• Double Wide Grill

  • (38)
    73
    Loading...
  • Friend
    White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Grill restaurant and bar with vegetarian and vegan items marked on the menu and separate equipment is used for cooking vegan food. Includes bbq seitan wings, bbq pulled seitan sandwich, vegan chili, tempeh veg-sausage, potato tacos, wood grilled veggies, Caribbean coconut tofu, and vegan philly sandwich. Also offers vegan taztiki sauce. Has kids menu. Large beer selection. Open Mon-Wed 11:00am-10:00pm, Thu 11:00am-11:00pm, Fri 11:00am-12:00am, Sat 10:00am-12:00am, Sun 10:00am-10:00pm.


38 Reviews

First Review by abbajen

daalai

Points +646

Vegan
27 Dec 2023

New owners :(

I used to love this place! There’s new owners now that got rid of some of the best vegan food I’ve ever had. They have the smallest selection now. I probably won’t return now.

Advertisement

NatalieCooper

Points +20

Vegan
19 Nov 2023

New owners who came in messed up everything

All they have is seitan wings, sloppy Joe and smoked mushroom sandwich. No more Philly cheesesteak, potato tacos, grilled veggies 😭
The wings were delicious but the sloppy joe was spicy and the mushroom sandwich was less than par.

Pros: Seitan wings , Shoestring fries

Cons: Less vegan options , Not amazing existing vegan options

kaleyjoseph

14 Dec 2023

Are the seitan wings the same?? They were so good.

AllissaDelhagen

Points +77

Vegan
16 Sep 2023

Disappointing

I appreciate the vegan options but the seitan wings are not good. Very rubbery and taste more like tofu.

Pros: Vegan options, Fun ambience

Cons: Food is disappointing

kregweiss

Points +29

Vegan
09 Jul 2023

Amazing vegan options and great vibe

The house made lentil burger was amazing and the sever was so helpful with ingredient information. We love that we can come here with vegans and non-vegans and everyone can leave happy!

KelseyOlsen

Points +299

Vegan
30 Apr 2023

Fun Place

Loved the seitan wings! It’s a great spot to visit in the warmer months.

Pros: Separate vegan menu

jhaertter20

Points +513

Mostly Veg
09 Mar 2023

Vegan cheesesteak, yes please

Love this place. It’s a great place to bring family members of a variety of food interests

ponchoswindow

Points +684

Vegan
09 Feb 2023

Nothin special

Food was fine. No complaints. No standing ovations.

julie9.

Points +270

Vegan
16 Dec 2022

Great food

We loved the seitan wings and vegan cheesesteak! There was also a great drink selection and the waitress was really nice and knowledgeable on the vegan options!

Pros: Clear vegan options, Nice staff

ChristineLugo

Points +109

Vegan
13 Aug 2022

Disappointing

Was excited to see a separate vegan/vegetarian menu, including seitan wings 😍 that they boasted were among top 10 somewhere. I got 10 bite-sized cubes of dry, rubbery seitan with little flavor & even less sauce. My husband got the vegan cheesesteak, which was ok, a decent size, but the same blah seitan. The food was also a little cold, which really wasn't acceptable as it wasn't that busy & they have food runners. Fries were good (would have been better popping hot) & drinks were tasty!

Pros: Decent vegan menu, Competitive prices, Good drinks

Cons: Lacked flavor, Inattentive waiter

BeverlyOrnberg

Points +1193

Mostly Veg
07 Jun 2022

Authentic Old Gas Station

As a daughter of a mechanic, I never considered eating in my dad’s garage, but don’t let the ambience turn you away. These cooks know what they are doing!

I had the seitan “wings” appetizer and the seitan pastrami sandwich. Both came with great sauces. My only problem was the portions were too large and I filled up quickly. (Nice problem to have.)

My Daniel had the Aloha Burger which had a lentil patty, arugula, and you guessed it, pineapple. He opted for no bun, although a gluten-free one was available, and he had vegan coleslaw instead of fries. Everything was excellent.

Now, if they could just find a gluten-free beer!

Pros: Half of the menu for vegan/vegetarian choices, Great service, Not crowded

Cons: No free parking, Bathrooms not well-maintained

KellySwansonMurphy

Points +22

Vegan
04 Jun 2022

A favorite

Always great! Great vegan menu. Staff is wonderful

Pros: Separate fryer , Best Seitan!

MamaWatermelon

Points +135

Vegan
15 Apr 2022

Unexpectedly Good

Don't let the name fool you, this restaurant puts out some tasty vegan dishes!! The BBQ wings are pretty good, but the BBQ sauce was a bit too sweet for my preference. However the Seitan Philly is phenomenal!

Pros: Vegan options , Outdoor Seating

kaleyjoseph

Points +40

Vegan
22 Mar 2022

Fantastic

Their seitan wings are the absolute best in Pittsburgh. Love their options so much.

