El Germen

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 23 reviews )

Find

231 San Alberto, Sucre, Bolivia

Restaurant specialising in vegetarian food. Offers a vegetarian lunch 12:00pm-2:00pm serving soup, main dish, and pudding. Also has vegan options like tofu curry. Only coffee and cake served in the afternoon. Reported to be vegetarian September 2020. Open Mon-Sat 8:00am-10:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, International, Bolivian

23 Reviews

First Review by iceicekati

Mila-

Points +127

Vegan
03 Sep 2021

Great lunch for 25 bolivianos

We really liked the atmosphere and the food is great. Because of covid it closes very early (3pm) but It still is nice food

Pros: Vegan option

Cons: Opening hours

LuluBerlue

Points +44

Vegan
17 Apr 2019

So good!

The daily menu is just 25 bs. The food is really good and cheap ! My Fav place in Sucre. Vegan option.

Neringate

Points +122

Vegan
13 Apr 2019

Filling vegan food

I had a dinner in this restaurant, the portion was huge, even though not very special.

Pros: Big portions, a variety of vegan dishes

Advertisement

Rebeccakssmith

Points +30

Vegan
10 Apr 2019

Great veggie options. Great staff!

Cheap and cheerful. Food is tasty but nothing super special. Staff were so lovely! If you’re looking for cheap veggie/vegan meal out this is ideal.

Pros: options can be made vegan , Had a great vibe after 8.30pm, Has good WiFi

Cons: Food is basic (our experience)

Ren108

Points +36

Vegan
04 Mar 2019

Good vegetarian food

Good vegetarian options, and the daily menu is great and it is only for 25 Bos. Good value, great portions and great taste

MaryBayer

Points +42

Vegan
23 Jan 2019

Really healthy and tasty food!

Really tasty food for a really good price. Nice restaurant, we only can recommend it! :)

garethdavies514

Points +202

Vegan
30 Nov 2018

We ate here 3 days running...

Very cheap and tasty burgers. Lovely falafel plate. We would have even gone back a 4th time to try the tofu curry but it was closed on Sunday. Friendly staff and good service.

Pros: Lots of options, very cheap, great service

Cons: Closed on Sunday

TatianaSaito

Points +227

Vegan
14 Jul 2018

Vegan options available

It was hard to find real vegan options in Sucre, and El Germen had a bunch of it. The tomato soup was fine, the falafel was delicious and the fried potato is homemade and just perfect. The coca tea was made of leaves and was very good. The price of the dishes was about 30 to 40 bolivianos.

Pros: Real vegan option

Cons: Some plates were just fine, not tasty

Houben85

Points +88

Vegan
02 Jun 2018

nice food, many options

Seems to be converted to all vegetarian. A couple of vegan options and quite a few can be made vegan. Especially the soup was great.

Pros: quite some options, cozy and warm, English speaking staff

Cons: vegan options (or convertables) not clear in the m

Chregi

Points +36

Vegan
05 May 2018

Very good!

Nice spot with a big menu, good soup, burger and falafel.

ajito

Points +1688

Vegan
19 Apr 2018

Tasty food in cozy atmosphere

I had the lunch menu for 24 Bob.
The carrot soup was amazing, while the main dish was rather normal with a little bit of delicious tofu (There could have been more).
As the dessert was with yogurt, they made me a special one without.
The staff is friendly and considerately.
The menu card is mainly vegetarian, which makes me think, why do they have meat, when it's only 5 options...
They have a little international library too.

Pros: fresh ingredients, tasty food, friendly staff

Cons: dark and dusty

sarabessie

Points +48

Mostly Veg
28 Jan 2018

delicious food for VEGETARIANs only

We ate here twice in our three days in Sucre. They have a huge variety of vegetarian options. We enjoyed their coca garlic bread, pasta and falafel plate dinner. The set lunch menu is scrumptious: bread with salsa, soup, a main course, dessert, and a fresh pressed juice. It was all fresh and delicious with very generous portions - we left stuffed!

We were disappointed as they advertise themselves as vegetarian / vegan, but have a “meat” section on the menu. When we addressed this, the server said “people want to eat meat”. We went for lunch with a vegan friend and they were not understanding and it was a struggle to get them to accommodate.

The restaurant is central and very cozy. They have a bon exchange and decent wifi.

Salopian

Points +192

Vegan
05 Jun 2017

Inoffensive and bland

It is listed here as only being vegetarian-friendly; however, my perception at least was that it was completely vegetarian, although any non-vegan place is as bad as another anyway. I had a menú del día, whose price I cannot remember exactly but which was likely in the 20s of bolivianos. It was all fine and all completely unexciting. I've been in Sucre for a couple of weeks but not felt inclined to return.

Pros: Vegan options, Cheap

Cons: Not all vegan, Bland

bruno.assaz

Points +461

Vegetarian
20 Oct 2015

Nice lunch menu for a fair price

We had lunch at El Germen in September 10, 2015. We got there around 12:30 and asked for the lunch menu + a lentil burger, both very good. The menu price was Bs 24, very fair indeed. The quinoa soup was really delicious and the main dish (there were two options that day) as well. From what I saw, they hardly have vegan dessert, though. I don't remember of what was the drink we had, but it was delicious, incredible taste. The place is not very inviting, somewhat dark and poorly ventilated. Definitely not the most friendly staff in Bolivia.

