Follow Your Heart Restaurant and Market

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 47 reviews )
Contact
818-348-3240
Find

21825 Sherman Way, Canoga Park, California, USA, 91303

Long established vegetarian natural foods market and restaurant. Serves vegan and vegetarian breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Eat at the counter, at tables inside, or out on the front patio. The market sells a wide selection of natural foods products, snacks, supplements, books, gifts, health and personal care products. Lot parking. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-9:00pm.

Category: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, American, International, Juice bar, Take-out

Reviews (47)

First Review by eric

Very disappointed!!! - Edit

If I could, I would have given this one star. We were so excited to get some food from Follow Your Heart by looking at their on-line menu. We ordered to go and I quickly checked to make sure we received the right items but I should have looked closer.
We ordered the vegan tofu omelette, vegan gf french toast, and vegan gf tofu Benedict.
The French toast was dry and didn't come with syrup or vegan butter. The french toast itself was ok...not very flavorful.
The tofu benedict was terrible. There was a slab of raw tofu on a piece of dry gf bread. The bread should have been toasted and the tofu should have been crispy or at least cooked.
The food might have been ok if we ate there but considering we got it to go, we probably won't be back. Plus the food was terribly overpriced!

Pros: vegan options , gluten free options

Cons: bland, over priced , to go tasted terrible

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

reliable food - nothing fancy, with an associated store - Edit

Cozy, no-frills restaurant with a counter. Everything I've had over the years is good and I love the store. I was there yesterday and had the "eggwich" sandwich, which was tasty. In the store I asked if they had Bee Fee Honee and the assistant said he'd never heard of it. They have their own wonderful products and also Gardein and Miyoko's nut cheeses.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great combo! - Edit

Although pricy, the store has items not always available in other (non-online) stores. Been going here for about fifteen years and the restaurant is great if you stick with the handful of items that are consistently good (Reuben, club, chicken sandwich, eggy sandwich, and scramble). Oh and don't forget the chocolate cake!!

Pros: lots of vegan options, in the valley, the staff, f

Cons: not all vegan, a bit pricy, long waits, coffee isn

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Easy Vegan Comfort Food - Edit

Large portions, the Chick'un Pot Pie was great. Very friendly staff. I loved the carrot cake. Wish they had wine/beer ;)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Meh - Edit

Lots of vegan options but there are a few sneaky dairy options that vegans need to beware of. The soup here is thick and flavorful but I often find the main dishes lacking. Perhaps I haven't ordered the right thing yet but so far I have tried the chicken curry dish, enchiladas, burrito, tamales,chicken pot pie and lasagna. Aside from the burrito and soup, everything tasted pretty bland. However, I do tend to prefer food with a little more kick. People really do hype it up a bit too much.
Updated from previous review on Friday April 08, 2016

Updated from previous review on Friday April 08, 2016

Pros: vegan options, vegetarian friendly, Soup samples

Cons: sneaky dairy food, HUGE WAIT TIME, slow service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Big disappointment - Edit

This is a little market that has a decent size restaurant inside. There's an indoor seating location and a patio seating space. Few tables on both of them but there's also a bar section for those who prefer eating alone.
The restaurant has a decent size menu with variety of foods from mac and cheese, to Indian food. They have sandwiches, pizzas, salads, bowls, soups, etc. They also have natural juices and desserts. The market is pretty nice too, it has loads of health food stuff, vegan food galore, but that's where the problem is. As far as I knew, Follow your heart was a Vegan brand. When I became a Vegan, 11 years ago, Follow your heart was one of the few vegan cheeses, vegan mayo, vegan sour cream. I have to admit I never followed their story. When I came to this restaurant, I was asked if dairy was ok in my food? :( No is not ok!! Why would it be ok? Because this is a vegetarian / vegan restaurant! :( you have to specify you want your meal Vegan because they serve dairy and eggs! That was so awful! They also had dairy products and eggs in the store :( Oh honey too. The food was ok. Some of the portions seemed kind of small but once you start eating, you realize it is actually a lot. I did like my food and so did my friends but I am just disappointed at the fact that I was expecting a Vegan restaurant. If that doesn't disappoint you, then you should go right ahead and try this restaurant because it is actually not that bad. They also have their own parking on the side so you don't have to worry about looking for parking. Be warned that the space is limited so you might have to wait quite a bit during rush hour.

