Lacto
Ovo
American
Juice bar
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves fish, vegan options available. Modern, full-service vegetarian restaurant focusing on healthy comfort food. Mostly plant-based with soy-free, oil-free, and gluten-free options. Also offers juices, smoothies, beer, wine and sangria. Formerly vegetarian but added fish to the menu May 2022. Open Tue-Thu 4:00pm-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:30am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Frida's
© OpenStreetMap contributors

44 Reviews

First Review by LollyDuRand

shebazzle

Points +421

Vegan
01 Oct 2023

Mixed bag

My chickpea salad wrap was good, the Brussels side was dry and not hot.

Omni family had mixed results as well.

Appreciated the desserts!

Pros: Options! Options are nice. Including dessert, Good with Omni/gluten free, Great atmosphere

Cons: Overpriced?, No coffee/espresso!

Advertisement

JoeyDodson

Points +131

Vegan
13 Sep 2023

Really yummy vegan Los Burrito

It wasn’t on the menu, but they made my Los Burrito vegan, and it was very tasty.

JessicaBooher

Points +28

Vegan
07 Apr 2023

Vegan options are decent

I was really excited about the vegan filet mignon. It was super salty & not very meaty/dense. The black bean burger was good. Fries were okay. Needed to ask for extra sauce for the coconut curry bc it had no flavor. Appetizers were very small (especially the artichoke). Drinks were great.

All in all, I was hoping for a lot more flavor for the amount of money we spent. Prob won’t be going back. We added salt to everything except the steak.

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-07

Pros: Drinks, Unique offerings, Presentation

Cons: Expensive, Not great flavor, Far fewer options than before

Tigra220

13 Apr 2023

I 100% agree about the curry! I wish I’d thought to ask for extra sauce.

lordofthestrings86

Points +596

Vegan
15 Apr 2022

Friduhs

Duh, as in you have to check it out. Appreciate that the fries are oil free, but they’re a bit dry. The house made ketchup kind of makes up for that though. The mushroom Swiss burger really is one of the best burgers I’ve ever had, vegan or not. It’s smoky and savory. The salted caramel gelato is superb as well.

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-15

Pros: Great burgers!, Friendly staff

sageisnotaplant

Points +156

Vegan
01 Apr 2022

Amazing food

Delicious food perfect for any vegetarian or vegan. Even meat eaters will love this place

Updated from previous review on 2021-09-01

RebeccaCox

Points +15

Vegetarian
11 Dec 2021

Awesome food!

The food, service and atmosphere were all awesome! Wait staff answered all questions and explained the new ordering system well. I actually enjoyed being able to pay before finishing the meal.

Lori_d

Points +16

Vegan
11 Nov 2021

Great Vegan food

New contactless ordering was easy and makes everyone safe. The staff came to table several times to answer any questions. Food was really delicious!! Highly recommend

Silverporsche03

Points +16

Vegan
26 Sep 2021

Horrible service

They have eliminated personal service. All ordering electronically.
No personalization.
Wait staff un-helpful, almost non-communicative, in explaining this unusual ordering system.

I know the owner has to make money but this was bad!

Pros: food

Cons: ordering system, service

Shizomaru

Points +85

Vegan
17 Jun 2021

Nice place

I liked this place, and I love how in their menu they specify that everything’s vegan unless they mark it with “dairy” or similar. I had their signature burger and it was good but I wasn’t expecting the phish-like flavor😲also the employees were really nice!
You also have the option to make any burger a half pound for some extra dollars.

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-17

Cons: Pricey

naught

Points +244

Vegan
07 May 2021

3.5

I want to start off by saying that they make amazing latkes, which are not part of their regular menu but have been offered every once in a while - grab 'em if you get the chance!
As far as their regular menu is concerned, it is a bit underwhelming. It's mostly burgers and sandwiches, which might be okay for lunch, but I definitely don't find myself thinking about Frida's when it comes to dinner. The main focus of most entrees seems to be imitation meat, with a Beyond burger priced at a whopping $15. I am not a huge fan of their desserts either.
I do commend them for their composting efforts and "green" containers.

Pros: Cute area, Seem environmentally invested

Cons: Mains=lunch food, Desserts, Pricey

JasonMichaelAshton

Points +34

Vegan
03 Apr 2021

Their burrito and burgers are amazing and all vegan!

I love this place, I've eaten here multiple days in a row, multiple times haha! That's how much I love it!

ValerieLBrinkman

Points +32

Mostly Veg
16 Mar 2021

Amazing food and service!

I have been to Frida’s many times over the past couple years. Everything I’ve tried there has been very tasty and well prepared. The service is always top notch. The atmosphere is great if you are able to eat there. We love sitting outside on their little patio. My favorite is the Impossible Burger. My husbands favorite is the sunflower meat tacos. This is a must try!

Pros: Excellent food, Variety of choices, Great service

debizg

Points +237

Vegan
07 Feb 2021

Glad to have this option

We did not receive the two desserts we paid for when we picked up our curbside order, but we were so pleased with the entrees that it took a week for us to remember we'd been looking forward to that peanut buttery goodness. Oh well...bonus for them and we were fully satisfied with our main course.

If life ever gets back to "normal" we will certainly dine-in at Frida's.

villain

Points +6967

Vegan
30 Jan 2021

Good vegan options

So far this is the most comprehensive vegan food I've had in St. Louis despite some drawbacks. I got the mushroom Swiss burger and substituted for vegan cheese and it tasted amazing. I'm going to get it again soon. I also got the peanut butter cup and roasted brussels sprouts. The peanut butter cup was too sweet and the texture was off-- both the base and topping had the consistency of ganache, I was expecting a solid peanut butter cup but overall the flavor was okay. The brussels sprouts had good flavor but were kind of soggy. I'm going to eat here again and try some different menu items. I would give 4 stars but the food is overpriced for what it is.

