American
International
Macrobiotic
Organic
Beer/Wine
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Neighborhood bistro in Cambridge right outside of Harvard Square. Seasonal menu uses local ingredients and includes several vegan and vegetarian options. There is also a vegan and vegetarian four-course tasting menu with optional wine pairings. Observes "Meatless Mondays" and offers a six-course tasting menu. Open Mon-Sat 5:30pm-10:00pm, Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Forage
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by JennaWhitney

elizabeth.foster

Points +26

Vegan
22 Feb 2024

vegan tasting menu

relatively (***) affordable tasting menu and a good special occasion place. locally sources ingredients, great service. was fun to see the vegan tasting menu alongside a pescatarian tasting menu

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-22

Advertisement

Brittany.nikki

Points +310

Vegan
11 Feb 2024

It's Okay

For the price, it's kind of not a ton of food. I went with my boyfriend's family for his birthday and we had the 4 course meal option. When we got the food, it was disappointing and pretty expensive for what they cooked us. I feel like they could have made it more flavourful and definitely could have given us better options. Thankfully I wasn't paying.

Overall the location and design inside is great! I loved the atmosphere, which gives you a warm and welcoming vibe. It definitely has cute date night vibes. Just wish the food was better.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-26

Pros: Good date night vibes

Cons: Expensive, Food is meh

ryanmahan

Points +11

Mostly Veg
10 Feb 2024

My new go to

Best vegan dining experience in Boston (okay, Cambridge). Five star food with an atmosphere that matches. Their vegan tasting menu was delicious and changes daily. Plenty of options for non vegans too.

With the tasting menu you can tell they take special care to find perfect ingredients. Feels like a kitchen that has a ton of experimentation going on. Come here if you want to eat something you won’t find anywhere else.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-10

Pros: Tasting menu, Friendly staff, Fresh ingredients

RavishingRavenous

Points +1163

Vegan
08 Dec 2023

Great for special occasions

Always looking for vegan fine dining near Boston. We had a great dining experience with their vegan tasting menu, vegan cheese plate, and wine pairing. Highly recommend the wine pairing! It really elevated the food and was really well-balanced. My favorite was the chicken mushroom ♡

Parking is non existant. I found a spot hero spot in an apartment complex 0.1 mikes away. recommend that or uber or lyft.

Pros: Vegan tasting menu, Accommodated for allergies, Delicious

Cons: On the pricier end, but not disappointed, No parking

jlepin

Points +183

Vegan
19 Sep 2023

Great Vegan Tasting Menu

I went for an evening meal with my daughter and we both had their vegan tasting menu-approx. 5 plates of deliciousness-proper vegan food (not meat substitutes)-mushrooms, vegetables, tomatoes, cashew cream etc. Completed with an amazing apple cobbler. There are vegan options on the regular menu. We opted for the tasting menu as it was a birthday and we like to try everything. We were not disappointed. Seems to be in a converted old house in a residential neighborhood. Make reservations-it’s clearly a popular place.

Pros: Full vegan tasting menu, Knowledgeable staff , Many menu options can be adapted to vegan

Cons: Meat and fish options on menu

MFC

Points +75

Vegetarian
22 Jul 2023

A great evening

We had a table of 7, and the staff was so welcoming and helpful and fun. We were there for hours—I didn’t see any tables with a 2nd seating, actually—and enjoyed vegan apps, mains, and desserts. Our server had a deep knowledge of the wines we asked about, and when ever a new plate was put down, staff gave a full summary of the dish.

