FED by Water

  • Friend
  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 58 reviews )
Contact
+44-2072496242
Find

64 Kingsland High St (at Dalston Kingsland station), East London, England, E8 2LX

A new concept restaurant offering authentic traditional Italian cuisine with the objective of bringing the nutritional importance of pure water to the public conscience. It promotes an alkaline Mediterranean plant based diet that encourages healthy living while also appealing to the most discerning foodies. Menu became all-vegan in May 2016. Open Mon-Fri 8:00am-11:00pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-11:00pm.

Category: Vegan, Pizza, Italian, Mediterranean, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Catering

Reviews (58)

First Review by Emilykmiec

Love this place! - Edit

We had a great meal at Fed. It was a bit of a trek to get there, but well worth it. Between the 3 of us, we got 3 starters, and 3 mains, and shared it all, so we got to sample lots. The stand out dish for me was the mushroom risotto, which I could eat all day every day, and all of the cheese on the dishes was nice.

Pros: SO much choice (too much choice?!), Big portions-great for sharing

Cons: Little bit of an obscure location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Really lovely chilled place, unique & delicious Italian cuisine. - Edit

Fed by Water, curious concept, so didn't go till recently. What a mistake, I've missed out on months of delicious, creative and just bloody lovely Italian food. Took a friend for his birthday. Now his favourite restaurant in London (he's not vegan). And then back for my birthday. Today we had the asparagus and home made cashew mozzarella with aubergine starters, pasta in black kale sauce, charcoal dough pizza (really good base) with butternut squash sauce, home made cheese, shiitake & artichoke (mmm), and the tiramisex for dessert. It was all really lovely, made even better but the interesting Italian & Italian influenced aperitifs, cocktails - basil daiquiri (happy sigh), and digestifs (cyanar - made from artichoke!). Staff always happy to advise, and really friendly without being intrusive. I've yet to make it out of there in less than 2 1/2 hours (Italian lunch style), but I saw others manage who ate less than me. Really worth a try. Not cheap, but not expensive for the quality and quantity. Three courses (one dessert), two cocktails, two digestifs, and some fruit water came to £80 before a discount. You could equally just come and have a really nice pizza for a lot less. Enjoy!

Pros: Creative authentic Italian food, Chilled friendly atmosphere, Lots of choice, including drinks, and all vegan.

Cons: None.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

BEST ITALIAN EVER - Edit

Love love love this place! Fabio is always so nice! The ambiance is so good and the food is FANTASTIC! It's a MUST!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very average - Edit

The food was bland and very stodgy. My desert was nice. I am a vegan who likes to eat vegetables and healthy light food I had lasagna and it didn't have one bit of vegetable in it. It was huge thick layers of pasta with meat subsitute in. And very dry. It was also so heavy it made me feel bloated the entire night I had to take desert out. I did however really enjoy my raw vegan cheesecake. I would say it's not somwhefe to go if you are wanting healthy vegan but probably good for those who really like pizza take away and more stodgy food that makes you feel super full and don't care about vegetables and being healthy.

Pros: The raw cheesecake is very nice , Very filling not good for me but maybe some people

Cons: Not a vegetable in sight other than the side salad, Too stodgy you leave feeling ill , Rude management

1 Response
Read More

darrenth 18 May 2017 - Everyone's experience is there own, but when I went they had lots of salads available, and veg too, e.g. we had the aubergine, which was stunning.

I also find pasta filling, but there was plenty of other choices if that's not for you.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The best vegan restaurant in town!!! - Edit

Amazing vegan dishes great atmosphere and lovely charcoal homemade bread. Try everything at least once, just to make sure 😉

Pros: vegan, good price, great location, Dalston Kingsla

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

awesome! - Edit

One of the best places to eat in Dalston, whether you are vegan or not, yummy food and great vibes. Absolutely recommend.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing Italian restaurant - Edit

Ample portions, friendly staff, world's longest and most varied all-vegan menu!

This was a great discovery for us and we are sure to return.

Pros: variety, friendly staff, excellent food presentation

Cons: not cheap

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

peng munch - Edit

the pizza was on par with purezza in brighton and the options were endless! even appetisers like the garlic bread was super yummy. unless you go early, i advise booking in advance.

Pros: amazing food, amazing choice

Cons: quite expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing pizza - Edit

Look the food is pricey, even by London standards, but the calzone was probably the best vegan pizza I've ever had. It was absolutely delicious, filled with sausage and other "meats". I tried some of the other pizzas too. All superb. Really worth a visit, though come with your savings...

