• EVOO in the Courtyard

  • (16)
    4
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Italian
Mediterranean
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mediterranean restaurant in Murray Premises Hotel courtyard. Has a separate vegan menu with pasta, wood fired pizza, bruschetta; uses cashew cheese on pizza. Wednesday is vegan Open Mon-Sun 5:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for EVOO in the Courtyard
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by marturey

Hippicat

Points +138

Vegan
08 Mar 2023

Closed for winter

Not really a rating because the restaurant is closed for the winter per their website

Advertisement

LouEd11

Points +30

Vegan
16 Oct 2022

Adaptable to your needs

Friendly server who went out of his way to double check the vegan options available that night with the chef for myself & my partner. I needed to be careful with what I ate due to competing the next day in a weight-class sport, & chef was happy to prepare a simple ‘pasta in tomato sauce’ dish for us both. There was a hint of heat & depth of tomato that elevated the dish into something incredible. Bonus points for a side serving of nooch!!

Pros: Chef happy to adapt menu to your needs, Brought out nooch for pasta

tagueja

Points +74

Vegan
24 Aug 2022

Great spot with several vegan options

Loved the Brussels sprouts and vegan pizza. The original vegan pizza on the menu wasn't available but they were good enough to replace it with another vegan pizza that was amazing. Definitely try this place out!

Pros: Delicious somewhat upscale vegan options

Cons: Might need reservations at busy times

HeidiMoss

Points +34

Vegan
27 Jul 2022

Great experience, delicious food

Loved that they had several vegan options, the Brussel sprout appetizer was amazing and the pizza was great too.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Nice atmosphere, Outstanding service

BrettVainio

Points +90

Vegan
27 May 2022

Great vegan options

Recommend booking reservations; we came in as walk-in and it seemed to surprise them

Brussels sprouts appetizer was great!

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-27

Pros: Some good vegan options

Cons: Ordered the specials and got sticker shock $$$!!!

coilpanic

Points +32

Vegan
14 Jun 2019

A bit pricey but great selections

We were really happy to find EVOO after some frustrating food experiences. The ambiance was thoughtful and lovely and the server was friendly. The menu has several vegan items, all of which were tasty. We had the fried Brussels and beet salad in addition to our entrees, which included pizza with pickles and “beef” crumbles (oddly delicious) and a beyond burger. I wish we had found this place sooner.

Pros: Many vegan options , Friendly servers, Delicious cocktails

Cons: Expensive, A little hard to find

intenselyclever

Points +194

Vegan
14 Jun 2019

Tasty, ample vegan selection

Best vegan food I had in St John’s. Vegan items are easily marked on the menu. Have tasty cocktails, lots of vegan apps- I tried the roasted Brussel sprouts and the beet salad. Both were well balanced and delicious. As an Entrée, I ordered the vegan pizza with vegan sausage- it was quite tasty. Great ambiance, great friendly service. It’s a little pricey, but this is a nice restaurant and the food is of a caliber that the price is expected. Have a vegan burger, hummus, and the sausage pizza as options with vegan protein.

Pros: Well marked vegan options, Delicious food, Several vegan protein options

thejonas

Points +51

Vegan
04 Jun 2019

Great Atmosphere!

Great atmosphere with polite staff. They worked with my food allergy, and had some great vegan options. Their beyond burger was a little overdone/small, but the pizza was excellent and they have a really delicious drinks menu.

JenniferAC

Points +226

Vegan
22 Feb 2019

Lots of options for vegans!

Great menu for vegans - lots of variety!

Pros: Great service , Lots of vegan options , Hearty, delicious food

JoséeL

Points +22

Vegan
02 Oct 2018

Great Vibe

Mediterranean spot with a separate vegan menu available. I was very impressed with the options! I enjoyed the cashew cheese pizza and vegan dessert. Server was attentive and accommodating.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Good atmosphere, Nice drink menu

Cons: Vegan options all fairly carb-heavy

TamaraBrincat

Points +177

Vegan
18 Sep 2018

Great for vegans

This restaurant has a cool classy vibe and has a great selection on a separate menu for vegans.
I had the vegan specialty pizza of the day and it did not disappoint. I loved their homemade vegan “cheese” and was pleasantly surprised that they didn’t use packaged vegan cheese. I would definitely recommend this to others.

