Lacto
Indian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Indian restaurant with vegan listings on the menu. Previously a tapas bar; rebranded 2021. Reported closed November 2023.


Venue map for El Candil
© OpenStreetMap contributors

22 Reviews

First Review by KessSchlemmt

fcastepalet

Points +151

Vegan
17 Aug 2022

Muy rico, tardan mucho

La comida es deliciosa, pero sabiendo que tardan tanto se quitan las ganas de ir. Han tardado 40 minutos en traernos una tapa y 1 hora y pico en traer el plato principal. Esto ha ocurrido varias veces.

Pros: Opciones deliciosas

Cons: Tardan demasiado

Advertisement

Jaime_HP

Points +100

Vegan
15 May 2022

Comida buenísima

La comida está buenísima, es de los mejores restaurantes con opciones veganas de Almería en ese sentido. Además, hay bastante variedad en la carta, estando lejos de ser como esos establecimientos en los que solo te ofrecen una o dos opciones en toda la carta. Y por si fuera poco, ¡recientemente han añadido platos con Heura! Si tuviera que señalar algún fallo, diría que aunque el personal es atento y amable, tardan mucho en servir.

Pros: Comida exquisita, Personal amable, Bastante variedad de opciones en la carta

Cons: Suelen tardan en servir, A veces no les funciona el datáfono

Boogs

Points +234

Vegan
24 Oct 2021

👌🏻

Hay muchas opciones vegetarianas en el menú y todas son veganizables. El trato del personal es muy bueno al igual que su cocina. Es mejor reservar para fines de semana y festivos, por ahora solo funcionan con la terraza y el sitio es bastante popular.

Pros: Muchas opciones , Buena relación calidad/precio

LüConde

Points +36

Vegan
19 Aug 2021

Opciones veganas

Muchas opciones veganas. La comida deliciosa y la atención también genial. Tiene terraza. En una parte de Almería tranquila.
Bien de precio

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-19

Pros: Muchas opciones veganas, Buen servicio

ana_kourni

Points +412

Vegan
18 Jul 2021

Buenísimo

Un trato muy bueno. La comida tenía muy buen sabor y había mucha variedad, ya que casi la mitad del menú es vegano.

Urci_veg

Points +325

Vegan
24 Apr 2021

Muchísimas opciones, una grata experiencia.

Tiene muchas opciones para elegir. Hay naam de queso vegano, samosas con carne vegetal, currys con tofu... Todos los platos tiene su opción vegana.

Pros: Todo exquisito., El naam de queso vegano hay que pedirlo sí o sí.

yolandagranados

Points +215

Vegan
10 Apr 2021

Now delicious Indian Style food with many many vegan options | Ahora tienen comida hindú con muchas opciones veganas

I really enjoy the indian food from El Candil, you can have it there o take away and it have lot of vegan options (nams, rice, currys...) that are so tasty. I recommend it a lot.
Disfruto mucho de la comida india de El Candil, puedes tomarla en su terraza o pedir para llevarla a casa y tiene muchas opciones veganas (nams, rice, currys acompañados con falafel o tofu). Lo recomiendo mucho.

Pros: High quality food | Comida de mucha calidad, Take away | Comida para llevar, A lot of vegan options | Muchas opciones veganas

Benkei

Points +457

Vegan
11 Mar 2021

Tasty vegan options

(ESP) Aunque es cierto que algunas veces no les quedan todas las opciones incluidas en su menu, intento ir a el candil cada vez que paso por Almería y nunca me ha decepcionado. Sus croquetas veganas y salsas son geniales y, como su nombre/especialidad dice, el hummus es increible. Tienen un amplio espacio exterior en el que es un placer sentarse a tomar una cerveza y unas buenas tapas veganas.
-------------------
Whilst it is true sometimes they're out of stock in some of their menu items, I always try to stop by El Candil every time I'm around Almería and I've never been disappointed. Their vegan croquetas and sauces are great and, as the restaurant name and specialty says, their hummus is unreal. They offer a big outdoor seating space where it's always a pleasure to sit down and enjoy some beers and great vegan tapas.

Pros: Amplio espacio exterior/ outdoor space, Variedad de tapas veganas/ vegan tapas variety

Cons: Some of their items tend to be out of stock

MartaFuerteBermejo

Points +44

Vegan
26 Sep 2020

Únicamente dos tapas veganas

No lo recomiendo. Únicamente tenían dos tapas de cortesía veganas, por lo que pedí una ración de milhojas de berenjena con queso vegano (el chico se confundió en la comanda) y su precio me parece excesivo para la cantidad que ponen, 2 rodajas de berenjena con queso vegano por encima 4,50€. Por otro lado, pedimos otra ración de hummus clásico que me pareció un precio desorbitado viendo la cantidad del mismo (un plato pequeño) y el precio real de la materia prima 6€.
No volveré, creo que hay más bares con opciones en Almería y más económicos.

Cons: Únicamente dos tapas veganas en toda la carta., Poca cantidad en las raciones veganas., Mucho tiempo de espera.

yolandagranados

10 Apr 2021

Es que ya no es un bar de tapas y por la fecha de tu cometario creo que los pillarías justo en la conversión. Ahora lo han reconvertido a restaurante hindú y tiene muchas opciones (pero MUCHAS MUCHAS) riquísimas y de mucha calidad. Ya no tiene tapas, pero para eso ya hay muchos otros sitios. Si te gusta ese tipo de comida te lo recomiendo mucho porque yo estoy disfrutando un montón de sus platos.

