Dyadya Fadi

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 23 reviews )

Find

5/22 Dumskaya Ulitsa, Flat 68, St Petersburg, Russia

Small cafe operating out of an apartment: use gate entry code 2-4-6-0. Informal home-style dining. Serves items like falafel, sweets, soup, tea. Hosts occasional yoga classes and events. English spoken. Directions: from Dumskaya Ulitsa at the intercom dial "68," when you are buzzed in, the unmarked apartment door is to your immediate right (from outside you can look through the window into the kitchen). Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-11:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Mediterranean, European, Russian

23 Reviews

First Review by Ihgd

Evelyn_haze

Points +15

Mostly Veg
05 Nov 2019

Hidden falafel

Well yeah, it's pretty hard to find. Personally, I would never find it by myself. And maybe the food is not the best one in the city, BUT this cosy home-style atmosphere just makes it! If you're a curious vegan explorer and like such hidden treasures, this one is definitely worth visiting!

Pros: All food is vegan

Eraser723

Points +36

Vegetarian
15 Jul 2019

Couldn't manage to get in :(

I just found out in other reviews the actual method to get in, I tried to dial the code in the first gate instead of the second one (which doesn't even have numbers on the lock) and while trying on the correct gate by accident (I really couldn't believe that was actually the way to dial it) I didn't press all the buttons at once which is what you're supposed to do. I would have been very happy to try such a small independent place especially since most reviews are good but it's simply to difficult to get in. If Fadi will read this please, try to put some signs outside. Thank you

Mewàn

Points +18

Vegan
23 Jun 2019

Nice Little restaurant

You probably will have to ask people around or call to find this cosy little restaurant located in a small flat in a private courtyard. You can eat good falafel and you will enjoy the fact that you will enter a real russian living place.

Advertisement

alexlyzhov

Points +23

Mostly Veg
20 Jun 2019

Couldn't find it

even though I have been in this place a few years before (also struggled with navigation a lot back then) because the directions on vk.com are deleted. Also back when I visited it the menu had almost nothing expect for falafel. It was fine, nothing extremely delicious. Upsides: cosy and friendly atmosphere

YuliaTomilina

Points +93

Vegetarian
20 Dec 2018

Huge teapots

Falafel was big and full filling) but the teapot was enormous, also the best potato cake I’ve ever tried (highly recommended).

Pros: Calm and quite place, Huge teapots, Tasty potato cake

Cons: Hard to find

evan123

Points +103

Vegetarian
03 Mar 2018

Probably not what you are expecting

This place does exist, but it is hard to find, and the directions are incomplete. Approach from
Dumskaya Ulitsa and follow the directions here to find the apartment block (containing apartment 68):

https://m.vk.com/photo-60540672_314007531

When you reach the apartment block, at the intercom dial “68”. When you are buzzed in, the apartment door is to your immediate right and is unmarked. From outside you can look through the window into the kitchen.

To be very clear, this is an apartment and not a restaurant. You eat in the kitchen on a raised platform, or a side room on a low table. The decor is very bohemian. I understood from the cook/waitress that it is part of a commune led by the eponymous Fadi, who lives in Finland. I didn’t enquire as to the basis of this commune.

The food was tasty and inexpensive, but there is a very limited menu. I had a wrap with felafel, hummus, tomato, and cucumber, which was all they had when I visited. The food is always only vegan. I’m not sure about drinks; I wasn’t offered any.

I had a good experience, so I don’t regret coming, but I feel like for most people this probably is not what you are expecting especially given most of the reviews here, and may not be what you intended to support.

Pros: staff was very nice and spoke some English, food was good and inexpensive

Cons: this probably is not what you are expecting, very limited menu, hard to find

KirillVolohov

Points +26

Vegan
23 Dec 2017

вкусно:)

Нашли минут за 5. Прикольное неформальное местечко с вкуснейшим фалафелем. Всем рекомендую :)

PedroMotta

Points +19

Vegetarian
23 Oct 2017

nice local spot

Delicious falafel, tea, good ambient on local way ! They are nice and speak good English. Good price ! Just turn around into a passage on the left side of the address above and it’s the gate on the right, digit the code (press at the same time) and you are in :)

MarichkaSobko

Points +15

Vegetarian
07 Sep 2017

Awesome place

Dyadya Fadi is my favorite falafel place in Sain Petersburg. Delicious falafel,soups and sweets, nice music, home atmosphere, super friendly staff. What else could you wish for? I feel there as I'm a guest, not a client. Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I highly recommend this place!

Pros: Delicious food , Location, Atmosphere

Cons: N/a

Katyata

Points +24

Vegetarian
22 Aug 2017

Delicious falafel and cool atmosphere

Dyadya Fadi is a very nice place. If you are in St. Petersburg, I really recommend to visit this "Home for Friends" - as Fadi (the founder of the cafe) call it.
The main thing is of course Falafel! it is different from all other places in the city. In my opinion it is the best)
You can also drink tea or coffee with vegan or vegetarian sweets and cakes.
The atmosphere is very relaxed, informal, you can easily find some new friends there, if you want to talk, or you are first time in the city. Or you can just enjoy your meal and have a rest. There are two rooms, where you can sit and a small balcony, where you can spend time in the summer.

I highly recommend this place for all vegans, vegetarians and all other people)

Pros: delicious falafel, cozy atmosphere, nice poeople work

nodya

Points +13

Vegetarian
19 Aug 2017

Tasty

In my opinion, it's the tastiest falafel in Saint-P. Dyadya Fadi is situated in the city centre. Falafelmaker will feed you quickly and cheap. Bon appetit!

