Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
International
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out

A vegetarian restaurant with clearly marked vegan options. Is part of the Taman Indrakila Hotel. Opened 2013. Eco and ethical-friendly. Part of the slow food movement. View overlooks the rice terraces in rural Ubud, about 2 kilometers northwest of the Ubud Palace. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-9:30pm.


Venue map for Elephant Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

39 Reviews

First Review by ole_ersson

Julie_loves_animals

Points +95

Vegan
22 Nov 2023

Late lunch

Had Buddha bowl and smoothie. Bowl was good but didn’t enjoy the smoothie.

Pros: Service, Plenty of options

Advertisement

Thewisevegan

Points +1115

Vegan
23 Feb 2023

Didn't like it at all

Dry Buddha bowl, I couldn't finish it. Everything tasted the same...bland.

Cons: Bland, Boring food, Warm

m@earthville

Points +9174

Vegan
21 Jan 2023

Peaceful spot with many vegan options

Elephant Cafe is a lacto-vegetarian restaurant in a pleasant location set back from the street, quieter than most places on the area. The open-air dining room has rustic charm. The menu contains a number of vegan options, clearly marked.

Bagel

Points +395

Vegan
24 Dec 2022

Lots of delicious options

Service was great and the menu had so many vegan options. We got some Vietnamese
Rolls, gyoza, dumplings and spring rolls and they were delicious and fresh. #Veganuary

Pros: Plenty of vegan options, Beautiful view, Friendly service

ScottCline

Points +2699

Vegan
25 Oct 2022

Delicious Asian Fare

We shared the samosas, pad Thai, and vegan laksa. While the samosas and pad Thai were good, the laksa was delicious. It had just the right amount of spice and the coconut broth was perfect! Worth the visit.

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-25

Pros: Delicious with plenty of vegan options., Good portions , Friendly staff

Cons: Off main road

lele214

Points +459

Vegan
19 Jul 2022

Une vue à couper le souffle

De bonnes pâtes, dans un cadre magnifique ! Un peu cher par rapport aux autres restaurants cependant.

manifesting.maddi

Points +543

Vegetarian
29 Jun 2022

Great smoothies and food options

Love the food options here, always a staple. They make the best smoothies in Ubud in my opinion, love the pink dragonfruit one. Always come back for it.

Pros: Best smoothies , Well priced and have specials each month, Great views

Hobbittravel

Points +46

Vegetarian
26 Jun 2022

Very good place for food and view

Great view, amazing food

Pros: Viele vegane optionen, Fragen nach gluten und allergien

Greggco

Points +2264

Vegetarian
16 Jun 2022

Nice

Full vegetarian restaurant with a nice view. The Buddha bowl was pretty good 👍

Cons: Expensive ( +15% tax )

krizen

Points +99

Vegetarian
28 May 2022

Nice place with a beautiful view

The food was fair. Not many options in the menu, but that's probably due to pandemic

Pros: View

Cons: Not many options

ayshim

Points +931

Vegan
26 Jun 2021

great view

I discovered The Elephant during the last week of my stay in Ubud because we moved hotels for my friend’s yoga retreat. It was just down the road basically. One day I popped in to have pad thai and on one of the nights we, as a group, had dinner there.

The whole restaurant with its bar on one wall seem like it is a wide balcony overlooking a lush ravine with a river and a rice field in the vicinity. The view is spectacular.

Everything on the menu is either vegan or vegetarian although most of the vegetarian dishes can be made vegan if you ask. The style of food is somewhat international, including vegetarian versions of some local Indonesian dishes.

I personally picked Ottolenghi’s Sweet Potato Fritters which was served with mango and radicchio slaw. Yes, the name caught my eye. It was nice and I passed down the information to one of Yotam Ottolenghi’s waiters at his Islington restaurant in London that a vegetarian restaurant in Bali has Ottolenghi’s dish on their menu. Small world, right?

Pros: great ambiance, friendly staff

duckchocolate

Points +2025

Vegan
03 Jan 2020

fair experience

my experience here was alright, i was disappointed at the limited amount of vegan options though. good thing i wasn’t hungry, so i only ordered a dessert for myself.

we ordered:
1. spaghetti bolognese (vegetarian)
i didn’t eat this but i heard its good. smells great, huge portion with cheese and a salad on the side. nice presentation too :-)

2. raw chocolate pie
it was kind of my fault on my end on ordering this (it looks so good) but i’m disappointed taste-wise. never been a fan of raw desserts.
overall it’s quite bitter, great if you’re not too into sweet things and love coconut.

the staff were really friendly which made the experience good. i went at night so there was (unfortunately) A LOT OF MOTHS. the place was a little too dark for my liking too. only candle lights on the tables.

would recommend this place if you’re a vegetarian.

Pros: really friendly staff, nice ambience , a lil pricey

Cons: limited vegan options :-(, LOTS of moths at night

istoleyouralmond

Points +48

Vegan
17 Dec 2019

Pretty schnazzy

Had mango/passionfruit/pineapple frappes, which were presented beautifully in generous portions and tasted great. Also had the larb, which despite being a bit difficult to physically eat was a delightful vegan snack

veganamanda

Points +251

Vegan
11 Oct 2019

Yummy food with a view

We visited The Elephant after trying Dumbo (their sister restaurant). Although there was only one vegan main, most could be modified to be vegan easily (remove egg, parmesan cheese). I got the Spaghetti Bolognese and the Chocolate Pie. Both were yummy. My only complaint is that seating it all outside, and we got bit by mosquitos.

