• Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine

  • (18)
    17
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Fast food
Take-out
Mexican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican food cantina with vegan options for burrito, enchiladas, mushroom tofu tacos, and tostada. Specify vegan and no dairy when ordering. Open Mon 8:00am-8:30pm, Wed-Sun 8:00am-8:30pm.


Venue map for Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine
漏 OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by HannaDanielle

bavegan

Points +442

Vegan
15 Nov 2022

Yummy!

I really enjoy Federico鈥檚 and I鈥檓 glad to see they are in a location where they get a ton of business! I got the enchiladas, and my favorite part was that they didn鈥檛 have mushrooms! 馃槄

Advertisement

megmdem

Points +166

Vegan
05 Oct 2022

Yummy vegan options

We got the vegan tostada and the vegan enchiladas and they were both really yummy馃槃the enchiladas won on flavor though for sure. Super yummy red sauce.

Pros: Multiple Specifically Vegan Options, Filling, Yummy

kjacobsohn

Points +154

Vegan
16 Jul 2022

Tasty

Limited options but really, really good and clean food

LaurenKilian

Points +85

Vegan
18 Feb 2022

Great food

Clearly marked vegan section on the menu with approximately five options. I got the enchiladas which were great and came with a decent sized serving of rice and beans (delicious!) my boyfriend got the taco which was smaller with no sides (also much cheaper) which he liked. Also went with non-vegans who got burritos and loved them.

Jerm

Points +56

Vegan
13 Dec 2021

Mega Huge Fresh Burrito and Tacos

Signature burrito turn vegan was delicious super big and filling. Ingredients seemed fresh and local.

Pros: Some vegan options for cheese and their signature

Cons: Not all options are vegan, but they need more

路X路

Points +17321

Vegan
11 May 2021

Federico's Fresh Mex Cuisine

A clear 3.5, as this is basic, quick Mexican cuisine. I appreciated that this location had a dedicated vegan menu. I asked for my vegan burrito with tofu instead of mushrooms and they gladly made the substitution. They also have a small salsa bar. I'd eat at this restaurant again next time I'm on the island.

Devon Colleen

Points +220

Vegan
03 Nov 2019

I really enjoyed the enchiladas!

I though the enchiladas were fresh and really tasty. I feel like my option has been a beyond burger most of my trip so it was nice to have some tofu and veggies. Cute location and you can鈥檛 beat the views all around.

Pros: Fresh & filling , Great location

veganchoochoo

Points +313

Vegan
25 May 2019

It was pretty good.

Tofu and mushroom tacos were pretty good. Ordered the combo of 3 tacos that comes with rice and beans and an order of chips and guacamole. The tacos were so full we could dump some of the filling into the chips for nachos 馃槑 can鈥檛 complain. Pair it with some POG from the ABC Store and you鈥檒l be living it up.

Jadediana

Points +2523

Vegan
16 Dec 2018

Decent Filling Mexican Food

One thing you end up eating in Kauai is lots of Mexican food because that鈥檚 the main type of food that has vegan options that you don鈥檛 have to pay an arm and a leg for. The menu has labeled vegan options which I strive to find! So, be comforted knowing you don鈥檛 have to order without dairy products. The kitchen staff don鈥檛 seem too invested and I doubt they know or care what vegan means so beware. Otherwise, I liked the vegan food I got!

Pros: Marked Vegan Options

elliezona

Points +16

Vegan
09 Nov 2018

Great vegan enchiladas!

First vegan enchiladas I've had since going vegan. Delicious! Great guacamole too.

CaitlinMonnery

Points +93

Vegan
19 Aug 2018

Vegans beware (Hanalei location)

They have a vegan menu with 4 options but the kitchen doesn鈥檛 know what vegan means. We got two lots of the veggie tostadas (specifically asked for vegan), one without gauc and add sour cream for my vegetarian partner. Got charged extra for the sour cream, both plates came with sour cream on them and extra on the side but no gauc. Had to asked for the sour cream to be take off mine, the kitchen didn鈥檛 understand what vegan means. The tostadas have grilled veggies, refried beans and rice and were really bland, added lots of lime, salsa and pepper and it was okay in the end. Also the server seemed like she wanted to do anything other than serve us, very rude.

