Evolution Bakery and Cafe

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 32 reviews )
Contact
808-331-1122
Find

75-5813 Ali'i Dr (at Coconut Grove Shopping Ctr), Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA, 96740

Fully vegan since Jan 2017. Shares same space with Get Sum Pizza. The owners of Up Country Bakery and Cafe in Captain Cook moved to this location in Dec 2013. Offers breakfast menu until 11:30am which includes vegan pancakes and breakfast sandwiches. After that, juices, coffee, smoothies and pastry items available. Has vegan cheese. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-3:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Lacto, Ovo, American, Take-out, Bakery

32 Reviews

First Review by sullivusb

Bland, Overpriced, Unsanitary - Edit

We ordered the breakfast bagels and it took a very long time for our orders to come out. We were getting hungry so we bought a cookie from the baked goods case and it was one of the driest and most flavorless things I ever ate. Couldn't finish more than a bite. Thankfully the food arrived and it looked like a bunch of plop on a plate. Not very appetizing to look at. The tofu scramble has no seasonings or flavor whatsoever. It was a very expensive and disappointing breakfast. Will not return nor recommend.

Cons: Overpriced and unprofessional. It's a shame there

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The reason we came back to the Big Island. - Edit

You might think I'm being dramatic but this place is the reason we decided to come back to the big island. We visited in November 2015 and were so happy to come back and see that Evolution is 100% vegan now. Vegan and proud. I love all of the vegan signs and information at each table and around the bakery. We probably tried half of the menu during our latest visit (no joke!) and our favorites were the dragonfruit smoothie, buddha on the herb bagel, and the chocolate banana mac nut turnover. The oatmeal cookie pies are also delicious, especially if you were one of those kids that grew up on Little Debbie's. Everything is reasonably priced and the owners are extremely nice. I'll be dreaming about this place until the next time we're back on the big island.

Pros: out of this world delicious, cheapest smoothies on the big island, outdoor seating

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best vegan breakfast! - Edit

Wow for the Buddha bagel scramble. One of the tastiest vegan dishes I've ever had. This cafe is a great find in Kona - breakfasts are served in the morning until 11 then becomes a pizza restaurant for dinner.
The vegan pancakes with macadamia nuts were also delicious. It was very busy when we arrived on a weekday mid morning but service was good.

Pros: all vegan, take away cookies

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

incredible food! - Edit

This place is Amazing 100% plant based vegan. Lots of options for a cafe in my opinion. All the items on the menu sounded to die for. Staff was super friendly and the outdoor seating was lovely. Thanks for the yummy food keep it up!

Pros: Lots of food lots of Beverage options yummy treat

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yaaaaaaaasssss!! - Edit

This Bakery and Cafe is a Vegan's dream! They had an awesome variety of baked goods but my personal favorite was the Oatmeal Cream Pie Cookie. It was amazing!! They also do Vegan Chocolate Chip Pancakes! They can do no wrong, everything is soooo goooooood. Go now!! 😊

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

life changing - Edit

I think I’m a better human for having gone here. I’m from the Seattle area and on my visit to the big island I made it a point to come here as often as possible. Every single thing I had was so good it made me want to weep. I’m back home now and i day dream about this place frequently. The pancakes, the tofu bagel scramble, the copious amounts of sprouts and avocado, the banana bread, the turnovers... this is not a place to miss!!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

AMAZING food - Edit

I’ve had the Buddha bagel scramble, pancakes, and Kona sunrise juice. Loved it all! It’s a bit pricey but the serving sizes are big enough to split. Evolution doesn’t disappoint.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

OMG - Edit

Great find, breakfast and baked goods sooooo good. All plant based, some raw options. Great staff. Thank you for existing.

Pros: everything about this place

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great place - Edit

Laid back and friendly staff. We went with non-veg friends and they loved it too. Had a chocolate croissant, bagel, the pancakes and biscuits and gravy. All fantastic. The biscuits were slightly sweet - like Hawaiian bread. Very enjoyable overall. Limited outdoor seating.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Entrees good, desserts fantastic - Edit

Every baked good we had here - cookies, brownies, cake - was amazing. We went back a second day.

Breakfast entrees were solid but not earthshattering. Service is friendly but not super fast - but hey, it's aloha time!

Pros: Delicious, Good location, Friendly service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

awesome! - Edit

The food was so good and filling. Omg. I want to go there every day. And suuuper friendly staff :)

Pros: soo many options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Blessing - Edit

I just moved to Hawaii, and I am so happy to have found this place. I have college classes earlier in the day & in-between classes I come here and eat my ideal comfort food! It's nice to have a place to come where I feel like I belong!