Updated from previous review on Monday February 15, 2016

Pros: tasty food, Parking, Varied

Cons: Not Vegan, Prices

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nourishing, Tasty, Like-Home-Cooked Meals - Edit

It's charming, affordable, offers variety, for vegans and vegetarians alike. We love eating here. We love the service, the quality of the food, the prices and the desserts! This is a favorite place, and we drive from Moorpark to dine here, because we can't find anything like it near us. Love it.

Pros: Quality , Service, Charm

Cons: There is only one; wish it were closer.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Heaven on Earth! - Edit

I love this restaurant and the joining food market.
So many of my favourite food items are available for purchase in the store its hard to decide what to buy.

The small but busy adjoining restaurant has a extensive menu and we couldnt decide what to eat! I ended up going for the Nutburger Supreme and my boyf went with the Zorro Burrito that came with a soup of the day (lentil and vege). Both meals were massive and so tasty! Our waitress was very friendly and assumed we wanted vegan(which was wonderful to hear). Both meals could have been made non vegan (with cow cheese), so be sure to confirm vegan, however most everything is easily vegan - and many Gluten Free options!

If this restaurant and food market was completely vegan I'd give it 5 stars but I give it 4 because its not.
Updated from previous review on Sunday December 27, 2015

Pros: Wonderful selection in the food market, Extensive restaurant menu, Lots of parking

Cons: Offers dairy products

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

the best!! - Edit

Almost everything on the menu can be made vegan! The vegan chocolate mousse is to die for! There are so many items on the menu it is always hard to decide what to order. The store is amazing and they carry everything vegan you could ever want.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

This place is WONDERFUL. - Edit

Everything you could need or want is in their market and its worry free. my favorite are dairy-free ice creams, kombucha, crystals and organic clothing. The restaurant has great food and staff. The market has a wide range of organic drinks, snacks, and even a book shelf. i spend about an hour looking at cool stuff every time i visit.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great vegan options! - Edit

I love all the variety of vegan foods they have to offer. Everything is delicious! And good prices too. The portions are pretty big too :) gluten free options available. And very friendly staff.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

coming back here all the time! - Edit

This place is so great! They have really good vegan/vegetarian dishes and the store has a lot of interesting foods. I can literary spend hours here looking at all the items they have.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great restaurant, great food - Edit

Homestyle vegan and vegetarian food.

It's delicious. Wednesday nights they have a guest chef. I recommend the vegan pot pie. Last time I was there they said they no longer served the dairy dressings.

Get the milkshakes, they are delicious.

Pros: Homestyle Food, Veganizable Milkshakes, Cute Grocery Store

Cons: Small space

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wish it was all vegan; Store is good though - Edit

I love the store here...but sadly the restaurant is not all that people make it out to be. I will say it has character. I had food here twice and both times I thought it was good! But not overwhelmingly delish. I was hoping to see many more vegan options since they make vegan cheese. But they do make many dressing with dairy milk products. Also they arent very organic...soo what can I say? It IS decent. And Vegan options. Store is cool.
Updated from previous review on Tuesday March 17, 2015

Pros: Store, Vegan options

Cons: not very organic, too much dairy for a company that big.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

When in the LA area You have to Visit this Place! - Edit

Friendly employees, funky and fun grocery store, & a variety of vegetarian/vegan foods on their menu. I particularly like their sprout/tomato/avocado sandwich, their potato salad, and their vegan mac and cheese meal. They also make baked goods that are off the chain! I wish that I lived in LA just so I could frequent this place.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The Real Hippy Deal - Edit

This place is a cafe/restaurant located within a health grocery store. Follow Your Heart is responsible for products like Veganaise.

I have been here a few times and enjoyed myself every time. The food has always been good when I dined there and the service has been extremely friendly.

