El Pancho

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 46 reviews )

Find

Shinsaibashi Tower Bldg 8F, Osaka, Japan, 542-0085

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican restaurant in the Shinsaibashi covered mall, at 中央区心斎橋筋1丁目10-1. Reported offering several dishes that are vegan suitable, but vegans should specify to be sure. Live music on weekend evenings. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-10:30pm.

Categories: Lacto, Ovo, Beer/Wine, Mexican, Non-veg

46 Reviews

First Review by Tory

sarita.p

Points +422

Vegan
28 Mar 2020

Go for the Burrito!

Super flavorful! Best burrito I ever had, I was surprised! Also very nice atmosphere at this place.

Pros: Outstandingly good taste, Nice atmosphere

Cons: quite pricey

BethS76

Points +140

Vegan
21 Jan 2020

The best mexican I've had in Japan

Good mexican food is hard to find in Japan, especially veggie friendly , but this really hits the spot. It's super well located, right next to Shinsaibashi station. It's very popular so I'd recommend booking on a Friday or Saturday night.
The interior is really cool and atmospheric, and there is live music on a Saturday night.
Unfortunately it does serve meat, but there is an extensive vegetarian menu, which can be easily veganised by omiting the cheese and sour cream. The drink/cocktail selection is very good, and there's even a vegan certified beer!
This place is very popular with foreigners, so staff are good at English and used to accommodating dietry needs.

Pros: Great location , Delicious mexican food, Atmosphere

Cons: Serves meat, Quite expensive, Usually busy

EmmaCebuliak

Points +1337

Vegan
04 Jan 2020

Japanese-Mexican Food in Osaka

El Pancho is a super popular Mexican restaurant located in the centre of Shinsaibashi. It's been around for years, and in my experience they are consistent in their service and menu items. They're accommodating of vegan food requests if you state them clearly. Don't expect fully authentic Mexican food - they sort of throw a random mix of veggies (like potato and broccoli) into their burritos and aren't big on the spice; but for what it is, it isn't bad.

Updated from previous review on 2020-01-04

Advertisement

SamanthaMayo

Points +42

Vegan
01 Jan 2020

Burritos, fajitas, vegan platter.... yum!!

There were so many options, and it was absolutely delicious. I had the vegan burrito and it was a large size for only 1000yen. Friends had the vegetarian chimichangas and the vegetarian platter, and my husband had a meat enchilada and loved it.
Frozen margaritas were yummy, a little too much tequila for my liking but good all the same. We all walked out content and satisfied.
Depending on the direction you come from the building can be a little confusing to find, it is on the 8th floor of the hexagonal building(if that helps). Large signs out the front downstairs once you get to the building. Well worth the confusion though, all of us would go back

Pros: Vegan options, Decent size, Good price

Cons: Slightly confusing to find

isehanami

Points +25

Mostly Veg
05 Nov 2019

Great food and interesting interior design

Went here to meet with a friend for lunch; we both went for the same menu, which was easily customized from being vegetarian to vegan upon request. The staff was very friendly and immediately knew what „vegan“ meant.

Pros: Plenty to eat/Big portion sizes , Delicious

alarkin

Points +30

Vegan
25 Oct 2019

Very filling!

I had a great meal in this restaurant with my non-veggie dad. They had sufficient options for both of us. Has the usual Mexican mains - burrito/fajita/enchilada which can be with beef, chicken, shrimp, vegetarian or vegan. Staff understood not to serve cheese and sour cream when you requested vegan and made substitutions as necessary. Portion size was very big and filling, which was just what we needed! I had the vegetarian combo vegan burrito which came with lots of different bits (guacamole, refuted beans, salad, tortilla chips, potato chips etc) as well as the burrito. Shrimp fajita reportedly delicious according to my dining partner, for those who eat fish. The kiwi margaritas were also very tasty! Staff were very friendly and there was great live music!

Pros: Several vegan and vegetarian options , Live music, Tasty margaritas

ayamalb

Points +17

Vegetarian
20 Oct 2019

A great place

A wonderful escape from the city's noise and confusion with the restaurant's unique atmosphere and great food. There's an english menu and the vegan/ vegetarian options are easy to find and are very delicious.

Pros: Good food, some vegan options

Cons: Spicy, the service is a bit slow

JamesKelly

Points +38

Vegan
15 Oct 2019

Great food, slow service

Incredible nice food. My partner had the veggie burrito and I had the veggie mix platter. Burrito much better than the platter.

You had to grab the attention of the waitresses, beyond the normal tactics. But other than that, food was great, atmosphere great and easy to find.

Pros: Good food

Cons: Poor service

BerniBear

Points +57

Vegan
22 Sep 2019

Great Mexican Food - Vegan!!!

It was very easy. Just tell the staff that you are vegan and you will get a VERY VERY delicious plate!

Pros: Very cool mexican atmosphere!

DrVeg

Points +59

Vegetarian
19 Sep 2019

Loved the food

Lots of veg options, lovely atmosphere, live music, made a change from eating Japanese’s food

Pros: Great food with lots of veg choice, Good cocktails, Lovely atmosphere, lots of local people there

Cons: None

MaddisonHely

Points +22

Vegan
13 Sep 2019

5 stars

Everything was amazing! Cheap and easy to order vegan options

linahrichiger

Points +514

Vegan
11 Sep 2019

So good

Went there for lunch today and had the vegetarian burrito plate - vegan version. The staff immediately understood what vegan meant and the portion size was huge! Thank god I was quite hungry, otherwise I might wouldn‘t gave been able to finish it.
It was around 1,900yen which I consider a fair price for the amount of food.
The plate came with a burrito, potato wedges, chips, quesadillas filled with bean, corn,and a small tortilla wrap.
My meat eating friend also really enjoyed his meal.
The ambiente was fun as well. All in all a really nice experience.

