• Earth's General Store

  • (15)
    10
    Loading...
  • Vegan-store Veg Store

Its first locations, a full service store providing fresh, packaged, bulk, chilled, and frozen foods that's all-veg and include gluten-free. Products range from organic fair trade coffee, tea, and chocolate to organic bedding, worms (composting), bulk cleaners, personal care products, recycled paper products, candles, magazines. Has vegan cheese, coconut milk beverage, and other vegan foods. Large selection books. Houses the library for the Vegetarians of Alberta. Open Mon-Fri 9:00am-8:00pm, Sat-Sun 9:00am-6:00pm.


Venue map for Earth's General Store
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by marben

doubtfulfox

Points +270

Vegan
30 May 2023

Worth a look

Lots of vegan snacks and ‘cheeses’ I haven’t seen elsewhere since Planet Organic went under

Pros: Unique, Locally owned and operated

Cons: Expensive

Advertisement

TashaB

Points +26

Vegan
01 Apr 2021

The best store in Edmonton !

This has been my favourite store since I’ve moved here. They have an extensive selection of vegan products and fresh produce ! You can always find the more rare vegan items here that you can’t find anywhere else. They are also amazing for how much they care about the environment and try their best to be plastic free !!

Pros: Vegan, Plastic free , Eco friendly

ThePrairieVegan

Points +359

Vegan
22 Sep 2020

Support your local ethical shops!

Earths general has been an anchor in the Whyte avenue area for a long time, and they consistently have ethically sourced alternatives and options for almost everything you need.
Vegan specialty items, bulk soaps and cleaning supplies, great local products, and hard to find items are plentiful.
Run by awesome folks
Supported by a great community

Pros: Great selection , Locally owned and operated

Beanz

Points +1553

Vegan
19 Jun 2020

Worth checking out - Vegan Snacks

This place has a lot of vegan food options like butter, vegan meats, fancy cheese and marshmallows. They also have organic fruits and vegetables. The only downside is its very expensive. For example the same vegan meat (from happy veggie world) you can get from ORII for $3 less per package.

Pros: lots of bulk and organic options, good vibes

Cons: expensive

MichaelKalmanovitch

23 Aug 2020

I am concerned about the price difference of the Happy Veggie World. If Ori is selling it for 3 less a pack then they are selling it at my cost. I will have to go and check it out because that would mean the supplier is giving them a really great price and I don't think that would be fair.

MPaigeWilson

Points +34

Vegan
16 Dec 2019

Amazing zero-waste selection

I love coming to Earths for their bulk section- both food and beauty. The selection is wonderful.

efenosvriemen

Points +1773

Vegan
11 May 2019

love this store

always store by to see what’s new in vegan groceries and get some ichoc chocolate bars which are amazing. they have a wonderful selection and are always trying to expand on what they offer.

catmomma

Points +66

Vegan
26 Jan 2019

Must visit for veg essentials!

I love this small, eclectic, locally-owned store! If you live in Edmonton, or are visiting from out-of-town and want to know where to get the veg essentials you need during your stay here, you have to visit EGS!

It's located on 82 Ave, also known as Whyte Ave, which is in Old Strathcona, a fantastic area of Edmonton to visit/shop/eat. Most of the shopping/dining is further west on the ave though.

They have the best selection of vegan goodies in Edmonton! Wide selection of vegan cheese, including locally-made Truffula (highly recommended), as well as vegan meats like Gardein, Tofurky, Field Roast, and Beyond Meat products, and vegan jerky and vegan chocolate. They also carry vitamins, personal care products like shampoo, lip balm, feminine hygiene (including menstrual cups, reusable pads, organic cotton pads), organic produce, locally-made breads, eco items like reusable water bottles (Klean Kanteen and S'well), reusable straws and food containers, etc.

Bring a reusable bag for your visit as this store is trying to be as environmentally conscious as possible!