I am also a fan of the story of this restaurant/grocery store and how long they have survived. You can see the authentic story of this place the minute you sit down to eat.

Their soups are always delicious and I love, love, LOVE their sandwiches and their original burger.

The prices are comparable to most LA vegan restaurant/cafes. I usually spend $15 a meal there (but I also get their soups on the side).

There is free parking on the side and behind the building. You pay at the cashier on your way out.

For all you hipsters out there looking for a legit step back in vegan time, this is the place to go.

Pros: Authentic ambiance, Solid food, Service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My favorite Vegan Restaurant - Edit

From the vibe to the food, FYH is one of my favorite places to eat--I can even go there to eat lunch alone without feeling awkward or lonely since the staff is so friendly! The 'Chicken' Pomodoro Panini is a favorite of mine; I've also tried the portobello panini as well as the vegan meatball sub and the tempeh tacos. All of them tasted great. If you want dessert -- which I highly suggest-- try the fruit torte or vegan 'cheese' cake.

Pros: Friendly Staff, Fun atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cold Soup - Edit

We ate there a few times, but the last time the soup was served cold and I had to return it a few times to get it reheated. As we are lucky to have better vegan choices, we have not been back.

Pros: Cold Soup

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The FIRST veg store ever in LA & it has survived! - Edit

FYH goes back about 40 yrs...amazing! They pack soooo many cool choices in this small store. The restaurant has tons of vegan choices, including soups & desserts. Great people run & work at the store. They also carry cool gift items like unique wind chimes & crystals & scarfs etc. I wish I lived close to this store/restaurant, I'd shop there all the time.

Pros: all veg, lots of variety of items, great restaurant too

Cons: far from where I live!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

not so yummy.............. - Edit

We've eaten there for years, atleast 20. Long before there was any other like this in the valley. Consistantly good. I want to try everything but it's hard to get away from the best vegan Reuban. It's delicious and huge. It's made with tofu cottage for vegans and the rye bread is homemade. They have always had those dumb carrot chips with the sandwitches but oh well. Most everything can be made vegan and the staff is happy to help.
Updated from previous review on Saturday March 23, 2013.
After writing this review I had to go back and get a Reuban sandwich. It's changed. No longer grilled and yummy but dry toast and not so yummy. I contacted them right away to find out about it and never got an email back. Maybe just not a good manager. I'll go back but it's not the same and not for the better and not for my Reuban.

Pros: vegan food, good value

Cons: not all vegan, a little noisy

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

BEST VEGGIE EATERY!! - Edit

I have eaten here several times since I became a veggie in 1995. I am never disappointed. Their "RUBEN" sandwich is a pleaser as is their "burger". I am never disappointed with their food. You may have to wait a while before you get your food but you won't leave disappointed. IT is more of a fast food type of atmosphere but it is worth the visit. Another veggie eatery to put on your list if you live in or visit the Los Angeles area.

Pros: wonderful veggie burgers/sandwiches, Good selection on the menu, Easy to find

Cons: Very slow service, Can be crowded at times, Not enough tables/ space to eat

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

no thanks - Edit

eaten here twice and all I can say is overpriced, no flavor, lots of fluff. Don't waste your time eating at the restaurant or shopping here for that matter. The items that they make themselves are actually cheaper at whole foods and that is just sad

Cons: Expensive, Flavorless, Not Vegan

1 Response
Read More

rylewins 06 May 2013 - I am sorry you feel this way about our food. I assume the products you are referring to is the vegenaise and the vegan cheese. I was just in Whole Foods yesterday and we are in fact cheaper than whole foods! Original vegenaise in the 16 oz size was 4.99 there and we sell it for 3.99 that is a dollar cheaper. Thank you for your constructive criticism we value all feedback!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Follow Your Heart - Edit

This is a cozy little restaurant and store, I decided to check out both aspects of it.

Restaurant: The food was good, I went with the vegan pesto pasta and also got the tofu cottage cheese on the side. I would probably pass on the cottage cheese next time, but would definitely get the pasta again. The bread served with it was also really good. My bf got nachos which were not vegan, he seemed to have like them.

