Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Coffee shop serving breakfast and lunch dishes in a alpine lodge type setting. Vegan choices include: banana french toast, Mexican wrap, and at least one vegan soup each day. Other items that can be made vegan are oatmeal, grandma Jean's granola with soy or almond milk, home fries, sweet potato fries, garden burger, create your own salad. Will make dishes to order using any item on the menu. Open Mon-Sun 6:00am-2:00pm.


Venue map for Ernie's Coffe Shop
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by Tahoedos

pennypower

Points +1479

Vegan
31 Aug 2023

Great tofu scramble

Busy breakfast diner. They have a great process for checking in parties and sending a text when the table Is ready. On a Sunday morning at 9am we waited about 20 minutes for a table for 3. Not bad at all.

Love the vegan options. I got the tofu scramble and added mushrooms. My husband got the vegan French toast. Very good food! The service was fast and friendly.

This place has several vegan items and they are clearly marked on the menu in green.

They also have some cool shirts for purchase!

Enthusiastically will recommend to friends.

Pros: Great tofu scramble, Vegan French toast!, Great diner food

Cons: Not all vegan

Advertisement

happypigg

Points +56

Vegan
24 Jul 2022

Tahoe Staple

Came here all the time before I became vegan. Very happy such a classic cafe changed there menu to have options for people who don't eat the stereo typical American breakfast of eggs, bacons and dairy.

Updated from previous review on 2022-07-24

Vollgaaas-Tina

Points +85

Vegan
21 Jun 2022

Vegan scramble EGg

Habe das Restaurant über die App gefunden
Es gibt veganes Rühreier aus Tofu und einige weitere Vegane Optionen , vegetarisches Sandwich und Burger Soja Milch ist auch verfügbar
Sehr gut für ein veganes Frühstück

Pros: Veganes Frühstück , Veganer lunch , Sehr nette Mitarbeiter

jamiemichelle_xvx

Points +279

Vegan
06 Jun 2022

Obsessed

If I had gone to this restaurant first, I would have come here every following day for breakfast. Their tofu scram is on its own amazing (with avocado, bell peppers, fresh tomato, and vegan cheese. And bright yellow, assuming turmeric, tofu) and light years better than Driftwood’s veggie scramble. Their vegan banana French toast was tasty too. Super nice staff, a lot less touristy than other places, and you can tell the vegan options weren’t an afterthought. Also it’s next door to the Bear’s Den. We may have walked over after breakfast to buy a chainsaw carving of a bear and we’re very pleased with our outing.

Pros: Delicious vegan options, Nice staff, Quiet

Cons: Further from other tourist spots

JeanB

Points +27

Vegan
02 May 2022

New Menu Items!

Ernie's has updated their vegan options with a tofu scram available with vegan cheese on a plate or in a burrito. Also added avocado toast, and additional plant based milk options--soy, almond or oatmilk. You can still get Grandma Jean's Granola and oatmeal of course. Or one of my favorites is the Extreme Home Fries made vegan with spinach, jalapeño, broccoli and salsa. Check it out!

Pros: Friendly staff, Customize your dish for your tastes, Local Tahoe gathering place for 40 years!

veganpatch

Points +5252

Vegan
24 Nov 2019

Okay Vegan French Toast

We were happy to find vegan options in the area, especially for early breakfast.

Coffee ☕: the coffee was quite bitter and not our favorite. They did have soy milk available, but we had to request it.

Vegan Banana French Toast 🍌: When we ordered they asked if we wanted agave, apple sauce or peanut butter. This seems to be in leiu of maple 🍁 syrup which is really weird considering maple syrup is vegan. We asked if we could have maple syrup and a staff member said they'd try and include it. We opted for apple sauce. We had to ask twice for the maple syrup and they were really stingy about it.

The French toast itself was just okay. It was dry but had an okay flavor. The apple sauce and maple syrup helped a lot.

They seemed quite busy but the staff was helpful and our food was ready quickly.

We found the price to be a bit high, especially for breakfast.

JeweliettePearson

Points +197

Vegan
23 Aug 2019

Satisfying

They were not cool with us brining our dog in (not surprised but we tried). Their breakfast was pretty good!

mauibob7

Points +20

Vegan
25 May 2019

We split a vegan burrito and each had the vegan oatmeal with almond milk.

Vegan option breakfast

Lesvisons

Points +94

Vegetarian
20 Feb 2018

Delicious vegan and vegetarian food

This restaurant has delicious vegan food. It is fresh and well cooked. We definitely recommend to visite Ernie's! You can make your own salad choosing between lettuce, spinach, then adding 10 toppings, a dressing which feature different greens, walnuts, beans, etc. The salad was just perfect. We also had an amazing lentil soup as. We tried the delicious vegan burger which you can have with either soup, salad, fries, etc. We also tried the vegan wrap: miam miam as we say in French!!! It is very easy to identify the vegan dishes because they are written in green on the menu! A perfect option for vegans and non vegetarians as they feature a lot of omelets, sandwiches, toast, etc. And the prices are very reasonable.

Pros: Delicious, Fresh , Vegan options

Tahoedos

Points +53

Vegetarian
02 Nov 2017

Good vegan soup and sandwich

I am a local and love this cafe. They offer a good vegan French Toast, they have a vegan burrito and now they have added a vegan sandwich and vegan soup option which was quite tasty. You can also order non dairy milk. Friendly staff.

Pros: Added more than one vegan option, friendly staff

Cons: can get really busy in the summer and winter




This page has been viewed 2625 times.