Vegan
Chinese
Delivery
Vietnamese
Buddhist

The weekday lunch features a steam table. Has an all-day special plate in addition to a large menu of dishes with a variety of faux meats in rice and noodle, claypots, main entrees, and more. Operated by disciples of supreme master ChingHai. Short walk from 12th St BART station. Apr 2013 reported to be all vegan. Open Tue-Sun 11:00am-8:00pm.


82 Reviews

First Review by tartarugafechada

EthanSharp

Points +48

Vegan
10 Feb 2024

A must visit :)

This place has so many options! The portions are good for the price, and the food is delicious.

Pros: Many choices, Reasonably priced, Quick service

Advertisement

TanyaL

Points +104

Vegan
25 Nov 2023

Best vegan cuisine

Very good food. The service was great. I only wish they cloer to my home. They were bagging 100 meals for the unhoused while we ate. The love for humanity ❤️

Pros: Service, Quality, Price

Chrissyanne

Points +355

Vegan
09 Nov 2023

Perfect Downtown Oakland Eatery

I had a delicious meal like Golden lotus, a dependable vegan restaurant in downtown Oakland. I went here for an early dinner after a matinee theater performance.

Service is attentive in this family run establishment. I'm happy to support their endeavors with my patronage.

Pros: Friendly service, Nice selection of dishes and beverages

participlecartography

Points +55

Mostly Veg
27 Sep 2023

Golden Lotus

my favorite is the mushu mushu wrap with avocado. my whole family loves this place and any time we're in Oakland we make sure to eat here. the smoothies are delish too

hydomel

Points +338

Vegan
26 Sep 2023

Absolutely delicious Asian vegan

The curry laksa was finger lickin good - I asked for some extra chillies and I was in a sweaty stupor of heat and pure happiness! It was a quiet afternoon today and I had plenty of time to savour the meal and enjoy a book over lunch.

CourtneyKeene

Points +48

Vegan
10 Sep 2023

Wow

This place is AMAZING. Everything we ate was so delish!

vir2l

Points +139

Vegan
11 Aug 2023

Tasty Curry

I really enjoyed my stay at the Golden Lotus. I hat the vegetable curry which was really tasty.

MatthewGoderre

Points +168

Vegan
08 Aug 2023

Great Vegan Chinese Food

I had several dishes from here and every one was a banger. I highly recommend the vegetable curry and the spring rolls!

Pros: Delicious and fresh food, Large delivery radius

Cons: Noodles were a little bland

Gopala108

Points +2576

Vegan
05 Jun 2023

Vietnamase and Thai Vegan Cuisine in Oakland

Golden Lotus is easily one of my favorite places to get a meal in Oakland or the East Bay for that matter. I have been here numerous times already trying a lot of different items from the large & eclectic menu.

I love that everything here is vegan as Golden Lotus specializes in Vietnamese & Thai cuisine. It might be best to come here with a friend or beloved to split some items. Recently a friend & I went here sharing a few dishes along with having some to take home as traveling with tupperware here is wise.

We started with half dozen Spring Rolls non-fried for $5.95 that were flavorful & came with tasty peanut sauce. Next we split a Thai Hot & Sour Soup for $7.50 for the bowl. It was authentic & spicy. Request no chilis if you want less heat yet enjoyed it as it came. The next dish we split was the lotus salad for $6.95 that was made with lotus roots & shredded cabbage in a vinaigrette sauce. The last dish we split was Pan Fried Vegetable Chow Fun. It came with heaps of vegetables in a flavorful sauce along with wide rice noodles. Each item we ordered came in a good sized portion. We enjoyed trying the Pan Fried Vegetable Chow Fun yet using our tupperware took most of it home for another meal or two the following day. We saved room for desert so enjoyed a Vegan Carmel Flan for $2.50 that was tasty & a great way to finish the meal. We had 5 courses in total that made for an enjoyable meal & was surprisingly affordable for what we got.

I enjoy eating here during the week where Golden Lotus offers an affordable combination plate for 3 items for $7.75. The lunch special is offered around lunch time M-F. I recently enjoyed:
a noodle dish
a sweet curried vegetable dish with coconut milk including eggplant, tofu, & potatoes
a less saucy curry dish with a bit of heat from chilis with green beans, carrots, & tofu

The 3 item combination plate allows you to pick 3 items from a selection of at least half dozen items & is one of the best deals in town! Golden Lotus is one of my favorite places to get a vegan meal in Oakland & will be back soon for certain!

Pros: Vietnamase and Thai Vegan Cuisine in Oakland

SarahS88

Points +1798

Vegan
27 May 2023

One of our fav vegan spots

We come here or order from here frequently. It is one of the best vegan restaurants around. Favorite dishes are the spring rolls, Pan Fried Vegetable Chow Fun, sweet & sour soy chicken, and sautéed broccoli soy beef. Everyone loves this place!

Update: came for dinner on a Friday night, such a peaceful, quiet place with lots of families and calming music. Food was wonderful as usual!

Updated from previous review on 2022-06-17

alamedageo

Points +34

Vegan
07 May 2023

Not like it used to be

years ago I used to be a regular at this place. Times have changed and now in the rare times I come back here I just can’t seem to find a truly satisfying dish. #29 Arrived with no sauce for a bowl that consisted of mung bean sprouts wheat noodles mushrooms and steamed broccoli and carrots. I relented and asked for soy sauce to get a bit of moisture. Very little spice. A bland dish for $16.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-07

Cons: some dishes disappoint

SoyCoffeeFTW

Points +619

Vegan
13 Feb 2023

Delicious, simple food

I ordered the pan-fried chow fun and thai iced tea to go. The chow fun was good but very simple and not too flavourful. However, the thai iced tea was amazing and definitely a must!