Store: Given that this is home of Vegenaise, they had a lot of items made with it (hooray). I purchased a side of potato salad and fell in love with it, it was so good. It even had vegan bacon bits in it, highly recommended.

Overall, I really liked this place and would definitely return.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yum! - Edit

One of a kind market, recipes and more.

Pros: Parking, Outside seating

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Service - Edit

I went with 2 friends and their 8-year old child to have dinner. It was around 8 p.m. on Saturday about a month ago. My friends were there and they made a mistake to enter by the back door and they just accommodated on one table close to the back entrance. The table was set for 4 people but we were 5 with the child. We were told that we can not sit there because that table was for 4 people and no for 5. I told this guy that suppose to be the host or waiter that we were 4 adults with one child and that we can accommodate a chair that a nice couple gave it to us. But he kept saying we couldn't stay there and that we have to wait outside. We went outside and we were waiting and waiting and around 8.30 p.m I went to see what was happening and the girl say that the table was ready. It was the same table they didn't let us to stay and it was available all the time. It is ridiculous. the food is good but very bad service. We made a mistake but we are customers, we can be immigrants but we have the right to be treated with courtesy and equality.

Pros: food

Cons: service, rudeness

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Always feels great to be here - Edit

I had read about this place on happycow and have eaten here several times over the years. Here's my Follow Your Heart Restaurant review.

Follow Your Heart market & restaurant has been operating for so many years in Canoga Park. It's considered by many in the vegetarian community as a landmark.

The market is in the front, and the restaurant in the back. There is also a covered patio area in the front for seating.

My husband and I have tried and enjoyed a good majority of the menu offerings. The Mexican style dishes are always good. The sandwiches are all right. The full size salads are huge. The baked goods and cakes are excellent. They are famous for their soups.

For our meal time on the last trip, we shared a pizza which features their own brand of vegan cheese. It was nice and hot with lots of melted cheese over assorted veggies. The crust is just a bit thick and crunchy on the edges. We also shared the tempeh tacos which came with black beans and rice on the side, plus salsa, guacamole, and vegan sour cream (dairy also available).

The menu marks which options are vegan and which are gluten-free. It's very vegan friendly as Follow Your Heart makes their own brand of vegan stuff (veganaise, vegan cheese, vegan sour cream, salad dressings...). For dessert, we grabbed a couple yummy vegan muffins and a small tub of raw ice cream from a freezer in the store.

The store is well stocked with all kinds of food, snacks, and health products. Also some children's toys, clothing, crystals and jewelry. Very relaxed vibe.

The only suggestion for improvement I have would be for them to freshen up the main dining area a bit with better lighting and perhaps a remodel. It gets a bit smoky in there from the kitchen. But Follow Your Heart is charming and wonderful in it ways.

Pros: positive vibes, country market feel, been here forever

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Still Very Good - Edit

We were delighted to have lunch at Follow Your Heart again for the first time in 31 or 32 years! Not all that much has changed since then, and the food was still very good. My partner and I both had the Reuben sandwich, and he also had fries with his. The sandwiches were very large, tasty, and satisfying, but would have been even better had the rye bread been grilled in butter or margarine instead of just being toasted. I enjoyed the carrot chips that accompanied my sandwich and my partner really liked his baked fries. The garlic dill pickles were great!

Our server was pleasant and efficient, and didn't mind bringing a salt shaker to the table at my partner's request. I thought about requesting sweetener for my iced tea, but decided to skip it, and fortunately the tea was still quite good anyway. The server did ask if we would like mustard and ketchup, which we appreciated.

We were both very impressed with the cleanliness of the restroom, and of the entire restaurant and market. All of the employees we encountered were polite and helpful.

It would have been nice to have had a little more privacy, as the tables are fairly close together and, by the time we left, there were people seated on both sides of us. But, since no one was rude, we still enjoyed the atmosphere overall.

Pros: tasty, satisfying food, large portions, very clean restroom

Cons: no salt, pepper, or sweetener on table, not much privacy, tables close together, sandwich bread not grilled in margarine

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Canoga Park Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Follow Your Heart Restaurant and Market closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6415 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support