• Detroit Vegan Soul

  • (23)
    97
    Loading...
  • White Vegan
Vegan
American
Delivery
Take-out
Breakfast

Vegan restaurant in the Grandmont/Rosedale neighborhood. Specializes in Southern style soul food. Black-owned. Open Wed-Fri 12:00pm-6:00pm. Order online 12-5pm and in store via self service kiosk 5-6pm.


23 Reviews

First Review by KristaR

a_ruva

Points +366

Vegan
28 Dec 2023

Nice

It’s a nice establishment, you order and pay at a kiosk. I assume not many people dine in but I did. The food was flavorful and I enjoyed it, just a little too much sodium in the greens and macaroni for me. They give you a nice portion of food and oyster mushrooms, and the lavender lemonade was really good.

Advertisement

AshKenyail

Points +1399

Mostly Veg
08 Oct 2023

Delicious!

I ate here in June 2018, and it was so delicious! My non-vegan family members loved it, too.

mmaley48187

Points +108

Vegan
29 Sep 2023

Disappointed

It seems dining in is no longer an option, and carryout is the only way to place an order. Wasn’t very impressed especially with the Poboy mushroom sandwich. The mushroom was very tough and chewy. 

Pros: 100% Vegan , Own parking lot

Cons: Menu is limited, No fries were offered with sandwiches, Carryout only, messy sandwiches

CookieCasey

Points +40

Vegan
28 Jul 2023

Disappointed

Keep the food advertised til closing.

Cons: Didn't have the main dish

cocok

Points +101

Vegan
06 Jul 2023

Best vegan mac and cheese ever

Found this restaurant on EatOkra. Hours are a little confusing on their website but gave it a chance and am glad I did!! The mac and cheese is fantastic, especially paired with the ribs! No dine in option, but got a confirmation text when my food was ready, which was appreciated!

Tofuttib00ty89

Points +1067

Vegan
07 May 2023

Clean soul food

Food made from scratch. Everything so delicious. I used to patron the East location which was 1.5 miles from my house. I miss it . I never get out to west side location but I miss the food but it’s too far!!! Please come back to the east side or somewhere in the middle lol!

Carrie-AnnBurns

Points +393

Vegan
20 Mar 2023

Small portions not that yummy

I was excited to try Detroit vegan soul food but was unfortunately disappointed by their take out portion sizes a few years back. The taste / quality of food wasn’t that good.

Pros: Fully vegan

Cons: Small portion sizes , Not that yummy

honeydippcafe

Points +151

Vegan
06 Jan 2023

Food is fantastic, service has declined over the years.

Food is great. Always get the fish, Mac, yams, and greens. However, over the years the service has gone down. I think due to covid, they don’t allow indoor dining, which use to be a vibe. It’s makes their service which was once warm, feel distant.

Bennyborp

Points +37

Mostly Veg
18 Jul 2022

Best grub in Detroit

Sublime food. Been here with a lot of meat bois for the burger - they love it

ricobabyface

Points +372

Vegan
05 Jun 2022

soooo good!!

i definately recommend this to everyone loving soulfood! one of my favorites in detroit.

taylorholman

Points +26

Vegan
08 Feb 2021

Best 1st Vegan restaurant

Went here a few years ago after the Detriot Auto Show and it turned out to be the highlight of my day!

kanga2roos

Points +148

Vegan
23 Feb 2020

Don’t want to leave a bad review...

Love the food here but was shocked when we waited over 40 minutes for food for two people, when three tables that came in after us were served. In fact the table next to us had the same order. 😒 never had this experience here.

amwhite91

Points +508

Vegan
19 Aug 2019

Lovely Brunch

I came for Sunday brunch with family. The fried tofu and waffles were the best vegan version of chicken and waffles I’ve had so far. I love going here whenever I visit the area.

Pros: Delicious, Allergy-friendly , Friendly staff

Cons: A little expensive

KiaraAnniceJohns

Points +58

Vegan
24 Jul 2019

One of my faves

Amazing Food, Good Service

Pros: Awesome Food! Especially the yams! , Diverse Menü options, Two locations

Cons: Closed on Mondays , Always busy , Don’t do delivery, food is best fresh

twiseley

Points +52

Vegan
10 Jun 2019

We love Detroit Vegan Soul

A unique menu full of amazing home cooking. You have to try this place.

CaraHarvey

Points +41

Mostly Veg
06 Jun 2019

Bomb.com

I tried the okra stew and the tofu bowl. Both were really good just wish the soup was a little bit hotter.

Pros: Vegan , Plenty of options , Parking lot

Lynn'sCrazyinpink

Points +46

Vegan
11 May 2019

great food!

I love Vegan soul everything on the menu is wonderful!!!!

gwenhill

Points +19

Mostly Veg
05 Mar 2019

Yum!

The food here is so good you can take your nonvegan friends to dinner with you. They have done an amazing job of giving their vegan foods the smell and the taste of home-cooked soul food without all the unhealthy ingredients. All the way home, my car smelled like fried catfish.

When I tore into it, I was amazed at the taste and the texture of the "catfish." I could only hope the look and smell would not have odd-tasting ingredients that spoiled everything. It did not disappoint. It was mind-blowing. No kidding.

Oh, and BTW, the service was impeccable and the environment was very clean, warm, and inviting. But, don't take my word for it. Check it out for yourself. (detroitvegansoul.com) You can thank me later. :)

Pros: taste, price, service and cleanliness

Cons: None, really. It's all good.

TheJamerican

Points +19

Mostly Veg
06 Nov 2018

The best

I've tried different dishes and haven't been disappointed yet!

Pros: Good choices

Cons: Slow wait times

KeiunaCollins-Bryant

Points +13

Mostly Veg
25 Sep 2018

Delish!

I have eaten here a few times and the food is always good.

JoshSmukal

Points +99

Vegan
22 Sep 2018

👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻

I highly recommend the bbq tofu sandwich. I just want to try everything here!

Pros: 100% vegan, Delicious , Allergy friendly

AdwinCiko

Points +14

Vegan
14 Jun 2018

Love it!

I travel to Michigan for work and they are my fave eatery when in here.

Pros: Great vegan food

Cons: They are not on every corner.

KristaR

Points +28

Vegan
01 Dec 2017

great food

Food was great and prices were good too! Very nicely decorated in the inside and even have a rewards program to earn free food!!! There isn’t a lot of seating but it seemed most people ordered food and carried it out.

Pros: choices, price, taste

Cons: small dinning area, slow to get food




This page has been viewed 9574 times.