Vegan
Fast food
Take-out
Mexican
Bakery

Outdoor stand selling vegan street food: tortas (Mexican sandwiches) and desserts. Here since Sept 2015. Take-out only. Open Tue-Sat 12:00pm-7:00pm, Sun 10:00am-5:00pm.


Venue map for Gatorta - Food Stand
© OpenStreetMap contributors

127 Reviews

First Review by MrCow

Alicia Spanidutch

Points +790

Vegan
21 Feb 2024

Must visit

Great food and they even had vegan gansitos!

Advertisement

ADakin

Points +273

Vegan
11 Feb 2024

Best vegan food stall

I was so excited to find this place! To find a vegan food stall in Mexico was such an exciting experience for me. And the food was amazing! I dream about the complete sandwich. And the tiramisu !! So delicious. This needs a visit!

Pros: Amazing food, Friendly staff, Cheap

elina_lm

Points +107

Vegan
14 Dec 2023

Deli y barato jeje

Las tortas siempre están increíbles, recomiendo pedirlas de doble guisado para que valgan más la pena. Además pueden llevar frijoles, mayonesa, lechuga, jitomate, pepinillos y cebolla.

GinaMN

Points +18

Vegan
13 Dec 2023

Increíblemente delicioso.

He ido a Gatorta al menos 10 veces y nunca me arrepiento. Todo está riquísimo, mi favorita es la torta de salchicha con pastor. Con una torta podrías quedar muy satisfechx. Sus gringas son deliciosas, el queso es riquísimo, al igual que sus hot dogs. Sus postres también son un must para degustar, mi favorito es el tiramisú. Siempre es una gran opción elegir este lugar. Tienen mi corazón.

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-13

Pros: La amabilidad con la que atienden., El tiempo de espera es muy corto., ES SUMAMENTE DELICIOSO TODO LO QUE HACEN.

laura8it

Points +524

Vegan
24 Nov 2023

Amazing torta and dessert!

This is the fourth stop on a vegan taco tour in CDMX and even though I was stuffed, I couldn’t pass up the torta and tres leches cake! I’ve eaten a lot of sandwiches in my life and this was one of my all time favorites!

SuzJJ

Points +80

Vegan
10 Nov 2023

Such a great vegan sandwich

I chose the torta 3 guisados because I was so hungry (I selected pastor, chorizo and salchichada).
Delicious.
Be aware it is very messy but worth every bite!

Pros: Choirzo is nicely spiced and not too spicy, Fresh , Sauce was fantastic!

Cons: Messy

Ardavon

Points +292

Vegan
31 Oct 2023

Excellent Street Food

So lucky my Airbnb had a later check-in and this food cart was around the corner. Couldn’t recommend it enough, just wish they were open 24 hours

Pros: Delicious, Punk Rock, Cheap

HaikuReview

Points +784

Vegan
27 Oct 2023

Haiku Review

Nice little food cart
Had home made seitan proteins
Way too big to eat!

theelvegan

Points +102

Vegan
22 Sep 2023

Top tier Street Food

Amazing sandwich (guisados) with mock meats, and incredible tiramisu. Just go now! Perfect street food. Can eat at the stand.

Pros: Everything, Friendly staff

Will_K

Points +584

Vegan
14 Sep 2023

Deadly delicious tacos

These tacos are unreal and come in crazy big portions… We tried the chorizo and pastor, both were amazing and honestly just 1 will full you up as they’re double wrapped!

Pros: All vegan , Cheap & delicious , Big portions

Drajan1389

Points +28

Vegan
07 Jul 2023

Too good!

My first time in CDMX and I obviously started my trip with a quick search on Happycow for lunch options and Gatorta didn’t disappoint. Will definitely go back before I leave.

Pros: Portion, Friendly Service, Taste

Cons: None

ElizabethRosas

Points +42

Vegan
14 Jun 2023

Bonito y rico

Las tortas son de lo mejor, muy ricas, llenadoras y accesibles. Los postres están muy ricos también.

peppitaly

Points +1804

Vegan
07 Jun 2023

Super loaded

Super tasty, super nice find. Definitely recommend.

veggiedoctor12

Points +43

Vegan
16 May 2023

Great brownies!

Loved the brownies for dessert and came back a second day to get more. I got one sandwich that was pretty good.

