Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Pizza
Organic
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Pizzeria offering around a dozen vegan pizzas, with the option to make your own with vegan cheese, meatballs and breaded chicken. Also has vegan mac and cheese and a vegan carrot cake. Has gluten-free. Space-themed murals interior. NOTE: Reports have been made about being served non-vegan pizza instead of vegan pizza in error. Open Mon-Thu 12:00pm-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-11:00pm, Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Flying Saucer Pizza Company
© OpenStreetMap contributors

76 Reviews

First Review by mustanggirl531

Teevegan#1

Points +45

Vegan
20 Dec 2023

Good vegan options

The pizza was just ok but I love the many vegan options. Had better vegan pizza though. The cheese was melted well but made the pizza a little mushy.

Advertisement

scoutgriffin

Points +56

Vegan
15 Nov 2023

Overrrated

We ordered takeout last night from Flying Saucer. We ordered tots, garlic knots and a pizza. We arrived within 5-10 minutes of our ready notification. Tots and pizza were cold. Garlic knots were hot, but didn’t have any garlic. Would not recommend.

KatieMcMahon

Points +205

Vegan
10 Nov 2023

Best vegan pizza

I had the Vegan Nick Fury pizza, and it was spectacular 😍 I’ve never had such good pizza. it was a little messy to eat, as the toppings were heavy, but it was delicious :))💗

Pros: Taste, Atmosphere , Menu size

tarayooni

Points +1290

Vegan
10 Oct 2023

Delicious crust

We tried the vegan pickle rick and vegan nick fury. Both were amazing but I slightly preferred the pickle rick. I want to go back to try all their options.

My boyfriend said this was the best vegan pizza he's ever had (I still have that spot reserved for 20th Street Pizza in Philly).

The crust was phenomenal, perfectly crispy and chewy. I could eat it everyday. Only con was that the entire pizza was oddly very greasy.

Vegan spaceballs were delicious, highly recommend. Don't miss out on them.

Expensive but worth every penny.

We got the order to go because it started raining when we were in line. We had our dogs with us so we asked to sit at the patio table. The waiter gave us two napkins to wipe down the wet chairs and table.

He then looked at me like I had 5 heads when I asked for more to dry everything. He begrudgingly went back inside to give us a couple more.

Wish they supplied umbrellas for their outdoor seating.

Pros: Vegan options, Dog friendly, Fun menu names

danic22

Points +91

Vegan
01 Oct 2023

Every pizza can be made vegan

When I went in yesterday their desperate vegan menu wasn’t available since they’re working on some new creations :).
However every pizza can be made vegan. I got the 8 bit and made it GF swapped the meatballs with chorizo. Real good! Staff was super friendly and dressed for spooky season

Pros: Mighty Tasty , Many vegan options, Friendly staff

Cons: Non

Squiid

Points +220

Vegan
09 Sep 2023

YES!! Such a great find!

There is an entire extensive vegan menu. Pizzas are thin and amazing and unique. Pizza of the day is a good idea. I got the Nick Fury pizza (small) and split it with my mom (nonvegan) she loved it! It had mozzarella cheese, Alfredo sauce, scallions, bbq breaded chicken, and Mac and cheese! So good! You can also create your own pizza. The decor is also cool and the staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. Great location. Right in middle of downtown.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-09

Pros: Staff, Huge selection and full vegan menu, Pizza was so good!!!!

Cons: No windows

chels2ocean

Points +719

Vegan
05 Sep 2023

Creative pizzas

They have a separate vegan menu with a huge selection of unique vegan pizzas, option to create your own, as well as appetizers and one dessert!

Prajna

Points +4302

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

Best vegan pizza!!

Their pizza is amazing!!!!!
They even have pizza with mac’n’cheese on it!!
The balsamic drizzle on top of the pesto pizza is to die for.
It’s a place to go back to again and again.

PS. Just be mindful that their GF crust has eggs in it.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-19

zachweeks

Points +236

Vegan
06 Jul 2023

Tons of vegan options, unpredictable QC and service

Great pizza, excellent options for people with dietary restrictions. Sometimes quality control has been hit or miss with takeout (skimp on the toppings, usually) but usually good with dine in. However, TERRIBLE SERVICE. Unbelievably rude 75% of the time for the past year or two. I’ve been a fairly regular customer for over ten years (since 2012!) and the staff used to be amazing — some of the best in town. What happened? Quick turnaround? Apathetic college kids? Also very pricey now, which would be whatever if the staff wasn’t so rude and indifferent.

Tourists will keep going here because of the location but hey, good way to lose your local regular customer base…

Have ended up with several mediocre pizzas in the past two years which is disappointing because it’s pretty expensive and it used to be so great.
Please keep in mind their vegan menu is still extremely impressive for the area but the QC and staffing really knocks it down a bit. Hopefully this can be remedied in the future.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-06

Pros: many vegan options

Cons: expensive, can be kind of slow sometimes, Rude service

kale_queen

Points +443

Vegan
23 May 2023

Good vegan options

They have a whole vegan menu with many options. I like it there as a place to go with people who aren’t veg.

smdice

Points +288

Vegan
17 May 2023

Vegan pizzas!

