EBN's Vegan Cuisine

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 23 reviews )
Contact
980-785-4915
Find

1224 Commercial Ave, Charlotte, North Carolina, USA

Shonda Caines offers a weekend vegan brunch within Comic Girl Coffee and Books. Also available for catering, culinary classes, pop-ups, and meal prep. Open Sat-Sun 10:00am-2:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Take-out, Caribbean, Catering

23 Reviews

First Review by rancidl

Essential! - Edit

Shonda is heaven sent. I’ve been wanting to be a vegan for years, but I’m not a good cook and I don’t have the time. She provides meal prep for me and delivers them to my job! The food is so delicious! She makes this journey easy for me. I’m so happy i found her!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

EBN vegan cuisine - Edit

I don't get by her place often because of my work hours, but when I do I love love love the tacos and nacho chips with about 5 toppings. She's also very informative about her food because she cooks it all.

Pros: everything vegan

Cons: priced at what most vegan restaurants would be

1 Response
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - Diane, thank you for your review of EBN. It's a pleasure serving you.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fabulous caterer and great customer service! - Edit

EBN catered my Christmas party and did not disappoint!! Most of my guests were not vegan, but they still raved about the food and asked lots of questions about veganism. Everything was delish, and Shonda was so easy to work with to help my food vision come to life. She was very professional and provided excellent service. I will be a customer for life!

Pros: Delicious food, Excellent customer service, Very reasonable prices

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Christmas Dinner a Success! - Edit

My corn muffins and chilli were the best I've ever had.

1 Response
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - Thank you very much for your review and continuing to choose EBN in 2018.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best in Charlotte! - Edit

We ran across EBN and had the most amazing tacos! She is so nice and her food is so healthy. We would definitely recommend others to try out her food and help support her. The location is a shared space and will find other vegan food here! Call ahead and check out her Instagram feed to see if she's open. It's definitely a hole-in-the-wall but a treasure - tastiest, healthiest, most inexpensive vegan food in Charlotte!!!!

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-07

Pros: Price, Quality, Flavor

Cons: Irregular schedule, No table service if that's important to you

1 Response
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - It was my pleasure serving you; thank you for taking the time to add us on HappyCow as well. We appreciate your thorough feedback!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious and intimate - Edit

Located inside Comic Girl Coffee shop. Delicious and priced well with hand made TLC. Stop outside for a vegan donut for the whole experience.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

100% vegan food - Edit

Absolutely delicious food.

Pros: homemade food , very friendly staff

Cons: not much seating, not open daily

1 Response
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - Amy, thank you for choosing EBN and taking the time to leave a note about your experience with us. It's greatly appreciated!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Food Great People - Edit

Food is deliciously filling, leaving you satisfied without being over stuffed. My family often stops by for weekend brunch and enjoy the laid back atmosphere, great food and convo, and the delish mint lemonade.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great vegan cuisine - Edit

I'm transitioning into a vegan diet.. I love the tacos black rice and mint lemonade. Its so filling and delicious.. The owner is an amazing lady .

1 Response
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - Tara, it's my absolute pleasure fueling you and your coworkers (and clients). Thank you very much for your review and for choosing EBN.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Yummy Vegan Goodness! - Edit

I am not yet a vegan or vegetarian, but I am starting to incorporate more non-animal derived foods into my diet (one day I DO plan on taking the big plunge). I stopped st EBN's vegan cuisine after a morning run and ordered some chorizo tacos. Shonda Caines (the owner) made sure that they were topped with some yummy goodness! I washed the 2 tacos down with some homemade ginger tea. The meal was perfect.

Pros: Portions are generous, Delicious food, Clean and friendly environment

Cons: None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing Food! - Edit

I am a VIP (Vegan In Progress) and have had several of Shonda's incredible dishes; each bursting with intense flavors! I find it hard to stick to suggested serving sizes because the food is just that Good (who makes these suggestions anyway? Phifff!). I have been forced to share with my kid on a few occasions and he loves the food too (curried chickpeas are his favorite). Most recently, I tried the tacos...they were absolutely incredible. I loved the flavors and those tacos didn't even make it to 277...vegan or not, you should definitely give EBN a try. Also, I love the intimate/humble setting and enjoyed the vibrantly painted exterior of the location. Oh...and the tea, how could I forget the tea...the bush tea was SO delicious. EBN's cuisine is an excellent way to phase in nutritious and delicious vegan meals. I really could go on and on about EBN but I will stop here. Just kidding, one more thing, TRY IT. You will not be disappointed!

Pros: Delicious food, Excellent service, Super clean

Cons: Can't have her as my daily personal chef (sideeye), Not open longer/more days/week. #greedy, No free refills...on food.

1 Response
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - We so appreciate your review and love for the burst of flavor found in our vegan dishes. Chickpeas is one of our most loved and customer's favorites too.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS - Edit

Ebn's VEGAN CUISINE is absolutely amazing! I am not vegan but the food is beyond amazing making this restaurant one of my FAVORITES! The food is so delicious that I couldn't tell that it was vegan. The Island Breeze freshly squeezed lemonade is tasty and refreshing. The curry chickpeas and potato stew is BEYOND fabulous! I devoured it!! The three layer chocolate cake was absolutely delectable. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves great food. You will not be sorry!!