Pros: Vegan options listed

Cons: Kitchen doesn鈥檛 know what vegan means, Bland food, Rude service

DmarieC

Points +180

Vegan
11 Jul 2018

Review of Federico鈥檚 in Hanalei

Just as described in the review about the Princeville location, the Hanalei shop has a 4-item vegan menu, but neither the cashier nor the cook are really on board. When I asked which dish the cashier liked, she told me that she didn鈥檛 know because she was a meat-eater. She did venture a guess and she was right as the burritos were better than the very bland tacos. We ordered and came back about 15 minutes later and the order had been lost. Finally the cook began. Fortunately my husband saw the cook making plates so I told him in Spanish that we wanted it to go with no cheese or cream. The cashier threw in free guacamole and chips. But guacamole is just not the same in Kauai because the avocados aren鈥檛 the same. Would love to see more commitment and knowledge of both veganism and Mexican seasoning.

Pros: At least they have a vegan menu

Cons: Not terribly friendly or efficient , The vegan menu is bland , You have to be vigilant or you may get dairy

PM2

Points +48

Vegan
24 May 2018

Beware

Beware: they don鈥檛 know what vegan means. First, I have to say that the blackened mushroom & tofu taco was delicious. BUT they assured me that the beans were vegan, then served them with cheese on top. I brought it back to the counter and the gal seemed confused by why cheese was a problem but took it to the kitchen to 鈥渇ix鈥 it and I saw them toss the beans and replace them. So I figured they did in fact have vegan beans that they鈥檇 just accidentally topped mine w/cheese, so I started eating them and there was melted cheese in them. Completely ruined my meal and made me suspicious of everything else we had ordered. Don鈥檛 say something is vegan that isn鈥檛!

Pros: Yummy taco

Cons: Cheese in 鈥渧egan鈥 food

pyatrus

Points +167

Vegan
15 Feb 2018

Short, vegan menu, fresh ingredients

Tasty Mexican-style, fast food with fresh ingredients. Mostly non-vegan, non-veggie, but enough choice for a quick stop.

Pros: vegan menu, fresh ingredients, easy to find

Cons: few vegan items

vaz

Points +1303

Vegan
28 Nov 2017

good flavour and good food

Followed the previous reviews and was not disappointed. Has 4 vegan options and I have been there twice. Tried the veggie burrito and the corn enchiladas. Both were good and had an excellent flavour

Pros: 4 vegan options

ErikaD.

Points +30

Vegan
27 Aug 2017

Delicious vegan taco!

This tofu/black mushroom taco was shockingly amazing. Dressed with pico de gallo and a green chile sauce. Thanks Happy Cow for helping me find this place after a long day of snorkeling!

VeggieHeather

Points +202

Vegan
23 Jun 2017

vegan options

This place has a vegan menu with four items. I had a red enchilada. The previous post for this restaurant says his item had no flavor. Mine had plenty, good rice and beans, red sauce was a little spicy but with good flavor. Inside the enchiladas was a mix of tofu, asparagus and spinach, a creative combo for a non veg place. Picture of my entree attached.

HannaDanielle

Points +40

Vegan
29 Apr 2017

kinda flavorless....

The staff were nice, but everything I had needed seasoning and salt. I had the mushroom and tofu taco, which sounded really good... but that, along with the salsa and a few other things barely had flavor at all. Sad to say. I'm not sure if that was just an accident, but whatever I got wasn't as good as it could be. My dad (a meat eater) got a burrito and said it was fine, so I guess it just depends.

Pros: friendly staff

Cons: needs better flavor




This page has been viewed 3869 times.