Vegan
American
International
Organic
Buffet
Take-out
Caribbean
Catering
Gluten-free

Family-friendly vegan restaurant est. here in 2018 by Chef Alexander who has many years of experience in vegetarian and vegan catering services and previously operated in Smithfield. Features Southern style comfort vegan meals and rich-yet-healthful desserts like strawberry pie and pudding cake. Lunch consists of daily special, soup, salad, wraps, sandwiches, beverages and sweets. Dinner is much more extensive and consist of a variety of appetizers, salads, desserts, and main entrees. Example of dinner options include bbq 'meatballs,' vegetable spring rolls, banana & sweet potato pancakes, caesar salad, smoky meatloaf, bbq ribs, and curried chicken. Gluten-free and soy-free on request. Buffet dining on Sunday - no reservation needed. Open Tue-Fri 11:00am-2:00pm, Tue-Thu 5:00pm-6:30pm, Sun 12:00pm-5:00pm. Closed Mon, Sat.


Venue map for Eden's Vegetarian
© OpenStreetMap contributors

33 Reviews

First Review by myHania

EmariDiGiorgio

Points +38

Vegan
02 Aug 2023

Hidden gem

Excellent bbq ribs and Mac and cheese. Alex, the owner and chef, was as delightful as the food. Though we had a wait, due to short staffing, it was worth it.

Advertisement

MarvinHymanson

Points +33

Mostly Veg
03 Jul 2023

Friendly service

Didn’t expect buffet and cost more then I thought. Owner was interesting and friendly. Would go back on non buffet day. Varied hours so he told me follow on Facebook. Kinda of vegan soul food . Would like rate food good so far but that wasn’t option.

Pros: Mac n cheese , Cake , Service

Cons: Price, Some items ok, Paper plates

Chelsea724

Points +1110

Vegan
30 Apr 2023

Off day?

Looking at all of their other reviews, maybe this was a REALLY off day, but we went to today for the buffet and there is not one thing on the entire menu I would ever eat again.

Masala tofu had no flavor
the vegan cheese wasnt fully melted on the mac and cheese
collards and cabbage etc bland
seitan had a horrible texture and the seasoning did not match the gravy they put on it
meatloaf was bland and had weird chunks of hard nuts in it, which was odd since the meatoaf was so mushy.

Blueberry cobbler looked like a scoop of blueberry pie filling out of a can onto a plate with thin store bought pit crust sitting on top.

rice and beans tasted like a ready made box mix.

mint tea tasted like sugar water.


and nothing was warm at all - cold.

I wanted to love this place. I was SO excited. It has such good reviews! My husband thought it was shockingly bad as well. Im thinking it was just a really bad day/weekend, but I cant bring myself to go back. Im glad others had have better experiences.

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-30

eszter.csapo

Points +1013

Vegan
03 Apr 2023

Support local lovely couple

Delicious food with and such a warm welcome by the couple who runs this place!
They make sure you leave 100% satisfied.
We tried their all you can eat vegan buffet and the food was delicious.
Their home made drinks are superb too!

HeatherMoore2023

Points +16

Vegan
19 Feb 2023

A must visit

The whole family loved our lunch!

Pros: Delicious food, Exceptionally clean

Cons: None

GretchenShelly

Points +128

Vegan
05 Aug 2022

Unique dining experience

The owner was the only one working but he was very friendly and welcoming. While the menu only had two protien and two vegie choices, they were fresh and delicious. There was also one dessert offering but we passed on that.

Pros: Friendly, caring owner is onsite, Food is plant based, fresh and delicious , Resonably priced

Cons: Disposable table service for dine in, Extremely limited menu, Odd hours

donotmatthews

Points +18

Vegan
22 Apr 2022

This was such a pleasant surprise and absolutely recommend!!

My wife and I are visiting from Texas and found this place through Happy Cow. Alex was super friendly, the food was wholesome and delicious. If you haven’t given this spot a chance come immediately and bring the family.

