Lacto
Indian
Fast food
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Indian food and sweets. Entree menu includes 6 or so vegetarian dishes (has a vegetarian platter) and a dedicated vegan menu is available. Reported charges extra for vegan takeaway dishes than stated on the menu. Open Mon-Fri 11:00am-3:00pm, Mon-Sat 4:30pm-9:00pm, Sat 11:30am-3:00pm.


Venue map for Food O'Clock Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by BenMaca

NDVegan

Points +6161

Vegan
05 Mar 2023

Love having a separate vegan menu

Friendly service and tasty food. The best Indian vegan food in Bendigo by far! So many delicious dishes. I love having Aloo Paratha Naan.

Updated from previous review on 2021-01-11

Advertisement

JamesShaw

Points +18

Vegan
19 Dec 2022

Loads of vegan options, all tasty

Can highly recommend, everything I've tried has been very tasty, and the many vegan options are grouped together on the menu which makes it very easy to order.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Separate vegan menu makes it easy to order, All options I've tried are very tasty

NatzPhatz

Points +48

Vegan
16 Apr 2022

Huge vegan menu with heaps of delicious options

I came with non-vegan friends and everyone loved the food! They had an entire vegan menu that had heaps of options. I got a few things to try, including the vegan special which was an incredibly creamy chickpea curry.
Such a good find and I highly recommend it.

Updated from previous review on 2022-04-16

Pros: Excellent food, Vegan Menu, Friendly staff

Julem4

Points +88

Vegan
09 Apr 2022

Great vegan options

This cafe/restaurant really gives the vegan options a good go. They have a vegan menu and the options are tasty. My favourite is the tofu Marsala. The staff are super friendly and helpful.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Tasty food, Helpful staff

Cons: Venue can be a bit noisy , Not a huge amount of room, Toilets in separate building

jenzi340

Points +105

Vegan
16 Oct 2021

Tasty, extensive vegan menu, awesome.

Sadly you have to request the vegan menu...why do cafes and restaurants have both menus on the table???

Had the pakoras (big serve of 4 as entree - tasty and delish with a lovely sauce), mushroom masala (very nice, and mild as requested by wussy me, yummo), saffron rice and roti (again, well done). Staff are very friendly and welcoming.
A great place to eat, will definitely visit again.

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-16

Pros: Extensive vegan menu, Great flavours, Staff are really friendly

Cons: Put vegan menu out with regular menu!

KaylaBell

Points +16

Vegan
01 Jun 2021

Amazing

Full vegan menu with heaps of different options, as well as vegan entree menu and vegan naans. Everything is super delicious!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Delicious

Ruwi

Points +745

Vegan
18 May 2021

Seperate vegan menu

We got takeaway for our roadtrip. Comprehensive vegan menu. We enjoyed the biryani, cauliflower pepper fry and the tofu masala. Very flavoursome. Can request spice levels to be mild, medium or hot. The biryani was packed with fresh vegetables (not the usual frozen peas and carrot vareity some other restaurants use)

Aloo

Points +6644

Vegan
04 Jan 2021

Authentic and delicious

Delicious saag tofu, authentic flavours from traditional making of saag. Too many places do not do this right, but you can taste that this place does; in the depth of flavours and complexity of spices. I loved it! The tofu in the saag tofu was also lovely.
The roti was a good size and perfectly cooked, delivered fresh and hot.
Nice to see Bonda on the menu, not common. It was nice, not oily and served with a nice chutney.

Pros: Over 10 vegan mains, Seperately vegan menu section

Mycall

Points +142

Vegan
30 Dec 2020

Offers a full vegan menu

Just ask and you will be presented with the full vegan menu. And not just a page of dishes where things have been eliminated to make the food vegan. A WHOLE DELICIOUS EXTENSIVE MENU!
The staff were so lovely, attentive without being overbearing and suggested dishes that complement one another. We changed one of our choices for a suggested item and I have to say it was a gorgeous vegetable dish with coconut cream and lots of flavour.
Would give this 5 stars if I could as their vegan menu is big, the flavours of our starters and mains wonderful, and the prices extremely reasonable. Will definitely be back next time in Bendigo.