Pros: tasty, cheap, a nice place

Cons: hard to find

Safia

Points +17

Vegetarian
17 Aug 2017

He still alive

Babia .... you are right that place hard to find even for Russian . for that this place is one of the top secret amazing place in SPB .
but I think if you just check google map will tell you ,where its ;).

anyway
Fadi by himself don't care to have lot of customers ... he just bult some crazy unformte place "he called home for friends "with lot of activities and things going on .
there is no cafe or restaurant called dyadya fadi " is something we like to spend time there meet cool people and creative ... eat the most testy Falafel cooked with love .
I can tell About Fadi with what writing before "Fadi is owner of place, very charming person.

You can have some falafel, coffee or tea, as i understood from time to time there some more stuff in menu) The food is good and coffee just outstanding)

Place is quiet, have their own atmosphere (which in my opinion is cozy) and you can take a rest. Wi-fi is good, Fadi speak russian and english.

The flat of Fadi is not easy to find - it's better to call him or ask some locals, many of them knows him.

"
**Locals : young people not in the street .
Dumskaya Ulitsa its the centre of the centre ... like everywhere nobody know about no body .

so a bout Fadi .!! he is legend .... he is very cool . crazy . funny , strange in the most kind way . he showed himself sometimes and despair sometimes .
work with many projects Spb . Oslo and Zurich .
that we know until now .
so I think its to Hard to Tell PROBABLY DEAD that so funny :)

ForestQeeper

Points +290

Vegan
02 Aug 2017

probably dead

we spent 30 minutes to find it, but we could not, and nobody in the courtyard 5/22 ever heard of it or could figure out where flat 68 is. Most probably it doesn't exist.

Selenasaied

Points +82

Vegan
23 Nov 2016

never again

It took forever to find
They only had 1 thing to serve and wasn't all that great
The experience isnt a hipe as many have said unless you enjoy being lost in the snow for an hour
The enternece code is wrong i just sat at the door waiting for it to open
Just not worth it

Pros: cheap

Cons: everything else

kexi

Points +52

Vegan
15 Jan 2016

Must try once!

Tasty falafel, spiced green tea, coffee and date sweets. That's all they serve. And it's great! The place is very cozy (apparently a 1st floor apartment) and ridiculously cheap. When we visited, there were five newborn kittens to entertain us while waiting - bad news for allergic and hygiene freaks but great news for everybody else, that's how cute they are.

The place is indeed hard to find, we were lucky to have someone coming in with us. As an addition to previous instructions - press the buttons of the code simultaneously.

Pros: cheap, delicious, kittens

Cons: only one food option, hard to find

Preyer Gyuri

Points +80

Vegan
28 Dec 2015

Very nice place! :)

Best falafel and very kind hommie staff. Must try place! :)

frankensteinsmonster

Points +351

Vegan
14 Dec 2015

Delicious but hard to find

Really good homemade falafel (very moist if you like that kind of thing) and vegan sweets in a legitimately homely atmosphere. I won't ruin the surprise of the toilet but worth a trip on its own!

Hard to find: go under the arch at 5/22 into what looks like houses, then immediately turn right and go through the iron gate (code 0246). Then all the way to the end and buzz flat 68.

FM

Pros: Good food, Friendly, Cheap

Heike.St

Points +94

Vegan
20 Apr 2015

Delicious Falafel in cozy atmosphere

First we had some troubles to find the place, but we made it, finally. Fadi speaks English quite well and offered us really delicious Falafel wraps. We could choose between spicy and non-spicy. Really cheap, as well.
They provide the food in their own flat, but also have space for a larger group. We were around ten people. Cozy atmosphere.
Highly recommend. One of the few vegan places in Saint Petersburg.

Pros: awesome falafel, really cheap

Cons: a bit hard to find

Aneliya

Points +57

Vegan
25 Mar 2015

friendly & hommy

Though the place does not have plenty of meals to offer, their falafel is delicious and pretty cheap, made with care, literary before your very eyes at the open kitchen. They also have table games. There you feel like you came to visit a friend or some cosy home party.

Pros: Inexpensive, Tasty, Home-style

helsinkigoesvegan

Points +57

Vegan
19 Mar 2015

Best atmosphere

House full of wonderful people. Best falafels you can get in Peter. Fadi is also one of the friendliest persons I've ever met. I miss this place really badly.

Pros: Quality, falafels, price, cozy atmosphere

AlexanderSogolyanov

Points +44

Vegan
24 Nov 2014

Uncle Fadi guest

Fadi is owner of place, very charming person.

You can have some falafel, coffee or tea, as i understood from time to time there some more stuff in menu) The food is good and coffee just outstanding)

Place is quiet, have their own atmosphere (which in my opinion is cozy) and you can take a rest. Wi-fi is good, Fadi speak russian and english.

The flat of Fadi is not easy to find - it's better to call him or ask some locals, many of them knows him.

Pros: True Falafel , cozy atmosphere , place for rest, conversation.

Cons: hard to find )

sovaria

Points +38

Vegan
04 May 2014

Friendliest place that has the best falafel

Don't be discouraged by this place being in a flat! The owner is the friendliest guy ever and speaks very good English. This place has the best falafel I've ever tried in my life, and I had a lot. Also try the soup and home made candy. Really cheap as well.

Pros: tastiest falafel ever, friendly, cheap

Ihgd

Points +198

Vegan
17 Feb 2014

Home-style place

Very nice, very small (four or five tables) cafe, a little hard to locate but very much worth it. The claim to making the city's best falafel is likely justified, the vegan sweets are extremely tasty, all food is cheap. The guy running the place is just the friendliest. No alcohol or smoking.

Pros: Home-like atmosphere, Excellent falafel

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to St Petersburg Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Dyadya Fadi closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 9249 times.