• Down to Earth - Store and Deli

  • (16)
    15
    Loading...
  • Health-food-store Health Store
Delivery
Take-out

Organic and natural food markets with several outlets in Hawaii. Stock is all vegetarian and vegan, ranging from fresh produce and pantry essentials, to chilled foods and snacks, to health supplements and bodycare products. Has in-house deli and bakery as well as hot foods and salad bar where you pay by weight for what you take. Open Mon-Sun 7:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Down to Earth  - Store and Deli
© OpenStreetMap contributors

16 Reviews

First Review by Mesohungry

Richards_E.C.

Points +484

Vegan
18 Feb 2023

2nd review

This place is a place I always find myself going back to and I always try something new. I would say everything they have is pretty good, prices vary, a little more expensive but- I think it’s worth it to try new things. Just be weary since not everything is vegan as some stuff has cheese especially in their own sandwiches since it doesn’t specify a milk in the “contains” portion of the food- but I avoid them to stay safe. A wide variety nonetheless.

Pros: Variety, Convenient, Good service/consistent

Cons: A little expensive, but it’s ok

Advertisement

OperationChowhound

Points +4507

Vegan
16 Feb 2023

Full of Mirth at Down to Earth

There are so many vegan options, but I chose a pre-made vegan breakfast burrito from the hot table, a double chocolate cookie from the bakery case, and ordered a Veggie Cold Cut Sub from the deli. The breakfast burrito was convenient, but underwhelming. Most of the items at the hot table were vegan, so I'll try something else next time. The cookie was delicious, but I wish it wasn't wrapped in plastic. The sub includes Yves salami, turkey or ham slices, tomatoes, pepperoncini, onions, black olives, lettuce, bell peppers, Vegenaise, mustard, olive oil, vinegar, and vegan swiss, jack, or cheddar cheese on a whole wheat sub roll by default. However, the self-serve ordering computer allows customization, so I removed several ingredients. The sub was still good despite my omissions.

Pros: clearly-marked vegan options, customer service, outdoor seating

Cons: bakery items individually wrapped in plastic

linadelbruck

Points +179

Vegan
29 Dec 2022

Omg delicious

So fresh and yummy and so many vegan options like purple sweet potato salad 😍

MelissaHorsefeathers

Points +1441

Vegan
07 Oct 2022

A Vegan Treasure Trove

Hawaii is so lucky to have these stores! Sooo many goodies to try. If you’re veg definitely stop by and check it out. They even carry locally made products like chocolate and lip balm that make excellent gifts. 😊

Pros: Tons of vegan products and choices, Reasonably priced deli items

Cons: Lots of dairy and egg products

brylikebrie

Points +61

Vegan
13 Jun 2022

Must stop for vegans

Down To Earth is a must stop for me every time I am home in Hawaii. It’s so nice to be able to grab food from the prepared foods section or have a burger or smoothie made fresh when on the go. The hummus wrap and various musubis are my favorites.

downtoearthfood

20 Jun 2022

Mahalo nui for making us part of your trips home to Hawaii!

RabbitEars

Points +73

Vegan
11 Jun 2022

Awesome

A wonderful haven of health, flavor, and freshness surrounded by much greasier alternatives. Staff are friendly, the store is clean and well-stocked, and as with any Down To Earth location we end up buying more than we intended.😄Super tasty tofu musubi in their grab-and-go area!

downtoearthfood

20 Jun 2022

Jadediana

Points +2523

Vegan
21 May 2021

Great Hot Food!

Really enjoy this store as a whole. Loved their vegan breakfast burrito and enjoyed the banana bread as well. Some of the other hot food items (potatoes) were cold so beware of their hot food section having some cold spots.

CaseyAndryushchenko

Points +74

Vegan
02 Jul 2019

Great Vegan Grocery Store

I am visiting from South Carolina where almost every grocery store has a pretty decent sized selection of vegan groceries. When we got to Hawaii I was a little disappointed in the selection at local groceries until I found this place! They have so many options for vegan and non-vegans. Their food bar is AMAZING!