BettyEscandón

Points +44

Vegan
10 May 2023

Imperdibles

Tengo años visitando y el sabor siempre es delicioso, precios muy asequibles.

Pros: Son las mejores tortas que he probado

Cons: Me parece que el chorizo está demasiado especiado

NoemiRamirez

Points +30

Vegan
19 Mar 2023

La torta cubana está exquisita , muy recomendable ir con tiempo

Todo muy rico , varios guisados , salsas

Pros: Tiene postres, Hay varias opciones , Muy amables las chicas

Cons: Tiempo mínimo 25mins de espera

Davo35

Points +796

Vegan
17 Mar 2023

best food truck in the world

I've tried just about everything in three days. They make such good food. especially the tortas are from hell. the reason i'm ever coming back to mexico is because of this store.

TariqIbrahim

Points +310

Vegan
12 Mar 2023

Amazing milanesas!!

I tried their milanesas as that was their most popular item and I am so glad I did. Great portions, very meaty and flavour-rich!

Pros: Really Cheap, great value for money

MarybellGarcía

Points +25

Mostly Veg
08 Mar 2023

Amo a la cubana

Me encanta su torta híper grande cubana, los veggi necesitábamos algo justo así, atascado y callejero ja

Pros: Alcanzable en precio , Vegano, Rico

Cons: No abre el lunes

DrMichelle20

Points +454

Vegan
20 Feb 2023

Hearty

Very hearty and filling tortas! They tasted very “meaty” and authentic.

maferadhara_

Points +450

Vegan
19 Jan 2023

AMO

La comida está deliciosa, la atención es muy buena y accesible💚 de mis lugares favoritos
Es tal cual un puesto de comida en la calle pero vegana.

Me atrevo a decir que es mi lugar favorito para comer🤤

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-17

Pros: Buen precio, Buenas porciones, Speak/understand English

Roparzh

Points +2901

Vegan
26 Nov 2022

Food-stand with nice desserts

Quick service, card payment. The dessert was more exciting than the sandwich.

André-Garay

Points +165

Vegan
24 Nov 2022

¡Deliciosas Tortas! 👌🏼

Wooow las tortas que hacen están deliciosas, en especial la torta cubana, y también tienen postres ricos y a muy buen precio.

Pros: Buena ubicación, Manejan diferentes opciones de proteína, Buen precio

Sabinaznh

Points +156

Vegan
15 Nov 2022

Sabrosas tortas de

Cocinan super rico y tienen unos postres magníficos, los guisados quizás un poquito grasos, pero solo es cuestión de pedir que le pongan menos aceite.

Pros: Sabor, Postres, Precios

Cons: Un tanto grasoso

dwells

Points +2216

Vegan
28 Oct 2022

Good cheap eats

The tortas here are great value for money. The $85 MXN cubana is easily, easily enough for two meals. I ate the whole thing because I didn't want to have to carry it, and I felt waaaaay too full for the next nine hours. The torta itself was quite good, loaded up with pickled veggies, avocado, onion, every fake meat at their disposal, and the bread was great. It might be best as a to-go item where you can kinda take it apart a bit and try the meats individually, because otherwise they do kind of get lost in each other.

The counter of the stand has hand sanitizer available and three different salsas to choose from with different flavors and spice levels. There's a darker red one that's thicker and has a bit of a smoky chipotle taste to it, that's my favorite.

One complaint: way too much plastic use. The sandwiches are served to you wrapped in plastic wrap to keep them together, and then served on a styrofoam tray even if you're eating there. To-go bags are also plastic. I'd really like to see a switch to something a bit more sustainable.

AndrewDanny

Points +122

Vegan
28 Oct 2022

Good

I ordered a torta, cheesecake and chocolate bread covered with sugar. The torta was ok. The soy meat tasted too much like onions. It is not bad but the onions take away all the other flavors. I would not order again. The cheesecake was the best cheesecake I ever had. The chocolate bread too. If you are in the area I would say you must try it. If you are far I would not drive here just to have a taste. Search for their menu online. They don’t speak English at all.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-28

Pros: Everything is vegan, Desserts are amazing

Cons: No English menu or they don’t speak English, No drinks

sunflisk

Points +117

Vegan
05 Oct 2022

Our go to take out spot

What can I say except this is our go to lunch or dinner spot while in cdmx. It’s cheap, tasty and keeps you full for at least half a day.




This page has been viewed 21040 times.