• Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria

  • (10)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Pizza
Italian
Fast food
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Fast casual pizzeria franchise making Neapolitan pizza. Has vegan cheese. Base is vegan. Open Mon-Thu 12:00pm-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 12:00pm-10:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by Baxter

Duskyblue

Points +50

Vegan
29 Apr 2022

Good pizza, not too greasy

Has three fixed vegan pizzas and create your own. One vegan salad and a sorbet. Delivers.

Pros: Good vegan options , Nice crust

Advertisement

AelaHerbert

Points +63

Vegan
17 Feb 2022

Glue for cheese and undercooked dough

Another restaurant that after becoming a chain lost a lot of their quality in food and presentation. If you’ve had vegan cheese before I’m sure you know that too much of it can turn the texture of the cheese into glue, that’s at least the case at Famoso since they will pile a whole pack of vegan mozerella onto an undercooked pizza. The dough is never usually cooked all the way through so I typically have to stick it into my oven to finish cooking the pizza once I get home. Lately, I’ve been asking them to not put too much cheese onto the pizza and for the base to be extra crispy, they have been responsive and pretty good with these requests. It’s better than a fast food chain pizza (like Panago or Pizza73) but there’s no consistency or garuntee of getting a decent vegan pizza from Famoso everytime.

Pros: A good amount of vegan options , Not too pricey for a more authentic* pizza

Cons: Quality has gone down since expanding locations, Usually too much vegan cheese on the pizza, Dough tends to be undercooked

radiatewithplants

Points +22

Vegan
07 Feb 2022

Plantbased options available

Famoso has some plantbased pizza options as well as gluten free crusts. It’s a great option when dining out with non vegans because everyone can be accommodated

Pros: 3 vegan pizza options as well as build your own, Gluten free also available

Cons: None

kirkpatrique

Points +48

Vegan
04 Jul 2018

Good pizza

Good vegan options - vegan cheese on pizzas at no additional cost - plenty of seating and friendly, helpful staff

SusanB

Points +57

Vegan
08 Jul 2017

smart, clean, delcious and welcoming

Lovely restaurant. Clean and inviting. Exceptional service. And! Two of the very best vegan pizzas ever. The raspberry italian soda was awesome too. Thanks guys - we will definitely ne back

Pros: great olives appetiser

Cons: none

NFL

03 Feb 2018

lmcc

Points +1208

Vegan
02 Jun 2017

Chicken found on my vegan pizza!

I am not sure if I just went on an off-day, as I have had the pizza before with no problems but I definitely won't be returning after this.

I ordered takeout of a Verde pizza, with vegan Daiya cheese, and emphasized that the pizza was to be totally vegan - no meat, dairy or eggs, as I usually do. The service was extremely slow. I had to wait 20+ minutes after the pickup time to get the pizza. I took a quick peek at it while in the restaurant just to make sure it looked okay, and it seemed fine.

When I got home, I noticed that the basil was completely charred and burnt, and there was a piece of chicken smack dab in the center of the pizza! When I called to get a refund/inform them that there was chicken on a vegetarian pizza, they said there was nothing they could do.

I think their food quality has gone down severely over the past year or two. Won't be returning, and I advise anybody else to get their food from elsewhere. :(

Updated from previous review on 2017-06-02

Pros: Offer vegan cheese

Cons: Chicken on pizza, Food contaminated with meat. , Long wait for pickup order

NFL

03 Feb 2018

When things like this happen, I wonder if one of the cooks is just annoyed by vegans and does it on purpose...

staciamberdawn

Points +43

Vegan
25 Feb 2016

My Fave!

Famosa is my absolute fave pizza place in town, no matter the location! They have such an extensive menu and in my experience they are always so accommodating to make things vegan (swap white sauce for red, re I've meat, use Daisha cheese, etc) what really sets they off is that crust - perfectly cooked in a pizza oven, soft and a little chewy - perfection! Plus the service is always really friendly and prompt.

Pros: Great food, Friendly service, Multiple locations

kimward8

Points +574

Vegan
25 Oct 2014

Favourite Vegan Pizza in Calgary

Famoso is still my favourite vegan pizza in Calgary.
The crust and sauce is like real Italian pizza, and their toppings are all really fresh. They use Daiya vegan mozzarella, but not a lot so if you want it covered in cheese ask for extra Daiya. You can get any pizza on the menu in a vegan version. The pizza comes out really fast because it's made in a really hot oven. And once, when they forgot to add the basil we ordered, they gave us a $10 off coupon for next time. There is a new location in Westhills near the movie theatre. So it's perfect for vegan pizza and a movie!
Updated from previous review on Friday January 25, 2013

marleybones

Points +40

Vegan
17 Apr 2014

great :)

Went here for the first time with my boyfriend on a Tuesday night. I ordered the Primavera pizza with the Daiya cheese. It was really good; only complaint is that there wasn't as much cheese as I would like. Next time I would ask for extra. Service was great and had mango sorbetto for dessert, which tasted amazing. Kind of expensive but worth it.
Updated from previous review on Thursday April 17, 2014

Pros: vegan friendly

Cons: expensive

Baxter

Points +121

Vegan
30 May 2013

Yum

Really good pizza - and they don't charge extra for Daiya! (at least they didn't when I was there...)

Pros: Great food!

Cons: There is ALWAYS a line-up to get in!




This page has been viewed 5215 times.