El Buda Profano

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 31 reviews )
Contact
977228590
Find

Calle Bolivar 425, Arequipa, Peru

Vegan sushi bar and jazz club, opened Dec 2015 in the historic centre. Updated menu December 2016 to celebrate one year in business. Details can be found on website. Open Mon-Sun 12:00pm-3:30pm, 6:00pm-9:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Japanese, Beer/Wine, Fusion

31 Reviews

First Review by ZE

A gem in Peru! - Edit

What an absolute surprise, a vegan Japanese restaurant in the centre of Arequipa! My boyfriend and I were blown away by the quality of the food served at El Buda Profano, the explosion of flavours, and the ingenuity of some dishes. Kudos to the whole team!

Pros: Amazing Japanese food using local ingredients , Drinks are cheap and delicious , Lovely setting

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best in Arequipa - Edit

I just agree with previous reviews. If you are in Arequipa don't miss it: it's open everyday :-)
Cheers!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best sushi ever! - Edit

Went for dinner and we couldn't stop talking about how amazing the sushi was. Loved everything we got and wished we could go back for more. Great atmosphere and the owner was our server and he was lovely. Definitely recommend!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

amazing and healthy food - Edit

This place has an amazing food! We enjoyed it a lot! Not too expensive and a much better option than many other places.
Have to take the dessert!

Pros: very tasty, healthy, great sushi!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing veggie sushi - Edit

What a brilliant concept: a vegetarian sushi restaurant! Usually when I go to a Japanese restaurant the options for vegetarians are limited and dull. This restaurant proves that veggie sushi does not have to be bland, it can be very tasty indeed! I had the 1 person variation menu, that offers miso soup and 4 sushi variations (several if each) for only 18 soles. That is really good value considering the great quality. Well recommended.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Sushi is not the cuisine for me. - Edit

I don't think I had ever had sushi before. It has never really had a draw for me. I had the selection that you can see in one of the photos here, the one that is a close-up on pale wood. It was 18 sols. Unfortunately, I am not a convert. It was perfectly pleasant but you get so little and it's frustrating to leave hungry and have to go and buy some chips.

It's a cool environment: although it's on the ground floor, it feels like a cellar as it's hemicylindrical and all the wall/ceiling is red brick. There was also jazz playing from another room: I don't know whether there is also seating there or if it's just a space for the musician(s). It was also conveniently just round the corner from my hostel.

I only spoke Spanish, so it was annoying that the waiter at first spoke to me in English and gave me menus in English: it must be a very touristy place. However, unlike some restaurants in Peru, he at least didn't persist.

I don't wash to bash a vegan place so I'm giving it a generous four stars. If you love sushi in general then I am sure you will love theirs.

Updated from previous review on 2017-07-10

Pros: All vegan, Cool environment, Fast

Cons: Unfilling, Quite expensive

1 Response
Read More

asp 10 Jul 2017 - Hola Salopian. Normalmente comunicamos con los comensales en Español, quizás el mozo mostró un poco demasiado entusiasmo en practicar su inglés.

En respecto de las porciones, tenemos opciones para todos los apetitos. Sobre el precio, todo se hace fresco en el momento con ingredientes de calidad. Nuestros precios son más accesible que otros lugares de sushi en Arequipa y tratamos de ofrecer una buena relación calidad-precio,

 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

délicieux ! - Edit

Original and tasty sushi (all vegan), we went there twice during our few days stay in Arequipa. Very very good, but better order a big sushi plate ;)
Truly recommended!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan Sushi - Edit

Es un pequeño restaurante de sushi 100% vegan. Buen servicio y rápido. El sushi muy muy rico.... delicioso :-)
Cuando yo estuve solo abrían por la noche a partir de las 18h, un horario bastante limitado para ir pero merece la pena. muy recomendable

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Absolute Perfection - Edit

Everything here is just perfect. From the unfishy flavors to the beautifully-plated presentation, the entirety of EL Buda Profano speaks to the senses.

I visited El Buda numerous times on my week-long stay in Arequipa and was amazed each and every time. For lunch, be sure to try the ramen. For dinner? Bring some friends and split the 48-piece monster sushi-plate (not the actual name, mind you). To finish it off, please don't leave without trying the coconut dessert sushi. It seriously blew my mind.