Pros: LOTS of vegan options, Friendly staff

Cons: EXPENSIVE!!

csdatkins

Points +22

Vegan
31 Jan 2019

Great options

Organic grocer with a deli inside. Plenty of vegan options to grab and go

Pros: Vegan options

Cons: A little pricey

Wannabe

Points +13

Mostly Veg
14 Oct 2018

Vegetarian dinning

The only place I know for a vegetarian to eat in Kapolei is Down to Earth.

Pros: Fast, friendly, TASTE

Cons: price, potion control, quality

npynes

Points +77

Vegan
14 Sep 2016

Overrated and Overpriced Market

We came here since it was the closest to our resort. We had just turned vegan and we were very excited to try out some recipes from a book I got. Being a first time vegans we were having a hard time figuring out what was it that we were looking for so we would ask for help from the staff but quickly found out that most of the staff had no idea what we were asking for either... And also they were low or didn't have a lot of the stuff we needed. So we left with only part of the groceries we needed and had to drive for an hour to go to Whole Foods to get the rest of the stuff we were missing. Then the next day my husband had to get something we were missing really quick and found out that the stuff they told us they didn't have like Extra Firm Silken Tofu was in an aisle not the refrigerated section. In other we wasted time because the staff is not knowledgeable of the things they sell there...

Pros: Close to Ko Olina, really good bakery/deli section

Cons: overpriced , staff has no idea of what they sell

myra975

Points +1739

Vegan
11 May 2016

Down to Earth - Kapolei

Location:
They are located in the Kapolei Commons Shopping Center in the corner. There are tons of parking in the front and side of their building.

Grocery:
They have a wide array of merchandise from produce, granola, frozen entrees, paleo/gluten items, body care items, hot/cold food, deli, smoothie/juice bar and freshly made desserts.

Hot/Cold Food:
The food was amazing! Great variety of options and everything that I have tasted is delicious. They also have a noodle bar and a small section of baked goods.

Very friendly staff and clean establishment.

Pros: Large location, Ample free parking, Friendly Staff

EffieInHawaii

Points +52

Vegan
12 Sep 2015

I love this chain

It's not cheap, but it is high quality. It is simply my favorite place to shop for special groceries, and to get a meal in the buffet/bakery. There are so many vegan and gluten free options, so I know I can always go there and get a lunch or dinner that tastes so good, and also won't make me sick. The pizza is my favorite. They have ripe tropical fruit, and also every option you could possibly imagine for baking and even vegan junk food.

Pros: Huge selection and variety for baking, Vegan toiletries, Buffet/bakery and outdoor seating

Cons: Pricey

lisalee808

Points +16

Vegan
26 Aug 2014

Down to Earth Burger

The Down to Earth burger with a Life Foods patty and gluten-free bun is so FRIGGIN delicious, I wish I could eat it everyday. It is a must try if you should ever visit a Down to Earth... vegan or non-vegan.

starlyse

Points +357

Vegan
28 May 2014

their hot bar rocks

I wish I had one if these in my state. Their hot bar and salad bar is overflowing with unique, delicious dishes. There's tons of vegan bakery, including a wife variety of vegan cheesecakes! A little more expensive than I'd like, but worth every penny.

Pros: hot bar, salad bar

Cons: price

Mesohungry

Points +23

Vegan
23 Jan 2012

I LOVE this store.

There store is squeaky clean and well stocked all the time. SUPER friendly staff and a lot of delicious fresh items on there salad bar. I have tried just about all and, all of it is delicious and FRESH!! Everytime I come here I could wander down all the isles looking at all the great intresting items which I also think are reasonably priced. There is always tons of parking and I really wish I lived right across the street to eat here breakfast, lunch and dinner. Or better yet work here :) I love this place.

Pros: AWESOME salad bar!, GREAT staff!, Tons of parking ALWAYS!

Cons: Constantly have to go back for more!!!, I dream of this place all the time!!!!, Im addicted to the chocolate coconut balls!




This page has been viewed 3458 times.