Lacto
Juice bar
Take-out
Mexican
Gluten-free
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers vegan tacos, vegan nopal dishes and salads with vegan options. Has a whole section of vegetarian main courses, ask if any can be made vegan. Open Mon-Tue 13:00-23:00, Thu-Sun 13:00-23:00. Closed Wed.


Venue map for El Rey
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by RubenGarciaGamarra

Vegan-Vinyl-Avengers

Points +1356

Vegan
02 Sep 2023

Authentic vg mexican with stunning sea views

Seafront, stylish, Mexican restaurant, open 7 days a week, with vegetarian section of the menu. The waiter was friendly and knowledgable about vegan options.

We ordered the vegan jackfruit tacos, which were tasty, but quite spicy, and the bean tacos which were perfect, with a separate pot of piri-piri sauce. The vegan options were mainly vegetarian dishes without cheese/sour cream etc. Could be improved with vegan substitutes for cheese etc.

The venue is stylish, with inside and outside seating, on the seafront, overlooking the beach.

The prices were in line with the area. The main courses were 15€-18€, or there was a 3-course lunch for 25€ with vegan options.

Overall, it was a positive experience, we will definitely eat here again.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-02

Pros: Really tasty vegan Mexican food, Friendly, Speak English + Spanish

Cons: No Vegan cheese available

Advertisement

emsher

Points +614

Vegan
28 Jul 2023

Delicious Authentic Mexican, But Limited Vegan Options

I would definitely have rated this place 4* if they had more vegan options. They have good veggie options which could be made vegan by omitting the cheese and sour cream so we did this for the trio of tacos but felt like it fell flat a bit. The jackfruit tacos (which were already vegan) were excellent. Wish they had more already-vegan options, but would recommend if coming with an omnivore group!

NoorArends_

Points +76

Vegan
17 Aug 2022

Very delicious

Enought vegan options, the waiter knew the vegan options and also the vega can be vegan options.

Pros: Enough vegan options, Delicious tacos, 3 vegan desserts

ManuelaGhinassi

Points +44

Vegan
23 Jun 2022

Delicious Mexican with beautiful sea view

Finally a place where staff knows about vegan options. All the food was delicious and tasted very fresh . We had tortillas with guacamole e pico de gallo, tacos with vegan chorizo, tacos with lentils, black beans tortillas. Super delicious! Also the decor is beautiful

Pros: Staff knowledgeable about vegan food , Beautiful decor, Beautiful view

Cons: Little expensive

pocahontas

Points +293

Vegan
23 Feb 2022

DELICIOSO

Coming across El Rey just upgraded my trip. I love Mexican food, can't stand TexMex, thus I was very grateful to discover this gem. Ask staff for recommendations or mention you're vegan, as dishes are marked vegetarian only. Everything tasted fresh and delicious.

Pros: Knowledgeable staff, Delicious food, Wonderful interior

Cons: A bit pricey

winnietouch

Points +143

Vegan
19 Feb 2022

Very delicious

I had the three different tacos one with lentils, one with truffle maiz and one with vegan chorizo. They were all good but the portion is probably not enough when you are really hungry.

Pros: Many vegan options

Cons: A little bit expensive for the amount

RubenGarciaGamarra

Points +24

Mostly Veg
21 Jul 2021

Authentic Mexican

Very authentic food, vegan option on every section of the menu (including desserts!)




This page has been viewed 1962 times.