Pros: Good menu choices, View

Cons: Mosquitos

Soul2Soul Educare

Points +1090

Vegetarian
24 Jul 2019

Lovely views and delicious food! Great Vegetarian/Vegan food!

There is another restaurant right next to The Elephant called Dumbo and since we liked some of the menu items at Dumbo but didn't care of the ambiance there (being all club like), we asked The Elephant if we could order from the menu of Dumbo and eat at the Elephant and they agreed! (They have the same owners). This would be unheard of in the US but they were so accommodating in Bali. Loved it! So we enjoyed the vistas, appetizers, drinks and dessert from the Elephant menu and also enjoyed the other yummy food from the Dumbo menu.

The food was delicious at both restaurants and the service was exceptional.

The whole restaurant is open air with gorgeous views of the Campuhan Ridge Walk trail.

Pros: vegan/vegetarian options, beautiful views, great service and music

mjveganfitness

Points +1669

Vegan
26 Mar 2019

Great for breakfast

Came here twice for breakfast, very good vegan options. We opted for a mix of the sides to create your own savoury breakfast - the hash browns are SO good, as well as tomatoes, spinach, mushrooms and they have gluten free bread too. A nice modern looking place overlooking some of the rice fields.

Pros: Vegan options clearly labelled, Gluten free options clearly labelled, Good for breakfast

Dragonking

Points +395

Vegetarian
04 Dec 2018

Tasty food but expensive

Have eaten here a few times
Some tasty dishes but expensive.There is a nice view of the valley.A bit of a distance out of town unless you have a motorbike or car.

Pros: Tasty dishes, Nice view

Cons: Expensive, Out of town

acarolina.amorim

Points +295

Vegan
14 Sep 2018

Great food

Lovely place with an amazing view, a few vegan option but most of them can be made vegan. Parking and easy to access! Friendly staff

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly staff, Terrace

katherine1_28

Points +24

Vegetarian
26 Aug 2018

Spaghetti with a view

Lovely relaxed restaurant just a short way away from the hustle of Ubud town. The view is amazing and the menu has a good mix of options.

Pros: lots of options!

Zazana

Points +106

Vegetarian
25 May 2018

Lovely!

Lovely place near the ricefields..view is nice! Food is really good and staff is helpful and friendly. There were a lot of choices and the desserts (sticky rice) and smoothies (dragonbowl) were delicious.

RonjaMalmbo

Points +65

Vegan
15 Apr 2018

Very disappointed

Nice view but that pretty much is it. Not many vegan options and for breakfast even fiewer. Ordered 3 brekkie toast and one of the plates came without the bread?? Had to ask for it. Kinda fascinating how you can miss the main thing on the plate when they gave bread on the other 2 plates. AND the butter on the plate was not even vegan even though it said vegan as option in menu. The salad was boring and bland.

Cons: Expensive, Boring, Giving non vegan butter even though it said vegan

Becka_w

Points +347

Vegan
24 Mar 2018

lovely setting

I love the location of this restaurant-overlooking the rice paddies in Ubud. I thought the food could use a bit more flavour and spice. It’s not bad, just didn’t wow me. A nice spot for sunset drinks and dinner.

EmilyNolan

Points +149

Mostly Veg
03 Jan 2018

Lovely

More on the expensive side.. clearly you’re paying for the views - worthwhile though!

maegenq

Points +16

Vegan
20 Nov 2017

Our favourite place in Ubud

We go to The Elephant whenever we’re in Bali. We love it so much that we booked the hotel next door. The food and atmosphere is great and the staff are friendly.

Pros: The best food, great view, friendly staff

vinz33

Points +172

Vegan
11 Oct 2017

good

Expensive but good. Coffee is good too.

SusanRoberts

Points +992

Vegan
22 May 2017

Served egg after asking/confirming what's vegan

Server recommended Pad Thai without egg, after I asked what's vegan. Was served Pad Thai with egg--took me a few bites to find the egg. It's a shame because the restaurant is lovely, and there's a wonderful view. They have free wifi as well. They were nice about it, the manager came to my table and apologized (kitchen, not server error), offering dessert and coffee--which was very good. Maybe safe for drinks and dessert...

Updated from previous review on 2017-05-22

JasonStark

Points +230

Vegan
06 Mar 2017

not very vegan friendly

nice menu, nice place but not best for vegans. sad that there was a lot of things I couldn't order.

Pros: nice atmosphere healthy except eggs and dairy in m

Cons: eggs and dairy in most things

Smithy

15 Sep 2017

How ridiculous to leave a review like this for a vegetarian restaurant. Really unhelpful!

JasonStark

07 Jan 2019

Happy cow is promoting vegan not vegetarian. It would be helpful if eggs and dairy were not served.




This page has been viewed 8493 times.