Vegan
Beer/Wine
Mexican
Latin

Plant based Mexican restaurant est. 2018. Offers tacos, nachos, burritos, gucamole and chips plus a large selection of alcoholic drinks. Dogs welcome. Open Mon-Sat 13:00-16:00, Mon-Thu 20:00-00:00, Fri-Sat 20:00-01:00, Sun 13:00-17:00.


Venue map for Gallo Santo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

176 Reviews

First Review by janiramunoz

1995_Vegan

Points +240

Vegan
26 Jan 2024

Excellent Mexican food ... in Spain

We visited Gallo Santo twice during our week in Barcelona. I get excited when there's a well-reviewed Mexican place in a new city, and Gallo Santo surpassed my expectations. The food was fresh, the menu was interesting, and the atmosphere was contemporary without being overly hip. Great combo.

Pros: Everything is delicious, Everything is vegan

Advertisement

prez

Points +671

Vegan
23 Jan 2024

Excellent!

So good we had to go back another time. On our two visits we’ve had fish tacos, al pastor tacos, tried three different burritos (tinga/ yaca pibil / pastor), naked burrito bowl, all perfect. Homemade lemonade also good.

MarthaBasq

Points +2294

Vegan
21 Jan 2024

Genial!

El local es un poco más pequeño que el otro de la zona, pero la comida que sirven es la misma y está exquisita!

celia96

Points +275

Vegetarian
23 Dec 2023

Muy bueno🌱🌮

Muy bueno, todo vegano y sabroso. Em las fotos nachos, tacos de pastor y jaca y las fajitas

IssyFidderman

Points +307

Vegan
06 Nov 2023

Absolutely delicious food with great variety!

UPDATED NOV 2023

I absolutely loved this restaurant - incredible food with incredible variety, absolutely everything was truly delicious!!!!! You need to get the flautus as these are TO DIE for. We went back twice (and would have gone a 3rd time if we could have gotten a table!) because this food was so delicious!

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-26

Pros: All vegan and delicious food!, Great options and variety

milcheto

Points +1431

Vegan
22 Oct 2023

Great Mexican food

Tasty vegan place. The portions are a bit small for the prices, the service is not great and the place is really small.
But the nachos with lentil chili are great. The guac as well.
The kitchen is open so you can look at yor food being prepared.
I had particular issue with the waitress who insisted she brought smt that she never did but we still got charged for it. Also, service is a bit slow and it is a small place.

Pros: All vegan, Tasty Mexican food

Cons: The waitress, The space-it’s very intimate, A bit expensive

MontseMons

Points +548

Vegan
21 Oct 2023

Sabores muy ricos

Comida rica y atención estupenda. Mucha variedad y bonita presentación en los platos.

Cons: Mesas muy juntas, mucho ruido

ID#

Points +343

Vegan
14 Oct 2023

Very tasty, fair prices

Tacos are rather small, but if you start with starters, get some delicious tacos, you still have room for dessert and won't have to pay a hefty bill.

Staff is friendly and is always ready to help and quickly available for additional requests.😄

Pros: Tacos al pastor , Limonada (if you like lemon) , Fair prices

evan71

Points +28

Mostly Veg
23 Sep 2023

The Chocolate Fondant was 5 stars by itself

The restaurant was 4.5 stars. Good food. One complaint is that the servers told us the restaurant was full with reservations at about 10pm, so we sat at the bar. We ate, but no one arrived and multiple tables remained empty. Maybe there were just a few no shows.

Roparzh

Points +2901

Vegan
18 Sep 2023

Great tacos and ceviche

All dishes ordered were served very quick and tasted very good. Was very packed on a Saturday evening, so was lucky to get a table. Service was very friendly. It was the best plant-based Ceviche I’ve ever tried, even though I think it is a dish with a lot of odd flavors 😌.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-18

Pros: All vegan, Great service , Priceworthy

ju_no_hands

Points +327

Vegan
07 Sep 2023

Delicious, cosy, and cheap!

Went there for lunch together and each of us had a different bowl with a different extra “protein” topping. All the ingredients seemed very fresh and everything was utterly delicious! Especially the toppings gave our meals a special touch! We were surprised by the good portion sizes - especially at this price point!
Left happy and satisfied! Highly recommended!

Pros: Great taste, Fresh ingredients, Good portion sizes

emmasteer

Points +38

Vegan
05 Sep 2023

Amazing bowls

Great atmosphere and super tasty food. The bowl mixed fresh veggies with tasty jackfruit stew and rice. Good portion sizes too.

KatyaLutz

Points +181

Vegan
03 Sep 2023

i still dream about it 10 months later

my bestie and i were in barcelona for 9 days and we came back here 3 times. some of the best food i have ever had. so refreshing and full of flavor. i truly still dream of this place and crave the tacos and nachos. could not recommend more!!! super friendly staff and great music and vibe as well!!!!

