the Porsche Dealership on Nanjing West road. On Google maps, I could also find it under "Gongdelin Maipinbu".

I was skeptical when I read the reviews here, and my first visit did not really give me a great impression. I arrived 10 minutes before kitchen closing time (21:30), sat on the ground floor, and ordered "Budda jumps over the Wall" and the fried noodles as I could not find many other things on the Chinese/English menu that I could remember from the reviews here (unfortunately I did not read the reviews closely, otherwise I would have noticed that those are NOT suggested to non-Chinese people here). Both dishes were ok-ish, the noodles quite oily and a little bland, the soup was made from a variety of mushrooms that are not very common to the Western taste (but supposedly very healthy). I am not sure whether the taste of the dish or my unfamiliarity with Chinese cuisine are to blame, but I did not find it bad, only a little strange.

Luckily, I decided to give the restaurant another try, and it was the right decision. On my second visit (with some omni colleagues), I went to the first floor (which is much nicer), and we ordered
(suggestion for first-time visitors)
- Hot and Sour soup,
- Ma-Po tofu (Hot Pepper tofu)
- Beijing style mock duck
- sweet and sour mock fish
- mixed vegetable and mushroom

All of those dishes were absolutely delicious, and my colleagues commended me on the choice of the restaurant. Have been going there at least once on each of my subsequent Shanghai visits (about once a month), never regretted it!

Especially the 'Ma-Po tofu' was the best I have ever had (and that is a signature dish of my Chinese wife), the food was plentiful, the service ok, and the total bill (including tea and fresh mango juice) was about 300 RMB (40 EUR)

On the ground floor, they have a smaller "fast food" lunch menu, you order in advance (e.g. noodle soup for 20 RMB) and sit at a table where there is space. Good value for money & quick.

However, the restaurant is NOT VEGAN - so you have to check/ask! E.g. the Guava juice is prepared with dairy milk.

Updated from previous review on Monday September 08, 2014

Pros: Easy to find once you know where to look, Great food when you know what to order!!, Price absolutely ok for the area

Cons: You should know what to order, NOT VEGAN - check what you order

1 Response
Read More

SanjayChandra 25 Jun 2017 - SUUUUPER HELPFUL!!
I, for the life of me, could not find it on Google maps, and got a result that was a couple of miles away. So glad you cleared up the directions. Looking forward to trying it myself on my trip next week. Thanks.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great salad! - Edit

I was a little confused, because I also read this place is vegan - at least I couldn't find anything which contains eggs or milk.
But anyway we don't like mock meat too much, so we just ordered vegetables. Especially the salad and the supposed to be like fish eggplants (which fortnulately didn't taste like fish at all ^^) were fantastic.
This restaurant is also quite cheap, so you can really order a lot :)

Pros: cheap, delicious

Cons: no sign which declares it's vegetarian/v

1 Response
Read More

AndyT 26 Mar 2014 - You have to watch out and, better, to ask.
We once ordered the Guava juice which turned out to be milk-based :-(  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yum - Edit

By far the best place about Godly is the amazing literal translation of its menu that has dishes called stuff like 'the sparrow flies East over an azure Autumn sky', which isn't perhaps the most informative of all descriptions but certainly puts you in the mood for the general awesomeness of Chinese vegan cuisine.

The food is, like most Buddhist inspired vegan food here, really great, with a wide selection of very tasty mock meats and cool exotic vegetables etc., some of it wasn't to my taste, but the trick is to buy lots of dishes to make sure that you'll all like something.

I thought the decor was swell and I generally really dug the vibe there; friendly staff (very limited English) and toilets were Western style.

Pros: Food, Place, Veganess

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Classic Restaurant - Edit

The restaurant name is "功德林" 。 Easy to find, take a "Light train" to People's Square station (人民广场)at exit 11, just walk about 200-300 m. It's at the main road corner with 2 storeys. The food is ok & I like the dim sum / desserts.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good - Edit

This is a fine vegan restaurant in a central location. Some of the dishes are very tasty. The service is a bit off hand.

1 Response
Read More

AndyT 26 Mar 2014 - Not vegan. Some items are milk-based :-(
Best to make clear (in Chinese) that you can only take "zhen su" food.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent! - Edit

We'll definitely be back!