Pros: Great atmosphere , Great food

Cons: Nothing

RobynG

Points +97

Vegan
03 Dec 2021

Awesome

The owner is very welcoming and friendly. The food is delicious and reasonably priced. All the food I had during my stop there was genuinely amazing. Definitely recommend stopping by.

Storyteller1225

Points +14

Vegetarian
22 Nov 2021

Sunday buffet 12:30-6pm are awesome Vegan food

Chef Alex knows how to get flavor into vegan (some GF) food! The buffet is a wonderful experience. I've been eating here for 18 months and highly recommend it.

Pros: All Plant-based food, Flavors and tastes so good, Small business - so be patient, worth the visit.

Positivevibes21

Points +15

Vegetarian
25 Sep 2021

The food is amazing and affordable. My new vegan spot. 😊😊

My experience they have excellent customer service and the food was so good. I’m definitely going back. I recommend this restaurant to everyone. It’s a must try, you won’t be disappointed.

Pros: Owner is friendly , Food is amazing , Great price

nashley

Points +40

Vegan
28 Mar 2021

Delicious food & great service

Everything is vegan. Staff was very friendly. I ate everything before I could take a photo. They have a buffet on Sundays (at least for lunch), and while they have limited indoor seating, you can get it togo. They opened a few minutes after 12 on the day I went; not sure if that's normal. Probably a good idea to call ahead.

Pros: Everything is vegan, Food is creative and delicious, Friendly staff

Cons: No online ordering from what I could find

KimMccullough

Points +26

Vegan
07 Feb 2021

Good Food

This place is wonderful. Chef Alex and his wife were such a joy and the food was great. We will definitely go again.

IzzyEnxuto

Points +68

Vegan
31 Oct 2020

Best Vegan Restaurant Ever

Found this place on Happy Cow, and now I will never order Taco Bell or Burger King on my lunch break again. Just call the number to see what he is serving that day and he will have it cooked and ready for you when you arrive. Delicious food from many cultures, and it’s super affordable. I get a HEAPING platter every week for $10-$12 that lasts me 2 days. My favorites are the mac-un-cheese, hallelujah wrap, spicy seitan chicken, and all the desserts! The owner, Alex, is so nice and accommodating. He’s told me that with enough notice, he can cook up anything you’d like.

Pros: Tons of vegan options, Extremely nice owner , Menu changes often so you can try new things

KatrinaWilson

Points +23

Vegan
18 Oct 2020

Fist Timer

As this being my first time attending this place of dining, the food, atmosphere, and host were amazing. Their Zucchini cake was off the chain. It was so good that my husband who loves meat asked me to save him a piece of mine lol. Thank you Eden's. I will definitely be back again❀ Anyone who is a Vegan or Vegetarian should try this place for themselves😊

Updated from previous review on 2020-10-18

Pros: Great food, Clean Atmosphere , Gracious host

Cons: Small space

MoisésInoxidable

Points +190

Vegan
20 Sep 2020

Best place!

This is the best plant base food I ever tried in NC. Everybody considering become a vegan should try this. Great variety of pastas, egg rolls, pastry, rice, etc. Simply awesome. People is super nice too and service is excellent.

Pros: As many vegan options as you can get, Super safe due to covid, Delicious and cheap

Cons: None

Vegansunshine1

Points +30

Vegan
07 Jun 2020

Great Takeout

I was passing through NC on my road trip and got takeout from here. The food was delicious and the person who brought me the food (likely the owner) was very friendly. I had the mushroom cutlets and it came with fried plantain, corn, japchae, a choice of dessert (i got the zucchini bread it was so good) and a drink. I definitely recommend this to not only other vegans but anyone who wants good food!