Pros: Fair price, Good location, Good food in a big portions

Cons: Few vegan options in the menu, Somewhat dark dining room, Poorly ventilated

CassieN

Points +146

Vegan
20 May 2015

Mainly Vegetarian, Sometimes Vegan

El German is a great spot for the 3 course lunch at $24bs. You get bread with salsa, soup, a choice of 2 main courses and a desert. The soup is always vegan and they normally have one vegan main course option, but check with the staff first. The food is good, portions large. However, since discovering Prem which has just opened on Calle Grau #209 we went there instead for lunch every day for 2 weeks as the food is even better and always vegan.

Pros: 2 choices of main course, Tasty food, Good price

Cons: Not always a vegan option, Rarely vegan desert

Vegjules

Points +164

Vegan
12 Dec 2014

Good lunch menus

We went there for lunch. For 24Bs you'll get a soup, main dish, dessert and a drink. There we 2 options for the main course, one vegan and other vegetarian. The lentil burgers were good, the other one not so much, it was a wheat pie a bit sour and salty and would need some salad to "break the taste". Staff was ok, one guy wasn't that nice but the other was very nice. It probably needs some more lights! We didn't try them but there were really good looking cakes in the refrigerator. They also had some cookies and other snacks to take away.

Pros: Good lunch menus, Inexpensive, Centric

Cons: Not only vegetarian, Not outstanding food

Avatar DIANE240378

DIANE240378

Points +241

Vegan
19 Aug 2013

not many vegan options

Staff had no english, tofu curry was nice but pricey. Salad was tasteless with no dressing &pricey for what you get. Lunch menu was not vegan friendly

Pros: easy to find

Cons: needs more flavour, more vegan options are needed

Pam Riley

Points +68

Vegetarian
16 Jun 2012

Great variety

Love this restaurant for the set lunch. We ate here 10-11 times and the set lunch was different every time. It was tasty, and sometimes super delicious, each visit. Servings are large and prices inexpensive. The space is small and tends to fill up at lunch time so you must arrive early. However, if it is full you can always join a table. We met some terrific, interesting people that way so no problem. To further attest to the quality, many local people eat here who are not strictly vegetarian.

Pros: quality, quantity, price

soniavdk

Points +29

Vegetarian
17 May 2012

El Germen (Sucre)

set menu at lunch time cost only 20 bolivares and is good value for money: we had tasty tomato soup, main dish with quinoa, vegetables and soy beans and a small but yummy desert (yougurt with fruit) and a glass of cold thee

Dinner cost approx 30 bolivares and was also tasty and good portion: rice, coliflower and brocoli with curry saus and soy bean mock meat

Pros: big choose menu, tasty, library to exchange books

Cons: bit slow service, only spanish spoken

amberdaum

Points +53

Vegan
31 Mar 2012

Not many Vegan options

We ate here today, arrived at 11:45 and ordered by 12pm. We wanted the set lunch menu that everyone was raving about, costing 20 bolivianos, but when we asked the lady if it was vegan she said "no" and was quite stressy about it, I asked in spanish if it had cheese "no" cream? "si", so I questioned the tofu curry, turned out that had cream too. So I asked what food on the menu was vegan, to which she responded with a sharp "falafel". We were pleased enough with this as my partner and I had been craving these for a while, but after we waited, 50 mins later she brought out what looked and tasted more like battered bread balls. We couldn't taste any chickpea, garlic or spices in it. Most disappointed to be honest.
I think if you are vegetarian the place had plenty of mouth watering options, but as vegan, don't waste your time.

Hope this helps!

Pros: Fruit Juice, Location, Price

Cons: Staff, Lack of Vegan food, Lack of taste

dumsterdave

Points +131

Vegan
10 Jan 2012

Good food

Good set menu for 15-20bs which includes soup, main, dessert, and drink. Also has a decent selection of other things that you can choose from the menu at reasonable prices.

Pros: set menu, price, close to plaza

Cons: crowded, small portions

Kat F

Points +25

Vegetarian
31 May 2011

Good Veg Option

Lots of options to choose from here. I had the falafel lunch, not too bad but there is better in town. There are lots of options on this menu from cheap to mid-range (for Bolivia). Guaranteed something for everyone, also with a cheap daily running menu.

Pros: friendly staff, baked goods, vegan options

Cons: dark dinning area

iceicekati

Points +218

Mostly Veg
23 Feb 2010

Best veg food I`ve had in Bolivia

We had the set lunch, good veg soup, pastel de quinoa was really yummy, very big portion, and applesauce like my grandma used to make for dessert... mmm! Overall very good and big meal for 17 bolivianos. Also sell yummy looking cookies and desserts. As far as I saw it is totally veg. Check it out!

Pros: delicious, big portions, sell cookies and desserts

Cons: book exchange kind of poor

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Sucre Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has El Germen closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3047 times.