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 06 Mar 2017 - Hi there,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so happy that you love what we do, and hope to see you again very soon :)

FED Management.
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing - Edit

I went with my pal and it was so filling the nutrients were so powerful I loved the experience also the staff were so chilled it was awesome shout out to Fabio, Antonio, Bianca and Marek

Pros: all vegan , chilled environment , relaxed staff

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 06 Mar 2017 - Hi there Owen,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are so happy you love our staff, as they love all of our customers!! We really hope to see you again soon!

FED Management.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

decent food ... - Edit

I always have a decent meal here. I love the idea of it but I often feel like it's trying to be fancy/ gourmet just to charge higher prices. I also find the staff a bit standoffish and unfriendly. However I will inevitably go back as sadly there's not many vegan restaurants in the area.

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 06 Mar 2017 - Hi there,

We are really sorry if you had a bad experience with a staff member and this is something we will defiantly be looking into, so thank you for bringing this to our attention. In regards to the change of menu and prices, all we are trying to do is improve the quality of our food in order to provide an authentic Italian experience to the vegan community. Good food takes time to prepare, and we try to source only the finest ingredients from Italy which unfortunately costs (Brexit didn't help matters either!)

Hopefully you will approve of our new menu which will be out within the next few days, and we really appreciate your custom.

All the best,
FED Management.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice food but a bit pricey - Edit

Nice little place, very busy when we were there so great to see so many people eating vegan food! We had firey hot pizza which was good with fake vegan meats and a lasagna, plus garlic bread to start. All was nice but it's a lot more expensive than other places of similar quality.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The best! - Edit

One of my favorite places in London!

I have been there quite a few times and every time i love everything they give me :D

Pizzas, pastas, desserts.. everything is just incredible!
Service is also very friendly which is a big bonus.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good Food - Edit

Really good food. We had pizzas and they were really tasty. Really nice staff and a good environment. The only bad thing is pizzas are £15 and salads are £12 and some starters are £9 so it is quite expensive if you add wine as well. Good quality but too much money for pizza and salad.

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 18 Jan 2017 - Hi There,

Thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate it as it helps us to improve.

We are really glad that you loved the food, our staff and the restaurant as a whole as we try really hard to accommodate everyone and make them happy.

In regards to the pricing of our dishes, we ensure that every ingredient we use is at the highest quality along with our staff (who earn more than minimum wage, which is standard across a lot of other restaurants) and other offerings. Unfortunately quality costs and often reflects in the menu price. Our portion sizes are also above recommended sizes and we distribute hundreds of biodegradable take away boxes for those who cannot finish their meals, not to mention the amount we pay for rent, business rate and taxes and the fact business rates will be increasing next year. You will be surprised how much it costs for us to produce gourmet dishes from 11am to 11pm 7 days a week, made by our loyal and dedicated team

With that in mind, we hope to see you again very soon.
Best wishes,
FED Management.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

pizza - Edit

The pizza is amazing and I've tried their skewers and potato slices. Fave vegan place for pizza and Italian food! The service is always great

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 11 Dec 2016 - Hi Chantelle,

Thank you so much for your review! The Spiedini is one of our faves too, although the carbonara is really something else!!!

We really hope to see you again soon and keep an eye out for our new specials :)

All the best,
Fed management.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

no words! - Edit

They are no words!! I came back TWICE in one day. Just order everything!

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 11 Dec 2016 - Hi Ivy,

Thank you so much! We are really happy that you loved what we do and really hope to see you again soon!

Thanks again,
Fed Management  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very good pizza ?! - Edit

Cozy restaurant and lots of vegan options.

Cons: A bit expensive maybe?

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 25 Nov 2016 - Hi Tanya,

Thank you for your response. We really value all feed back and we are so happy you enjoyed your meal with us!

Hope to see you again soon!
FED Management.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

One of my favourite restaurants in London - Edit

I've been here SO many times now, it's where I bring all my meat eating friends to show them just how good us vegans have it. I brought a huge group of 12 here a few weeks ago, mostly meat eaters and everyone was floored by the food. Very hearty pizzas, pastas, salads, desserts, a few raw options too. The lasagna is my favourite thing on the menu but I like a lot of the pizzas too. I just keep coming back to try everything!

Pros: Food is incredible, Very easy location, Great atmosphere for a smart dinner

Cons: a little pricey but totally worth it, booking is essential

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 19 Nov 2016 - Hi Sundal,

Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate all feedback and we are so so happy your omni friends approve!!

Hope to see you again soon!
Esther
Assistant Manager  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

such a good feed - Edit

very trendy with a friendly vibe. the food was incredible!

