Earth Cafe and Market

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 131 reviews )

Find

Jalan Guatama Selatan (at Jalan Hanuman), Ubud, Bali, Indonesia

Offers a large variety of food and beverages, from breakfast and smoothies bowls to scrambles and crepes to veggie burgers and international platters. Market section sells healthy food and products like grains, beans, dry fruit oil, raw snacks and cakes, cosmetics, household products, and organic clothing. Earthy decor with laminated bamboo furniture. Est. 2012 this cafe and health food market is part of the Down to Earth company. Use of bee products reported, Jul 2019. Open Mon-Sun 9:00am-9:00pm.

Categories: American, Pizza, International, Western, Delivery, Take-out, Honey, Breakfast, Indonesian

131 Reviews

First Review by samden

LisaHakim

Points +211

Vegan
27 Sep 2021

Convenient & does the job

We had a fairly good meal here & we’re glad to get some shopping done as well. In comparison to the amazingly beautiful designed places lacks the place a bit of flair but it’s most def decent for a solid vegan meal.

Pros: Great smoothies

Cons: Service could be better

nahummclean

Points +155

Vegan
22 Aug 2021

Great food, great environment

We’ve been here every time we go to Bali, and the options are plenty!!!!

pho

Points +63

Vegan
04 Jul 2021

Awesome (if you now what to order)!

Great selection and quality!
I really enjoyed the plates, sushi, drinks, etc. but didn't like the burgers that much I have to admit

Pros: Variety, Price, Quality

Advertisement

agulden

Points +917

Vegan
26 Jun 2021

Dry seitan

Earth Café is one of the famous cafes in Ubud. It has a feeling of expansion over the years as there is a health shop downstairs, an ice cream and desert shop next to the health shop. Right after those, another shop where they sell bags, clothes and gifts. The restaurant itself is upstairs. Balcony is particularly nice especially if you have your mosquito repellent on.

I had Seitan Kebab which is Moroccan style seitan, baked on a skewer, served with crunchy salad with seeds, baked pumpkin with rosemary. It was supposed to be served with either brown rice or potato fries but I had some mushrooms, tomatoes and cucumber instead. I guess, you don't get what’s written on the menu here. I must admit, seitan was dry and quite poor in taste department, too.

burgerabroad

Points +639

Vegan
22 Jun 2020

Nearly great?

This place looks great, has a huge shop, friendly service, and a gigantic menu so I really wanted to love it but the food was not particularly amazing. Also a bit unusual to have a kids activity center in the dining area and kids music playing for diners. I can't say I loved listening to 'the wheels on the bus go round and round' while eating! Maybe I caught it on an off day. I wouldn’t come again.

Updated from previous review on 2019-04-03

Pros: huge menu, great service , nice shop

Cons: food could be better, childrens' music, tad expensive

Somethingjules

Points +93

Vegan
13 May 2020

Average overpriced

The food is so-so, nothing special and quite extensive. Not recommended.

Cons: Expensive

NonstopDan

Points +1198

Vegan
11 Mar 2020

Tried twice - worst restaurant I’ve ever visited!

I love going to the movies at Paradiso. Well, they serve good from Earth Café and after having tried 6 dishes with my partner, I can genuinely say this is the worst restaurant I’ve ever been to. The food is catastrophic - it’s seriously hard to understand how hard it is to mess up pasta or peanut sauce, but they manage to the point where we haven’t been able to finish our food both times. Not only that, but the prices are outrageously high at 100k for some dishes!

Cons: Disgusting food, Expensive

lilScorpio

Points +4929

Vegan
04 Mar 2020

Great vibes!

Earth café is really something special, cause it not only features an enclosed vegan supermarket with organic goods, but also an all vegan cinema!
We came here on monday noon, where the host an open mic session and the offer a special menu with 50% off the regular food prices.
The atmosphere was amazing and relaxed, we enjoyed some great music and live-performances, it was truly a calming spot while staying in busy Ubud!
We ordered the vegan seitan dog and nachos with different toppings.
Foodwise i would give 3 stars here, the nachos were great, the toppings for it and Hot Dog okay in taste (maybe some other dishes would be even tastier).
But all in all it was an amazing experience😄

Updated from previous review on 2019-10-10

Pros: All vegan!, Cinema, market

Cons: More pricey (if you don’t come to food offer), our dishes were good, but not extraordinary

blacknroses

Points +4070

Vegan
04 Mar 2020

food is ok but expensive

- the food was ok, nothing special.
- small portions, expensive for Bali prices
- you sit directly in the market, where they sell products and clothes.
- the chocolate desserts were tasty

lilScorpio

04 Mar 2020

du und ich bali. wann ? :D

TomFawkes

Points +42

Vegan
14 Feb 2020

Just nice, expensive (for Bali)

Whilst in Bali we've had nothing is describe as "extortionate" but getting a 20% surcharge on your bill is a little bit cheeky.
Besides that, it was nice food. Nothing Stand out really despite an enormous menu. It was fairly good tasting food and the place was nice looking.
Service was skittish and a little negligent. They were slow to serve and then seemed to be rushing us out at the end. We had to ask for our change.

