• El Astronauta

  • (5)
    13
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Spanish
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. The restaurant was featured on a blog about vegan choices in Cordoba. It has very limited vegan items, but still more than most restaurants in the city. This includes a large chickpea-based veggie burger, chips, hummus and a tomato/avocado salmorejo (dip/starter). Also will make a vegan salad upon request. Takes reservations. Confirmed open, Feb 2019. Open Mon-Thu 13:30-17:00, 20:30-00:00, Fri-Sat 13:00-00:00. Closed Sun.


Venue map for El Astronauta
© OpenStreetMap contributors

5 Reviews

First Review by Giorgia79

Marriedtoavegan29

Points +10

Non Veg
09 Nov 2023

Choices among limited choices

Great vegan options (burger, pad Thai, musaka). My husband loved the burger which was a homemade chickpea burger. He’s also a big fan of the ice cream and homemade brownie (a little crunchy but good).

The waiter was very helpful and nice. The other vegetarian option is the pesto noodles that i had which is not vegan but very delicious and home made.

Quiet environment and fun decor. The waiter could not tell us why specifically it was named the astronaut…something about a comic in the 60s.

Would recommend to all those mixed eating families out there.

Advertisement

Martafuenmir

Points +106

Vegan
13 Apr 2022

Buen sitio

Tienes algunas opciones veganas/vegetarianas. La atención muy buena y rápida

Pros: Opciones veganas/vegetarianas , Localización , Trato del personal

ranmalius

Points +132

Mostly Veg
22 Mar 2022

Terrible

I ordered the vegan mousaka and my friend had the Thai chicken fajitas. The mousaka was €11.50 and consisted of a small side salad and something that couldn't be called a mousaka at all! It was a spoonful of vege mince with one slice of aubergine, one slice of courgette and some bechmel sauce on top. The food had no flavor and the portion was extremely small.

My friend said his dish lacked flavor and was very dry with no vegetables. I talked to the waiter to express my disappointment, and eventually he offered me 3 slices of aubergine which hadn't been cooked properly. Please don't go here. It's a rip off and they are not interested in the quality of the food.

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-20

Pros: Cool decor and music

Cons: Poor quality food, Poor service, Too expensive

Nixor

Points +100

Vegan
16 Nov 2021

Not quite out of this world

In my experience it's been tricky to find vegan options in Cordoba and The Astronaut is no exception. It was pretty much empty when I had dinner here on a Tuesday in November - despite that, the ambience is fun, with David Bowie and the like playing in the background. More importantly, there are a couple of vegan options available which is a relief after a tiring day of touring. I got multiple recommendations to try the local specialty soup called 'salmorejo' - the version served here was thick like a dip, good for dunking the decent bread into. However, I found the taste of garlic overwhelming and it got repetitive quickly. The vegan burger was nothing to shout about so overall the food experience was average. Still, grateful to have vegan being considered and I hope this space themed restaurant can go stellar with better plant-based options one day.

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-16

Pros: Fun restaurant feel, Decent location, Didn't wait long for food to arrive

Cons: Only a couple of vegan options, Might be hard to order if unfamiliar with Spanish, Flavours are a bit 'meh'

Giorgia79

Points +171

Vegan
15 Jun 2019

Opzioni vegane

Bello l' ambiente e gentile lo staff. Opzioni Vegane. Buonissima zuppa di lenticchie e la musaka vegana




This page has been viewed 3129 times.