Updated from previous review on 2018-09-18

Pros: Homemade Vegan Cheese, Vegan Specials , Great Atmosphere

Cons: Small Portions

perkonius

Points +304

Vegan
18 Aug 2018

A nice place for dinner

We went during the “2-for-1 pizza” hour of 5-6 pm and the place was full! Apparently a lot of people know about that deal. The pizzas were just ok - the cashew cheese was a nice touch, but if you’re from someplace with really good pizza, you might not be too impressed.

kdotbakes

Points +377

Vegan
08 Jul 2018

Great vegan and burgers spot

They have a few different variety of vegan pizza made with their homemade cashew sauce. Their pizza is wood fired thin crust variety and very delicious.They also have bruschetta, pasta dishes, and they serve the beyond meat burger. Service is very friendly and the vegan menu is on the back of their regular menu. Servers are very knowledgeable about what vegan is so you don’t have to worry about explaining what vegan is.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly service

Cons: A bit pricey

slushman

Points +139

Vegan
23 Aug 2017

Delicious and Intimate Restaurant@

If you're looking for a classy place to go for delicious vegan options, definitely check out EVOO! A whole seperate dedicated vegan menu, not to mention the Vegan Wednesdays, where the chefs try out new vegan menu items (like a Cheese Platter!!!)
The food is just delicious!
They also have 2-for-1 specials, and the staff are helpful and friendly.

Pros: Delicious vegan food, Great Specials, Wonderful Atmosphere

Nicoral

Points +30

Vegan
11 Jun 2017

Love this place!

An entire separate vegan menu with pizzas, soups, appetizers, and deserts! The pizza is top quality, and the cashew cheese is AMAZING. way better than soy cheese. I love coming here.

Pros: Amazing vegan food, Delicious olive oil on tables , Nice vibe

Cons: Slow service, Only offered one type of dessert last time I there

marturey

Points +199

Vegan
30 Apr 2017

Ask to see the vegan menu - it will make you smile ;)

I was completely shocked when I passed by EVOO and saw a sandwich board outside inviting people to come try their new vegan menu. So we did. I was delighted to see a completely separate vegan menu with appetizers and entrees choices (pasta, pizza, bruschetta, soup). The pizza was fantastic. I had the Mediterranean pizza which was amazing. I'm a huge pizza fan and the crust was perfect. Cooked in a fire oven. The cashew cheese was very good. The dessert was heavenly (a cheesecake with a peanut butter base). My spouse had the Balsamic pizza that was good but I preferred the one I ordered. We also had the olives with garlic toast appetizers which was also nice.

The restaurant itself is cool. Casual, romantic, and dark and chic. Some people were dressed up, others more casual. They have a cool bar area in the back too. When we arrived it was quite busy but it was a Saturday night. The service was also really good. I was actually blown away by the quality of the food and service. The server explained that on Wednesdays they also have vegan night where they have new additions to their vegan menu. They post info about this on their Facebook page.

The vegan menu consisted of two different pizza options with cashew cheese, there two pasta dishes (one with wild mushroom ragout, kale, and cashew parm, the other was a penne with peppers, olives, arugula, zucchini, cashew parm). The pizzas and pastas were priced between $18-$20. The pizza was a decent portion size for one person. Many apps too. The dessert wasn't on the menu but the waitress told us about it and it was a great vegan cheesecake.

We will definitely be retuning. They truly exceeded our expectations.

Pros: food was delicious , separate vegan menu, lovely atmosphere and service

Cons: serves meat




This page has been viewed 3139 times.