Pros: All vegan , Big menu, Nice place

Cons: Expensive (for Bali), Shaky service

angelikaputz

Points +128

Vegan
10 Feb 2020

Average

We had the Mozzarella Pizza and the Spirulina Bowl. The Pizza was more like Lasagna, consisted of mostly Tomato Sauce which took away the taste of the cheese and the dough wasn't very pizza-ish either. The Bowl was okay but could've tasted like more. Also, they are using single-use materials. Staff was friendly though.

AnaAlvessil

Points +493

Vegan
19 Jan 2020

Postres 💚

Dulces muy ricos! La tienda que tienen también es buena :)

duckchocolate

Points +2075

Vegan
14 Jan 2020

disappointing and overpriced

the location was beautiful and the restaurant was well furnished. however, the price you pay is not worth the taste and quality of the food imo. perhaps i didn’t order the right dishes but i didn’t really enjoy any of them

1. seitan steak 5/10
an interesting dish, the first few bites were pretty alright but the more i eat the less pleasant it tastes. it’s texture is way too soft and chewy. comes with a side of veggies, mashed potato and sauce.

2. stir fried soba/buckwheat noodles (forgot the name) 6/10
generous portion of noodles with baby corn, mushrooms and broccoli. it wasn’t too bad but way too salty.

3. jerusalem wrap 3.5/10
a wrap served with a side of sweet potato fries, coleslaw and sauce. unfortunately i didn’t enjoy the heavy mediterranean/indian spice flavours. couldn’t get myself to finish it.

4. nasi campur? forgot the name. 6.5/10
has a mix rice rice, satay skewers, sauces etc. this was probably the most enjoyable dish but i would say it’s mediocre.

service was fine and food was served very slowly.

Pros: nice ambience, vegan options

Cons: overpriced , mediocre food

FurryFury

Points +177

Vegan
02 Jan 2020

Expensive and meh...

Sadly this wasn't an impressive visit. My partner and I both ordered the tofu scrambles and received small portions, and relatively uninspiring taste experiences. The accompanying rye 'bread' was two very small slices and a dense, moist and cake-like result. We had to ask for the pumpkin 'butter' which wasn't provided but was really just a pureed pumpkin goop. The scrambles were salty and mushy. We also got two very expensive and small glasses of strong kombucha. We won't be back and I'm now inclined to believe the realistic low-starred reviews rather than the optimistic positive reviews as I can't see another visit being any better. Thankfully there are many other great options such as Nourish and Pumpkin & Beetroot within Ubud offering tasty and value-for-money vegan choices.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Expensive. , Small portions., Not great quality.

indibear

Points +116

Vegan
12 Nov 2019

Always fantastic

Have been a few times in Seminyak. Always great. Food is creative and yummy. Staff very friendly.

VeganAnt

Points +169

Vegan
29 Oct 2019

I would skip this place

Prices and quality don't match, portions are small, taste is underwhelming.
There are better places to try.

Pros: Has a vegan shop on the first floor

Dinahaja

Points +64

Vegan
13 Oct 2019

Nothing special

Had the nasi campur and the seitan burger. Nasi Campur was like in a warung where you pay half of the price and the burger was boring, no special taste. Too pricy for the quality of food.

veganrv

Points +399

Vegan
11 Oct 2019

Yummy desserts & lassi

We came here once for beverages and had some desserts twice as we caught movies at the all-vegan theater next door, Paradiso.

They have vegan mango lassi and it's amazing! Vegan lassi isn't that easy to find.

We also had coffee and a couple of other smoothies. They were nice, not overly sweet.

When we were at the movies we tried the brownie with ice cream (I think, it's not on their web menu) the raw apple cobbler and The 3C Crêpe. The chocolate thing was rich and amazing. The crepes were also delicious. The apple cobbler was good if you're feeling a healthier option. Sadly, no pics of dessert because it was dark in there.

Another note about Paradiso. It's 75k per movie ticket and that gives you 50k credit towards food. There's plenty on the movie menu that will be less than 50k including most desserts.

Only giving 4 stars because we didn't get a full meal there but no complaints about anything we had.

