Dory Deli

  • Veg-options Veg-options
  • ( 12 reviews )

Find

2108 3/4 W Oceanfront, Newport Beach, California, USA, 92663

Serves meat, vegan options available. A beach front deli with a casual atmosphere. Serves soups, salads, and sandwiches, and has a few vegan choices. Espresso drinks and bar. Open Mon-Sun 6:00am-10:00pm.

Categories: Lacto, American, Beer/Wine, Take-out, Non-veg

12 Reviews

First Review by SaraGallagher

TracyMason

Points +20

Vegan
28 Sep 2021

Delicious vegan options

The orange cauliflower & avocado tacos are amazing!

mochi.kuma

Points +46

Vegan
23 Sep 2021

So good!

Would give 5 stars if I could but they’re not fully vegan here. However, they offered a lot of different options and had great cocktails too!

Pros: Drinks, Great yummy food, Open late

Cons: Parking

sunnycherrim

Points +142

Vegan
17 Jun 2021

Great place to stop when you're spending a day at the beach

This place is right next to the Balboa pier, which is our favorite place to go to the beach in Socal. Somehow I had never thought to check out their menu until yesterday though. They have a few vegan options, including a buffalo cauliflower sandwich and fried avocado tacos. I ordered the tacos and they were delicious. They had housemade vegan crema, crisp purple cabbage, and mango in addition to the crispy fried avocado. They came with delicious tortilla chips on the side and a black bean salsa to dip them in. Service was fast and friendly. They have quite a bit of seating available in the back, an open air sort of patio area in the front, and a bar. I highly recommend checking this place out if youre in the area.

Advertisement

angiedimi

Points +58

Vegan
26 Nov 2019

Oh my gosh!! This place was a total score. A must try!

Beach side cafe with enough vegN options to make this a must go and try!!!

Pros: Avocado tacos!!!! 😱, Cauliflower bites!!! , View and amazing food!!!!

Cons: No cons other than I wish it was all vegan.

Awake1234

Points +694

Vegan
05 Jun 2019

Dory’s Buffalo Mary with a view

Buffalo cauliflower sub sandwich is a hit. And right across from the beach - love the view.

Pros: Vegan buffalo cauliflower, Nice people , Good view

AlexaCappelli

Points +91

Vegan
20 May 2019

The buffalo Mary 😭

I wouldn’t give it as many stars as possible since there is only one vegan option but WOW y’all it was so good. It was filling & tasty and I love buffalo styled things already so I’m just in awe. I wanted another but I was already so full. Must try.

Pros: Amazing sandwich, Great seaside view

Cons: Only one option, Okay staff

JenGodfrey

Points +82

Vegan
19 Jan 2019

Cute little place!

I had the buffalo Mary sandwich which was delicious! And big and filling. I see they have the impossible burger too!

kaaatkim

Points +13

Vegetarian
21 Aug 2018

Vegan fried avocado taco

Vegan fried avocado taco with baja coleslaw, mango salsa, cashew cream and fresno chilies. Also comes with chips and black bean corn

Pros: Lots of vegan entree and side options, Made to order

CharlieBarley

Points +89

Vegan
12 Sep 2017

BUFFALO MARY

Eating out while traveling with omnivores is a challenge for this vegan, Dory Deli was a highlight. I would have given them 5 stars, but Happy Cow limits non-vegetarian restaurants to four... makes sense. My girlfriend (omnivore) and I (vegan) had an exceptional dining experience. Friendly, helpful staff, and delicious vegan options available. My one complaint, vegan options are not clearly labeled on the menu, you'll have to ask the staff. I recommend the Buffalo cauliflower poor boy sandwich (Buffalo Mary). Delicious. Great local beer, great beach vibe, great music. We'll be back!

Pros: delicious vegan options, cool beach vibes, large drink selection

Cons: vegan options not labeled on menus

Tofu Girl

Points +31

Vegan
23 Mar 2017

Buffalo Mary

Have been here several times for the Buffalo Mary sandwich, amazing! Hard to find parking and to get a table on weekends, but if you can get in, it is worth it!

Beachbabe005

Points +111

Vegan
01 Aug 2016

vegan food

This place was so delicious! I was worried about not finding vegan food in Newport, but this place hit the spot! They had a buffalo vegan sandwich with vegan ranch and buffalo sauce! They also have a vegan burger but I only tried the buffalo sandwich.

SaraGallagher

Points +20

Vegan
08 Feb 2015

Delicious vegan food with a great view!

I wasn't really sure where to go to get a vegan lunch near the pier in Newport, but luckily I stumbled upon Dory Deli. The Tofugazi sandwich was delicious! They had vegan cupcakes and cookies, and I ended up trying a thin-mint inspired vegan cupcake, it was sooo yummy. They offer almond and soymilk for their espresso drinks. I definitely recommend this place, whether you are looking for a meal, coffee, or a beer while watching the sunset!

Pros: vegan and vegetarian selection, location/view

Cons: limited outside seating

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Newport Beach Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Dory Deli closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2340 times.