JodiKat

Points +21

Vegan
08 Sep 2016

My Favourite Store - A Community

Earth's General Store (EGS) is celebrating 25 years of business in Edmonton this week! When I first moved to this city, I felt like the only vegetarian let alone vegan. I would go to EGS when I was in the area, before it was a full-fledged grocery store.
They offer almost an entire aisle of frozen vegan options (only one shelf has butter on it), and that is their entire freezer section! The non-vegan items at this location are about the same in volume to what most grocery stores provide for their entire vegan options - luckily, other grocery stores are changing! The selection of organic and fair-trade products is also amazing and important to how this store is run.
The bulk items are extensive. They encourage you to bring in your own container, have it weighed before you fill it, and filled with liquid refills by the staff, or dry items yourself. The quality is usually the best available, and the price is most often the lowest in the area! They rotate their stock accordingly, too, so I always trust the freshness!
They have a limited offering of raw vegan snacks and treats. The produce is fresh, local (when possible), and 100% organic!
I can remember my first visit there. As soon as I walked up the stairs (of the old location), I was greeted with acceptance and welcomed into the community of people who care, with their wealth of knowledge about how we can help our planet. Several years ago, they moved down the street (by bicycle!) into a larger location and expanded to carry groceries. The community hub remains today, and the staff is still quite knowledgeable.
As a "regular," I have to give myself more time for a visit every time I buy my groceries, but they're also attentive to new customers.
The parking lot is often home to many inspiring groups raising awareness and funds for some pretty amazing causes. I couldn't imagine surviving Alberta without this business, and the investment it continuously makes into my community.
Thank you, EGS, for being the longest-running vegetarian store in Alberta before other businesses even knew what "vegetarian" meant. Thank you for 25 years of service in this community!

Pros: great bulk section, fresh organic produce, vegan treats galore!!!

bessi

Points +30

Vegetarian
31 Aug 2014

Nice place to shop

I really like to shop in this store. They have a varied selection and the staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. the prices are good. I was really impressed with the freshness of the produce.

Pros: Good parking, Great Selection, Friendly staff

Annabel09

Points +89

Vegan
18 Mar 2014

Very quaint :)

This place is really on top of bringing the latest vegan products, the owner is also very receptive to bringing in something they do not yet carry! The lay out is something to get used to, but the place is small enough that within two trips you'll know where to find everything you need. Their prices are lower than the organic chains in town and sometimes they have neat specials on vegan chocolate bars which is a god-send!

Pros: Price, Location, Selection

yegtina

Points +119

Vegan
27 Jan 2014

One of my favorite stores

Earth's General Store has a good variety of vegetarian and vegan products. Vegan items are labelled vegan on the shelves which makes it super easy to shop - you don't have to read product labels! The staff are always eager to help and are knowledgable about the products. I love this store, but don't visit too often as it's quite a drive for me.

Pros: Great parking, Friendly, knowledgable staff, Wide selection

the_vegbrarian

Points +289

Vegan
21 Sep 2012

Favorite vegan foods store

I love shopping at Earth's General Store. Not only are they competitively priced with chain competitors like Planet Organic, but there staff are like a billion times more helpful and friendly. I love the wide selection of items that are available in bulk. EGS also puts on classes and workshops that are great too! I'm only sad that I have to drive my car to get over to the store, would love if someday they were able to have a downtown location!

Pros: amazing selection, good prices, friendly staff

Posi Britt

Points +679

Vegan
25 Jun 2012

Rad people, good place

This place is great. The staff are friendly, they tend to carry items that are impossible to find (vegan chocolate bars!) or items that other stores in the city don't carry. I am glad they offer refills on products like shampoo and soap with your own container. I like that they offer literature and leaflets about world and local events. They also have a kids area that I am not nervous about leaving my child in while I shop. A+!

Pros: Kids area, good prices, refills!

Cons: A little out of the way, Close too early sometimes

TheVeganPeach

Points +9495

Vegan
28 Feb 2012

Great Selection

Wonderful selection of vegan options.

marben

Points +29

Vegan
05 Sep 2006

a great experience

wonderful staff, very helpful. a fantastic principle. GREAT products, even carry the infamous blackspot sneaker! Reasonably priced. I Love that these folks support a principle while in business - you can find lots of information and links to other organizations like Vegetarians of Alberta, etc.

Pros: awesome products, great principle, lots of information too

Cons: no stroller accessibility




This page has been viewed 5662 times.