Pros: Selection, Service

Cons: More vegan options

MarionMarsh

Points +96

Vegan
14 May 2023

Vegan tasting menu

Went here for a 1 year anniversary and the service was incredible! We both drink wine and the staff offered us a complimentary champagne to celebrate! We ordered the pickles appetizer and then the vegan tasting menu with the additional cheese tasting.
The first course was tofu with local asparagus. The asparagus was plain (my partner liked it) but the tofu was firm and flavorful!
The second course was mushroom vegan sausage with turmeric sauce and pickled carrots. And wow!! I am not a mushroom person but oh my goodness it was so flavorful and the texture was perfect!
The third course was red rice with roasted local veggies and vegan cheese. The veggies were wonderful and it was clear they were grown locally. The rice was a little too salty for my taste, but my partner finished his plate.
We then had the vegan cheese which came with a rhubarb sorbet, rye chips, and sweet figs. The chips were good but definitely covered the flavor of the cheese. Considering it was called the vegan cheese course, I did expect more than 1 cheese so I was a little disappointed.
Last course was dessert, some rhubarb and orange mini tart. I am a huge rhubarb fan and loved it, though it was a little dry.

Overall I would go again in a heartbeat. I know some people said it was expensive but I really feel it was worth it for the fresh ingredients, good service, and creative cocktails!

Pros: Fresh and local ingrediants, Knowledge of vegan food, Variety of vegan dishes

Cons: Cheese course was lacking

AndreaJean

Points +118

Vegan
26 Mar 2023

Vegan tasting menu was great. But same price as menu with meat/fish - ridiculous

Price for vegan menu compared to omnivore needs to be changed (cauliflower compared to pork is ridiculous and staff shouldn’t try to justify this comparison)

Pros: Food was delicious , Wine was great

Cons: Expensive , Price not comparable to meat

770veg

Points +3319

Vegan
30 Dec 2022

Epic experience!

Lots of vegan options. An elegant, intimate experience. Layers of flavors. Veg so fresh and robust. Great pairings. My favorite Boston culinary experience yet!

Pros: Many vegan options, Local and farm to table, Flavors on flavors on flavors

lindymegan

Points +34

Vegan
17 Aug 2022

Incredible vegan food

It's rare to get a fancy omnivore place that really does right by vegans, but this place nails it! Complex homemade vegan cheese, vegan charcuterie plate, entire 5 course tasting vegan tasting menu! And Mondays are always meatless. Excellent service, charming spot.

Pros: Atmosphere, Staff, Delicious

Saunied

Points +17

Vegetarian
25 Feb 2022

Consistency charmed!

Innovative and thoughtful, eating here is always a treat. The wine list is exquisite as well. A comfortable place to endulge the senses. They are not afraid to let a carrot be a carrot, which is to say, they bring out the best of what they serve and don't bombard you with over the top excessively seasoned/salted nonsense. The service is swell and special. We are fans.

slives

Points +26

Vegan
26 Nov 2021

Prix Fixe super disappointing!

I was looking forward to this dinner, but our food was very lackluster (especially since we paid ~$100 per person for prix fixe!). Our non-vegan party members definitely had a better meal than the vegan ones (one course was bland brussel sprouts with ginger for the vegans, while the omnivores got mussels and really good looking bread)

Also, sadly, one of the worst desserts I've ever had! If you want a fancy vegan meal, True Bistro in Somerville is a wayyyy better option.

The wine pairing was good.

Pros: Wine Pairing, Staff

Cons: Every dish was lackluster, Terrible Salty Dessert

musupova

Points +76

Vegan
12 Sep 2020

Delicious vegan options!

Although this place has a short menu and so very few veg choices, the dishes that I tried were all outstanding! Definitely on the pricy side though, so a special occasion type place unless you’re going for a tasting menu.

Pros: Covid compliant, Beautiful outdoor patio, Great veggie options

Cons: Expensive

Stacey6

Points +83

Vegan
06 Aug 2019

Amazing food!

We had the vegan tasting menu. The vegetables taste like carbs. The food is def worth the money. The plates are full of unique flavors that I have not experienced before. A must try!

JennaWhitney

Points +17

Vegetarian
11 Jul 2019

Fantastic!

Absolutely fantastic little restaurant! The have great vegetarian options, and can accommodate vegan as well. They also have a stellar six course meatless Monday dinner each week for $39.

Pros: Fantastic vegetarian options!

Cons: Somewhat expensive, limited parking available




This page has been viewed 2831 times.