Pros: Large portion size, Delicious, Nice atmosphere

BerniceL

Points +36

Vegan
01 Sep 2019

Great vegan Mexican in the heart of Osaka

Had the vegan burrito combo and it did not disappoint. Make sure you’re hungry!

Ali.T

Points +343

Vegan
22 Aug 2019

If you like Mexican food you need to go

Really cool little restaurant. Huge portions and really tasty. Would definitely recommend

cj81914

Points +621

Vegan
29 Jul 2019

Best mexican food in Osaka!

Truly great. It's an epic little place on the 8th floor of a building right above shinsaibashi station. If you're lost it's near the uniqlo and h&m of shainsaibashi-ju.

Would recommend: The vegetarian platter with enchiladas. (And specify vegan when you order) and Kiwi margaritas! this is the best flavour in my opinion having tried them all over many visits.

Visited here so many times with so many different people and have never once been disappointed. Great ambiance, delicious food and often live music for free.

Pros: Delicious, Value for money, Great location

sez198

Points +113

Vegan
08 Jun 2019

So good, went there twice in 2 days

I really liked this place. Vegetarian options were made vegan on request. I had the veg burrito and the veg fajitas which were both really food and very filling. Received food quickly too.

HistoricalMarkers

Points +206

Vegetarian
26 May 2019

Mashed potatoes and enchiladas

Fun little place but the food was average. Also, a little weird. Vegetarian combo platter included mashed potatoes, broccoli, corn, and carrots, in addition to the enchilada, quesadilla, and chips. Still, not a bad option if you want a vegetarian meal without any seaweed or fishy stuff hidden inside.

Halo

Points +57

Vegetarian
25 May 2019

Vegetrian and vegan options available

Cozy mexican restaurant on the 8th floor. Waitresses know the different between vegan and vegetrian dishes

Pros: 1 Vegetrian combo (set meal), Vegan dishes (avocado based), Real mexican and tasty dishes

Cons: Medium price, After 5pm, they might charge for the table

ldd_happy

Points +558

Vegan
13 Apr 2019

Insanely good Mexican

Move over San Diego! Lol, seriously though that was tasty! We had mostly vegetarian but specify if you want vegan and they will serve without the cheese/sour cream etc. Really cool and fun interior! Absolutely loved it

Pros: Top fodder

VickiNewMath

Points +387

Vegan
09 Apr 2019

Best Mexican in Japan

Move over San Diego, cause this is legit. Full of flavor and tastes authentic af. Let the staff know you are vegan and they accommodate. I have the avacado verde enchiladas and sweet mother Mary that was amazing.

Pros: Plenty of vegan options

Cons: Pricey, Serves meat, Serves dairy

John182

Points +42

Vegan
09 Apr 2019

This place is the business fam

Staff is understanding and accommodating of “vegans”.

Pros: That veggie burrito made me long for San Diego. , Many options for vegans and vegetarians

KelseyGardner

Points +76

Vegetarian
04 Apr 2019

Full as a goog

After a long and cold day, this burrito was the PERFECT thing to sit down to! It was so warm and full of spice and flavour, it was a very homey sort of taste. Be wary though, it contains copious amounts of carrots and onion and sour cream on top, however I’m sure you could ask them to take that off. Other than that, completely vegan!

Pros: Amazing food, size and price , Amazing atmosphere , Amazing staff

BethanyRoeth

Points +405

Vegan
10 Feb 2019

Be careful when ordering

The waitress told me they could make anything vegan and then I was brought a plate full of food smothered in cheese and sour cream. I hate wasting food, so I ate it but now I feel sick because I’m not used to dairy. I would have given it one star, but the food (even though not vegan) was actually really good.

Pros: Tasty food , Cool atmosphere

Cons: Expensive , Brought me non-vegan food

emroroberson

Points +47

Vegetarian
29 Dec 2018

SO GOOD

Such a funky restaurant! We got in without a reservation but I would recommend booking in advance as it was very busy! Good was delicious and a lot of it. Atmosphere was great as well

Pros: Lots of veggie options , Fast service , Tasty food

MusukoZipang

Points +142

Vegan
09 Dec 2018

Come here

Their lunch time is very long 1130-1700 and lunch set is very cheap and a lot of food. The owner knows vegan so it was easy to order. It was really good.

Pros: Affordable, Good portion , Delicious

DanielaCasillas

Points +100

Vegan
19 Nov 2018

Great food and atmosphere

They have not only one, but MANY vegan options! Maybe I am biased because I am Mexican but this has been one of my favorite places to eat in Osaka. The restaurant is so unique and the food is delicious and full of flavor.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great atmosphere, Very flavorful food

Cons: Tad pricey

mo_soul

Points +33

Vegetarian
03 Jul 2018

Veg Mexican..hola!

Enough choice of vegetarian to enjoy the great flavours. Highly recommendation!

Pros: Good options, Great venue & atmosphere

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Osaka Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has El Pancho closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 11750 times.