Pros: Delicious breakfast menu, generous portion sizes, Scrumptious bakery goods, Amazing smoothies and Juices

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious cake. No food during lunchtime, what a bummer! - Edit

We went there for lunch. at 12. They had just stopped serving the breakfast items (which would have made a nice brunch) and pizza kitchen was closed until 3 pm. We left hungry, so disappointing!
We did try however one of their cakes which was fresh and absolutely delicious!
Update: We returned and took some bagels to eat at the beach. OMG, don't miss this place, their food is fresh and delicious!


Updated from previous review on 2017-09-27

Pros: big parking lot, 100% vegan

Cons: no food during lunch hours

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Breakfast Spot! - Edit

100% plant-based!
Found this place by accident on a walk this morning. So happy I did! Wide selection of breakfast entrees and baked goods. Friendly service.
Can't wait to come back!

Pros: 100% Vegan, Great menu, Nice staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best vegan breakfast - Edit

I ate here with my mom while on vacation in Kona. Pancakes are delicious and the bagels are out of this world. The banana bread in heavenly.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent vegan breakfast in Kona - Edit

So glad to have found this place. They have a varied selection of smoothies and juices, backed goods and breakfast items (such as bagels and pancakes- can recommend!) - however make sure you order before 11:30am. Portion sizes are good and food is tasty. Staff are friendly.

Pros: Varied selection of drinks and baked goods, Good value, Tasty food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good baked items but that's it - Edit

The service was bad, and they stop serving anything but coffee and smoothies before the morning is even over.

1 Response
Read More

Antoinette Sharfin 25 Jun 2017 - Aloha,
Thank you for taking some time to write a review.
We're bummed to hear your had bad service. I'm very surprised as our girls are all vegan and are passionate about what we do here at Evolution Bakery.
We want to explain why we stop serving from our amazing breakfast at 11:30 am. We share space with another business called "Get Sum Pizza". It is in our business agreement that we hand over the kitchen space to them at 12:00 noon. That means we have to start the cleaning and change over process at 11:30.
Anytime before 11:30 however, we have the most amazing and diverse vegan breakfast menu on the island of Hawaii. Pancakes, tofu bagel breakfast sandwiches, biscuits & gravy, tofu rancheros and an amazing rice paper BLT.
Thanks again for visiting us and we hope next time you're on the Big Island you'll stop by before 11:30 am and try one of our delicious breakfast items.
Sincerely,
Antoinette S.
Owner~Evoltuion Bakery & Cafe  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan in Kona - Edit

Had the Teriyaki Pono Burger with Vegan cheese. Perfect- served with a fresh salad. Watched sunset. Great experience

Pros: broad menu

Cons: none

1 Response
Read More

Antoinette Sharfin 25 Jun 2017 - Aloha,
Thank you for your review! We see this menu item was from our evening time cafe, 'Ai Pono, located next door. We regret to inform that we will no longer be offering our PM menu anymore, however we do hope you'll come by Evolution Bakery & Cafe and check out our amazing 100% Plant Based Vegan Breakfast menu!
Mahalo again!
Antoinette S.
Owner~Evolution Bakery & Cafe  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice find - Edit

We ate there twice during our stay on the island. Once we just bought pastries as there breakfast hours had ended and the other we had there breakfast burritos and fresh made juice. Both times we were very pleased with the food.

Pros: food , staff

Cons: wish the had had a lunch menu as well

1 Response
Read More

Antoinette Sharfin 25 Jun 2017 - Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We're happy you enjoyed your visit here and enjoyed the food and coffee.
We apologize for not offering a lunch menu. We share space with the pizza shop next door and as of 11:30 am, they have control of the kitchen space.
We are also a very small family owned and run business so trying to expand is not really what we want to do. We decided that finding vegan food for breakfast is the most challenging here on the island so we want to do that and do our best to do it super well.
We hope you'll be back again soon!
With Aloha,
Antoinette S.
Owner~Evolution Bakery & Cafe  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Evolution Bakery & Cafe - Edit

STOKED to know that they are now fully VEGAN!!

Located in the Coconut Grove Marketplace (just below Jack's Diving Locker). They share space with GET SUM pizza. It has a cute vibe and has limited indoor seating. There is seating outdoors. They offer pancakes, sandwiches, Organic NON GMO tofu scrambles, smoothies, fresh juice, and home made Gluten Free Bagels.

We had the vegan bagel sandwiches, pancakes, smoothies and banana bread. Everything was amazing!! There was nothing that we did not enjoy (the Biscuits & Gravy is spicy and has a lot of pepper in it which makes you perspire) - but it was good otherwise.

