• Dogtown

  • (23)
    19
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
American
Fast food
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. A hot dog and burger place, has different kinds of veggie dogs and soup, and a few vegan sandwich options. Vegan special every Thursday. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-11:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-12:00am. Open Mon-Sat, closed Sun.


Venue map for Dogtown
© OpenStreetMap contributors

23 Reviews

First Review by sashwap

tgcatrone

Points +92

Vegan
06 Jul 2023

yum

stopped through on a road trip to the Cape. got the German Shepherd vegan dogs - delish!

Advertisement

Banaina

Points +96

Vegan
24 Mar 2023

A classic

Lots of fun, creative vegan options. I got the German Shepard dog (sauerkraut) and it was delicious. They also have vegan cookies!

I do think that they need to bring in vegan cheese of some sort for their burger options. They have vegan mayo, I'd love to see vegan mac salad.

Pros: Everyone is happy with Dogtown! , Options!!!!, Fun environment with a fun theme

Cons: No vegan cheese or mac salad :(, Tight eating quarters

Abbeebeee

Points +22

Vegan
02 Dec 2021

Great place to eat!

I've eaten at Dogtown a few times now and both times loved it. They give a lot of food and it tastes delicious. Not to mention they have photos of cute pets all over the walls! ❤

Pros: A whole veggie menu, Delicious food, Options for veg and non veg people

Cons: Can be crowded because it's small, Monroe Ave is really busy, Not a lot of parking

VeganFoodieReviewer

Points +193

Vegan
25 Jul 2021

Well Worth The Stop

Every visit to Rochester requires a stop here! We’re never disappointed.

Pros: Friendly staff, Reasonable prices, Excellent food

veganimalinthewild

Points +669

Vegan
04 Jul 2021

A Really Pleasant Surprise

Definitely the best vegan hot dogs I've ever had and I just ordered the plain veggie dogs with only onions and ketchup, nothing fancy. I was skeptical because I'd never tasted a vegan hot dog I enjoyed, out of a handful of existing brands. This year will mark my 7th year being vegan and 8th year in Rochester and I cannot believe tonight was my first time at Dogtown. Everything was good about it- even the bun and how they toasted it. The fries were also super satisfying and although they were very busy, my order came out really quickly.

Pros: *Impressively* good vegan hot dogs!, Really great prices, Off street parking

Cons: Busy/sort of chaotic atmosphere

aibababye

Points +145

Vegan
25 Jun 2021

Tasty

Veggie German Shepherd is the way to go! If you don’t want to see meat don’t come here. Lots of yummy vegan options though!

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: No vegan cheese

vgartz

Points +26

Vegan
09 Oct 2020

The best

This is one of my all-time favorite restaurants in Rochester! Thursday’s they always have a vegan special, and most of their “dogs” can be made vegan. I also love their vegan garbage plate! (The Mac salad isn’t vegan but I don’t like it anyways so I get double French fries)

SarahDugan

Points +154

Vegan
22 Jan 2020

Vegan plates

As a Rochester native, looking to find a plate that compared to the real thing was tough when we went vegan. Dogtown offers several options to make the plate Vg. The veggie dog is good, I was not a fan of the veggie burger- it is almost a kale based veggie burger and the flavor didn’t blow me away. No Vg Mac but you can still get the potatoes however you want them and topped off with a Vg bean chili which doesn’t quite hit home for me. But it’s affordable and a great option for vegans!

fellomia

Points +96

Vegan
18 Mar 2019

Veggie Dogs!

They have the best veggie dogs and fries here. Also they have a wall full of photos of dogs! I highly recommend you stop in and give it a go!

Nadveggie

Points +202

Vegan
24 Feb 2019

Classical Roc plates veganized

A classic Rochester plate restaurant, however they had great vegan replacements for dogs and plates. The restaurant is very small and has little seating/parking. However the service is fast.

Pros: Cheap, Delicious plates

Cons: Small

BillPruitt

Points +19

Vegetarian
08 Aug 2018

Dogtown is a great place

Began/vegetarian equally positioned with neat products; sandwiches distinguished by toppings/sauces (named for dogs) that can be applied either to hamburgers/hot dogs or veggie burgers/dogs. Quality of both meat and non-meat products is outstanding and widely known. Hip clientele, outdoor seating, dog décor. Dogtown is a great place

Pros: food is very good, vegan/ vegetarian choices are plentiful, service is art and friendly

Cons: parking is sometmes tricky

fruitiJulie

Points +3193

Vegan
29 Mar 2018

Horrible option place for vegans

This hot dog place should not actually be listed under vegan options since it is so meat-heavy, they may have one “vegan” dog but is smothered in all the meat, oils and steam from the meats on the grill. Not worth your time to go here. Unless you eat meat anyway and don’t care much how it’s made, this hotdog place is probably not for you. When I asked if they could cook it like in a microwave or toaster like McDonald’s does at least so it’s away from the meat, they said no and said to go somewhere else if you want vegan food.

emilymargaret

Points +24

Vegan
05 Mar 2018

Delicious!

