Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Delivery
Take-out
Bakery
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. American diner with separate vegan menu including waffles (regular, chocolate strawberry, almond joy), scramble, burgers, wraps, and donuts. Open Mon-Fri 5:30am-2:00pm, Sat-Sun 6:00am-2:00pm.


Venue map for Donut Villa Diner
© OpenStreetMap contributors

31 Reviews

First Review by Milenkik

Brittany.nikki

Points +310

Vegan
11 Dec 2023

Greasy Food, Great for Hangovers

I do love the doughnuts, but the other food is really greasy. Honestly, it's great for when you're hungover and just need greasy food. Otherwise, it tends to be too much. I also wish they had more lattes/ cafe drinks.

Pros: Good doughnuts

Cons: No chai latte, No gluten free options

Advertisement

imatikigirl

Points +475

Vegan
08 Nov 2023

Delicious

Love all the options, and everything was delicious

Pros: Taste, Lots of options

Cons: Little pricey , Service was meh

MaxModPag

Points +81

Vegan
08 Sep 2023

Really good

They have a huge vegan section, all there breakfast options are great. There vegan donuts are pretty good too

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-22

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Some times there slow, $$$$

deirdrewh

Points +351

Vegan
11 Aug 2023

vegan donuts

The donuts are amazing! I had the plain/glazed and the chocolate one. Great size and very filling.

CoreyS

Points +480

Vegan
05 Aug 2023

Solid

Proper diner-type vibe. Nothing special, but great tasting and LARGE straight up vegan menu vegan donuts.

MoriahLaprise

Points +129

Vegan
27 Jun 2023

Gross in several ways

I got the vegan chicken and waffles. My waffle was mushy and sour, just really not good. I’m not at all a picky person but I just couldn’t eat it. The restaurant and bathroom cleanliness left a lot to be desired. There was a roach crawling all over the donut display. I definitely wouldn’t recommend, go to veggie Galaxy instead. The waitress was also mean.

Pros: Cute diner vibes

Cons: Dirty, Expensive, Rude

smdice

Points +288

Vegan
18 May 2023

Large vegan menu!

I had the vegan chickn & waffle - very good! The menu is huge. We loved our food. Fair prices as well & good portions. Friendly staff. Would definitely eat here again!

Pros: Large vegan menu , Vegan donuts

JaeCrawford

Points +29

Vegan
25 Mar 2023

Amazing food and lovely service

So many great vegan options! Loved the pancakes, waffles, and breakfast sandwich!!

10/10 would recommend!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Great service , Yummy food!

SpringBreeze

Points +341

Vegan
28 Dec 2022

Classic American breakfast

Best classic American breakfast nearby. Vegan options are clearly marked on their regular menu found on each table. They have a whole vegan menu (see picture) with so many options. You need to ask for the vegan menu and the waiter will bring it to you. Friendly staff, they know their vegan menu well. Beautiful vegan donuts and great coffee. Prices are equivalent to non-vegan dishes so you do not pay more for being vegan. The restaurant is in a small mall and parking is easy!

Updated from previous review on 2022-12-23

JennaxSoares

Points +97

Vegan
02 Nov 2022

When the server calls you Hun.

I've been to the Malden location and Central Square location. I liked the cozy diner vibe in Malden. We had a very nice server who touched my arm and called me hun. First discovered it during the pandemic and was super excited for their vegan donuts. I think the apple cider is my favorite, but don't hold me to that. I've come to adore the hungry vegan which has pancakes, tofu scramble (heavy on the onion - fine by me), sausage or bacon, hash browns and toast (although I skip the toast.) It's so freaking delicious and you won't be able to eat until dinner. Also good for your non vegan friends/family. You're welcome.

Slasha

Points +60

Vegan
10 Oct 2022

Great vegan diner food

I got the Buffalo chickn and it was so good!! Super crunchy outside. We also got the tofu scramble, chicken bacon ranch sandwich and chocolate covered strawberries waffle and we were not disappointed. Definitely will come back to try more dishes and the donuts.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Fast, Good service

Veganbtw🙃

Points +28

Vegan
19 Sep 2022

Yum

Delicious classic American diner food, entire vegan menu

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-19

CourtneyK

Points +250

Vegan
29 Jul 2022

Doughnuts, waffles, chicken, etc

I had theBreakfast sandwich i with just eggs, vegan cheese, and impossible sausage on an English muffin. So good!! The home fried potatoes were delicious too.