Pros: Friendly staff, Large portions, Good prices

jrdavis37

Points +20

Vegan
22 Oct 2019

Worth the trip

I had been to their previous location a few times when I lived in that area and finally made it to the new location even though it's not close for me now. I went with a couple of friends for the Sunday brunch, and we were all very pleased. Alex and his wife had prepared a wide variety of dishes along with several beverages and desserts, and I liked it all (except for one dish which just wasn't to my taste but that's me, not the dish). Alex's friendliness adds to the pleasant experience. The only minor negative is the disposable rather then reusable plates, cups, etc. The price was reasonable for an all you can eat buffet of such variety and quality. I'm glad I finally made it back and will again.

groovycat

Points +16

Vegan
21 Oct 2019

Excellent Food!

I enjoyed meeting Alex, the chef and owner. I'm happy we went on Sunday for the buffet as I sure did get my money's worth! The food was well prepared with spices and herbs rather than just salted... The baked goods were fine too. I look forward to the next meal. It was worth the trip.

PunkRockDocs

Points +34

Vegan
04 Aug 2019

Chef Alexander’s creations are delicious

The personalized touch is delightfully unusual. All vegan menu has a traditional southern accent. Prices are quite reasonable. We’ll be back again!

TWashington

Points +13

Mostly Veg
07 Dec 2018

Absolutely Amazing !!

The restaurant is fantastic and Alex is phenomenal! I took my daughter here for her birthday and she has not stopped raving about the food and the chef. Hands down the best dining experience we have ever had. I'd highly recommend even to those who aren't vegan - I'm not and honestly if I hadn't known, I never would have guessed that the entire menu was. Everything has so much flavour and you can taste the passion Alex has for what he makes and who he serves.

Pros:

Cons:

granolagirl

Points +21

Vegan
15 Sep 2013

One of a kind experience

We visited Eden's after a day at the outlets. We were greeted by Alex, who is as kind as all the reviews say. He really has a passion for what he does. I am a vegan and my husband a meat eater who enjoyed the meal as much as I did. We had a family style meal of all the days offerings. There was a seasoned brown rice, vegan ribs, vegan curried chicken, curried chickpeas and potato, collards, steamed veggies, salads and foccacia. We enjoyed it all and Alex took special care to let us know what each dish contained. There was so much of it that we had a full meal for leftovers. He also had a new peanut butter cake he had been working on that he wanted us to try out. I enjoyed it, it was very moist and not overly sweet. Everything was a flat price, irregardless of how much he kept bringing out. I really like that he has a passion for sharing his food and is open to suggestions. It's not your traditional dining experience, but I think that is what makes it special.

Pros: Variety, Hospitality, Fresh

2Chickens

Points +33

Vegan
23 Oct 2011

What a great find!

We were traveling from Florida to Virginia, and lunch was looming. I have been a vegetarian for a good while, but recently transitioned to vegan and was wondering what to eat. I remembered the Happy Cow app, and we downloaded it. We happened to be near Smithfield, so Eden's popped up. What an awesome find! It is just minutes off 95.

We walked in and Chef Alex greeted us with the menu for the day. He also welcomed our dogs to hang out on the porch. I chose the vegan meatballs which came with wild rice and veggies, and a fresh salad with what I think was a mango dressing. We did take-out to keep on moving, and just had to wait a few minutes, which was a good chance to walk our pups. The price was reasonable and Alex was really nice. I commend him for his efforts to spread the message of veggie eating!

How great to eat fresh, yummy vegan food on the road! Thanks to Alex for a great meal and thanks to Happy Cow for leading us there.

Pros: Easy to find, Yummy food, Hospitable host

Cons: Limited menu

VeganET

Points +79

Vegan
06 Aug 2011

Everybody needs to go here!

We discovered Eden's via Happy Cow and decided to give it a try. We were sure our GPS was leading us astray since this is one of the last places you'd expect to find a veg resteraunt. Alex let us inside and asked us, "vegetarian or vegan?". We didn't get menus, Alex just brought a 3 course meal out to us. Everything was fresh from the garden (as in, Alex just picked the tomatoes right before we got there). Everything was made from scratch right on the spot. The food was AMAZING and it ended with home-made vegan ice cream. It did take about 1.5 hours to eat here but who's complaining when the food is so fresh & good. I think the entire 3-course meal was $12.95, which was an incredible value. I can't say enough good things about chef Alex and Eden's Vegetarian Dining.

