• Ed's Buffalo Wings and Pizza

  • (15)
    15
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
American
Pizza
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. One of the first places in Philly to offers fully vegan pizza options in addition to its regular (non-veg) menu. Vegan pizzas are created with handmade sauce on eggless dough and topped with Daiya brand vegan cheese; available in whole pies as well as slices. Call ahead for the day's slice options. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-12:30am, Fri-Sat 11:00am-1:30am, Sun 12:00pm-12:30am.


Venue map for Ed's Buffalo Wings and Pizza
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by victorgalli

Keyz2026

Points +264

Vegan
18 Jan 2024

Pizza Life

I love the fact that they cater to vegans and offer many options. Ordering was easy. Wait time was great. The pizza was delicious.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-18

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Prices are great , Atmosphere was good

Advertisement

averylb

Points +81

Vegan
12 Aug 2021

Delicious

Love love love their vegan pizzas, they don’t skimp on toppings and they’re open late compared to a lot of other shops in Philly. Recommend the Drexel pie

herownbeat

Points +1330

Vegan
26 Jun 2021

Surprised by calzone quality

I honestly didn’t have high hopes for this place. I normally have to order pizzas without cheese and make sure the crust isn’t buttered. Or, if I find a place offering vegan pizzas, they have been subpar. I never thought I would have a stromboli again. I ordered the vegetarian stromboli, and then selected the option to make it vegan. It was good, and I would recommend it those who are missing calzones.

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-26


Updated from previous review on 2021-06-26

Pros: Several vegan options for a pizza shop, Moderate prices but good portion size

FranciscoVazquez

Points +285

Vegan
06 Mar 2020

Not really that good

I realize that this was one of the first places to offer fully vegan pizza in Philadelphia.
But it’s just yucky. And there are not a lot of drinking options.
This is your place to go eat at 3:00 am after drinking and before going to bed. That’s the constituency.

Pros: Good after drinking heavily

Cons: Yucky

VeganDino

Points +49

Vegan
05 Jun 2018

Mediocre at best

Be prepared to smell chicken wings when you walk in. They have a vegan menu with Daiya cheese which is nice. However, you can tell it's very college town-y. And by that I mean that they just slap things onto the dough and hope for the best. I've gotten pizza here a few times and it's whatever. I once ordered in the establishment and waited 15 minutes, and I could tell they left my pizza out to get cold cause it was lukewarm when I got it. They weren't even busy. They also don't always pick up the phone which made me think they closed on a holiday, but I walked past and they were open. It's just unprofessional and mediocre quality. If you really want vegan cheese pizza try Blaze Pizza across the street..

Pros: Vegan menu, They sometimes have plain cheeseless pizza out to

Cons: mediocre/low quality.

nraven

Points +67

Vegan
14 May 2017

Glad I Came Here

I'm glad I found this place through happy cow. There's basically just pizza that's vegan, but it's really good. They have slices and whole pies. Good prices and the staff was nice.

JoeJalbert

Points +23

Vegan
21 Apr 2016

Great slice of vegan pizza!

I come here very frequently as a student at Drexel University and their vegan slice is truly delicious. In addition to the pizza, they also have a wrap which consists of roasted veggies and daiya cheese. It isn't the best, but at only $5 on Mondays (w/ fries!) it's a great option for vegan Drexel students. One downside for me, the vegan slices are sometimes kept in the display touching non-vegan slices. This ocassionally leads to some cheese getting on the side of my slice. This could easily be avoided.

Pros: Cheap, Great pizza

Cons: Long wait for wraps

s144799

Points +140

Vegan
28 Mar 2013

Amazing veg pizza

This pizza place near Drexel and UPenn makes amazing pizza for vegans! Some pizza places using veg cheese do not put enough on so it tastes just like pizza without cheese, but this place puts on the appropriate amount of veg cheese to make it taste its best. In my opinion, the veg pizza tastes as close to regular pizza as you can get with the veg options available to use in this day in age. They have personal and larger sizes available. Veg pizzas and I think calzones are available as well. There may be other options like fake philly cheesesteak, but unsure.

Great place to try if you are in University City or going to 30th Street Station for any reason. Would really recommend it!

Pros: Excellent pizza, Friendly staff

Cons: Limited veg options other than pizza

tresbonnes

Points +34

Vegan
23 Sep 2011

Vegan Pizza

You would hardly think that this establishment with the name Ed's Buffalo Wings and Pizza would be given the highest praise by vegan patrons but we had ED'S VEGETARIAN SPECIAL pizza (with Daiya cheese) and it was truly amazing! And we had the 28 inch version which was almost too big to fit through the door of my suv. Definitely worth the splurge.
Updated from previous review on Friday September 23, 2011

Pros: very friendly and helpful staff, delicious vegan pizza

Cons: lacking in decor but a work in progress

veganshmegan

Points +60

Vegan
05 Jun 2011

Yum

Ed's is fantastic. The vegan pizza crust is nice and crispy and topped with just the right amount of melted cheese and delicious sauce. The owner is incredibly friendly and accommodating, and says that he will be expanding his vegan menu in the future. Do yourself a favor and check this place out, it's great.

Pros: friendly owner, great pizza, more vegan on the way

Cons: no mock meats yet

jon1227

Points +28

Vegan
29 Jan 2011

Best vegan pizza in the city

Ed's was the first restaurant to offer vegan pizza with daiya cheese. In my opinion they do it best! Open late so there's never a reason for me not to go there.

Pros: Amazing vegan pizza, Open late, great service

johnpaul215

Points +32

Vegan
05 Oct 2010

great pizza, great hours

Ed's vegan pizza (via Daiya cheese) is excellent! Not only do I find it great, the taste blows away my non-vegan friends. Top it off with their college-friendly hours and you have a win. Where else can you get a vegan pizza at midnight?
Try the "Penn Vegan".... Daiya cheese, green peppers and broccoli. It's amazing!
I'm a West Philly native, and former Drexel student, so I was always familiar with the shop (including their falafel). It's great to see a local institution adapting to be vegan friendly!

Pros: delicious vegan pizza, open late, super friendly staff

brenk

Points +30

Vegan
02 Sep 2010

Good Vegan Pizza

Went to Ed's the other day and got a real good vegan pie for a decent price. I ended up talking to Ed for awhile and he told me his plans for a new vegan menu including various vegan meats and other new items. He treats you like a member of the family. Great guy.

Pros: Vegan Pizza, Daiya

girlgonegreen

Points +13

Vegetarian
14 Jul 2010

Yummy Vegan Pizza

Ed's pizza was awesome! One of the best vegan pizzas I have had. He welcomed us into his restaurant like family and was more than happy to talk to us about his desire to accommodate the vegan population of Philly. Great pizza, excellent owner. If I lived in Philly, his would be the only pizza that would cut it!

Pros: Daiya Cheese, pizza with broccoli!, Friendly staff

Cons: meat was offered, too few veg pizzas offered

victorgalli

Points +97

Vegan
30 May 2010

Best Vegan Pizza in Philadelphia

Ed's recently started serving vegan pizza with Daiya vegan cheese and I cannot recommend it highly enough. It will absolutely blow you away as well as all of your non-veg friends.

Pros: Great value, Amazing pizza, Daiya Vegan Cheese!

Cons: none




This page has been viewed 5901 times.