We visit Evolution Bakery & Café every time we are on the Big Island. It is that good. Looking forward to visiting again. Friendly staff. We enjoyed playing some of the board games while we waited too.

Updated from previous review on 2016-08-05


Updated from previous review on 2017-03-14

Pros: Onolicious Food, Good Value , Very Friendly Staff

1 Response
Read More

Antoinette Sharfin 25 Jun 2017 - Aloha!
Thank you for your review!
We're are happy you enjoyed your visit and are stoked to see we are now offering a 100% plant based menu. We're super happy about the transition too.
We sincerely appreciate your aloha and support. We love catering to our vegan guests and are also doing our best to make a difference in the hearts and minds of people who fear plant based food so we THANK YOU for your support.
Mahalo again,
Antoinette S.
Owner~Evolution Bakery & Cafe  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

excellent vegan breakfast! - Edit

All our food was superb!
Excellent banana/mac nut pancakes, delicious tofu scramble and wonderful soy cappuccinos.
My husband loved his berry turnover. Lots of interesting vegan-themed reading material to check out while you wait.
We also had dinner at the adjoining vegan place.
The jackfruit nachos with homemade vegan cheese is amazing. The tofu Reuben was darned good--maybe it would be bit better if made with seitan rather than tofu cause tofu just doesn't have the same chewiness.
I'm going to end this review because I've run out of superlatives!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best plant based cream cheese! - Edit

I was in Kona for 4 days and I got a bagel with cream cheese 3 of those days. The Bahamas are house baked fresh and they have a selection of (all plant based!) cream cheeses which were so good! Another thing I loved was that your coffee came with soy, almond or coconut milk and the dairy milk was an extra $0.25. Finally a place that charges extra for animal products instead of the other way around! Really good vegan peanut butter cookies too!

Pros: Friendly staff, Indoor and outdoor seating , Vegan books and material at all tables!

Cons: Not fully vegan but a good selection

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The best! - Edit

Even though not all items are veg, I was thrilled to find a cafe that has a good selection of vegan options! Staff is super friendly and food is top notch fresh. I had a vegan dessert called that was sooo decadent, definitely not for those on a diet. The tofu scramble called the Ghandi was excellent as their smoothies. I try to stop by when I'm visiting Kona!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

That banana bread! - Edit

I agree with everyone else. The banana and macadamia bread is so delicious. Do yourself a favour and buy a loaf. You won't regret it.

I would have liked to try some 'Get Sum' vegan pizza next door but I ran out of meals :(

Pros: Banana bread

Cons: A bit expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

BANANA BREAD with MAC NUTS - Edit

Really need I say more? Get your vegan banana bread, and get another with macadamia nuts. Take them with you for your activities. Best banana bread on the island, and they have SO many vegan options you must check it out. They also have Kombucha. Go there later in the day and get your bbread with a vegan pizza from Get Sum Pizza (get the vegan breadfruit crust!). I'll write Get Sum Pizza's review separately. Call ahead and pick it all up! In coconut grove shopping center and you can park in that center in back.

Pros: Banana Bread, Macadamia Nuts, Banana Bread with Mac Nuts

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A lifesaver in Kona for vegans - Edit

THE FOOD HERE IS DELICIOUS!!! We were so happy to find this place after visiting the truly disappointing Ali'i Buzz Cafe. Multiple vegan baked good options -- lots of different cookies and a peanut butter bar -- plus vegan pancakes and a tofu scramble served 'til 11:30. Also kind of neat you can order a cheese-less pizza (marinara style) customized with lots of different veggies at the same location in the evening, we took home a giant veggie pizza for $20 and had it for dinner and breakfast the next day in our hotel. I definitely recommend stopping here. TRY THE PANCAKES, SUPERCHEWY BAGELS w/CREAM CHEESE, TOFU SCRAMBLE, AND THE VEGAN PEANUT BUTTER/CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES!

UPDATE: We wound up eating here every single day for the whole week, that's how awesome it was :) Best pancakes I've ever had, even when I wasn't vegan. :)

Updated from previous review on Sunday November 09, 2014

Pros: Variety of choices for vegans, PANCAKES!, extended breakfast hours

Cons: Closes 11:30 AM

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best breakfast - Edit

For any vegans visiting the Big Island, you must go to this restaurant for breakfast. The pancakes are the best vegan pancakes I have ever had and the vegan breakfast sandwiches are incredible. They are served open face on a bagel of your choice. They also have some bakery items that are great to take home.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Kailua Kona Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Evolution Bakery and Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 5450 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support