Pros: great tasting food

Cons: none

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 19 Nov 2016 - Hi There!!

Thank you so much for your review! We are really glad you enjoy what we do and we hope to see you again very soon!

All the best,
Esther
Assistant Manager.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great cooking skills in a fully vegan kitchen - Edit

Loved this place.

I didn't expect much from it considering the area but I was nicely surprised.
It's way more than the usual hipster vegan joint. I truly felt like there was some creativity behind each recipes and the choices is unusually big.
It goes from fully raw dishes to pizza and deserts.
I had an amazing pizza with broccoli cream and soy sausage. The have homemade cashew cheese too.
The portions are also descent sizes (which I found hard to find in those kind of "healthy" vegan places)

It's a bit pricey but it's totally worth it considering the quality of food and the craft behind it.

The service is also fine.
Not a big fan of the decor but that's irrelevant.

Pros: choices, quantity , taste

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 19 Nov 2016 - Hello Billy!

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate all feedback, and we are so happy you enjoyed your experience with us (minus the decor!!)

We really hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Fed Team  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

aubergine parmigiana - Edit

The aubergine parmigiana is utterly sublime. Cannot recommend this dish highly enough.

Large menu with loads of options.

Service is slow as others have said, and it is a tad punchy on price (for example, £10 for a bowl of soup and bread, £7 for garlic bread... that's before service charge)

1 Response
Read More

FabFedLondon 10 Oct 2016 - Dear NicolaJMS, thanks a lot for your review.
We are pleased you had a great time and that you enjoyed our food. Service is something that we are currently working on, along with our timing. Although it can become quite difficult to send out freshly prepared, great tasting food thats made on the spot in a shorter period of time. But thats the "price" for a gourmet dish.

Just a little note, garlic bread costs £ 3.95 so you probably you took 2 of them :)
We hope to see you again soon, all the best
FED Management  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good concept but pricey - Edit

I tried this place before it went completely vege, the vegan pizzas then were very good. After the change, the price seems to have gone up. Nevertheless, great initiative - vegan pizza is definitely something we need more of, be better if wasn't so pricey though :/
Vegan tirimisu was ok...personally prefer JustFab's.

Pros: concept

Cons: price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

I really enjoyed this place - Edit

This was my favorite place in London. I ate here twice, once for dinner and once for lunch. The service is great. The people are great. The atmosphere is great. And the food is outstanding. It's all Italian. If you want Italian, this is your place. Great calzones.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful place - Edit

I love everything about this place. The food was amazing, portions are massive and not very expensive and the staff incredibly nice and helpful. Even the owner came to our table twice to ask if we like the food. We tried 2 pizzas, lasagne, drinks and panna cotta and everything was really delicious. I wish it was closer to my home to visit more often.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great restaurant - Edit

Loved the food and the concept of clean and nutritional food.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great tasting and healthier Italian food - Edit

I came here with friends and tried a few of their dishes but their menu had a lot I hope to back for. Their cashew cheese balls were fantastic! While I personally loved their pizzas with hemp seed crust as well as their activated charcoal crust, if you come here with friends who aren't health food vegans I suggest a normal crust or something else. For dessert I really enjoyed the Panna cotta, Tiramisex was alright. I believe that many of the dishes are made from scratch which means a bit of a wait, so make sure you have time to spend here and enjoy the water.

Pros: healthier vegan food, hemp seed crust pizzas, the water

Cons: expect a wait

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Waited forever - Edit

I visited Fed By Water during the weekend. I had booked a table and I arrived there promptly. There are several minor things I did not like: the place is too tightly packed (just wrong layout of the space) and the table arrangement is also not right (you often have to sit beside your boyfriend/girlfriend rather than across the table). But never mind about those. The reason this is a bad review is that the wait was INSANE. We just ordered pizzas and two drinks. And between the ordering and being served, more than 60 full minutes passed!!! They do put a weak disclaimer on the menu that their 'attitude' affects waiting times, but it remains not acceptable to organise a business about making people wait forever. They clearly got their ratios wrong: they need more ovens or chefs or space... as it is, it's ridiculous! One hour wait to produce two pizzas in an Italian joint which mostly sells pizzas and pasta is just not right and is just unacceptable. The pizzas (which we ordered soft crust - we were asked to pick between soft and crispy) were really hard and dry, too. We left £37 quid lighter (very pricy for pizzas!) AND very disappointed. We were not the only ones in this predicament: a girl almost had tears in her eyes as she had waited an unreasonable amount of time (even longer than us!). Management tried to pacify her by offering her a few crackers...

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to East London Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has FED by Water closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 14687 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support