• CLOSED: Downtown Deli & Donuts

  • (7)
    10

    Closed

  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
International
Organic
Bakery
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers a vegan falafel bowl, vegan burger patty, vegan brownies and vegan donuts every Friday. Almond milk available. Reported closed December 2023.


Venue map for Downtown Deli & Donuts
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by TofuTrey

ELT

Points +292

Vegan
04 Jan 2023

Some nice vegan options

I liked that they offer a vegan black bean burger. With so many restaurants now offering Beyond/Impossible burgers, I've found myself missing old school black bean burgers. This one is huge! It needed a bit more seasoning, but I liked the general flavor and texture. Service was very friendly.

Advertisement

ZacharyShackary

Points +217

Vegan
10 Oct 2022

Good portions, better donuts

The black bean burger tasted awesome, and I didn't expect that size for the price. I highly recommend the citrus vegan donut if you get a chance

Pros: Good amount of options, Tasted great, Cute atmosphere

DeltaDiva5

Points +113

Vegan
19 Jun 2021

Love’d it

Delicious ! They made a TTLA Sandwich on request that was scrumptious!!!

Pros: Food delicious , Food hot, Staff very friendly and helpful

Cons: Hard to find at first, Parking limited on the weekend

sellarspg

Points +122

Vegan
07 Mar 2021

Great Restaurant

This restaurant is so good. A rarity in Spartanburg. Love going here with friends who are vegan and who are not. There are great options for everyone. Wish the app allowed me to give them 5 stars.

Pros: Many vegan options, Willing to make other menu options vegan, Lots of vegan pastries

Cons: None, they are so accommodating

pcvhonduras

Points +182

Vegetarian
10 Nov 2020

Gem in Spartanburg

You can make the Friday Buddha bowl vegan. There are also vegan cakes, doughnuts and gluten free options. So very delicious.

LucyLiz

Points +90

Vegan
30 Aug 2019

Quite a few vegan options and vegan donuts on Fridays!

We first checked out Downtown Deli and Donuts this past Monday morning. We called ahead of time to ask if they had vegan options. They were happy to tell us over the phone what they had that was vegan and what options they had there that morning. When we got there, we asked our server what all we could have that was vegan on the menu. She happily went to ask and someone (possibly the owner) came out and told us about all of the vegan options. She said that they had more vegan options at lunchtime and that they had vegan donuts on Fridays. We ordered the Veggie on an everything bagel minus the goat cheese and asked to substitute vegan cheese instead and ordered the breakfast potatoes as a side. We also ordered the smashed avocado toast with a side of veggie sausage that they confirmed was vegan too.

We were excited about coming back again on Friday for the donuts and that's what we did today. I'm not sure what flavors they were but they were all really good. They were gluten-free and vegan. While we were eating the donuts I noticed that a tempeh sandwich that was labeled as vegan was posted on the Specials board. We decided to order that and it turns out that a side was included. We got the quinoa tabouli salad as the side. The sandwich was way bigger than I had expected. Both the tempeh sandwich and the quinoa salad were incredible.

The location is right in Downtown Spartanburg and I felt comfortable eating there after talking to the staff, seeing that they had several items labeled as vegan, knew what vegan was, and were more than happy to patiently inform us of everything as to what vegan options they had. I highly recommend this place.

Pros: Knowledgable and accomodating staff, Vegan donuts on Fridays, Multiple vegan options

TofuTrey

Points +817

Vegan
30 Apr 2019

Incredible Burger!!!

Spartanburg does not have an abundance of vegan options so when I tried this spot, I was very happy. The burger was very tasty, the vegan cheese melted just right. The black bean salad was good too! There were several vegan options to choose from, which was exciting for our city! The cheese freaked me out and I guess my server overheard me saying so, so the manager came over and assured me it was Follow Your Heart cheese, which eased my mind (I’m paranoid).

I was disappointed that there were no vegan doughnuts available, apparently they have more vegan options on Fridays including the desserts.

This place is in the same building as Hub City Scoops which has vegan ice cream so if you’re craving something sweet when doughnuts are not available you can just take a few steps down.

Pros: Several vegan options, Tasty food, Nice downtown location

Cons: Less vegan options if not Friday, Serves animal products




This page has been viewed 2795 times.