• Filbert's Bakery

  • (12)
    9
    Loading...
  • Bakery Bakery
Bakery

Many of the regular breads are vegan suitable, and typically also makes vegan flatbread, banana bread, cinnamon rolls, and muffins - could call ahead to check. Open Tue-Fri 11:00-18:00, Sat 08:30-18:00.


Venue map for Filbert's Bakery
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by KevinFrea

VeganAnnaS

Points +2702

Vegan
25 Sep 2021

Great pasties

A lovely independent bakery in Lancaster with lots of vegan options. We tried a couple of pasties which were tasty and had nice crispy pastry.
(Visited August 2021)

Pros: Vegan options, Independent, Central location

Cons: Not all vegan

Advertisement

VeganSausageRoll

Points +26

Non Veg
11 Aug 2021

Great cake!

I went here a while back and bought some vegan chocolate cake, it was delicious! The woman at the counter was so kind and even gave me an extra piece of walnut brownie for free! I can't wait to try their cinnamon buns soon😄P.S I think what they bake depends on the day e.g cinnamon buns are on Saturdays, something to remember!

Pros: Great food, Kind staff

Cons: Can't get cinnamon buns 24/7😢

catherinecuypers

Points +140

Vegan
09 Dec 2020

Filbert’s bakery Lancaster

Filbert’s is a bakery in Lancaster that has many vegan options but do inquire about their options because not all of them are vegan!

The staff is friendly and everything tastes absolutely superb! I love their scones and cinnamon rolls and their brownies and peanut butter blondies! Their breads are also divine! 🧁🥯🥧🍂

Pros: Many vegan options, Friendly staff, Amazing flavors

ClaireKeeley

Points +38

Vegan
30 Dec 2019

Vegan goodies

What a fab little bakery, plenty of vegan goodies available here. The cinnamon rolls are exquisite.
19th August 2017 update: I went in today for some of the cinnamon rolls & they had a particularly good looking bread, I asked if it was vegan & was told ALL their bread is vegan! Also I was convinced to buy a slice of chocolate cake (also vegan obvs) which I had absolutely no need of 😂😈

Pros: Plenty of vegan options , You can now pay by card

healthie.veggie

Points +1947

Vegan
13 Jun 2019

So many vegan options!

A really cute little bakery where most of the food is vegan! They had croissants, pastries, pasties, flatbreads and more! I tried their pea, spinach and herb pasty and it was delicious! Serves warm too :)
Definitely recommend popping down if you’re in Lancaster even if it’s just to pick up a little sweet treat! The lovely lady at he till told me that on Saturday mornings they have vegan cinnamon buns too!

edana_kella

Points +195

Vegan
07 Apr 2019

Glad I finally went here!

There’s a huge range of vegan options available. They’re even doing vegan hot cross buns for Easter! They had vegan brownies, breads, and a range of pastry snacks available. The lady I spoke with was really helpful and funny 😁 was a nice environment and I’ll definitely be shopping here more!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Helpful, knowledgeable staff, Everything homemade

Cons: Only a small bakery so some things sell out quick

Dinsmore

Points +20

Vegan
04 Mar 2018

Amazing Bakery

Fantastic range of freshly baked bread and snacks that's mostly vegan.
A busy little friendly bakery. I heartily recommend.

Pros: lots and lots of vegan bread, friendly service

Cons: you may have to queue out the door

Hoggy

Points +1234

Vegan
19 Oct 2017

Live and Let Rye.

Freshly baked bread that’s completely vegan! I was deliberating between two different types of loaves (as you do), but this seemed to nark the staff member a bit which was a bit surprising. Aside from the slight negativity from them, I’d call in again for more as it was really tasty (I went for a rye, in the end, in case you’re wondering :P).

Pros: Freshly baked, Artisan bread, Really tasty!

Cons: Disgruntled baker.

UKkj3

Points +81

Vegan
27 Jun 2017

RIDDONK

The cinnamon rolls are RIDDONK. Plus they have other vegan bits if you ask.

Pros: It is [censored] delicious

Cons: closed sometimes

ScottB

Points +75

Vegan
26 Sep 2015

The Best Bread

Phenomenal tiny bakery with a range of vegan pasty and sweet treats. I tried the spinach and pea pasty - huge and tasty. The bread of the day was an apple and hazelnut sourdough which is easily the best cob I've had, and I can recommend the cinnamon rolls too. Not everything is vegan but just ask and you'll be rewarded...

Westcomb

Points +135

Vegan
08 Feb 2015

Hidden vegan

much of Fil's experiments in classy baking is vegan, but unlabelled. Once you've bought vegan once though you'll be told what is and isn't ok for you on entry to the shop, but assume most is, even the shockingly decadent cupcakes, muffins, cinnamon rolls etc. if you want savouries, best come before 14:00, though there's often still something at school closing time.

It's worth a visit just for the carnival going on inside!
Updated from previous review on Saturday February 07, 2015

Pros: Fun service, Naughty cakes, quality baking

KevinFrea

Points +274

Vegan
03 Jan 2015

Fabulour variety, quality, friendliness

I love this bakery. They have such an incredible variety of breads (my favourites are New York rye and pumpkin seed) as well as both vegan and vegetarian pasties, flatbreads and cakes. I love the way that everything is prepared and baked in front of you, by incredibly friendly and welcoming staff (especially Fil herself). Do ask what they've got that is vegan, as they avoid labelling it as non vegans won't buy it! Their nut roast pasties and cup cakes are unmissable.

Pros: quality, variety, friendliness

Cons: no website yet




This page has been viewed 3970 times.