Pros: Fresh , Friendly staff , good value

Cons: long prep time

gratefuljoey

Points +18

Vegan
08 Sep 2010

Wonderful vegan food in Smithfield, NC

I have been on the road traveling to different colleges in the US setting up a disco roller rink. It is hard to find good quality food on the road as a vegan. I ran across Eden's Vegetarian dining on an internet search and have nothing but wonderful things to say. I was served one of the best curried seitan dishes I have ever had. The environment was inviting and relaxed, and the chef/owner/server was an awesome and wholesome individual who knows his vegetarian foods. I highly recommend this place if you are ever near or in Smithfield, NC.

Pros: Food, Price, Environment

hoffmans2

Points +169

Vegan
04 Aug 2010

Memorable Experience

We dined at Eden's over a year ago but I still can't get the experience out of my mind. The service was warm, personalized, and friendly. The food was fantastic, and prepared fresh. The best bread, split-pea soup, salad dressing, and iced tea I've ever tasted!

Mighty Vegan

Points +96

Vegan
08 Apr 2010

One of our favorite restaurants

My wife and I discovered Eden's Vegetarian about a year ago on our drive from Florida to New York. It is truly an Oasis. The chef and restaurant owner, Alex, served us a sampler of all his vegan dishes for the day. It was a fantastic meal and we talked about it for months. It was just a few minutes off of I-95 so it was the perfect meal to break up the day and the drive. We wound up staying long past our meal talking with Alex, learning the interesting history of himself and his restaurant.

Early December of this past year were again on the road, this time driving from Florida to New York. We emailed ahead to Alex, as most nights dinner is by reservation only. We showed up that night an Alex had prepared for us a special vegan thanksgiving. He came out of the kitchen with dish after dish. The food was just so amazing. Its not often in life that something lives up to its memory, but we left the 2nd time even more impressed with Eden's Vegetarian.

I would suggest checking their website for hours as well as contact details if you would like a meal outside of normal hours. I think they do catering too. Both times we visited we just asked Alex to put together a medley of his favorite stuff, and both times we were not disappointed.

Pros: an oasis, great food, friendly chef/owner

mrslaughinghouse

Points +18

Vegan
22 Jun 2009

I'll be back at least once a month...

I called the restaurant on the Friday before Father's Day. Chef Alex is just as pleasant and kind in person as he is on the phone. Smithfield is about 30+minutes from our home in Raleigh, so we thought. Chef Alex pointed out a short cut to our home accompanied with scenary. That's how cool he is.
Now to the food.
The salad with house dressing was just ridiculously AWESOME! the foccacia bread that accompanied our salad was so tasty. We were offered another slice and readily accepted. My husband is originally from the south (NC) and I'm from Oakland, CA (the bay area). He's a big meat eater, and has been putting up with my new vegan lifestyle. Thanks to Alex's cooking, he's considering becoming more vegetarian. My hubby ordered the vegetarian lasagne with string bean casserole. His first bite of the lasagne and he was amazed. I ordered the vegan barbeque ribs with rice n' peas and broccoli n' carrots. My hubby kept taking meat off my plate and asking over and over again, "that's not meat?" Chef Alex's food prep is awesome and you can tell that he enjoys what he's doing. God's blessings to him and his family as he continues to prepare healthy foods for us all. We have vowed to returned at least once a month.
Lastly, the food was inexpensive. You spend more money at Applebee's, Fridays, etc. not including the extra time to the gym and poor health. We can all help the health care system by treating ourselves to fine dining like Eden's Vegetarian Dining and Catering.

Pros: Personal Service, Best Vegan/Vegetarian International Food, Economical Pricing

Cons: Wish it was closer to my home




This page has been viewed 13374 times.