El Maderal

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 48 reviews )
Contact
932470034
Find

Carrer de Lepant 220, Barcelona, Spain, 08013

Vegan tapas cafe and beverages bar located between La Sagrada Familia and l’Auditori. Serves sweet and savory dishes. Has taps, gintonics, wines, and natural cellars; variety of juices, shakes, and smoothies plus tea, coffee with plant-based milk. Open Tue-Sat 5:00pm-11:30pm.

Category: Vegan, Western, Juice bar, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Spanish

Reviews (48)

First Review by hack_man

terrible servicio!! - Edit

Una persona para servir 25 otras!!! Esperamos 45 minutos para que nos trajeran el menu, la comida es buena , pero el servicio es ridiculo un solo mesonero no podia atendernos a todos. Fuimos a principio de agosto, espero que hayan contratado mas gente.

Pros: las tapas son buenas

Cons: el servicio

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

délicat ! - Edit

Des mets délicats
Un service dexception
Parfait !

Pros: todos veganos

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good and friendly - Edit

The place has a high-class bar-like atmosphere, but it seemed all down-to-earth. The food was good - we tried different tapas like the zucchini cannelloni, the corn hummus, and a couple of other things. All great. Being tapas, of course, if you have a few of them, it gets expensive.

Pros: Good food, friendly staff

Cons: Not a budget place

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful Experience! - Edit

It's been a little while (last October) but we had such a great experience here. I chose this spot for my birthday celebration based on recommendations. When we called to make a reservation they encouraged us to come a little later - we made the reservation for 8:30 and were the only ones there when we arrived! That meant our server (don't think he was the owner, but perhaps the manager?) spent lots of time and care with us, explaining the menu, drinks, making recommendations - he was so friendly and helpful, even discussing the current state of vegan eating in Barcelona. It's a lovely, tiny place, so do make a reservation. We had a wonderful meal, with house made sangria in huge servings. Their signature 'burger', and everything we tried, was delicious. (And the place did fill while we sat there.) Not sure if anyone has mentioned the wide and impressive selection of gin, but it is indeed noteworthy!

Pros: Vegan!, Delicious, Friendly

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great vegan tapas bar - Edit

Best vegan food we ate in Barcelona. Small nice vegan tapas bar with jazz music and a great choice of gin. Great service and extremely delicious food. We tried almost everything on the menu 😁 Tip: Try the vegan white chocolat mousse - one of the best desserts I've ever had! Overall highly recommended!

Pros: all vegan, super delicious food, nice ambience

Cons: A bit pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

terrible customer service - Edit

It's really too bad bc this place was ok before (though overpriced for what they serve). Whomever they hired recently (or maybe she was there before? Who knows) to answer the phone and take reservations will make this place plummet to the ground if she remains working there. What a terribly rude woman, nonexistent customer service skills and sounds like she's actually actively trying to kill the business. My hubby and I had a wedding anniversary reservation there and decided not to go after the horrible treatment we received on the phone. Hopefully they'll let this person go bc it's unacceptable but we have met the owner and he's actually quite nice!

1 Response
Read More

LynneG 02 Aug 2017 - Shocked to hear it - less than a year ago our experience, both on the phone and in the restaurant, was fabulous. Hope we can chalk this up to one woman's bad day!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

beyond words - Edit

best vegan food I ever had, little nice place, great service, delicious wine. We had fancy hummus, tasty burger, raw zucchini roll.
Highly recommended!

Pros: delicious food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Entirely vegan and lovely staff - Edit

I'll go again and again. It's cozy, small, cute, has tasty food and delicious desserts.The staff is very nice and attentive. And you can buy menchardaising of various sanctuaries!

Pros: Everything is completely vegan, Good relation Cost-Quality and also quantity

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing! - Edit

We arove early but they didn't mind serving us before opening hours.
The food was amazing, rich in flavour with great variety.
We were also surprised to find that they had over 100 different types of gin. And on top of the great food, I had the best gin and tonic I've ever had in my life.
To top it all of the pricing was very affordable.
I would visit Barcelona again, alone based on this place.

Updated from previous review on 2017-05-25

Pros: Great Food, Gin and Tonic, Princing, very affordable

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Classy vegan and gin bar - Edit

One of my favourite places to eat in Barcelona. Classy interior, lovely service and choices of nice wine and gins. Every plate is a piece of art and leaves you perplexed as to how it tastes so good.

All vegan options with a Spanish feel: pureed lentils, croquettes, quality patatas bravas. Simple and delicate dishes. Gorgeous vegan white mousse dessert served in a glass with a cherry coulis.

