• El Faro

  • (7)
    10
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Juice bar
Delivery
Mexican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Long-established Mexican restaurant. Offers faux meat and soy cheese as substitutes. Has many vegetarian dishes which can be veganised by omitting dairy. The only Mexican restaurant in Little Village to offer soy and tofu into Mexican dishes as meat replacements. Open Mon-Sat 6:00am-9:00pm, Sun 7:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for El Faro
漏 OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by 路X路

Forbeszy

Points +73

Vegan
03 Aug 2023

Nice little spot

Visiting and happened to be in the area and watched to check this place out.
Food looked authentic, maybe it was just me, but tasted bland. Got a burrito and their avocado taco. Was filling since I was hungry and didn鈥檛 have anything all day. The hot sauce they had tasted like I was putting bell peppers on the food. Was a bit disappointed with the hot sauce.
Asked if they had dairy free cheese, they don鈥檛. Just soy based meats as an alternative.
Just was okay.

Updated from previous review on 2023-08-03

Pros: Filling, Server was very knowledgeable

Cons: Bland, Hot sauce was a 1 out of 10

Advertisement

lauriemax126

Points +48

Vegan
09 Mar 2020

True Mexican food, with thoughtful veg options

This has been a Little Village neighborhood staple for decades. Always packed with local families. Separate vegetarian menu. Always delicious. Try vegetarian el pastor tacos and auga frescas.

swankberto

Points +62

Vegan
15 Dec 2019

A staple

More vegetarian options on the menu than vegan ones. But, you can't beat the prices, and I always get great service at the bar. Great juice and smoothie options too. Word of caution to decaf coffee drinkers, they serve instant decaf here.

Pros: Opens early! 6 am on weekdays. , Free chiles en vinagre , Good for solo diners

Cons: Bland house salsa, Parking is a hassle

TamiLynnAndrew

Points +60

Vegan
05 Jun 2017

Authentic, tasty, no frills

Authentic Mexican restaurant with vegetarian menu. They were a little difficult in making vegan amendments (I wanted an egg and soy meat dish with tofu scramble instead of egg and they made me get the tofu scramble dish and a separate soy meat taco instead of just replacing the egg with the tofu scramble) but the food was good and cheap!

Pros: cheap, tasty, simple

lokipoki

Points +17

Vegetarian
26 Jan 2016

absolutely great authentic mexican food with soya

this is a no frills family style restaurant that has really great flavor/ seasoning in their soy meats. salsa is authentic and original. guac is well made. there were at least 15-20 different veg options available. Price is incredibly reasonable. I will definitely be coming back.
It has become my new favorite veg-mex in chicago!!

tres leches cake is excellent although not vegan. not too sweet, and not too heavy.

Updated from previous review on Monday January 25, 2016

Pros: plenty of veg choices, price, authentic flavor.

Cons: parking on street can be difficult

Mcarlsonlane

Points +165

Vegan
06 Apr 2014

Was disappointed. :(

It seems that El Faro has been around forever and always has been known as a veggie-friendly destination. My boyfriend and I checked it out for the first time recently, and, although there were an impressive amount of veg items on the menu, the food itself was just okay. If I happened to be in the area again, I would check it out and give it another try.

Pros: Many options, Inexpensive, Cozy, warm atmosphere

Cons: Not the best food

路X路

Points +17245

Vegan
27 Feb 2009

A Little "El Far-o" From The City, But Cheap. :)

I just ate here last night, and while it is a little far from the city, I found this place to be good. When my friend and I walked in, I got the family diner feeling, which is nice. We sat down and checked out what was on the menu only to find a plethora of vegetarian items and healthy smoothies/juices. The only problem, as I am a Vegan, is that they didn't really have many fully Vegan options. I was able to get various items without cheese, egg, or mayonnaise [thereby making it Vegan], but it would have been nice if they did have substitutes. My friend (not veggie or Vegan) said this was the best tasting Mexican meal with fake meat in it. He also got a strawberry smoothie [apparently Vegan] that looked quite tasty. On top of everything this place was EXTREMELY CHEAP!!! We ordered a ton of stuff including that smoothie [a mere $1.75] and our bill was $15! Wow! Overall the food was good and everyone was very nice!

[Oh and be careful, one of their menu items says it contains soy cheese; I asked about it and was told they don't have soy cheese.]

Pros: Cheap

Cons: Won't drive out of my way for though...




This page has been viewed 4186 times.