Pros: Lots of options are vegan or can be made vegan

Cons: Expensive, Not all vegan, Hit or miss depending on item

plantbassedhead

Points +182

Vegan
27 Jun 2020

favorite local restaurant

hands down one of my favorite restaurants in STL!
amazing amount of options for a vegan diet... even their desserts! I frequent here a lot haha

Pros: 100% vegetarian with TONS of vegan options

Ophelia_Jett

Points +758

Vegan
22 Feb 2020

Nothing special, haven’t perfected vegan cuisine

We have eaten at vegan restaurant across the world and this one was underwhelming. We got the Frida burger, kale salad, and enchiladas. All of which were lacking something or had too much of something. I would not eat here again

Pros: Customer service , Many options

Cons: Taste is off, Over-priced , Hours

JazminThorson

Points +89

Vegan
05 Oct 2019

My favorite all vegan restaurant

I tried all their plates and I love them all ! They always changing and I their dessert are to die for ...their chocolate pudding is amazing and their bowls ( any of them ) is quite amazing ! Try the housr made sodas and juices

Pros: Always changing specials, Lovely place , Friendly and sweet owner

Cons: None

amcalx1

Points +254

Vegan
19 Aug 2019

Great place to eat

I feel like this place is good but overpriced. I wasn’t a big fan of the oil free fries. I know they are healthier but they were okay. I would skip them next time.

vegan4evsies

Points +25

Vegan
31 Dec 2018

Vegans beware of dairy

I wanted to like Frida's since it's a vegetarian restaurant, but it's been a pretty bad experience from the time they opened and the 20 or so times I've given them another shot. There's only 2 salads we enjoy and nothing else on the menu we've found that we like... everything is extremely bland to us. The biggest problem is the frequent mix-ups getting dairy in the vegan dishes we ordered. The dairy mix-ups happened frequently enough that we finally just quit going. The staff has been decent, but I'm not a fan of the way I've been treated by the owner. Disappointing to learn she's opening another restaurant - and one selling meat at that. There are so many great veg options in St. Louis - Frida's is not one.

amanda.rahimian

Points +220

Vegan
10 Nov 2018

Delicious and So Accommodating!

We arrived at Frida’s after nearly two full days of driving and my 8 month old daughter was quite grouchy. They were so hospitable and let us sit in the waiting room area (there are tables in there) so she wouldn’t bother other diners and stress us out. The lady that I’m assuming is the owner even came over to try to cheer my daughter up and let my husband and I enjoy our evening. On top of the amazing service that made us feel so welcome and comfortable, the food was fantastic too! My husband got the Frida burger and I got the enchiladas, and we split a chocolate almond torte for dessert. So yummy!!! The dessert was on the pricey side at $8 for a small slice but it was delicious. I would highly recommend Frida’s, and will be back next time I visit St. Louis!!!

Pros: Vegan options clearly labeled, AMAZING service- so welcoming!, Delicious and well sized portions

Cons: A bit on the expensive side, Poor parking options

ssmith7389

Points +74

Vegan
07 Nov 2018

Nice surprise while traveling

Very satisfying meal in an pleasant setting.

Beatrice

Points +97

Vegan
07 Oct 2018

Great Find

We are so happy to find this place, it has great ambience wonderful food lots of vegetarian and vegan choices and very friendly staff. We will definitely be back.

Pros: Clean, even silverware’s gets replaced, Buffet staying well stocked

Cons: No cons, worth the price

AlexisHendrickson

Points +793

Vegetarian
05 Jun 2018

Cute neighborhood vegan restaurant

Lots of options using fresh ingredients. Owner is super nice. There is patio seating and there's specials each night of the week if i'm not mistaken.
It is kind of pricey but considering it's all vegan and probably made on-site, it is worth it!

Pros: vegan, specials, patio

Jojewo

Points +160

Vegan
18 Feb 2018

good food, nice people

Our server was pleasant and knowledgeable. We had the vegan enchilada and a 'build my own' Frida burger. Both excellent. The enchilada was nicely presented and had great flavor. I could taste why the Frida burger was an award winner. Coupled with vegan cheese, it was great. The decor was modern and clean.

CookieToast

Points +34

Vegan
03 Feb 2018

Good Food👌🏾👌🏾

Beautiful restaurant with amazing service. Tried the impossible burger and it was cooked beautifully. So many options for vegans and vegetarians. Highly recommend to anyone.

Pros: Atmosphere , Service , Options

Cons: Little pricey

AndreaBugyis

Points +451

Vegan
15 Jul 2017

Love the Menu

Everything is marked for allergies, vegans and oil free. Lots of options that can be made vegan and the desserts are vegan too ❤️ I personally recommend the Frida burger or the Steak Burrito.

KatieBush

Points +3172

Vegan
06 Jun 2017

It was okay

On the go, I ordered a take out of the raw kale salad and spring rolls. The spring rolls were busted and stuff was falling out of them. I'm not sure how they missed that when they were packaging the food, so maybe they were just being lazy. That being said, the sauce that came with it was to DIE for, and the rolls themselves were okay. They could use more watery veggies in them and maybe more basil. The salad was good, but there was a giant pool of water at the bottom of the clamshell container that threatened to spill all over my lap in the car. I appreciated the nutritional yeast flavoring and the tomatoes/sunflower seeds. It was a decent meal.

Pros: Vegan options!

Cons: Busted food, Watery salad




This page has been viewed 9719 times.