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-13

Pros: All vegan, Affordable

CharityKahn

Points +79

Vegan
30 Dec 2022

Delicious and so many options!

We've tried many things on the menu and all have been stellar or at least great. Some favorites: Spicy Cha Cha, Yum Yum Vermicelli, House Rice Claypot. One of those restaurants where you need to keep coming back so you can eventually try everything on the menu. Lots of spacious seating, friendly wait-staff, parking. tasty and nutritious 100% vegan!

Pros: Delicious, Extensive menu, Clean and inviting

Celanasoul

Points +28

Vegan
07 Dec 2022

Go Lo is our Go-To

i’ve been coming here for over 20 years now and it’s still a top go-to spot for our family. Every dish have great flavor and consistently satisfying.

EmmaCohen

Points +552

Vegan
04 Dec 2022

BIG portions

Great all vegan Asian fusion restaurant in downtown Oakland. Menu was very large and had a ton of variety. We got the “beef” and broccoli and the sweet potato, tofu and “chicken” curry. Both were delicious and the potions were really big so we had enough for a second meal! Great flavors and super satisfying.

Pros: Thai tea way too sweet

Cons: A little pricey

Zombiecynthia

Points +4695

Vegan
15 Oct 2022

Asian-Fusion Vegan Eats in the Heart of Oakland

Just as tasty as I remembered! Ordered the Golden Rolls, Pan Fried Chow Fun, and Sweet & Sour [Faux] Chicken via a third party app for home delivery. Streamline ordering and the food arrived before the ETA, yay!

I appreciate the minimal plastic packaging and the food was warm. I devoured the golden rolls and half the pan fried- the noodles are super good! I’ll save the Sweet & Sour treat for tomorrows lunch.

PS, Rating WAY overdue - this has been a local vegan favorite spot for years, back when there weren’t as many fully vegan places. It’s also convenient to the downtown Oakland area (haven’t been in-person in awhile) hope to do so soon!

Pros: OG ALL VEGAN Spot in Downtown Oakland, Tasty Eats (I Forgot They Have Sweets Too!), Home Cooking Vibes

Cons: Spendy (via Delivery)

colbyjam

15 Oct 2022

The best! Be sure to try the Mushu-Mushu wrap.

Zombiecynthia

15 Oct 2022

Just saw it on their menu- it reads delicious- with cilantro and avocado? I dig it already! Thanks for the recommendation! 🤗

snatchbeast

Points +353

Vegan
27 Jun 2022

Amazing food!

It was so hard to decide on what to get, our two meals were excellent

BrettChadwick

Points +18

Vegan
07 Jun 2022

Great place

Good selection, good food and friendly service. Obviously great vegan selection.

ricobabyface

Points +372

Vegan
05 Jun 2022

in love

love the quality and taste of the food. 💫

foreveryoung

Points +30

Mostly Veg
08 May 2022

Food for everyone

This is my number one option when I visit Oakland. There are several choices to choose from and it’s in an excellent, vibrant area.

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-08

Pros: Several vegan options , By lake Merritt , In downtown Oakland

Rascalsmom17

Points +69

Vegan
29 Apr 2022

Delicious food and excellent location

I opted for the crispy chow mein but would order this with soft noodles in the future. I was told the food would be ready in 20 minutes but when I arrived 10 minutes later it ready. I would revisit this place again in the future and I’m excited to try their other items on the menu.

Pros: Only vegan options , Excellent staff , Clean restaurant

akeliah

Points +48

Vegan
17 Apr 2022

More delicious every time

Get the House Rice Claypot!!! It was divine.

Pros: Staff is quite knowledgeable about the menu, Can accommodate food allergies

floreciendo

Points +17

Vegetarian
15 Apr 2022

fake meat bonanza

This is a beloved go-to for my kid & I!
Big menu, lots of options.
My teen tends to go for the pho, which is rich with textures and flavor.
We both love the caramelized chicken (have been eating it for over a decade) and the mushu wrap.
The royal fried rice is excellent if you want something healthier (brown rice, tofu).
But you seriously can't go wrong with anything from their menu. It's delicious.

Pros: tons of options, everything is good, many different kinds of fake meat

Cons: it can get pricey, few dishes without soy

nikisvegan

Points +457

Vegan
28 Feb 2022

yum!

had the thai iced tea and ginger soy chicken. this restaurant has very heavy loving hut vibes and I wouldn’t be surprised if they’re affiliated in some way! the food was delicious and enough for 2 meals for me and the thai iced tea was great too! I got takeout but the dining area looked nice and I will definitely be dining in in the future. my takeout took 40 minutes to prepare but it was on a saturday night so be prepared for it to take a while if they’re busy.

Pros: all vegan, vegan desserts!!, large servings

villain

Points +6967

Vegan
17 Feb 2022

Varied menu

Everything I've tried here is great and the menu is pretty large. I've had the fried golden rolls, fresh spring rolls sautéed ginger soy chicken with rice, curry vegetable, vegetable chow mein, and cheesecake. I'm definitely going to eat here again, there are so many delicious options.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-01

Pros: All vegan

QueerReese

Points +69

Vegan
12 Feb 2022

Lots of delicious options

Great to share dishes family style with friends, so you get to try multiple things.
They have tasty drinks and desserts, too: Vegan cheesecake, Oreo cake, ...

Pros: Large variety of options, Desserts!, Friendly and mostly fast service

kimmeichele

Points +16

Vegan
02 Jan 2022

Delicious and vegan

This is an entirely vegan restaurant and the dishes are delicious. Aside from the tasty food, I love that I can select absolutely anything on the menu and it will be vegan.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-02

Pros: All vegan Asian restaurant , Delicious Food

Cons: Parking can be a challenge




This page has been viewed 24655 times.