• Eliot St Fish & Chips

  • (8)
    1
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
American
Organic
Mediterranean
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. The small menu includes a tofu peanut wrap plus falafel, hummus, and salads. Staff is knowledgeable about the vegan choices. Note: Reported to use the same fryer for vegan and non-vegan foods. Open Tue-Sat 11:30am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Eliot St Fish & Chips
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by Tellitlikeitis

emmapretzer

Points +26

Vegan
12 Oct 2023

Vegan friendly menu

Full vegan menu with tofu and falafel meal options. Also offers tempeh. Same note as other reviews - cross contamination isn’t great

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-12

Pros: Tofu Wrap

Advertisement

Poundie

Points +13044

Vegan
28 Jul 2022

I appreciate their honesty

Following up on what I noticed another reviewer mentioned, I asked the servers if they cook their vegan items in the same oil as their fish—and they readily admitted that all the vegan items are indeed cooked in the same oil as the fish items. If this does not bother you, you might well rate this place higher than I do—but this cross contamination makes me too squeamish.

kgautney

Points +542

Vegan
11 Nov 2021

Vegan section of menu

Nice little fish and chip shop with a surprising vegan menu. Staff are friendly and willing to accommodate requests.

skaughty

Points +52

Vegan
29 Aug 2021

No real vegan options

They used to fry the vegan items separately, but now they fry the "vegan" items with the fish items in one big fryer. Big disappointment for vegans.

Pros: In the past, they had lots of yummy vegan options.

Cons: No true vegan options now

MollyElwood

Points +343

Vegan
13 Jun 2021

Fab fried yummies

We were looking for a quick snack and had some EXCELLENT falafel here, along with decent French fries. Generous portion. There were many more vegan options to choose from—would like to come back.

Pros: Falafel is great!, Nice seating outside

Cons: No vegan fish and chips :(

gabandtonic

Points +2750

Vegan
03 Jan 2021

Great vegan options

Surprising amount of vegan options in this joint! I really loved the salad. The tofu bites were great too

xjane

Points +36

Vegan
20 Feb 2019

Very Sweet, but.....

They listed a bunch of vegan food on their menu, but I discovered it is all made in the same fryer as the rest of the food and other meat. The only food item that I could really get was a salad, which is what I was trying to avoid because that’s all I can ever get when I go out to eat. The owner was so sweet though! And my boyfriend got some other food from there and said it was amazing. So, if you’re a vegan who doesn’t mind a shared fryer, I’m sure this place would be fantastic....it’s just not for me.

Pros: Lovely people work there!, Overall good food review from friends , Cozy seating area

Cons: “Vegan” options in same fryer as meat :/

Tellitlikeitis

Points +544

Vegan
14 Apr 2018

I wish I could give 100 stars for the peanut tofu!!

This is my absolute favorite place in town for vegan food. Yeah, they have meat and Yeah, it's a terrible restaurant name, but they know how to do vegan food right.

The crispy fried tofu wrap with peanut sauce is out of this world. I have brought both omni & veg heads here for this and they all leave raving happy. Some have said the tofu wrap is even better than the fish. Yeah!

The falafel is also super good. And the fries are some of my fav. They have a seemingly permanent special called the Middle Beast, which is fries and falafel and jerusalem salad with tahini sauce drizzled all over. So not healthy and so so so delicious!

There is a tempeh wrap as well however sadly they haven't quite figured out how to work with tempeh so I wouldn't recommend it.

Pros: many vegan options in bold letters on menu, friendly staff, they understand vegan and can easily tell you what

Cons: Small place with only a few tables. Can get crowde




This page has been viewed 1747 times.