MJE

Points +52

Vegan
10 Jan 2020

Some vegan options and plenty of outdoor seating

Very friendly restaurant. Plenty of outdoor seating with heaters for winter. One English speaking staff, very helpful. Good range of vegan options including channa masala, falafel (both with cilantro so not for me), nice vegan burger free with my wine, racion (large plate) of fried potatoes and gorgeous sweet sour pimentos. Popular bar with locals. Hummus not vegan. No vegan desserts sadly.

Pros: Good range of vegan tzpas, Cheap- tapas pricd offset by wine price, Good quality food

Cons: No desserts

qui

Points +25

Vegetarian
30 Dec 2019

A good menu, but....

A friendly little place, but I fear we caught them on a bad day. Of the 3 tapas we wanted, they had run out of 2 - no hummus and no chana masala, this despite chana masala with spinach being on the specials board...none of that either!
The veggie chilli was excellent, also the potatoes with salsa and peppers.
The wine is pricey at €3 a glass, but they do give you a free tapa, or a discount, so it balances up. However, if you are working to a budget, it is quite hard to work out what the bill will be!

Pros: Excellent menu, vegan options clearly marked.

Cons: Our choices were simply not available.

amylucia

Points +76

Vegan
05 Jul 2019

El Candil

El Candil is an amazing tapas bar with a good number of vegan tapas, the bar itself is small but it boasts a large terraza which is a beautiful place to spend the evening.

Now has the beyond burger with a vegan brioche style bun and vegan cheese!

Pros: Lots of options, Quick service, Reasonably priced

Cons: Gets very busy on Friday and Saturday nights

ire.bib

Points +196

Vegan
26 Apr 2019

Good!

This little tapas restaurant has a lot of vegan options, mainly tapas and a lot of hummus, some of these are vegan.
The tapas are really cheap, but big, so you can be satisfied only by eating them!
I took the Hummus verde that I shared with a friend of mine, and two tapas: the falafel (3 pieces) were really good and the Chana Masala with spinach was a big portion (it is served with Basmati rice on the bottom of the bowl) and it was delicious. The tapas cost 1.8€ each.
If you want to eat only tapas and hummus you can't seat at the table, but only on the footstools.

Pros: A lot of vegan tapas, Really cheap

BrewerDave

Points +31

Vegan
18 Apr 2019

Vegan tapas bargain!

We were visiting the Alcazaba and needed a quick lunch. This was the perfect choice for a family with fussy children. Loads of vegan choice; we had 8 tapas dishes, 4 of which were free with drinks and 6 of which were vegan. The vegan burger and falafels were the highlights but all were good. We also treated ourselves to the hummus which was a little pricey (in comparison) but really tasty. Whole lot with puds for the kids came in at just over 30 euros.

Pros: Great vegan tapas choice , Good value, High quality food

Cons: None

KateBenson

Points +15

Vegetarian
21 Feb 2019

Perfect for everyone

Offers so many options that doesn't matter what you eat they will have something for you on the menu and everything is incredibly tasty! Love it there

Pros: Vegan, Vegetarian, Something for everyone

Cons: A little small inside, Very popular so hard to get a table sometimes

Gerwyn

Points +513

Vegan
20 Nov 2018

So good we paid

The way tapas work seems to vary in different parts of Spain; in Almería, it seems you get an obligatory tapa with every beer or wine, and pay a little extra for the drink (but surely not enough to cover the cost of the food). So, one tapa is free: but the vegan tapas in El Candil were so good we had three or four, and actually paid for them.

Benzema

Points +25

Vegetarian
05 Aug 2018

Lo mejor la hamburguesa

Hamburguesa vegana (y sus patatas) de las mejores tapas, lo demás todo es estandar. Quizás un poco caro para lo que es

auroraisabel

Points +130

Vegan
27 Jul 2018

Amazing!

Offers a looot of vegan tapas And dishes And the menu is marked with green leafes on those. Gnocchi with pesto, burger, wrap with durum, falafel, “ratatouille”, Russian salad and more. The staff is nice and the atmosphere is very cozy outside.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Menu is marked , Nice atmosphere

MónicaNavarroVilche

Points +115

Vegan
18 Jan 2018

Repetiría mil veces

Todas las tapas están deliciosas, y el hummus... Expectacular. El servicio es excelente. Lo recomiendo muchísimo.

Pros: Bastantes opciones veganas

Cons: Nada

JonTurner2000

Points +379

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2017

El Candil - Approaching Brill

In a nice spot, the service was very helpful and friendly and there were a fair number of veggie/vegan tapas options to choose from.

Overall we found the dishes varied a bit in quality and it would have been great if there were just a few more to choose from. The first time we went for lunch we thought it was marvellous, but probably had chosen the best dishes; so on our second visit we weren't quite as enthusiastic. But given the limited options in the city then this place is definitely recommended. Particularly as it was really good value for money.

Pros: Value for money, Some good options, Nice location

Cons: Could do with bit > variety and few more options

24 Nov 2016

buenas opciones

Hay siempre opción vegana de menú y varias tapas buenas.
Además está situado en buen sitio.
Lo peor es el aparcamiento.

KessSchlemmt

Points +29

Vegetarian
15 Sep 2016

muy rico

I have been there yesterday. I loved it. Tried a lot of vegan tapas. Yummy!!!




This page has been viewed 4283 times.