Ashleyyy

Points +172

Vegan
07 Feb 2022

Philly cheesesteak

Best vegan sandwich I’ve ever had. It was absolutely delicious I wasn’t expecting it honestly. Definitely would recommend.

gingersnapps

Points +28

Vegan
11 Aug 2021

Best seitan I’ve ever had

Their vegan Philly cheesesteak is my favorite, but the seitan wings are honestly to die for. I would advise you to not go during brunch hours-especially with meat/dairy eaters because the menu is drastically reduced.

The seitan is honestly my favorite. I think they use some kind of grain-maybe barley in it. Not sure, but I keep coming back for it.

DonnaKlunder

Points +66

Vegan
14 Jun 2021

It was good but worst service ever

So I order the vegan cheesesteak over the phone with other items for my family at 7:30pm. We left the hotel uber and arrived at 8:00pm. When we got there, they said the order wasn’t ready. It’s okay we sat down and waited. We waited until 8:40pm to get some of the food. Then we got all of it by 8:50pm. I mean the food was great and I would have gave it 4 stars for it but like come on! I never waited for food that long. Anyways the manager came over twice and gave my husband a free beer. We didn’t even want to say anything but like so many servers were getting shots at the bar while our food was just chillin there in boxes behind them.

Pros: Has vegan options, Could eat with a non vegan here

Cons: Worst customer service, Waiters that didn’t want to work

ashero

Points +26

Vegan
08 Nov 2020

awesome prices and vegan options

i got the seitan tofu wings with vegan bbq sauce and it was so amazing!! great texture and they’re pretty big too. they also made my food super quickly! i’m gonna become a regular here 👀

theconnecticutvegan

Points +143

Vegan
13 Sep 2020

SEITAN WINGS = LIFE

I can’t even say how much I love this place. I used to frequent it constantly when I lived in Pittsburgh and now it’s an absolute must when I return.

My partner at the time would order the seitan wings without me even there because they are delicious! Order the BBQ sauce and you will not regret ONE SINGLE THING!

Pros: Fully devoted VEGAN menu , Filling Comfort Food , Easy and Quick , Satisfying

RobertPm

Points +54

Vegan
08 Apr 2019

The best Wings I’ve ever had

The food was ultra savory. I had the seitan wings and a vegan sandwich. The wings are a must when you visit.

Pros: Menu was clearly labeled, Unique scenery, Friendly Service

veggie666

Points +610

Mostly Veg
07 Mar 2019

Ok

Idk i really did not like the seitan cheese steak. The seitan was floppy and with the wrong marinade. Felt like there was no "cheese" on it. Bun was unremarkable. I did like the vegan garlic slaw. Bartender was v friendly. They do have big clearly labeled veg menu. I'd still return to try other things especially to see the patio when it's warm.

IzzyJanx

Points +28

Vegan
15 Feb 2019

Vegan food beer and seating for dogs

Very good food and beer. Friendly staff and a fun ambiance. There’s even seating outside for people who have canine companions! Wonderful place to eat for vegans and omnivores alike.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Clear vegan labels and a separate vegan menu, Great food and service

pheelvegsaur

Points +175

Vegan
17 Nov 2018

🤤

So so good. I got the seitan wings and the vegan philly. Although I think the ranch that came with the wings wasnt vegan I couldn't tell so I didnt eat it but the texture on the wings and the flavor is spot on. The philly had a bit of a barbecue taste to it.

Pros: Lots of options

Williamewq123ify

07 Mar 2020

i actually messaged the restaurant and they said they do have a vegan dip for the seitan wings.

MeredithDavis

Points +70

Vegan
02 Aug 2018

Double Wide

Seitan wings were fantastic. Same goes for the vegan cheesesteak.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

lvasquared

Points +1091

Vegan
28 Mar 2018

yummy wings

Second time stopping in while in PGH for work. The wings are great, especially when they are piping hot. Love the location and decor.

zombiesoybot

Points +92

Vegan
12 Feb 2018

worth trying.

I was surprised by their options. The pulled bbq seitan sandwich is great. I’ve had a few other options but the pulled seitan stands out.

runmore

Points +159

Vegan
13 Jul 2017

Just okay

We were visiting Pittsburgh after spending time at Summerfest in Johnstown. The day we were leaving we stopped by to pick up "to go" food to eat at the airport. Service was good. I had the Vegan Seitan Cheese steak sandwich, my wife had a lentil bean burger, both with the garlic slaw. There was little or no cheese in what was a bar-b--que flavored seitan sandwich. My wife's burger was thick and dry. The slaw lacked much flavor. If this is typical fair, I am not impressed.

Pros: easy to find, ample vegan options

PartTimeVegan

Points +83

Mostly Veg
11 Jul 2017

delivery from grub hub

Nice to be able to get vegan food delivered to our hotel room!

Pros: vegan choices clearly marked

Cons: with delivery, unclear if condiments packed are ve




This page has been viewed 11830 times.