Thank you for existing, El Buda Profano, can't wait until I return to Arequipa so I can stuff my face once again with your unique combinations. Until next time!

Pros: Affordable and All-Vegan, Healthy, Seriously Delicious

Cons: Restaurant fills up quickly

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

incredible sushi - Edit

Everything here is really good: from the moment you get in, you get into a cozy place, nice music and a few tables. The menu is just so tempting, everything reads wonderful. And nothing disappoints when you get to eat the food. We went there twice and ordered nearly half of the menu and believe me it is an AMAZING place! Really good food.

1 Response
Read More

asp 19 Jun 2017 - A thousand thanks Hazyy! Hope to see you soon, either here in Arequipa or down south in Santiago!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best vegan sushi ever! (really) - Edit

This place is truly a gem. This is not some vegetables wrapped up pretending to be sushi, but a carefully thought out menu with an extensive array of vegan sushi styles which bring you as close to the authentic sushi experience you can get. We liked it so much that we forwent visiting another vegan place in Arequipa in order to keep going there.

We would get a set menu which came with miso soup, and a varied array of sushi. We would order some fresh mango ginger juice (excellent!) to finish the experience. Never had a bad flavour in the two times we went there.

Pros: Value for quality and amount, Open kitchen so you watch your food being made, Very friendly staff; GREAT music!

Cons: Very small sitting area

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best sushi experience of my life (so far) - Edit

I've never been to a completely vegan sushi place so I was in heaven! Their menu is so diverse. They have everything from apples, walnuts, tofu, avocado, tomatoes, beets, eggplant, mango, spinach, cashew cheese, and artichoke. I got an apple juice that was so good. I'm not sure but I think it must've been mixed with dragon fruit because it had lots of little black seeds in the juice. We got the tasting menu for 38 soles. This came with a random roll from each of the maki categories and some miso soup. The miso soup was slightly sweet and all the rolls were amazing. We couldn't stop ourselves from eating two more rolls afterwards. We plan to go there for every dinner we have in Arequipa. The only criticism is that they aren't open for lunch.

1 Response
Read More

asp 19 Jun 2017 - We are now! Open for lunch, that is.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious - Edit

Went between lunch and dinner hours and had a great tasty time. Everything we ordered was delicious. And there was even Tofu on the menu!

Pros: Tofu, Tasty, Friendly

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A must visit in Arequipa - Edit

I have never liked sushi but I went to this restaurant anyways because it is the only fully vegan restaurant in town. I ordered the sushi bowl and it is one of the best things I have ever tasted. If I lived in Arequipa I would go to this restaurant all the time. The staff is friendly and the price is completely fair.

Pros: fresh food, friendly staff, good location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Only VEGAN restaurant in Arequipa - Edit

what sets this apart from every other veg restaurant I've come across so far in Peru is that there is


********* NO MICROWAVE OVEN. !!!!!!!

also, it's the only 100 % VEGAN restaurant in Arequipa
following the dream of its Canadian owner, Allen

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Sushi, Rice Shortage - Edit

The sushi was super delicious. We arrived at 7pm and wanted to order a few rounds of sushi to share with 4 people. We had to wait quite a bit, which was ok because the place was full and everything was freshly made. But after we got served our second round at 8/8:30 pm we wanted to order more and the waiter told us they were out of rice and we couldn't order more food. That bothered us, of course, because we loved the food and had to go to another place, because we were all still hungry. I hope this was an exceptional case..

Pros: delicious food , fresly made

Cons: Still hungry, waiting time

1 Response
Read More

asp 21 Jan 2017 - First, apologies for running out, we have adjusted our policies and procedures to avoid that type of situation in the future. Second, thanks for the positive comments in spite of having to go away hungry!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing sushi place - Edit

All vegan and all delicious with a lot of options and menus and combos. Best sushi I have ever had. My boyfriend who isn't really into sushi because he doesn't like food that tastes like sea, loved it as well and ordered a second plate.