Pros: Whole extensive vegan menu, You can request your spice preference , Great prices

Joshuas

Points +166

Vegan
15 Dec 2020

Whole vegan menu

Was pleased to stumble across this place when visiting Bendigo. Fantastic that they have a full vegan menu, you just need to ask for it. I was super surprised at how big it was!

Service was great- staff certainly knew what was vegan. Meals were tasty, the large menu certainly leaves me wanting to visit Bendigo again soon!

Pros: Good prices , Heaps of vegan meal options, Really friendly staff

Paramed007

Points +66

Vegan
13 Jul 2020

Great range of Vegan Indian food

Really good for quick, easy and tasty take away Indian food

Pros: Full Vegan menu separate from non-Vegan, Friendly staff, Reasonably priced, not plant based taxed

BecF

Points +82

Vegan
22 May 2020

Huge range of vegan options

Huge range of vegan options, clearly marked on menu. The naan is great. Have tried the saag and potato masala- both great. Fresh, fast, friendly staff. Will eat here again!

Pros: So many options. Good quality!

Cons: Many vegan options have coriander (why? so gross)

Carlyc

Points +327

Vegan
08 May 2020

Highly recommend

We had takeaway from Food O’Clock and tried the vegetable platter (samosas, pakora, onion bhaaji and aloo bonda) and the vegan aloo paratha. It was all delicious and I would 100% have it again!

Pros: Great food , Cheap prices

Cons: Serves meat

jkl83

Points +42

Vegan
11 Nov 2019

Great vegan options

Delicious. Love Indian food and this is really good

erin_loves_animals

Points +86

Vegan
01 May 2019

Brilliant

Love this place. Designated vegan menu. Always delish. Great service

kellyagass

Points +76

Vegan
22 Mar 2019

Awesome value

We had a takeaway value meal ,the wonderful staff were very helpful and Taylor made changes to our value meal at little extra cost . excellent value and delicious meal ,will definitely eat in next time as lovely looking restaurant .happy customer

Pros: Lots of vegan options great value meal at low cost

kateamelia

Points +196

Vegan
04 Mar 2019

Best Indian!

Heaps of vegan options! They have a full menu dedicated to vegan foods. Honestly the best Indian i've ever had! Eat in or takeaway, staff were super friendly and accomodating :)

TabithaA

Points +4437

Vegan
12 Jan 2019

Excelent service

Great vegan menu, excellent service, great for takeaway or eat in.

Pros: Vegan menu if you ask for it, Cheap eats

rchlwilliams

Points +24

Vegan
03 Apr 2018

incredible food and service

Great range of vegan food, mains/sides and entrees. They are also happy to veganise any of the veg dishes when possible. The service is also fab, and the staff super helpful.

Pros: local and quick turn around on orders

Cons: none :)

alanaquick

Points +96

Vegan
20 Jun 2017

BEST INDIAN EVER

Legit the most amazing Indian food I have ever had and they have an extensive vegan menu! My favourite is the Dahl Makhani, but my best friend loves the Pumpkin masala.

Pros: Separate Vegan Menu, Online ordering, Friendly Staff

Cons: Can be difficult parking close by

richyeah

Points +20

Vegan
06 May 2017

Great vegan menu

Really accommodating. Huge vegan meal. Will come here again if I'm ever back in Bendigo. Absolutely delicious.

Kittybiscuit

Points +7499

Vegan
03 Nov 2015

delicious!

We asked for take away vegan dishes and we ate dhal and vadas soaked in dhal. Both were delicious and the people were friendly. If I lived near there, I'd go more often.

BenMaca

Points +95

Vegan
15 Sep 2014

Great food, and flexible menu for vegans

Food O'clock is a great little restaurant with excellent food. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the chef is more than willing to cater to vegans. A good selection of vegan friendly dishes, and you only have to ask to receive a greater choice. My favourite takeaway spot.

Pros: flexible menu for vegans , great choice, tasty food




This page has been viewed 6530 times.