Falafel

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 10 reviews )

Find

9 Botanic Ave, Belfast, Northern Ireland, BT7 1JG

Serves meat, vegan options available. Middle Eastern café. On the menu are wraps, salads, and platters. Has vegetarian and vegan suitable items. Open Mon-Thu 11:00-22:00, Fri-Sat 11:00-23:00, Sun 11:00-22:00.

Categories: Lacto, Ovo, Mediterranean, Take-out, Middle Eastern, Non-veg

10 Reviews

First Review by CiaraSlevin

JessGrace87

Points +143

Vegan
29 Jan 2020

Lovely food and staff

Found this on the app today as in Belfast on business and needed nice food. I was not disappointed the cafe was quiet with only two sets of people eating in there.
I asked for a recommendation and what was vegan and they explained ingredients in sauces etc and what could be made vegan.
Food was beautiful!
Really lovely service too.

Pros: Tastes fresh , Lots of options , Good value for money

Cons: Vegan should be labelled on menu for ease

robotmonster

Points +81

Vegan
19 Jan 2019

Good value, great falafels

I thought Umi Falafel was good until I visited this place. The falafels here are excellent. I've had the wrap and the plate (which can be made vegan if you forgo the pesto). With the plate option, you get four falafels, flatbreads, hummus, a stuffed vine leaf and salad. And it's all very reasonably priced.

Pros: Great falafel, Nice presentation, Good price

peppitaly

Points +1122

Vegan
24 Nov 2018

Nice enough

A bit of a wait however I was pleased with the food.

Advertisement

JackZaman

Points +28

Vegan
03 Apr 2018

Would rate this 5 stars!

5 star rating is apparently only available to fully vegan and vegetarian restaurants... This is the best falafel in Belfast hands down. I've travelled in the Middle East and this is the closest I can get to authentic cusine.

QUALITY OVER STYLE

Pros: Very cheap, Excellent atmosphere , International clientele

Naon

Points +95

Vegan
21 Nov 2017

Meh

Falafel doesn't taste great but I guess it's ok. Would recommend paying an extra pound at Umi Falafel down the street

J0Z1

Points +422

Vegetarian
08 May 2017

Having a fal-augh-el

An Algerian homely restaurant that offers a decent range for your vegan and veggie. Falafels can be served with mezze, so side salads, hummus and pitta breads, also tahini and the usual sort. You can also order them in wraps.
Tagines and baklava are also offered, along with the delicious spicy potatoes served with coriander and chilli flakes, a raita style yoghurt dip and chickpeas on side.

Whatever you get, it will be served pretty quick and in huge portions. Really enjoyed the hearty food in here.

Pros: Falafel! Super food , Big portions, Quick served

Cons: Decor quite run down

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

26 Apr 2017

Cheap and Cheerful

A good falafel wrap house. Wraps tend to be on the heavy on salad, low on falafel side. Not ideal for me as I like to have falafel for protein, and so could do with more. The price is also quite good for this area in Belfast.
The veggie menu is more or less salad and falafel in different arrangements.
My advice to the veggies and vegans of NI: ask for more from your menu. If there was only one meat dish on the menu, carnivores might not be happy. Actually on reflection, they seem very happy with the nearby boojum's paltry beef or pork only offering, so I take that back!
The Kathmandu kitchen next door, does Nepalese food and out of this world Momo (veggie dumplings) by the way, but is more expensive.

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Smaller portions of protein

Mieke

Points +31

Vegan
04 Jul 2016

Cheap Falafel in Casual Cafe

Came here with a few friends after seeing their menu online. I ordered the falafel plate with a side of spiced potatoes. The food was nice but a little bland, the falafel in particular. The meal was excellent value, with the plate including 4 pieces of falafel, lots of hummus (I swapped out the pesto hummus for extra regular hummus as a vegan option), a stuffed vine leaf and tabouli salad. Good for a quick lunch.

Pros: cheap, friendly staff

Cons: Poor quality falafel

cathutch82

Points +98

Vegan
05 May 2016

Best Falafel in Belfast

Amazing Lebanese café near Queens University. Falafel wrap to go for only £3.95. Such good value if taking away or sitting in. Falafel wrap and plate are gorgeous, as are all the vegan sides. Coffee and mint tea are to die for! Relaxed atmosphere and great for people watching on Botanic, can't recommend highly enough.
Updated from previous review on Thursday May 05, 2016

Pros: Value for money, Great portion sizes, Delivery available

CiaraSlevin

Points +2005

Vegan
15 Aug 2015

Fabulous falafel plate

Middle Eastern cafe serving delicious freshly made tagine dishes, wraps, soups, mezzes, salads and plates.
I always opt for the Falafel Plate or Falafel Wrap - scrumptious. Great food and coffee too. I'm looking forward to trying the baklava as it looks delicious...

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Belfast Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Falafel closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2306 times.