My friends love to get trash plates, and I'm so glad that Dogtown offers a vegan plate so that I can have one too! Lots of great options for vegans here.

amerp

Points +164

Vegan
28 Jun 2017

Not Vegan Friendly

I went there because the reviews looked great from other people. However, when I got there and walked in the door, the places smelled very strongly of hot dog and burger meats being grilled. I asked about vegan options and the hotdog they use is cooked right on the same grill as the meat, there were no special accommodations at this time for vegans who do not want meat juice on their hotdogs. I would never suggest for anyone I know that is vegan or vegetarian to eat here.

Patanya

Points +113

Vegan
23 Apr 2017

Best Vegan Hotdog in Town

I love Dogtown. There are times when you just need a hotdog covered in sauerkraut or other vegan toppings and this is the place to go. I couldn't believe that I found a vegan hotdog! They have a lot of topping choices and you can pick any combination you want. The food is really good and the staff is always friendly. You order at the counter an staff brings your food. Even though it's a small space and is always crowded at lunchtime we've always been able to find a place to sit,

lizardlucas

Points +996

Vegan
09 Jun 2015

Fantastic!

Was pleasantly surprised at how many options there were! I had the veggie plate (one dog, one burger) topped with their vegan chili. They keep track of every item on their menu and can tell you what's vegan and what's not, very friendly about it as well!

Pros: Many options, Friendly staff

Cons: Small place

AllanVegan

Points +34

Vegan
02 Nov 2013

Pleasant Surprise

I did not expect a hot dog place to be veg friendly. I had a veggie dog with very tasty sweet potato fries. I will return next time I am in the area

Pros: Veg Options

Cons: Mostly Meat On Menu

untemperedhope

Points +99

Vegan
05 Mar 2013

Tasty!

This is one of my favorite places to bring friends and family from out of town! It is always a fun experience for everyone. They have a wide selection of toppings for veggie dogs, a veggie burger, a veggie sausage (my favorite!), and even vegetarian garbage plates.

Pros: Delicious food, Cute decorations, Long hours

Cons: Not a lot of seating

LegrayDynamic

Points +49

Vegetarian
01 Mar 2012

Best veggie dogs in the Roc

This is a family fun establishment. Well at least we always have a great rime coming here. Great food great prices and great options.

Pros: options

Cons: space

Bean_A_Broad

Points +151

Vegan
30 Sep 2010

A Worthwhile Splurge

Good veg/vegan choices, fast & friendly service, cute decor consisting of an extensive collection of adorable dog photos in a small cafe setting (nice patio when weather allows). Have never been disappointed. What more can ya' say??

Pros: delicious, fast/friendly service, cheerful decor

Cons: not the healthiest

veganmartha

Points +28

Vegan
31 Aug 2010

Unique fun place

I have been here several times, and have never been disappointed. You can pick from several hot dog choices, and just veganize away. The staff knows what vegan means, and is very accommodating. I always order the Italian sausage sandwich instead of a hotdog, and it is delicious. Their veggie chili is also great. The prices are reasonable, service is fast. They also have a children's menu. Highly recommend!

jlo5616

Points +226

Vegan
14 Mar 2010

Delicious!

They serve Yvez vegan hot dogs on local french bread rolls, and also have some vegan veggie burgers (their standard veggie burger is NOT vegan). The owner knows what is vegan and what isn't and is happy to help you decide on a purely vegan item. The veggie chili is vegan and great on the veggie dogs! They also recently added organic sodas.

Pros: Great vegan selection of burgers & dogs, Vegan knowledgable owner, Great vegan specials

Cons: Small with limited seating, Limited parking, BUSY!

sashwap

Points +34

Vegetarian
25 Apr 2009

Reliable and great!

Fancy hot dogs with a lot of topping choices. Every Thursday they do a vegan special, typically a sandwich (example: Spinach-Tofu Burger, Chick Pea Walnut Burger) which are uniformly excellent. Usually some other similar options on non-Thursdays, but the sure bet is always the hot dogs, which are cheap, yummy, and come on fantastic bread (forget about your standard crummy hot dog buns).

Surprisingly vegetarian/vegan friendly for a hot dog place, this is a nice and very unique spot. A nice place to take non-vegans too. Outdoor seating on nice days.

Pros: great value, many options and variety, very nice staff/owner

Cons: small seating area, sometimes crowded, vegan specials not always available




This page has been viewed 7703 times.