Pros: huge menu, lots of vegan options, healthy options

yuhuu.b

Points +24

Vegan
05 Sep 2019

Price and service

Even if the food was nice, they were so slow serving it. We also ordered 2 dishes of the same thing and they only served one. The price is excessive.

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: Expensive

veganoz

Points +94

Vegan
15 Aug 2019

Can’t give more than three stars :(

As much as I’d like to give better rates to this place unfortunately we didn’t like most of the food we ate here. We had dinner and breakfast. For dinner we got lemon pepper tofu wrap, hot dog, lentil soup and rosemary pumpkin. Hotdog bun was very dry and not fresh. Wrap was much better but still not super tasty. Nothing was special with soup and pumpkin. Breakfast experience was worse. We got granola bowls and they were the worst breakfast bowls we have ever had. Smoothie (I think it was cold Bone Build) was tasteless. Maca chocolate latte was very heavy tasted and Quinoa Pancakes were a bit doughy, heavy tasted and needed something refreshing to go with it (such as fruit or ice cream) Positive sides are they have a massive menu, ingredients are healthy, there is a kids play corner upstairs and offers baby high chair (toys and chair were very filthy though, definitely needs cleaning or upgrading some toys) The owner is super lovely, staff is very friendly.

Pros: Kids play area

nathaliest

Points +38

Vegan
07 Aug 2019

Nice chill out

Huge variety of foods including raw vegan desserts, everything I tried was delicious. the atmosphere on the second floor is very relaxing, they have a balcony seating area, a few chill out spots and normal seating so if you go there, don't stay downstairs, take the steps through the store!

Pros: Huge variety, Nice atmosphere , Friendly service

Cons: A bit pricey but okay

Soul2Soul Educare

Points +906

Vegetarian
24 Jul 2019

Healthy Veg Cafe

The well designed menu is very extensive and caters for a variety of tastes and budgets. Many of the items are organic. It's a haven for vegetarians and vegans and the restaurant is just off Jalan Hanuman so easy to get to. In addition to the upstairs restaurant the health food shop downstairs is a great place to stock up on any tonics, supplements or health items you may need when travelling.

The premise also boasts an airy and bright dining room upstairs, with indoor seating or on the verandah overlooking Jl Gotama Selatan.

We tried the Mediterranean Platter that comprised ethnic signature dishes. It was beautifully presented and offered a selection of hummus, baba ganush, marinated eggplant, tabouli, Arabic salad and falafel balls along with warm pita bread.
We also ordered the seitan schnitzel which was finger licking good!

Earth cafe offers a range of soups, salads, wraps and pockets as well as platters and juices.

This restaurant should appeal to every type of diner, vegans/vegetarians and veggie-curious!

Pros: vegan/vegetarian, big menu

Cons: slow service

KatrinW

Points +86

Vegan
22 Jul 2019

Very expensive for average food

At first we were amazed by the great vegan menu. Unfortunately we then saw the prices and for someone who tries to travel on a low budget, we were disappointed. We then decided on two soups which were okay but nothing special.

AdelleLouise

Points +580

Vegan
30 Jun 2019

Yum!

What a massive, vegan menu! I loved the smoothies, and they even let me customize my own. It came with a plant-stem straw! I didn't love the seitan hot dog, but everyone's else's food was delicious! Love and appreciate the message Earth Cafe is supporting, and the expansive desserts in their eco-shop downstairs.

Pros: Massive menu, Friendly staff

GeoffOBrien

Points +146

Vegan
26 Jun 2019

Another vegan Ubud gem

Nice little shop along with the vegan restaurant.
Incredibly good food and drink, big amazing dessert range too and they'll all blow you away!
Looks like they do some music here but nothing was on when I arrived So I imagine the vibes would get even better.

Pros: Amazing food of course , Desserts desserts desserts!!

Cons: None

LilyHarper

Points +485

Vegan
21 Jun 2019

Hit and miss

Me and my friend ordered a few things. I had a (huge!!!) box of nuggets and chocolate cheesecake which were both so great and cheap! But my friend had some noodles and a carrot cake, both of which were pretty gross. The noodles were just odd and the carrot cake was completely frozen and grey! It just rolled around very sad-looking in the box and she couldn’t eat it. But I can’t say enough good things about the chicken nuggets haha

Alma_copenhagen

Points +365

Vegan
01 Jun 2019

Different experiences

We have had some different experiences at earth cafe. Some of the food is really delicious, however they do have some disappointing dishes.. their hot dog and nachos were awful and very boring.
They have some really nice smoothies though. They have a huge menu with a large selection of vegan food, which is nice.

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Ubud Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Earth Cafe and Market closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 18625 times.