Pros: great price for location, not oily

Cons: good if you can speak Chinese

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

vegan food! - Edit

My husband and I are vegetarians and were very excited to try this restaurant. We do not eat mock meat or Msg so were hoping for something tasty and fresh without extra additives. We went up to the 1st floor for the view. The waiter spoke broken english and we managed to order ordered the seasonal vegetable, Bok Choy with mushrooms, bamboo with mushrooms And the noodle dish(similar to chow mein). The mushroom/ Bok choy was very good. All others were very oily and lacking flavor. Prices were a bit high for the food you get and the tea is 18/cup.

Pros: nice location, modified dishes( made more spicy or less oily

Cons: high prices for food you get

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

OK but not specially friendly - Edit

This restaurant is OK. Do not like that they don't serve any water or tea with the meal. If you choose the right disch, which is not easy, than you are fine.But if you choose the wrong, such as their abalone (huh) or crabmeat (very small dish), then you are sunk.
Have a look at the bill. They might charge you the towels you did not use.

Pros: pure veggie

Cons: not all dishes fine

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Disappointing - Edit

large building with both ground and first floor eatings areas. Ground floor rather spartan and gloomy, first fllor more modern. English in menu needs some clarfiication, like "Buddha over the wall".... ur guess is as good as mine.Mock meats are bland, and seem to be made in house. Not up to the standard of what is commercially available. Smallish sized dishes abt $8 each. Rice arrives at end of meal (if ur lucky). Beer warm, no ice available. Staff speak no English. I went back another night thinking I may have had an 'off-night'. Second night no better. Seems non mock meat dishes are better, mixed muchrooms quite nice
Michael Tait, Australia

Pros: central, large

Cons: warm drinks, average food, ordinary service

1 Response
Read More

AndyT 05 Feb 2014 - "Buddha jumps over the wall" is a classic Chinese dish made from awful animal ingredients (like shark fin), which supposedly was given its name when a monk in a monastery (who was not allowed to eat meat) was so enticed by the smell that he jumped over the temple wall to get to eat the nasty stuff: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Buddha_Jumps_Over_the_Wall  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty comfort food - Edit

We ate at Godly twice this month, and also bought some of their buns from the shop next door. The food ranges from generic and overpriced through to excellent and cheap. It really depends on what you order. We liked the hot and sour soup, Shanghai noodles (not on the menu, just ask for noodles instead of rice with your meal), mapo tofu, and pickled cabbage. The fried dishes and jumping buddha soup were disappointing and not as good as the rest of the menu.

Updated from previous review on Sunday July 18, 2010
Updated from previous review on Wednesday August 18, 2010

Pros: Nice decor, Great hot & sour soup

Cons: Unfriendly service, Expensive tea, Hit and miss menu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Alright - Edit

Considering it's been around for so long, plus I like the one in HK a lot, I came to try out this first original location with my partner during our trip to Shanghai.

Restaurant was very easy to find. Menu has a lot of selections, but even as a native Chinese speaker I had problems figuring out what some of the dishes really are just by looking at the names; the English translations were worse, many didn't make any sense at all. I think the quality of your meal really depends on whether or not you know what it is that you're getting, so it'll help big time if you have a Chinese speaker with you that can communicate with the staff.

Back to the food, I asked the server for recommendations and it all turned out pretty well. Although, as in most restaurants in China, food tends to be on the greasy side. Decor is elegant, atmosphere tranquil, altogether a fairly pleasant dinner.

P.S. Don't use the towels or you'll be charged RMB 2 per piece... yes it's very minimal but I didn't like the way they snuck charges into our bill!

Pros: nice atmosphere, location

Cons: difficulty in ordering, oily food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Definitely not great - Edit

We went here with full knowledge that the reviews on HC are very mixed and quickly came to see why. The restaurant itself is nicely decorated and gives you that historical China feel. Service is weird and certainly not friendly or helpful. English is non-existent but this we are used to in China and have learnt to cope with. The menu is large and consists of the typical mock meats which we generally avoid. One thing we do enjoy though is mock duck - this is usually made using tofu sheets rolled up so is not over-processed (basically, it still classifies as 'food'). So we ordered this and as many other things as we could find that did not involve factory processed fake meats.