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-03

Pros: vegan!!!!, rich flavor , not heavy or greasy

Mai_l

Points +298

Vegan
21 Aug 2023

Loved it!

This place has great vibes and the food is amazing! It was really busy when we got there and there were only 2 workers, but they still managed to give pretty good service.

Great for sharing, everything almost comes in pairs:)


Over a year later and they just got better and better 🫶🏽

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-16

cucolumpo

Points +25

Vegan
25 Jul 2023

Muy recomendable

Nos pedimos los nachos y el Tamal de entrante y tacos de segundo. Todo muy bueno ! De postre el tres leches, buenisimo. Único negativo las cantidades, las raciones son bastante pequeñas, pero aun así lo recomiendo 100%.

Pros: Excellent food, friendly staff, nice vibe

Cons: small portions

otherluck

Points +543

Vegan
13 May 2023

Fascinating

El pastor es excelente. Very delicious. Very popular. They canceled our second order because kitchen was too busy.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-13

Pros: Very tasty, Extremely spicy souces

Cons: Slow. At night they even can cancel you

EddyMaya

Points +593

Vegan
12 May 2023

Authentic Mexican flavours

We visited this 100% plant-based Mexican restaurant for lunch one day. It's a nice little place offering a good range of tacos, burritos, nachos, fajitas and more. The also have a selection of Mexican beers (including Negra Modello, my personal favourite) and a good cocktail list (though we didn't try any as it was lunchtime).

We started with the nachos with added chilli sin carne, which were very good - we really loved the cheese sauce! We then tried one of their burritos each - I had the one with jackfruit (jaca al pibil) and my wife the one with the spicy carrot concoction (tinga pastanaga). Both came with the additional fillings of rice, black beans, sweetcorn, cashew cream, lettuce, peppers and a dollop of pico de gallo and both were very tasty. We also enjoyed the little pots of hot sauce that came on the table - but beware the hot one is very hot indeed!

Service was also very friendly - our waitress was lovely! She - like many of the staff team - was from Mexico. They are certainly giving Barcelona a taste of home!

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-30

Pros: 100% vegan, Authentic Mexican flavours, Lovely staff

SarahS88

Points +1760

Vegan
07 May 2023

Really delicious

Really delicious food - nachos and tacos were amazing! Nice vibes, good music, kind and friendly staff. We had a lovely meal here!

Vegtrick

Points +523

Vegan
04 May 2023

Nacho soup omg

had the most amazing nacho soup, fake chicken was also really good! The bowls are really big and probably a healthier option

Updated from previous review on 2019-08-11

Pros: Good atmosphere, Tasty food

Cons: Not the cheapest

janto

Points +861

Vegan
01 May 2023

Sabroso y diferente

Todo bien, local acogedor, con mesas altas y bajas, con variedad de platos y bebidas. Comida típica mexicana con un toque diferente. Precio normal para la zona.

whepper

Points +1165

Vegan
18 Apr 2023

Excellent vegan Mexican food

What a great restaurant with a cozy interior. I had 3 different types of tacos and the nachos. Friendly and quick service and very tasty food. Will definitely come back!

Pros: All vegan, Good selection of Mexican dishes, Friendly & quick service

elputocardi

Points +5009

Vegan
05 Apr 2023

Tasty and spicy and vegan

One of the best mexican in Barcelona, in Gracia.
All vegan, with 3 differents sauces: from low to super spicy.
Micheladas, nachos and tacos!
Amazing!!!

Pros: Tasty, Michelada, Tacos

AnnaMas.

Points +149

Vegan
23 Mar 2023

Bastant bé i amb una carta variada

I liked the variety of dishes, and also the deserts.

Angie_

Points +502

Vegan
16 Mar 2023

Yummy but small portions

It’s great to have an all vegan mexican restaurant in Barcelona! The Gallo Santo fajitas are amazing, although in general the dishes are quite small in size (especially the tacos) so I usually don’t feel totally full. Other than that I really recommend this place!

Pros: Interesting combinations, Delicious

Cons: Small portions for the price

foodiecatalana

Points +20

Mostly Veg
05 Mar 2023

Excel·lent mexicà

Plats molt ben treballats i estudiats, tant els salats com els dolços.

Pros: Molt bona cuina, LGTBI friendly, Preu correcte

Cons: El personal no parla català

onaxandri

Points +220

Vegan
08 Feb 2023

Todo bien!

La comida estaba bastante rica, aunque las porciones son un poco pequeñas. El local es bonito aunque bastante pequeño. Igualmente lo recomiendo, seguro que volveré! El personal fue super amable y atento😄

JuditXandri

Points +181

Vegan
04 Feb 2023

Muy rico

Hacen unos tacos que estan muy bien, el personal también muy amable

Pros: Todo vegano




This page has been viewed 24327 times.