Delicious crust & unique vegan pizzas! Very friendly staff & fun menu.

Pros: Unique & fun menu , Large vegan menu - clearly labeled , Vegan drinks!

KrystalPotenza

Points +62

Vegan
03 May 2023

Good pizza

I couldn’t decide which vegan pizza to get so I got a half and half which I appreciate them allowing.

vegnerd

Points +36

Vegan
03 Apr 2023

There is an entire vegan menu you can ask for. Everything was so delicious!!

This was a great find. They have mock tails and non alcoholic beers for the sober folks and the vibes are really cool inside. We loved it here!

Pros: Pizza, Appetizers, Dessert

ShannonScott

Points +28

Vegan
31 Jan 2023

So good!

Vegan Mac and cheese and vegan pizza are so good!

770veg

Points +3319

Vegan
31 Dec 2022

Great Vegan ‘Za

A whole vegan menu. Dough of the pizza is great. Love the options. The garlic knots were bomb and so was the Marvin the Martian. Also love the vibe. Good cocktail and brew selection.

Pros: Vegan menu!

Canadablue

Points +28

Vegan
22 Nov 2022

So so good!

When we sat down they asked if we would like a vegan menu, which made things so straight forward! Great variety of appys, pizzas and such fun cocktails. There's a great vibe here. Went twice on our 2 days in salem.

Tonyobrien

Points +231

Vegan
21 Nov 2022

A lot of vegan options!!

Possibly to create your own pizza with many vegan options. Also many healthy, vegan appetizers to choose from.

SurfJurples

Points +157

Vegan
01 Nov 2022

Great vegan options

They have a separate vegan menu.

xbleedcurrentx

Points +533

Vegan
23 Oct 2022

Lots of vegan options

First of all, the ranch dressing is amazing. The pizza is great, we got garlic knots and they were just ok but maybe it was a bad batch (a little burnt). Definitely recommend!

KittenxWitch

Points +52

Vegan
16 Oct 2022

Delicious pizza

Yummy pizza and a good choice of vegan options

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Good food, Awesome atmosphere

Cons: Not all vegan

bbradf4

Points +248

Vegan
08 Oct 2022

Great vegan pizza

Loved having an entire separate menu of vegan options. Sat at the bar and had great service even during the busy Halloween season

DustOfWinter

Points +54

Vegan
24 Sep 2022

Just okay

This is a place that my wife and I try to go to every time we're in Salem. It's either going down hill, or is simply not as good as I remember.
I understand not wanting to use nut-based cheeses for allergy reasons, but there was a definite over-reliance on some slimy oil based cheese on our pizza. My wife resorted to scraping like half of it off each slice, and I definitely couldn't blame her.
On a positive note, the vegan mac n cheese appetizer was very good and I sort of wish I'd ordered it as an entree instead.
I also think the decor has changed for the worse. It used to have this very nerdy (and tongue-in-cheek) aesthetic with model space ships hanging from the ceiling and in-universe signed photographs of aliens raving about their favorite pizza place. Now, some of those things are still there, but it's mostly just generic sci-fi imagery.
Additionally, the wait time for two pizzas this time was WAY too long, but I can't really hold that against them because it's sort of the beginning of peak *~*SPOOKY SEASON*~* in Salem so increased traffic should be expected.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-24

craigmc

Points +31996

Vegan
15 Jul 2022

Good vegan pizza options

Maybe if this was in a big city I would have given three stars. However in a small town this is a great pizza place. I had been to Double Sown in Boston a couple on nighters earlier and although this isn’t 100% vegan, it was much better.
I had the meatball pizza which was really good. Not too much of anything and a decent base.
If you visit Salem I would say this place is a must.

Pros: Staff, Vegan options, Tasty

EvelynH

Points +104

Vegan
29 May 2022

Great vegan pizza!

Very tasty vegan pizza with lots of options!

Marita_von_wuff

Points +28

Vegan
13 May 2022

Amazing!!!

Best vegan pizza I ever had. Complete vegan card with so many pizzas and other dishes you want to have them all. Staff was really nice. Will definetly come back when I'm in salem.

Pros: Best vegan pizza I ever had, A lot of vegan stuff, Nice staff

Cons: Keine

BeccaAmos

Points +52

Vegan
07 Apr 2022

Best vegan pizza I've ever had

So glad to have found this place, the mac and cheese with vegan buffalo chicken was amazing and the mars attack pizza was honestly one of the best vegan pizzas I've ever had. Definitely recommend

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Mac and cheese was incredible, Great service

LiliBarba

Points +123

Vegan
05 Apr 2022

Very good

They make almost all of their specialty pizzas into a vegan version. I got half mars invasion and half hog of steel




This page has been viewed 11326 times.