Pros: Classy vegan food, lovely and dainty interior. Ver

Cons: On the pricier side but worth it.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Incredible Experience - Edit

Once in a while you may experience a meal that is perfection and just leaves you speechless. During our recent holiday to Barcelona we experienced this at El Maderal. The whole dining experience was just superb. After booking in advance we arrived promptly and were instantly made to feel at ease by Paco the host who was both friendly and attentive. Inside the decor and setup is very stylish but cozy at the same time. We decided to order the patatas bravas, smoked aubergine tartar, croquettes, lentil pate with Sardinian flatbread, seitan with mushrooms and cream, the burger and of course some sangria that came to about 80 euros. Each dish was explained in detail by Paco when served, which we thought was a great touch and you can tell El Maderal take pride and care in the food they prepare and serve. The presentation of the food was stunning and tasted even better with each dish simply delicious and full of flavour with so many different textures, especially the aubergine tartar and lentil pate with flatbread. This was the by far the best meal we had in Barcelona and was an incredible experience. Be sure to dine here if you visit.

Pros: Fantastic food and presentation, Amazing host, Great vibe and atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great tapas - Edit

Really nice tapas, small portions though

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing vegan tapas bar - Edit

The food at this place is incredible plus it's a really nice atmosphere and great service. Not cheap but worth it for a treat.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food and atmosphere - Edit

We enjoyed our lunch here and had a nice variety of tasty dishes to share, topped off with homemade sangria. The atmosphere was nice -
the interior is quite stylish and smart, but it's still relaxed - and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the croquettes and the burger, and appreciated the English menu we were given. It's the sort of place I'd be glad to take non-vegans who don't want to be dragged to the more volunteer-run vegan co-operative style places! It was well worth the visit, and we'd definitely go back - especially in the evening for more drinks. I'm sure my omnivorous bf would enjoy it here.

Pros: Totally vegan, Nice atmosphere, Friendly service

Cons: Not the cheapest, but not overly expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A must go for vegans - Edit

This place is amazing. The restaurant is cozy and rustic with the atmosphere of a Spanish wine bar. We got offered a glas of delicious sparkling wine due to their anniversary in the beginning, but we also ordered home made sangria, which was sooo good with a nice orange liquor flavor. The food was remarkable. We started with bechamel croquettes, incredibly crunchy and creamy on the inside. The batatas bravas came with a smokey mojo and the pan con tomate was served on really good bread. For dessert we had a layered fluffy vanilla cream with berries and crumbles in between, something that you don t get everywhere in this quality as a vegan. Don´t miss this place, if you re around!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Sooo Good - Edit

Creative, delicious food. Nice atmosphere and great staff. A must in your visit to Barcelona!

Pros: Everything!

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Remarkable - Edit

I have visited this place several times, before and after the menu change.

Overall very good experiences. The dishes are modern, creative and tasty. The service is just excellent.

Don't leave El Maderal without trying the vegan carrot cake, it's just amazing. If for some reason you don't like desserts, you will start liking them after this...

Pros: Service, Taste, Creativity

Cons: Price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A solid choice - Edit

This place is around the corner from the old bull-fighting ring El Monumental. Ironic! I've been a few times and always had a good experience. It's a small place; seats about 20 in the front and another 8-10 in the back. The all-wood decor gives it a contemporary yet homey feel.

After trying various things on the menu, I now go straight for the veggie burger and patatas bravas. The burger is quite tasty and nicely presented, although on the small side for the price. The bravas are delicious. They have a nice revolving selection of craft beers to accompany.

The staff has always been friendly to us.

Pros: Nice atmosphere, Quality food, Good beer selection

Cons: A little pricey, A bit far from where I live!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

awesome!!! - Edit

Great food and service. Paco was knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely a place to visit again!

Pros: Tomate feo pesto , croquetas puerros , tartar de berenjena

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Unpleasant experience. Try again. - Edit

I do not usually leave opinions about the restaurants I visit, but this time I'd like to share my experience.
I had dinner with my vegetarian girlfriend. The place is cozy, but at the same time have the sensation it is cold as well as the staff: not a smile at any time, nor told us hello.
We were advised to order 4 or 5 dishes because they were small, and indeed the dishes were very small, the russian salad was like... watery and the quantity was ridiculous: literally two tablespoons with three sticks of badly cut toast on top. We tought it was a joke.
The service was slow, always missing something, anyway it was not important, we were not in a hurry. But when my girlfriend requested the dishes to the waitress, she replied in a very impolite way. No comment.
The food was nothing special, almost everything arrived without taste and plenty of oil (or just dirty or don't know what) footprints on the plates.
I think it was very expensive for so small rations and bad customer service.
A very unpleasant experience. We left there hungry and went to eat a pizza.
I do not suggest it at all.

