Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Southern Indian cuisine restaurant specializing in dosas and tiffins. Has separate vegetarian and vegan sections of starters and mains, many of which can be vegan upon request. The Sunday sapaad meal has a vegan option which includes vegan yogurt and vegan dessert; the vegetarian kuruma and biriyani are vegan. Opened Dec 2017. Open Tue-Sat 17:00-22:30, Sat 12:00-15:00, Sun 12:00-21:00.


Venue map for Dosa Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by KateEmmett

LiamHeslop

Points +44

Vegan
28 Jan 2024

Favourite for authentic South Indian food

Plenty of vegan options available (and many which can be made vegan upon request).
The service is great and the food even better!!
This place is not to be missed if you are looking for great vegan food around Newcastle.

Pros: Many vegan options, Delicious flavours, Friendly staff

Cons: limited parking

Advertisement

deadpledge

Points +11397

Vegan
22 Jan 2024

Dosa me up

We had a great experience at Dosa Kitchen, where we ordered the Sunday sapaad, which consisted of 2 starters, 3 mains, dips, dosas and a pudding.

The masala potato bonda and vada starters were superb and were soon dipped in the fabulous chutneys and sambhar with aplomb.

Onto the mains and again these were delicious but if I had to choose it would have to be the Kuzhambu, which had such depth in flavour. The accompanying dosas were excellent and every inch of the sapaad was explored.

We also took up the free dosa option too. A tasty lentil and coconut pudding brought an end to a perfect Sunday lunch and was washed down with a refreshing mango fizz and chilli ginger to share.

Visited again for the Sunday Sapaad and it was still excellent with the cabbage poriyal a new favourite. No pudding options though. Still a must visit.

Updated from previous review on 2019-05-06

Pros: Fantastic food, Value for money, Nice staff and vibe

KateEmmett

Points +3315

Vegan
13 Apr 2023

Delicious South Indian food

I can only give this place 4 stars as it serves meat too, but I love it. The cauliflower paal curry is my favourite dish. Extensive vegetarian menu with vegan options clearly marked. The Sunday sapaad is a steal.

Updated from previous review on 2023-04-13

soph1401

Points +16

Vegan
09 Apr 2023

Delicious!

Lots of Vegan options all clearly labelled on the menu. The food was delicious. Lovely atmosphere, staff were really friendly. Would definitely recommend eating here.

Zoe84

Points +24

Vegan
17 Sep 2022

Vegetable Ishtoo was incredible

Delicious meal. Pleased I finally got here! Definitely recommend.

Pros: Plenty vegan choices, Nice atmosphere , Friendly staff

PeteTarrant

Points +140

Vegan
28 Dec 2021

Awesome food 🥳

What a treat to eat such amazing food !! Yummy and soooo tasty vegan options, super nice venue awesome staff 10/10 #Veganuary

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Reasonable price , Yummy

Cons: None

RachaelCutmore

Points +86

Vegan
02 Jan 2020

Very very tasty

A proper tasty dinner! So different to the normal Indian meal, always so good!

tofu_panda

Points +430

Vegan
01 Dec 2018

South Indian taste sensation

An visit to Dosa Kitchen is a must for curry lovers. On a Sunday DK offer a special dish called the Sapaad. The vegan sapaad consist of so many different dishes, curries, sauces, pickles, Indian soup, rice served with 2 dosas and side serving of vegan yoghurt. And if you are still hungry there is a delicious vegan desert to finish with. Each dish is full of flavor and vibrancy, which is what true Indian food is about. The menu changes each Sunday.

My only advice is to DK is to clean up the toilets with proper soap, dryer etc.

Pros: Excellent food, variety

Cons: stairs to access, toilets could be cleaner

hack_man

Points +23074

Vegan
16 Nov 2018

Come for a dose of Dosa

Fabulous post work bite to eat here with CraigMc the Edinburgh Happy Cow ambassador. The menu is exceptionally vegan friendly. We shared a couple of starters (the Medhu Vada lentil cakes and the Masala Parapu Vada) and had a dosa each. My Masala dosa was just gorgeous. Beautiful and crispy with a delicious spicy potato filling served with a hot sambhar, a coconut chutney and a spicy tomato and onion relish. Truly homely South Indian Food. A great place.

Pros: Fantastic vegan options , Great value , Nice interior and staff

Cons: Lamb on menu

craigmc

14 Nov 2018

good to see you buddy. dosa was fantastic and unbelievable value.

cazzward

Points +183

Vegan
04 Nov 2018

Lovely food and loads of vegan options clearly labelled

Lovely food and loads of vegan options clearly labelled

avocado_jess

Points +2778

Vegan
27 Aug 2018

Amazing thali

Another family favourite in the North East! The Sunday sapaad (thali) menu is great - the vegetarian option can be vegan or gluten free, including vegan yoghurt and vegan dessert. Staff are extremely friendly and kindly explain menu and dishes. It was all delicious and I look forward to visiting again soon! Lovely upstairs location with large windows makes this place light and airy. Customer parking available too.

Pros: Extensive vegan options , Very clearly labelled menu, Delicious food

craigmc

Points +31925

Vegan
21 Aug 2018

first class

Had a fantastic meal (almost two) here tonight.
60% vegan and really enjoyed. A shocked Mancunian waitress looked in disbelief as I told her I was Hank Marvin and let her pick my food.
I had a bread dish in curry to start,uppatum and korma. All were good but I would advise the dosage or bread dishes cause they were magic, really magic.

Pros: staff, lots of vegan

Cons: meat




This page has been viewed 3574 times.