Pros: Authentic and delicious sushi, Loads of choice, All vegan

Cons: On the pricey side (but fine for the quality!)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty vegan sushi exist... and it's here!!! - Edit

I was quite skeptical and curious about trying vegan sushi. I thought that I will be disappointed and I will miss the real taste of sushi... but I was definitely wrong!! The vegan sushi was delicious and I'm not talking with a vegan bias... even my non-vegan friends agree with me. Thank you for convincing myself that I can enjoy cruelty free sushi :)

Updated from previous review on 2016-09-13

Pros: Tasty, Friendly staff

Cons: Price a little bit high, Slow service (but the quality worth it)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

fantastic - Edit

This cozy little cavelike room is very special. Large menu, tiny kitchen, and the place had a perpetually delicious aroma. (So rare a vegan and inhale and exhale deeply in a sushi restaurant.) I was lucky to get a table as there are only 4 or 5 , and many customers were turned away. Good wine selection, and much to choose from. I had the Oriental ceviche, gyoza with 2 delicious original dipping sauces, a tempura squash roll, and avocado/beet/spinach roll, and a tempura apple for dessert. Portions were perfect (I even took a little to go) and flavors were fresh and original. I enjoyed watching the chef work as he clearly takes a lot of care in his work. I have no idea what this place is doing in Arequipa, but it is certainly worth a visit.

Pros: delicious, meticulously prepared food, friendly staff, fresh ingredients

Cons: few tables, arrive early, brightly lit, as it shares space with kitchen

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best sushi - Edit

Was intrigued by the great reviews and had to try. Outcome: highly recommendable! Small cozy place, food tastes amazing and a creative menu.

Definitely a must try and it's also open on Sunday nights when most veggie places are closed ;-)

Only remark is that the price category '$' is a bit misleading, as you would need to spend 20+ soles for a filling meal. For the quality of food itself it's a great deal, however for Peruvian providing '$$' would be more appropriate here.

Pros: creative sushi, very tasty, open on Sundays (evenings too)

Cons: rather a '$$' place

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent! - Edit

Amazing to find an all vegan sushi place. The California uramaki and gyoza's were delicious. The venue and atmosphere are great as well. Highly recommend.

Pros: Excellent sushi, All vegan , Reasonably priced

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicioso - Edit

We have just been to El Buda Profano and still have delicious flavours from our amazing dinner. We will be back there tomorrow!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Ridiculously Good - Edit

We were only in Arequipa for 4 days, but ate at the restaurant 7 time in total. We literally went back for every meal possible because it really was all just too delicious to be true...

The Selva, California rolls & Goki were particular favourites of ours, although we did manage to try every dish on the menu & I can vouch for every single one being spectacular in it's own right.

The atmosphere is serene and perfectly inkeeping with the Menu. The dishes are served at a steady pace, and interspersed with free green tea and miso soup. The owner of the restaurant waits on the tables, is extremely kind and clearly loves this little slice of Japan which he has managed to conjure up on a random street in Peru.

Did I mention, everything is stupidly cheap for the gourmet experience which you recieve at El Buda. Get the 30 piece combo for only 36 soles. Beyond worth it.

Pros: Best sushi of your life, Free miso soup & green tea, Michelin star taste for cheap

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

First 100% vegan restaurant in Arequipa! - Edit

I have never liked sushi, but since I tried in El Buda Profano, I love it now!

Check my review if you want more details! ;)

http://theveganglobetrotter.com/en/vegan-oasis-arequipa-el-buda-profano/

Pros: 100% vegan, Quality of food and price, Service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

amazing food - Edit

My boyfriend and I went here twice during our two day stay in Arequipa. Everything is amazing. There are combinations to get a variety of options and you can't go wrong. The prices for the amount of food and quality is great. We paid about 40 soles for an appetizer and about 30 roles. This also included tea and miso soup. The owner is friendly and speaks English.

Pros: great food, lots of options, creative

Cons: small (luckily we didn't have to wait)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic! - Edit

Incredible food! Having been in Peru for 5 weeks this place was a treasure to find, the best food in all our time here. The service is quick and the atmosphere is lovely. Staff very friendly and welcoming, and a clean environment too! We will be going back many times, highly recommended, especially if you're vegan or veggie. Juices and teas are delicious also!

Pros: 100% vegan, fresh and high quality food. Great val

Cons: None!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So Delish! - Edit

Was greeted by the owner who told us it is a fully vegan restaurant. lots of different options - tempurah, dumplings, lots of sushi choices. Really good value - you can order so many things and its so cheap. Juices and teas are really good too. I went back here 3 times during my trip!

Pros: All vegan options , Really good value for money, Cosy atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Arequipa Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has El Buda Profano closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2099 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support