• Ethiopic Restaurant

  • (10)
    17
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Delivery
African
Ethiopian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Finer dining traditional Ethiopian cuisine. Here all the vegetarian items are vegan suitable. Open Tue-Thu 5:00pm-10:00pm, Fri-Sun 12:00pm-10:00pm. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Ethiopic Restaurant
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by cookiem

Seatown_vegan

Points +6901

Vegan
06 Nov 2023

Upscale Ethiopian

This is the fanciest Ethiopian restaurant I’ve been to. And, because of so, the prices reflected this. I ordered the veggie platter and sambusas. The sambusas were probably the most well cooked ones I’ve ever had. Tasted great! The veggie platter however wasn’t the best I’ve ever had. It was good but the portions were lacking compared to the price. I also thought the selection of what was given on the platter could have been better.

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-06

Advertisement

AlexinDC

Points +444

Vegan
08 Jun 2023

Consistent and reliable Ethiopian

Clearly marked vegan options - try the bucha appetizer!!

bknamaste

Points +811

Vegan
19 Oct 2021

Tasty

The flavors in the vegetarian sampler plate were delicious. This is some of the best Ethiopian food that I have had-- well seasoned and flavorful. The injera was incredible and I liked that they give you extra on the side. They do have a vegan version of the vegetarian plate. One of the vegetarian options is served with fish so watch out for that and be sure to specify vegan.

gabandtonic

Points +2750

Vegan
11 Sep 2021

Nice upscale dinner

I thoroughly enjoyed the lentil sambusas and the vegan platter for 2. I can’t wait to go back and I will get the shiro dish! My only complaint is nothing was really spicy (heat wise) and I was hoping for a bit more heat.

Mimjy

Points +205

Vegan
10 Jul 2021

Maybe my favorite Ethiopian in DC

Similar to other Ethiopian in DC, can get the vegetable platter. I like the miser wot the best usually.

Laurenveronica7

Points +1225

Vegan
10 Jul 2021

Tasty Food and Pleasant Service

I have been here two times in the past month! Ample seating both inside and outside. Staff is friendly and relatively quick. Don't go on a busy Friday night though or expect to wait. We were still able to get a table though despite their being many reserved ones. The vegan platter is sure to please. First time getting it, I enjoyed the carrots and cabbage the most (my normal favorite), but the red lentils were also amazingly flavored. The second time, the green beans and carrots were seasoned to perfection though! I could hardly let my partner have any of them. A fine wine selection, though most is not vegan. The sambuusas are fresh and tasty too. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Pros: Lots of seating (both inside and outside) , Well seasoned foods, Friendly service

Cons: Wait time when busy, Many dropping of dishes during busy night, Bathrooms are not the nicest

pambev

Points +330

Vegan
25 May 2021

Nice

Vegan options. I shared vegan samples 2 with someone so it made us both full, it was good and delicious.

steveveg

Points +2186

Vegan
30 Aug 2019

Pleasant lunch

We tried their vegetarian (really vegan) sampler for two, and added the shiro signature dish. All were good. The shiro was spicier than the other dishes. The waitstaff periodically added injera. It was a pleasant place and a nice lunch.

levi24

Points +644

Vegan
28 Jan 2019

Quality Ethiopian

I enjoyed Ethiopic. In my opinion it doesn't quite reach the very best of Ethiopian in D.C. (Chercher), but it's certainly above average. Like most Ethiopian places in D.C., there are explicit dishes for vegans, including variety options.

cookiem

Points +5865

Vegan
08 Apr 2015

Upscale Restaurant with Vegan Ethiopian Food

The H Street Corridor is a nice area, but kind of a hipster place. Ethiopic is a little bit different from that vibe. It feels more upscale. Thus, Ethiopic is a nice restaurant if you're looking for a more polished, fancier experience.

The food is traditional Ethiopian, meaning that the vegetarian items are vegan. What can you order? An Ethiopian veg sampler for a small appetite with 4 items along with injera (sourdough teff pancake/bread): gomen (collards), miser wot (spicy red lentils), kik aletcha (mild yellow split peas), dinich wot (spicy potatoes). You can also venture to order the 7-item sampler that also has the fosolia (green beans), tikile gomen (cabbage), and shimbra asa wot (chick pea dumplings). For appetizers, you can order from 4 vegan salads: lentils in a mustard sauce, beets, tomato or chickpeas. However, if you order a sampler, you will be full before you have the second bite of your entree!

People often order to share, since there are many choices that are delicious.

However, take note that neither of the samplers offers the shiro. In addition, the prices are much steeper here than any of the Ethiopian restaurants in the U Street Corridor, and the portions are kind of small, but still filling.

Finally, you can order some gluten free injera if you're concerned about that, but it will cost you more.

Overall, a nice choice for upscale dining in the U Street Corridor, but it will cost you!

Pros: All veg items are vegan, Gluten free injera, Salads are all vegan

Cons: Price, Portion




This page has been viewed 3132 times.