The duck looked promising - it was served with little pancakes, peking duck style, with a dark hoisin like sauce and cucumber strips. It was almost enjoyable, but the sauce was overpoweringly sweet. We ditched the sauce and just ate it without, which now meant it was bland. Then came a cold pumpkin dish we ordered. This too was sooo sweet that we had to leave it. They are obviously not using a healthy or high quality sugar either, just the regular supermarket white variety... and way too much of it. The rest of the dishes ranged between ok and oily. Nothing to write home about at all. Oh yes and they do use MSG. We ordered without though as we always do and I think they kept it out, although you never do know. In our book, restaurants who use MSG are not good restaurants because it means they don't know how to cook tasty food without it (any fool can make something taste good by lacing it with that stuff).

Overall, some of the food was edible, some was not. None of it was great. If we go back it means we are pretty stuck, but I don't think that will happen.

Pros: nice traditional interiors, large menu

Cons: MSG, sugar, oil, weird service, food is average

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dissapointed - Edit

It is very easy to find. Go to People's Square station and direct to Marriott Hotel. It's right after that.

The atmosphere is good. Menu doesn't have pictures, very difficult to know what will you get. We started to choose with soup, it was tasteless then we took some mix veg, it was snivelling as well as a soup. The portions are small. Then I took tofu with veg pork thinking to get some taste with pork, they brought just soft tofu. I asked about pork they said no pork, we are veg restaurant. :-) But why do you have it in your menu? I know you're veg, that's why I came and I had a veg pork in every restaurant in Asia.

We took 5 dishes and left almost everything on the plates and left from there being hungry.
[edit by staff]

Cons: not good food, not healthy, small portions

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great place, great location - Edit

Very good food and reasonable prices. A classy place, but not pretentious: friendly, helpful service. Has English menu. A couple of blocks from People's Square makes this restaurant very easy to get to.

Pros: very good food, friendly service, classy ambiance

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good location, relatively cheap, not great service - Edit

The location of this restaurant is great. It is on the main road, within 5 minutes walk of the closest edge of People's Park.

The decor is good - dark brown wooden furniture, dark grey slate-look tiles, water underneath the stairs.

We ordered a bamboo shoot dish however found it undercooked and hard. We asked for them to cook it for another few mintues but they were unhappy to do so. They took it away and brought another dish similarly undercooked and this time spicier and much oilier. I guess they did try to help but did not get the point that we found it hard to eat.

The second dish of tofu with 3 kinds of mushrooms was good and we liked the addition of peas.

I would still recommend this restaurant as one of the two dishes was good, other people's dishes looked good, there is a good choice, plus the location is good as the restaurant is easy to find.

Pros: pretty place, location

Cons: service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nice chinese style meal! - Edit

I went to this restaurant today with two non-vegetarian friends. We had four dishes between us and we enjoyed them. The food was pretty oily but no more oily than your average Shanghai restaurant. It is typical Chinese food except without meat. It was not too expensive. 90rmb for the 3 of us excluding drinks. However they did charge us 2rmb for a wet towel. They leave packets with wet towels on the table for you. Beware that if you use them they will charge. We only saw this on the menu after my friend had opened one. The restaurant has a shop that sells spices and things as well. I didn't buy anything today but I think I will go back. The things seems reasonably priced.

Pros: good value, variety of dishes, good location, clean

Cons: towels cost 2rmb, food is oily

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wish we stayed home... - Edit

On the positive, this place is really inexpensive. After traveling in Beijing and eating at veggie restaurants there, we were excited to try out the "most famous" veggie place in Shanghai. Most of the servers do not speak english--could not even get a napkin. The menu is hard to understand. The food was okay, but so oily.
Meatballs and greens were probably our favorite.
The lamb was bad.
The eggplant was good--oily.
Noodles--were good.
Seasonal vegetables were good--but were mushrooms and noodles. I am not sure if they brought us the wrong dish.

All in all--you want cheap, go ahead. Looking for good food, don't bother.

Pros: Price

Cons: Oily food, Server do not speak english

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Shanghai Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Gong De Lin - Godly - Nanjing Rd closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 13945 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support