Pros: Many vegan options to choose from. , DOUGHNUTS

sam654321

Points +2676

Mostly Veg
01 Jul 2022

Many&tasty !!

Update- Fri 7/1/22
DVD Malden has added a bunch of other vegan offerings since Ive last been here!!.
Everything is still deelish!!

Has decent separate vegan menu.
I got the breakfast scramble wrap.
Was not sure how the hummus would work with the veg sausage,
but it DOES !! ...sooo gooooddd!!
They have a few vegan donuts every day too. I got an almond joy one....also very tasty !!

Updated from previous review on 2020-12-09

macymoo

Points +991

Vegan
23 Jun 2022

Good fake chicken

The maple bacon donut and fried chicken were really good! The waffle that came with the chicken & waffles wasn't very flavorful, but it came with real maple syrup.

KellieMarieKupcake

Points +124

Vegan
02 Jun 2022

Best vegan cake donuts around

I've been going here for about 2 years now, and these donuts never disappoint. The various flavors are all good in their own way. I've only eating here a few times and it's rather inconsistent with the quality of vegan burrito. Neither time was inedible, but once was great and another was just so so. I'll keep trying and see if the other vegan options are any good. However, I highly recommend coming just for the donuts!!! My friends even made me a birthday "cake" from these donuts stacked high. So good!
If you like super sweet, try the almond joy or blueberry lemon donuts. Not so sweet? Try the plain or chocolate glazed.

Pros: Huge vegan menu, Inexpensive, Outdoor seating

Cons: Inconsistency in quality

JenPickeringDunbar

Points +51

Vegan
20 May 2022

So Yummy!!!

We were able to sit outside and enjoy our fully vegan breakfast. I had Chick’n and Waffles and my partner had pancakes.
Food was yummy and our waitress was great.

Pros: Vegan Menu Section, Vegan pancakes!!! Delicious Chick’n, Outside seating in nice weather

Cons: The inside is small. I’m immunocompromised

makcurtis

Points +1050

Vegan
19 Mar 2022

PERFECT

I have been craving a good diner breakfast for MONTHS, but it’s SO hard to find vegan friendly diners. Donut Villa was the perfect spot for our weekend trip to Boston. We loved it so much, we visited two days in a row.
They have a separate vegan menu with tons of options—sweet and savory. The tofu scramble I ordered was phenomenal and the BEST tofu scramble I’ve had at a restaurant. The home fries were perfect, and the donut I ordered was delicious. The scramble was $9 and cane with too much food to finish. They also offer almond and soy milk with their bottomless coffee.
I was absolutely blown away.
We can’t wait to visit again.

Pros: SO many options , Inexpensive, Delicious

jalisamarie15

Points +454

Vegan
15 Feb 2022

Love this place!

This place has several vegan options that are very filling! I get the vegan chicken bacon ranch every time I go with an extra side of their vegan ranch. Their vegan fried chicken is the best I’ve had!! #Veganuary

Pros: Several vegan options, Great brunch spot, Vegan ranch!!!

Cons: Small inside

MartyFarnham

Points +62

Vegan
28 Jan 2022

Would give it five stars if I could...

Tons of vegan options and the most delicious vegan donuts I've ever had. A must for breakfast anytime you're in Boston North.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great donuts, Great service

ChristaMSelf

Points +46

Vegan
09 Aug 2021

Good food, management issues and lousy atmosphere

Diners are some of my favorite places to go. Now that I'm vegan, it's very hard to find a diner to have a good (bad) cup of coffee at and order all of the classic Americana diner delights. Sure, there's Veggie Galaxy, but finding parking in Inman is a nightmare and it is more of a vegetarian restaurant with a diner theme than an actual diner.

Donut Villa Diner is closer to me, is a diner-diner, and has vegan donuts seven days of the week! Score.

This diner is in an unassuming strip mall in a tiny, narrow spot. They have outdoor seating now in the form of a white tent in the parking lot.