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-27

Pros: Delicious food , Good portions, Creative dishes

Cons: None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

FLAVORFUL FANTASTIC FOOD - Edit

Shonda takes great pride in her "works of Art" because they exude flavor that excites
your tastebuds like never before because everything Is made with love from her passion of creative vegan dishes. I had the experience of ENJOYING her Curry Lentils and all I can say is OMGOSH DELICISOUS!!!
I'm EXCITED to taste every dish she creates🤗

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Food - Edit

This place has the best vegan food in the CLT. The chilli is my favorite hands down! The location is close to uptown and easy to find. So if you are looking for a good place to chow down check this place out.

Pros: Location, Great Menu, Good Service

1 Response
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - Rosalyn, thank you for sharing your experience with others here on HappyCow. We appreciate your love & appreciation for EBN.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best plant based power food - Edit

Enjoying the bold flavors and island vibes of EBN forced me to re-evaluate my food options. It was the nachos that turned me out yes the guilty yet healthy nachos did it. The chorizo, black olives, black beans, vegan sour cream, peppers, and all the other great flavors awakening my palate and guiding my greedy towards the golden gates of vegan heaven. Ive also tried the meatball wraps, black bean wraps, lentil stew, and the chickpea stew. I am a permament return customer for sure. EBN has also won the family's seal of approval.
If you are looking for comforting vegan food, a quaint environment to sit down and eat you're in for a special treat at EBN. Trust me when I say you will not be disappointed.

Pros: Vegan friendly , Small business, Filling foods

Cons: Food will sell out quick, Open Sat and Sun only , None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Vegan Cusine In Town! - Edit

If you're looking for delicious vegan cuisine this is the place!!!! Shonda's menu items are cutting edge, creative, made with love and amazingly tasty!!!!! Whenever I go I always struggle with what to order because EVERYTHING she serves is good!!!! Whether you're undecided about becoming vegan, new to the vegan lifestyle or a longtime vegan, there's something on the menu that you will enjoy. WARNING: Once you visit EBN once you'll be hooked!!! I know I am! Keep up the great work Shonda!!!!!

Pros: EXCELLENT food, Amazing chef, Island vibe

1 Response
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - Regina, thank you for allowing EBN'S Vegan Cuisine to refuel you after your marathon training runs. We love fueling athletes of all kind. We appreciate your review.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great food great service! - Edit

It's great to have a quick place to eat in Charlotte that has completely Vegan food options! The food is great and service is even better.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Small but mighty - Edit

I don't consider myself a vegan, but I regularly seek healthy food options that are satisying. I can never go wrong with the meals I've purchased at EBN. To date everything has been delicious, and the passion Shonda display is electrifying. It's a small venue, but the level of satisfaction is mighty.

Pros: Great Food, Excellent service , Reasonable prices

1 Response
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - Thank you Tiffany for your review and appreciation for vegan; though you're not vegan. We love feedback like this as we seek to cater to all hungry "humans?".  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Food - Edit

Though I don't consider myself vegan or vegetarian I do incorporate a lot of plant based food in my diet. I have been eating at EBN for a few months and have never been disappointed. If you are a meat eater you can't tell that you are not eating meat in those nachos and tacos. The food is flavorful and leaves you satisfied and the best thing is that it is good and good for you!

Pros: Good food, Owner is pleasant, Healthy

Cons: ., ., .

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Beyond Vegan - Edit

Shonda is most definitely the best advocate for vegan living. She goes beyond food. Shonda was my personal trainer and every single session she made me feel even more confident about my potential. Our cooking sessions were like making magic in a pot. She's definitely found her calling.

Pros: Even keeled, Driven, Caring

Cons: None

1 Response
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - Patricia, it has been an absolute joy to train and expose you tp vegan meals by way of private cooking sessions. Thank you very much for your candid review.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing - Edit

EBN is one of the major reasons why I continue my journey. Shonda provides great food that helps me not miss meat at all.

Pros: Personal touch, Different options

Cons: Not available everyday

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Anniversary getaway food - Edit

Me and my husband enjoyed a weekend in Charlotte for our anniversary. We wanted to have healthy clean meals while in town so we decided to make EBN's Vegan Cuisine our eatry for the weekend. The food is always fresh and healthy. My favorite is always the Kale salad with added raw veggies like onions, mushrooms, cucumbers, zuchinni, and a few other fresh veggies. I absolutely love the warm mint tea. I've visit the establishment before, however, it was my husband first time. The nachos were sold out, so he got the Quiona stir fry which he absolutely love with his mint lemonade. We decided to go back the next day before leaving town.

Give it a try! You want be disappointed.

Pros: Fresh, Can be made to go, Fast service

Cons: Was not able to try everything due to my training., Wish it was in Charleston, SC

2 Responses
Read More

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - Eboni, what an honor to have you and hubby choose EBN'S Vegan Cuisine while in town celebrating your anniversary. And, for brunch boths days as we. Thank you for your review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

EBNVeganCuisine 11 Feb 2018 - Eboni, what an honor to have you and hubby choose EBN'S Vegan Cuisine while in town celebrating your anniversary. And, for brunch boths days as we. Thank you for your review!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My Favorite!! - Edit

Shonda Caines makes the BEST vegan food I've ever had in Charlotte! She is super friendly, and very knowledgeable about vegan cuisine and why it's so important for everyone. Her food is very affordable, and she uses a wide variety of spices so it can please everyone (including non-vegans/vegetarians)!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Charlotte Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has EBN's Vegan Cuisine closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3581 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support