Pros: cozy

Cons: unpolite, expansive, bad quality/price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The dreams in which I'm dying are the best I've ever had - Edit

There is nothing to fear at El Maderal other than when it's time to leave. I had the pleasure of meeting Harp the Barcelona Happy Cow Ambassador in April 2016 and we discussed this new place on the Barca vegan scene. It's only a short walk from Arc de Triomf and adjacent to the former bullfighting arena chamber of horrors, The Monumental. We were expecting a typical beer / trash food pub experience but how wrong we were. This is a modern, smart and elegant place decked in clean efficient wood panelling. Very neat & tidy. It's set up for high class high tabled vegan tapas dining but it also has a traditional seated bar area for drinks and chit chat. We had a couple of Catalonian craft beers to wash down a succulent seitan skewer and an aubergine, garlic and tahini dip with bread. As expected with tapas, portion sizes are quite small and at around €5 to €10 each, not cheap. The quality however was astonishing. After a second visit in November 2016 and a sumptuous two and three quarter hour dining experience full of intense flavour, friendly conversation and vegan fulfilment I have had to upgrade my original review from April 2016 from 4 to 5 Happy Cows. When I realised there are 120 gins available here I took the opportunity of ending the night with a gin and tonic. The gin was a Macaronesian from The Canary Islands, made to perfection and made with love and attention. This is a place we will always make room to return to in Barcelona.

Updated from previous review on 2016-11-19

Pros: excellent food , Huge gin & wine selection , friendly & modern

Cons: NONE

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Sublime vegan bar - Edit

I first visited this restaurant for a light lunch in April 2016 . I was surprised at how sophisticated the restaurant looked as I was expecting something much more casual. The vegan tapas we had the pleasure of eating were exceptional, they seemed to focus on quality as opposed to quantity as the dishes weren't very big but were most definitely worth the price. The seitan skewers we ordered were on another level, it was the most mouth watering seitan I had ever had. We envisaged revisiting at night to try a larger variety of the tempting dishes.

We came back for an evening dining experience during our next visit to Barcelona in November 2016. I've been following the amazing reviews that El Maderal has been receiving since we last visited and was suprised to see a recent review that was extremely critical. I feared that it had lost it's magic but I left thinking that it had actually improved. The food was amazing. The staff were attentive, friendly and described every course in knowledge and eloquent detail. This restaurant is in my personal top 3, the list being shared with 2 other superb veggie establishments in Barcelona, my only regret is that I can't visit more often.


Updated from previous review on 2016-04-15

Pros: Stylish tapas bar.Delicious vegan food., Friendly and knowledgable staff, Stylish

Cons: NONE

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Disappointing - Edit


The food is nothing special since they have changed cook (Although in their facebook they continue to publicize the name of the former cook!!).
The dishes are bland and prepared without any love. The service is slow and neither they can explain you how the food is made!
The staff argued with each other and was unhelpful and uneducated with us, if you ask something, it is as if you was annoying them! Incredible!! It's a pity... the food has no comparison with what they served when newly opened,
The last time we went, we found it a fraud for the costumers.
We went many times at the beginning but will not be back.

Pros: nice place, small, beer

Cons: dedicate to other things, choose a more educated staff, find a good cook

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So good - Edit

This is honestly some of the best vegan food I've ever had. The dishes are small and it's the kind of place you order 2 or 3 things each and share if you want. The burger is brilliant, as is the raw canneloni with cashew cheese, the wine is incredible, and the service and atmosphere are as good as any top-end restaurant. It's a little pricey but not over-the-top (we spent about 65 euros on two beers, a bottle of wine, and five dishes, between two of us). Ideal for a date or occasion, only about five or six tables in there so it's quiet and intimate. HIGHLY RECOMMEND

Pros: Quality , Service, Atmosphere

Cons: None, Nothing, None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The Best Vegan Burger I've ever had - Edit

Service was excellent, the vegan burger was superb, juicy, flavorful, the best I've had. The smoothie wasn't cold enough so I'm not too crazy about it. Overall a cozy little place. Great for socializing, though I went on my own as I'm traveling in Barcelona.

Pros: Fully vegan, Good food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wow! Just wow! - Edit

The food was spectacular! You have to try the seitan and mushroom dish. The food presentation and quality make this place a 5-star restaurant at 2-star prices. You really wouldn't notice that it is vegan only, but it is such a great option for a vegan foodie. All ingredients are specifically selected and directly sourced when possible. The staff is very knowledgeable and passionate. I haven't been this impressed with a restaurant in quite some time. Me Encanto este lugar!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Do not miss! - Edit

Popped in as I had an hour spare before leaving for the airport. So glad I did. Incredibly relaxed, small bar-style place with the most amazing tapas selection. I had a mushroom and seitan dish which was mind blowing, but everything on the menu looked beautiful. Everything is made from scratch and the man serving was the friendliest, most helpful person you could imagine. Can't wait to return.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Barcelona Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has El Maderal closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 7255 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support