Our first visit was heavenly. It was a Saturday morning. I had the chik'n and waffles and my husband had the vegan Almond Joy waffle. The coffee flowed, the waitress was quick and played the "diner waitress" part to perfection, and there was a very sweet young server who kept offering us refills or asking if we needed anything else.

Our second visit was a bit hectic, and the tofu scramble was the worst I'd ever had. It smelled like old sponges and old onions and tasted bland. I could only take one bite. The pancakes, house-made vegan sausage, and home fries were good! The waitress was new and very sweet and polite. Some minor things were forgotten, like a coffee order in addition to orange juice, but hey, we're all coming out of the pandemic and things are tough right now.

The third visit was hectic and we ended up having to leave cash on the table (we way overpaid) and bolt. Everything was extremely discombobulated - no menus on the tables, some silverware set-up at a waiting station you had to end up serving yourself even though I don't think it was for patrons, etc. My husband went inside and tried to directly pay for our meal, but the only person who had our order information was the waitress - no centralized point-of-sale system.

The Vegan Scramble (not tofu - it's home fries and beans and onions, etc) was good - mine had a hair in it and was overly salty - but the extremely loud patrons next to us seemed to be having a competition with the other table next to us on who could be the most obnoxious in public and made me leave before I could finish it. One table blared videos of church and scream-talked and the other table loudly Facetimed with kids.

Cool that they have a vegan menu. There are vegan menu items on the Online Ordering system that don't appear on the paper menu. Will stick to donut takeout. Maybe will try the food again.

Pros: dedicated vegan section of the menu, vegan donuts seven days a week

Cons: hard to get cutlery to eat with, always offered dairy for coffee but ordered vegan, clearly bad management

jordeco

Points +498

Vegan
01 Jul 2021

Great food and lovely staff

My husband and I had a wonderful experience for breakfast at Donut Villa! Amazing vegan food and a staff that goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome & appreciated. The food is absolutely delicious and their outdoor patio is lovely

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Friendly staff , Outdoor seating

theartlady

Points +26

Vegan
08 May 2021

Best vegan breakfast we've had

We ordered the hungry vegan - pancakes, tofu scramble, sausage, potatoes & toast. It's A LOT of food, so I have enough leftovers for at least a couple more meals. We're from Philly, which has great vegan options, but this was the best vegan breakfast we've had - perfect diner breakfast. The server said they've increased their vegan options, so there were several more options than listed on their site.
Got donuts to go for later, and the ones we've sampled are delicious. Hoping to stop back before we return to Philly.

tc13

Points +16

Vegan
20 Mar 2021

Great vegan breakfast

We tried Donut Villa Diner for the first time today, and we'll definitely be back again. The food was delicious and affordable. One reviewer says they were accidentally served chicken 😕 we ordered the vegan chicken and waffles and it was very clearly vegan meat. 😊 We ordered online, and one of the donuts we selected was sold out. They quickly and kindly called me and offered to replace it with another option. Great experience all around.

Pros: Vegan donuts, Clear vegan section of the menu, Good communication

hadmil

Points +20

Vegan
16 Feb 2021

Served me real chicken! :(

I was so excited to try this place, I even drove 35 min to pick up some take out. I ordered the *VEGAN* chicken & waffles dish and upon arrival I noticed the chicken looked strikingly real. Once I smelt it I realized they served me real chicken! I’m sure it was an honest mistake but I’m very disappointed😒The waffle wasn’t vegan either. Please beware and double check your vegan food when you order!

jilly.beannn

Points +40

Vegan
17 Jan 2021

BEST VEGAN CHICKEN IVE EVER HAD

I got the vegan chicken and waffles and a vegan glazed donut. The vegan chicken was the best vegan chicken I’ve ever had great texture and super crispy. The waffle was also delicious but I recommend getting a sweet waffle or a chicken dish. The donut was DELISH. It was exactly what you want in a donut. It really took me back (idk to what cause I’m only 19) but damn it was good. Lovely and organized staff 10/10!

Pros: Fun and thoughtful vegan options, Sweet and savory, Real good donuts real good chicken

Yogini68

Points +287

Vegan
31 Dec 2020

Donuts!!!!

They have a pretty extensive vegan menu
(Indulgent breakfast items) that I’ve yet to try, but OMG the vegan donuts are delectable!




This page has been viewed 5185 times.