• El Chupacabra - West

  • (18)
    18
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Mexican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mission style bar and Mexican food eatery. Vegan could get rice, beans, and faux meat, and for an up-charge vegan cheese substitution in enchilada, burrito, taco, and tamale. Open Mon-Fri 11:30am-11:00pm, Sat-Sun 11:00am-11:00pm.


18 Reviews

First Review by roxette521

y2k4eva

Points +173

Vegan
22 Dec 2023

Good Portions, lots of veg options

Cool spot with a great location, lots of veg options but BEWARE!

The mock beef is not vegan or even vegetarian as it is fried in fish oil. Mock chicken is ok! Annoying that it is advertised as vegan. They also served my partner regular chicken instead of vegan chicken, and were not particularly apologetic. I like this place and I really hope they make some improvements.

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-22

Pros: Vegan cheese

Cons: Some vegan items aren’t vegan

Advertisement

Picy

Points +796

Vegan
03 Sep 2023

Vegan options

We had some tacos there with mock, it was good and the portions very huge for us.

Pros: Choices of "vegan meat"

guineverepettigrew

Points +58

Vegan
07 Jun 2023

Good restaurant with beach view.

Their vegan burrito with mock steak was definitely a win. The texture on the steak was just right, better than many I've tried. I do think it was a little drier than I would like, even making it "wet" with enchilada sauce on top.

Their vegan chicken enchilada was good, nothing to right home about but not bad by any stretch of the word. It was a little confusing with the two options for the vegan chicken (either red or green) which was separate from the enchilada sauce that you choose. It just didn't quite amaze like I was hoping.

Overall, a good place with a robust vegan menu, bonus points for the beautiful view of Alki Beach (if the weather is in your favor)

Pros: Variety of vegan options, Nice atmosphere and friendly staff, Beautiful view

Cons: Not fully vegan

JudyAustSisson

Points +42

Vegan
25 May 2023

Very good!

They customized veggie tacos to vegan. Excellent service!!

Amaterasu30

Points +91

Vegan
11 Aug 2022

Delicious 🤩

Almost every meal can be ordered vegan. Vegan fake meat is an option (very delicious), vegan sour cream and all home made sauces are vegan. The restaurants is also very nice and cool place.

Pros: Vegan options, Big plates , Fake meat add ons

Cons: ADD ons cost extra

Jaia

Points +16

Vegan
09 Apr 2022

Beautiful views, great vegan options and the perfect low key date spot.

Worth the trip to West Seattle. Great place right beside Alki Beach. Lots of good quality vegan substitutes. Had the vegan tacos AND they even had good vegan sour cream to top it off! So good.

GrayHorwitz

Points +1659

Vegan
18 Mar 2022

Good, but vegans are overcharged

Not sure why vegan options need to be soo much more here! Plus $2.5 to get vegan cheese😒

KelsiMorris

Points +20

Vegan
17 Jul 2021

5-star if I could rank it 5 star

Really helpful staff that gave me a ton of vegan substitutions (that are also listed on the menu!) and delicious food. I got the veggie burrito with vegan cheese- a ton of food for a decent price.

Pros: A ton of vegan options!!, Great atmosphere , Friendly staff

Jlin

Points +327

Vegan
12 Apr 2021

SO good!

I ate here with my family last year and it was so good! Everyone loved it. I got a mock steak chimichanga. We went there twice during our trip because we loved it so much.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

MVP

Points +62

Vegan
21 Dec 2020

I can eat here!

There are veggie cheese options for a lot of entrees. There are many choices for a plant based eater...

Pros: Veggie cheese is an option here!!

Cons: Not a vegan restaurant

cybergabi

Points +279

Vegan
20 Oct 2019

Original Mexican

The place is packed. It has a good number of vegan dishes and sides, including vegan meat, cheese, and sour cream. Food is fresh and tasty. I had the tacos with vegan chicken, they had a bit too much lettuce for my taste and not a lot of other veggies. My wife had the vegan quesadillas and loved them.

Pros: Good number of vegan options, Has a ramp, Outside terrace

Cons: Very crowded, Serves meat

HannahLake

Points +18

Vegan
04 Oct 2019

Love this place!

So many options and very accommodating.

Alienkat

Points +48

Vegan
17 Jul 2019

Good if you’re on Alki

I have been here a few times with friends. The location is really nice and they have lots of vegan options. Sadly, the faux meat left a lot to be desired. It was spongey and unappetizing. They advertise green chicken or red chicken- I got green chicken but I couldn’t detect any sort of seasoning on it. They do have vegan cheese and sour cream available, but your burrito will be $5 more than you were anticipating.

Pros: Vegan options , View

Cons: Upcharge for non dairy, Faux meat is weird

chocolatespy

Points +336

Vegan
06 Jul 2019

Enchiladas!!!

Recommend enchilada plate with verde faux chicken, rice, beans, vegan cheese and sour cream! Yum.

Pros: Non dairy options , Several vegan protein options , Non dairy cheese and sour cream

Cons: Gross bathrooms , Can be busy with a long wait, Does not have full menu upstairs! Eat downstairs

MichaelSavegan

Points +2104

Vegan
22 Jul 2018

Across the street from the beach

Nice outdoor seating right across the street from the beach. Who knew there was a real beach in Seattle. Very California vibe.

Good Mexican food with Gardein chickn on the nachos and tacos.

Nothing out of the ordinary, but good solid Mexican fare. We were there on happy hour and things were a little less expensive, I guess.

Nice wait staff.

Pros: Mexican food, Beach vibe

Semiconductor

Points +658

Mostly Veg
19 Aug 2017

Surprise

We found "El Chupacabra" just by chance, as the Subway at Alki has closed. It's not a typical Mexican restaurant, by interior and by the music played (Van Halen, Deep Purple).

I think it's always good if vegan/vegetarian options are a kind of standard, and all waiters know what you are talking about (believe me, we made other experiences).

It's relatively cheap for Seattle standards, but the meals are great and tasty. At the end all dishes are available as vergan.

Pros: A lot of vegan options, Quality, Price

Cons: Nothing

logdog1979

Points +114

Vegan
04 Sep 2014

Yumsters

We just happened to be seeing a movie near by and found out this place had so many vegan options! Great fake meat and cheese options. We got guacamole, salsa, bean dip and chips - so good and they keep it coming! My husband got a burrito w/ soy cheese no fake meat he really enjoyed it. I got a taco salad without fake meat as well w/ soy cheese and enchilada sauce so good! Though make sure to ask for the cheese melted because Daiya isn't good unless melted. Only thing I didn't like was the big upcharge for soy cheese. I will probably go without next time, wasn't worth it. Also had great beers on tap and prices weren't bad. Heard something about free jukebox - but when we were there we couldn't get it to work and whomever we asked about it didn't know how to work it.

Pros: lots of protein options, fresh guacamole! , friendly/fun

Cons: upcharge for vegans, crowded, loud

roxette521

Points +132

Vegan
14 Jul 2014

A pleasant surprise

It was getting late, everything was closing, and we were really hungry. We came in here with low expectations, hoping to score some beans and rice and maybe guacamole, because by the look of it you would never know that this place completely accommodates vegans. Every single entree on the menu could be made with one of several vegan meats, including Gardein, as well as with vegan cheese! We both got enchiladas with Daya cheese, and they were actually amazing! FYI margaritas were pretty low on alcohol.

Pros: Delicious




This page has been viewed 3986 times.